Ski Switzerland

Zermatt Resort Reviews

Ski Switzerland

Zermatt Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Zermatt Ski Resort

Zermatt Ratings

Overall: 4.1. Based on 67 votes and 68 reviews. Vote

Access: 3.3

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Zermatt.

Public Transport: 4.6

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Zermatt, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Scenery: 5.0

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Accommodation: 4.5

(1) No places to stay in/near Zermatt, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 3.0

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 5.0

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Zermatt.

Ski in/Ski out: 3.6

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 3.8

(1) There are no child care facilities at Zermatt, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowsure: 4.7

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Zermatt is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Snowmaking: 4.4

(1) Zermatt relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 4.6

(1) There are no snow groomers at Zermatt, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Zermatt are groomed daily.

Shelter: 3.3

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Zermatt is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 3.1

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Zermatt, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 4.4

(1) Zermatt usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.1

(1) The staff at Zermatt are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Zermatt are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 3.8

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.6

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.8

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Variety of pistes: 4.7

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Zermatt has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Beginners: 3.6

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.7

(1) No intermediate terrain at Zermatt, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 4.6

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 3.7

(1) Not even a kicker at Zermatt, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Off-piste: 4.3

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Cross-country: 3.2

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Zermatt, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 3.2

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Zermatt has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 4.7

