Ski Canada - BC

Mount Washington Resort Reviews

Ski Canada - BC

Mount Washington Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Mount Washington Ski Resort

  • February 16, 2011
    from Canada

    Mount Washington is a great mountain.
    The employees and management do a fantastic job.
    To all of those people complaining about expanding and blah blah blah, remember when the Boom wasn't even there and I'm pretty sure the gold glades is so old as well (yes, sarcassim), Expansion costs money people and with you all running away complaining it doesn't bring it in. Oh and the avalanche comments, avalanches are extremely high right now because of La Nina and has nothing to do with Mount Washington operations, they are doing the best they can just like every other ski resort this season. I don't want to turn this into some long winded speech like other people so I'll leave it at this, just enjoy our awesome local mountain in all its glory if not go be a snob in Whistler!
    Mount Washington, keep up the great work and keep all your staff!

  • February 16, 2011
    from Canada

    Mount Washington has been useless in their ability to open the backside during the last storm cycle. The patrol are doing the best they can but do not have the manpower to perform the required task. Management, specifically operations, have got to realise that part of the job is client satisfaction. it is becoming increasingly obvious that management (operations) does not care about the quality of experience they provide on the hill. It has been an absolute disaster this week: three of four days and no backside. This resort is very sensitive to wind and temperature fluctuations and if the avalanche control cannot be done efficiently then all the fresh is wasted, which continuously happens week in week out. Time for money or better brains in the avi control dept, get more manpower and get the backside open when the snow is still decent. It's midweek, pass-holders only using the hill. Who cares about them. You should be ashamed of yourselves. What was the point of putting that lift in if you won't provide the resources to open it. I wonder if anyone in operations actually skis or rides, it does not appear so.
    Just another whiner who is sick and tired of your useless attitudes.

  • February 15, 2011
    from Canada

    Today was the perfect example of how not to run a ski hill that wants to have real terrain for real skiers.
    7 cm reported at 6:00am, I estimate 7-10 cm falling per hour, which means that if the control and cutting aren't being done at light up then the boom will not open and the next day we will have 60 cm and it will be even harder to control and get open before the snow gets either wind blown or turns to mash potatoes with a 1-2 degree uptick in temperature. It is critical to get the skiers on the terrain to act as "control" when the snow is falling. So what happens - late on the control, no boom and tomorrow will be a gong show to get the backside open. I don't blame patrol, they are working with the resources they have. I blame management, who do not seem to care about the skier experience and our desire for terrain and quality snow and will not spend the money on man power to provide the experience that the snow gods are giving us. Any other ski resort would have had the backside open at 9:30 am this morning and would have had skiers ripping, to great joy, all the backside terrain and stabilizing the new snow.

    So now we have massive snow loading and a bombfest that will go on for hours until they manage to rip every slope over 30 degrees. The saddest thing about today is it happens almost every time it snows, and the mountain continues to act as if this snowing thing is some kind of novelty. Could have been the best day of the year back there, but no one cares about me, you or the guy who drove 3 hours from Victoria.

    It is a great hill with many great employees, but the lack of competition seems to have made the operations department the laughing stock of the industry.

    [Editor's note: text edited to maintain the relevance of expressed opinion]

  • February 12, 2011
    from Canada

    This resort has very strict backcountry access. The days of the good ol' boys on patrol, like Niko and John, are gone. If you guys see someone that has cut the rope, slayed a line and hucked a massive air and stomped and they have all the gear, use your good sense and let them walk. These so called gates and ropes everywhere make sense and there is alotta idiots out there but they cut off all of the sickest lines on the mtn.how do we ride the sick stuff now without losing our pass?

  • February 04, 2011
    from Canada

    Seems like management pays attention to this so how about some new terrain? Great that the whole gold rush area got opened (needs some work still, glading and the uphill traverse out in particular) but how about the north bowl and the backside of the Mt? Seems to be some ripe intermediate and expert terrain. Plus maybe a 2nd base and more parking? Hmm.

  • January 21, 2011
    from Canada

    Great place, great skiing, get up here.

  • January 14, 2011
    from Canada

    Awesome time on the hill at Mount Washington. Really like the half price deal with Kokanee. Very friendly and helpful at guest services. Will be back again for sure.

  • January 09, 2011
    from Afghanistan

    Glad to see things are under control. Too bad about the bad start. So nice to see management out keeping an eye on the big picture. I hope those who have had a poor time in the past will give us a try again. And a very happy new year to the owner of the hill and thanks for his hard work keeping the hill and parking clear of snow ..enjoy !

  • December 21, 2010
    from Canada

    The snow just keeps falling out of the sky at Mount Washington. Most unbelievable start to the season. Fresh powder every day. Ride the storms and embrace the cold. Another steller day tommorrow and all week.

  • December 20, 2010
    from Canada

    Thank you....for making the change that was needed to make Mount Washington a great place to ride again. We (the locals) are so happy to have our avalanche control done in a respectful and timely manner. The faith has been renewed in the managment. Keep it up cause we love to ride the steep and deep that is so plentiful.