Ski Canada - BC

Whistler Blackcomb Resort Reviews

Ski Canada - BC

Whistler Blackcomb Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Whistler Blackcomb Ski Resort

Whistler Blackcomb Ratings

Overall: 4.1. Based on 198 votes and 165 reviews. Vote

Access: 3.8

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Whistler Blackcomb.

Public Transport: 4.0

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Whistler Blackcomb, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Scenery: 4.5

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Accommodation: 4.4

(1) No places to stay in/near Whistler Blackcomb, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 3.2

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 4.8

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Whistler Blackcomb.

Ski in/Ski out: 4.5

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 4.0

(1) There are no child care facilities at Whistler Blackcomb, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowsure: 4.2

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Whistler Blackcomb is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Snowmaking: 3.9

(1) Whistler Blackcomb relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 4.0

(1) There are no snow groomers at Whistler Blackcomb, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Whistler Blackcomb are groomed daily.

Shelter: 3.9

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Whistler Blackcomb is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 2.5

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Whistler Blackcomb, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 4.2

(1) Whistler Blackcomb usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.3

(1) The staff at Whistler Blackcomb are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Whistler Blackcomb are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 2.8

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.5

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.6

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Variety of pistes: 4.6

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Whistler Blackcomb has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Beginners: 4.3

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.6

(1) No intermediate terrain at Whistler Blackcomb, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 4.7

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 4.5

(1) Not even a kicker at Whistler Blackcomb, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Off-piste: 4.3

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Cross-country: 4.2

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Whistler Blackcomb, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 3.9

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Whistler Blackcomb has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 4.2

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 4.5

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 4.5

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 4.3

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 4.3

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 4.3

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 3.4

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 3.4

(1) Overall, Whistler Blackcomb is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 3.5

(1) Overall, Whistler Blackcomb is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