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 4.8

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 4.4

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 4.0

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 4.2

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 4.4

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 3.8

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 3.9

(1) Overall, Zermatt is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 3.7

(1) Overall, Zermatt is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

January 16, 2012
Stig from Ski Australia Australia
This is one of the world's great ski areas. Huge vertical, well prepared slopes, variety of pitches, huge off-piste and this year so much snow that the town looks like a post card from the thirties. If you do not enjoy yourself here (with the unbelievable food options as well) you should stay at home and watch videos and just dream.
January 12, 2012
Mick from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Zermatt was fantastic. Best skiing in Europe. What powder! What scenery! Big with many alternatives... One of the most charming towns in the Alps. Best mountain restaurants if you know where to go. Even a Michelin star restaurant in town. Great apres-ski. Decent late night party, but there are better. A lot of reviews are from angry tourists venting about prices and the fact that pistes were closed. Come on! Coffee price complaints? Seriously? I sense other issues. Ski lifts being closed? They were closed because there was over 1.5m of snow that fell in 2 days! That is life on a serious mountain. Wind was also an issue but the tourists would not understand. I guess if you go, do your research and ask locals for advice. Ohh, and hope for good weather.
January 02, 2012
zag from Ski Ireland Ireland
Just back from a week in Zermatt. Due to a pre-existing injury I wasn't able to ski this time around, so I'll restrict my review to the town end of things. As with many other posters I found that the main street was no fun at all. The taxis and delivery vehicles take no account of pedestrian activity, drive very fast, turn without warning, and reverse at high speed, etc . . . and all in all make for a very unpleasant experience. One day at the narrowest point in the street (at the Hotel Post) two taxis parked side by side and effectively forced the entire pedestrian flow to shuffle sideways between them. This sort of stuff isn't acceptable anywhere. It doesn't matter how cute the town is. However, turn off the main street and you enter a different world with much less crowding, much less vehicles, and nice old buildings. We got the train down the valley twice since I couldn't ski. My suggestion - give the Glacier Express a miss and just take the local train instead. It runs down the same track and has the same views. Take an off-peak local train (not connecting with trains to Zurich or Geneva airports) and you will have loads of room to yourself. The Glacier Express was absolutely packed and this meant that it was all a bit busy and not very relaxing. Prices are a little scary. Someone mentioned that a coffee costs the same as in the middle of London (like this was a good thing), but comparing like with like you can say that you could get a couple of coffees in an Austrian resort for the price of one in Zermatt. This may just be a function of Swiss prices in general but it doesn't make it any easier on the pocket. Expect to pay ~CHF20 for a pizza that in almost any other country in Europe would cost ~EUR5-12. Supermarket prices appeared to be much more reasonable, although we didn't buy loads there. Ski school prices for kids were pretty high at about CHF80 per day for group lessons so the kids in our group ended up skiing with the adults. In addition, it appeared that you only found out each evening where the group was going to meet the next morning - since the lifts are spread out quite widely around the town this might mean that you end up staying in a hotel beside lift A and having to trek 20 minutes to lift B to drop them off in the morning. Doesn't make a lot of sense to me. The Matterhorn museum by the church is worth a visit and is relatively good value at CHF10 for adults & CHF5 for children. We went around it & checked everything out in about 90 minutes. It opens from 1500.
January 02, 2012
Linda from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Zermatt has a lot to offer as a ski resort in terms of the skiing and the town, but I'm not sure we'll go back there. This is basically down to the eye wateringly expensive lift passes and poor service. We bought the international pass for 6 days which gives access to Italy. During that time it was only possible to ski into Italy from 11.30 on one day although it wasn't showing when we went up on the Gorngergrat. We kept checking display boards & discovered it was open at 3pm by which time it was too late to ski over the border & get back in time. As a result, they refused a refund for the whole 6 days. In addition some of the lower slopes on the Zermatt side remained closed most of the week. The conditions were very snowy, but even so, in most resorts you see piste bashers going up & down continuously, but not in Zermatt. Many sat idle. For the price paid & it is Switzerland, we expected better.
December 30, 2011
Bob from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Recently returned from a week in Zermatt with a large group of mixed ability. Many of the good and bad points have been listed in the reviews below, but here's my take. Good points: The town - great atmosphere, picturesque valley and the Matterhorn (although we only saw it out of the clouds for 3 hours!) The vertical (when it's open) and some of the long red runs were great. Not much queueing. The Chalet - Kamanga was fine and the food and wine good. Bad points: Lift and piste management was very poor- lifts and pistes closed all over for no apparent reason, snow cannons left on turning poor visibility (it was snowing) into dangerous conditions. Expensive - everything from the lift pass (which might be reasonable value if lifts and runs were open) to food and drink, but not that bad compared to top French resorts. The runs: (those that were open) good for intermediates, poor for advanced,(hardly any blacks open) poor for beginners or nervous, and poor for boarders (too many flat sections). Can't comment on the itiniaries as they were all closed and not for lack of snow. Off piste was not advisable due to avalanche risk. The connection to Cervinia - a joke!. We paid in advance for the area pass but could not use it. The top cable was not open for skiers at all and the double, very lengthy draglift was allegedly open for 3 hours one day, meaning that they refused to give any refunds. Overall we had a good time and made the most of what we could do and were perhaps unfortunate that the snow arrived late and in such quantities. It snowed over 1 metre the day we arrived and continued to snow (mainly lightly) all the time we were there. The powder was brilliant for the advanced, but the visibility poor. As others have said its probably better to go to Zermatt later in the season, when all the runs are open and hope for a bit of sunshine.
December 28, 2011
Ian de Haan from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
