Ski France

La Plagne Resort Reviews

Ski France

La Plagne Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for La Plagne Ski Resort

  • January 07, 2006
    from United Kingdom

    La Plagne is easily one of the best resorts in France, or even Europe. The skiing is superb, the ski school, Oxygene, is the friendliest school in France and I would highly recommend it, and the on-piste restaurants are resonably priced and the food is very satisfying. Off-piste skiing is awesome (I recommend Death Valley, as it's known to the locals) If you're looking for a good, well-priced hotel choose the Hotel Terra Nova in Plagne Centre, it's extremely good value for money especialy as it is ski-in ski-out. La Plagne has everything and would be a great place to learn. It is much better than its neighbour, Les Arcs. I have been with my family once in March 2004 (And in my dreams many times!) and can't wait to go this April. Overall La Plagne is the best resort I've been to: it's cheep, it's great skiing and it has many beautiful sweeping runs. I would highly recommend it any day. Rating 10/10 P.S great snow record!

  • November 29, 2005
    from United Kingdom

    I have visited la plagne three times from the other resort of Les Arcs and whilst the ski area is vast the lift system is old, tired and unorganised. To get to the top of Bellecote from Montchavin took well over one and a half hours, with constant lifts, whereas to get to the top of Auguille Rouge from Piesey Vallandry on the other side takes around 50 minutes with a bit more skiing involved as well. I would definetly recommend the other side of Paradiski Les Arcs just for the organisation.

  • March 16, 2005
    from United Kingdom

    Just been back to La Plagne for the second time and I really rate it. Those of you who are used to quaint Austrian villages might be aghast at some of the architectural shocks on offer in La Plagne's higher resorts but the skiing makes up for it.

    La Plagne has something for almost everyone. There's forest runs, high snowsure motorway blues and reds, very tricky blacks and loads of off piste if you are prepared to look for it and occasionally walk into our out of runs. Seven days after the last snowfall, we were still making fresh tracks. It does have a noticable lack of green runs and some of the blues are steep for beginners so they will need good advise about which pistes to use at first. La Frete and Ramy are easy blues worth trying for the nervous. The views from La Frete are stunning too.

    Oxygene ski school were well liked by members of my group that use them. Private lessons worked out to be great value for a group of three to four.

    Nightlife in La Plagne is lacking so a chalet might be a good way to have some fun every night with a crowd. The olympic bobsleigh makes for an amusing and slightly hair raising evening activity.

    If you want to make use of the link to Les Arcs, I'd consider staying in Les Coches, Montchavin, Belle Plagne or Plagne Bellecote as it is quite a journey from the rest of the resort. Having said that, on my second trip to La Plagne, all of my group still had more than enough to occupy us during the day in La Plagne itself.

  • February 27, 2005
    from United Kingdom

    great place for off piste skiing and introduction to ski touring. only place I know in the Alpes that you can just turn up at ski school and go touring with mountain guide at group lesson cost You can do as little as one day or many days as you wish.

  • January 19, 2005
    from United Kingdom

    la plagne is ok. i thought i was spending far too much time on lifts, this was particularly true when heading to/from les arcs spending up to 40 mins on or between lifts. the best bit was closed when i was there: the glacier, so i cant say how good that would be.
    les arcs was far better, and though the tops were also closed they looked better.
    better again try the three valleys, ADH, avoriaz or val d.

    the resort is too spread out for great night life.
    all in its a big resort and im sure there is good skiing but there are better places, i have a couple of seasons skiing and wont go again. les arcs though...

  • December 27, 2004
    from United Kingdom

    We've skied at Belle Plagne twice - over New Year 2002/2003 and late January 2004. Apart from a regularly malfunctioning gondola from bellecote, the whole area is most impressive but is best for intermediates who like the sense of travelling. Over the ridge above Champagny is probably the best area of all, though in good snow conditions the runs to Montalbert were excellent. Going to Les Arcs is do-able for good skiers from belle Plagne but is a long treck for those staying in other parts of the complex. Allow plenty of time! Overall, a great area but without the ambience of Austria.

  • February 04, 2004
    from United Kingdom

    Huge ski area - easily rivals the Three Valleys. Great lift system in all areas (very few older two man chairs left). Even in the early morning rush the lifts have few queues (but this was in Jan and outside half-term so things may be VERY different once the kiddies arrive).

    Nice to see the French still have no idea that skiing over the back of someone elses skis is BAD ;-(( (still - stability in a world of change!)

    The link to Les Arcs gives you a massive amount of skiing - but bear in mind that you've really got to ski hard to get to from la Plagne to Villeroger and back again in a day (it's nearly a 20 mile return trip as the crow flies !).

    Belle Plagne (the very top) is very plesatn place - everything you need without appearing over developed.

    As with the previous review - loads of potential for off-piste skiing - but be careful which side you take down a slope. NE slopes generally get the snow swept off them leaving a very thin covering over rocks - ideal for gouging skis !

    The vast majority of restaurents serve really good food (table service in many of them) at reasonable prices (omelette, beer and chips for about ?10 !)

  • January 06, 2004
    from United Kingdom

    Great improvements to lifts this season (2004), terrific skiing, particularly for intermediates. Very accessible off-piste skiing. Anyone looking for great skiing, door-to-door, but without the concrete architecture should take a look at Montalbert La-Plagne at 1350m. Good snowfall over Christmas, could be a great season...www.paradiski-montalbert.com.

  • October 09, 2003
    from United Kingdom

    Vast skiing area but very spread out, lots of travelling to areas rather than good skiing. Lift system gets very congested and badly placed lots of polling to get from one run to another lift.

Show 1 more review(s) in other languages