I had my first ski week of the season in Zermatt 10-17th December. Once again we enjoyed the amazingly scenic train journey form Geneva airport to Visp around the north shores of lake Geneva, on a very sunny morning. We got into Zermatt, were collected by the Beau Site hotel's taxi and were in plenty of time to enjoy an afternoon's skiing to warm us up for the Ski Week ahead. The piste skiing was very limited due to the lack of snow but nevertheless, enough to get ready. The next day we were off-piste with a guide for the whole week and had fantastic deep snow from the first forays into the off-piste. We started off at Rothorn and after only about 100 metres we were following the guide off-piste in deep, untracked snow. This then set the pace and continued for the rest of the week. After the first day the snow started to fall and just kept falling. We skied over to Valtournenche mid station on the one day the pass was open but despite poor visibility we all skied the varied snow conditions form crud to crust to deep powder before returning to Zermatt and enjoying deep untracked powder on both sides of Furggsattel and on to Garten. Everyday we skied somewhere different, always off-piste and always in untracked deep snow. On the last day, the lifts were closed so three of us went out on touring skis with the guide via Franz and Heidis to Sunnegga, where we skied down to Hotel Cervo in lovely, light, deep powder snow to finish our week. When you are skiing Zermatt, it can appear limiting if you only ski in Zermatt. When you ski to Cervinia and Valtournenche, it is a GREAT ski area. When you go off-piste the whole week, Zermatt becomes a VAST ski area, especially when you go off-piste to Cervinia and Valtournenche. Then you can get over to the Monte Rosa area and it becomes one of the LARGEST ski areas in the world. Not only great skiing, but some of the finest mountain restaurants in the world which we managed to eat in too! When I returned, I emailed some friends. They were in Heavenly USA and skiing only man-made snow! This was undoubtedly one of the best ski weeks I have had and look forward to many more off-piste days with their guides. I am returning in January and looking to ski to St Jacques. The lifts continue to be improved and is still value for money. Get to the lifts late and just like any other top resort, there may well be queues - ignore the people who expect the world to revolve around themselves and go to the most amazing ski resort in the world !
October 15, 2011
Sadi AKEL from Ski Turkey Turkey
Zermatt has become a classic for ski tourism.Yes it's nice but don't neglect Pitztal,Kaprun,Lech and the area and also Zinal,Vals.Though Zermatt is the Ritz of all.
May 09, 2011
Denny from Ski United States United States
All of the negative reviews are correct. Please do not go to Zermatt. I will continue to suffer through the great skiing, fantastic food, wonderful town and so forth, all by myself. It will be tough, but I will make an effort to continue to torture myself.
April 27, 2011
Ian de Haan from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
My last week this season was from 26th March to 2nd April, staying once again at my favorite hotel. The train journey is spectacular and the views across lake Geneva always impress me. The snow capped mountains against the azure blue skies rising up form the southern shores of the lake are stunning. Once into Zermatt and having been collected from the station, I was on my way to Sunnegga, collected my skis from Tipee Sport and onto the funicular. My week started with a few hours on the Saturday afternoon, skiing from Sunnegga over to Trockenersteg and back down to Zermatt. The next day, with sunny weather, Valtournenche beckoned and off I went for an espresso at Enzo's cafe by the gondola station. The run to Valtournenche is the longest in the Alps and apart from a very short chair lift over the col, is a great fast run all the way down to the car park at the end. With the snow making facilities now all the way down, this run remains in great condition until late in the season. This run is highly recommended! We all ski form Klein Matterhorn, schussing to the border and over to Valtournenche, fastest time recorded so far is 17 minutes to the car park. See my previous report. Then off to ski the other runs in Valtournenche, before heading back over to Cervinia and ski Ceilo Alto, and then over to Bontadini before skiing back down to Cervinia for lunch. Many people now comment on how good the lifts are now and the ability to link all the areas up, maximising their skiing in all three areas. The new lifts are very efficient without covering the areas in lifts like the 3 Valleys. The off-piste opportunities are vast and the guides will take you to the otherwise inaccessible areas in safety. So long as you are fit enough, it is possible to ski 12,000 metres of vertical a day before 3.30pm. You can do even more than this if you ski to 5pm. If you were in the 3 Valleys, you could easily do far more as the runs are somewhat less challenging. Visitors from the USA all comment on how good the lift system is and better chairlifts than in their resorts, also the restaurants and the vertical. Everyday when the weather allows, I ski to Valtournenche for the first run, often being the first down from the col. When there is fresh snow, you can leave fresh tracks all the way down. This time though it was more fast, freshly prepared piste than fresh snow, but still possible to ski all the way down for the first four days. Glorious sunny weather too - how good is that ! Some people state the lifts take too long to get to the top, but if you are at the lifts by 8.15 am then it does not take long at all. However, like all other ski resorts, if you are there in peak season and stroll to the lifts between 9-10 am then you can find big lift queues. Zermatt is a traditional ski resort and not built on the slopes like some and yes, you do have to walk a short distance to the bus stops. There are little electric taxis too. Is Zermatt a great resort ? - Yes - and it has some of the most spectacular scenery and skiing too, with arguably the best restaurants too, though Bontadini is in my opinion the best in the whole area. Given the snow conditions all over the Alps this year, Zermatt, with Cervinia and Valtournenche has been one of the best. Why so few people ski to Cervinia and Valtournenche is something I never understand, but that just leaves more room for the rest of us! When I take people to Valtournenche and to restaurants in Cervinia, they are always surprised how attractive Cervinia is and just how big the whole area is too. To dismiss Zermatt as too easy and no ski-in ski-out is to not understand a traditional ski resort. Ski all the runs from the top to the bottom without stopping will let you see the resort in a whole new light, if you dare! I have already booked four weeks for next year and will be flying out to the USA to ski in Utah too - but I have been warned that the mountain restaurants are non existent and the chair lifts have no foot rests! It will certainly be most interesting to compare the differences!
April 26, 2011
Glenn from Ski Netherlands Netherlands
Yes, beautiful part of the world and the scenery is great but Zermatt, in my opinion, is overpriced and overrated as a skiing resort. I think it's best suited to intermediate skiers only, I can't really comment on the advanced stuff as I'm just a recreational level skier but I note that others that are have done so. We went as a family and I found it very poor for children that are beginner to intermediate level as there is not a lot between nursery slopes and some fairly difficult (in places) blues. Most of the runs in the resort are reds and many are quite narrow edge of the mountain type runs. Probably no problem for the better skiers but very difficult and daunting for others. Also, as most of the runs that link the valleys are reds it makes it very difficult for those of lesser ability to ski more than one area per day without going down and up again. Yes, you will also spend a lot of time carrying skis and walking, we went in Spring and it takes about 1 hour to get high enough to ski decent snow. That's if you don't get knocked down on the way to the lift by the stupid electric vehicles which are everywhere. Traffic free - you must be kidding! Also the cost, everything is expensive, ski hire, ski passes, food - 10 CHF just for a plate of fries?! If you are loaded again this is not a problem but for the rest of us it's painful. In summary, it's only worth going late season when other resorts are finished or once just to admire the Matterhorn and tick the box.