March 27, 2014
Curtis from Ski Canada Canada
OMG! We skied in over 40cms today. Dry, light snow and sunny. No lift lines and fresh lines all day. Wow! Who needs a helicopter. Once again we are reminded that this place is truly fantastic. And it's nearly April!
February 23, 2014
The Jig Is Up from Ski Canada Canada
Now that the comment of snow friendly forecasts has been brought up, coincidentally an underestimation of the snowfall occurs the following 2 weeks. If this is proof they weren't full of crap to you this whole winter you are naive. P.s on weather stats we were 1/3 of Novembers snowfall, 1/2 of typical December snowfall and back to a third for typically snowy month (as per WB weather stats) in January. February is the typical dry month and it is snowing. Corruption is as obvious as it is in the entire world when money is concerned. But the bottom line, now there is snow. The mountains are not ice and being called hard pack anymore. They are actually soft pack powder as the website says. No one was ever just trying to make WB sound bad, we were simply saying that whether they draw straws or roll dice an honest description of the piste should be reported and if you constantly are going to exaggerate the snow amounts prior to the snowfall it'd be nice to see the odd underestimation. I have a feeling someone was listening ;)
February 19, 2014
Kev Solly from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
After leaving the UK on Saturday 15th Feb at 6am, I arrived on the Sunday 16th Feb at 12am with our coach driver saying we've brought the snow this week and its been snowing since then. The lift lines, at 9am on the 16th, were 40 plus mins long at the base stations. Yes, it was Sunday so everyone was up and out. We took the Excalibur lift and once up it spreads out there are runs to keep you going. We said we will do fresh tracks in the morning though we knew what was to come. We arrived at 6.10am only to find at least 250 plus people in front of us in the queue. The queue behind us went back passed Blacks bar by 6.45. We got to the roundhouse restaurant from the breakfast, which I must say is worth it and we were out the door by 8.35am. We had good runs and stayed up by Harmony and Symphony instead of dropping down lower. We dropped into some bowls and it was quality. We decided to do fresh tracks again and meet at the same time only there weren't as many people in the queue; say about 70. We had some awesome runs as we finished breakfast earlier this time and was out by 8.20am. There were a lot of the bowls closed but the peak to peak was open so we hopped over to Blackcomb and down to the base station. We stopped down by Whistler village at 2.30pm and ended up in the Garibaldi Lift Company for a drink and dinner. Whilst we were sitting by the window the snow on top of the outside bar stools was at least 12 to 15 inches and it was still coming down. We left at 4.45pm, bought 2 more fresh tracks tickets for the morning because we know what's awaiting us. Like you say, everyone has been saying its been dry for 5 weeks but this week its been awesome. Granted the lift queues are long (10-15 mins) but it's so civilised you don't mind and trust me I've been snowboarding since 1992, to Europe, during all periods; nobody here queue jumps. For many years I've wanted to come here and like you I would have been very disappointed if it hadn't snowed but you can't predict mother nature. My mate with me has been here 4 times before and yes, twice it's been like sheets of ice. We are both advanced snowboarders, 37 and 46 years old so we are mature with full time jobs at home and are grinning ear to ear. If it snows here it's awesome though because it's a holiday period it is busy and it does get tracked out quickly. Would I come back? No, because coming from the UK it's very expensive to get here and the lift ticket prices are extortionate, though the food is reasonably priced compared to Europe and for it not to snow it's a waste of a holiday. I'm only here until the 22nd but my mate is here until the 27th. If you live locally the weather forecast seems pretty accurate and you can make your way here. To pre book this as a holiday it hit or miss if the conditions are anything to go by. The atmosphere is very friendly, the village has everything from expensive to family spar type convenient supermarkets. I'm staying at the Holiday Inn so it's only minutes to the lifts. It's central so no complaints there. For me, it's too packed, too busy, too many hungry powder hounds who even take their children up on fresh tracks in the morning. Poor kids must have been up since 5am. There are too many flat spots for snowboarders if you don't know the runs well or are prepared to hike to get to those stashes. The backcountry is epic but you need a guide or someone who knows it well. The pistes are long some are bashed well others mogulled. It's my 4th day tomorrow so hopefully a full day of snow has left a good coverage. Fresh tracks in the morning! As I'm a college lecturer I can't pick and choose when I can take my holidays but I've been to Banff and Fernie during mid Feb and it's been empty compared to here. Yes, it's cosmopolitan, it's lively, it's accessible, the staff are fabulous, there are plenty of places to stay, the fun park looks top class but there are some old drag lifts that could do with being replaced with chairlifts. When the weather's good it's awesome, if not I'd hate to think about it especially as a freeriding snowboarder who doesn't do park and pipe. BTW I'm up again in 5 hours!
February 15, 2014
Pat from Ski Canada Canada
Whistler local here. I'm enjoying all these bad reviews because every year we have a dry January. Mid February the snow starts. These reviews must have kept the tourists away because the last three days have been dead here in Whistler and 30cm of snow each night, even if the WB website accumulation said there was less. So, in conclusion, WB is the worst resort ever! Never snows! Wouldn't suggest coming here and clogging up the lift lines!
February 06, 2014
Keith from Ski Australia Australia
Hmmm - I suspect the unpredictability of the weather have more to do with the other guys concern that anyone being paid. I was there for 3 weeks in Jan. Off-piste was crap, on-piste was excellent above mid. They predicted 30 cm of snow one night, we got 42 (95 cm in 5 days.) Off-piste, for rest of trip, was as good as it has ever been. I go every year. Compared to everywhere else I have skied, a bad year in Whistler is better than a good year elsewhere. France, Austria, Australia, Korea, Italy, NZ.
February 06, 2014
rediculousalright from Ski Canada Canada
There goes the honest comments and on with more defending WB..hahaha. This forecast isn't so you Whistler people can make money! It's so that the consumer, who spends their hard earned dollars on a weekend of skiing, doesn't get lied to. Conditions are crap, no snow, not WB's fault other than the fact that they and local business owners (full disclosure) are constantly on the cover up. Can't even have a 'no snow' comment on the bottom of the forecast for more than 2 days. If it's real, it's real. It's a review of Whistler by people who visit, not an advertisement from WB or its affiliates.
February 05, 2014
Spring Skiing from Ski Canada Canada
This season has had a lack of snow but, actually, recently the conditions have been really cold meaning it has stayed better than it does sometimes (due to the low altitude temperate climate can sometimes get melt periods). At the moment it is blue skies and hard packed groomed runs (a bit icy in places admittedly). The comment regarding snow management at the time it was written was justified. Don't know what happened over christmas period but am guessing a few key personnel were on holiday as grooming and snow making were not up to scratch for a good couple of weeks. Since then they seem to have tried to make the best of it making a decent park just down from Emerald, on Whistler mountain, to keep people entertained and good grooming.
February 05, 2014
Tim from Ski Australia Australia
January/February 2014, in Whistler; nothing short of horrific snow wise. Having flown halfway around the world on the back of glowing reviews. The reality of Whistler snow this year is nothing but disappointment. I would compare Whistlers conditions this year to Perisher, in Australia, in 2014. Ice, ice, manufactured snow and then more ice. The terrain could be fantastic if there was actually any real snow anywhere. The runs are nice and wide, the only problem is you can hardly get an edge in on any of them. Blackcomb is significantly worse than Whistler itself for some reason, so we have spent most of our time forced on to green runs as there aren't enough snowmakers anywhere on blue or blacks. Add all that to the fact you are paying 2xJapanese lift ticket prices when booked weeks in advance, with no refunds, and it makes for people not being overly happy about having sunk $2k on air tickets. There is a reason the slopes are empty this year and a reason that the lift queues are short: the snow plain sucks.
February 05, 2014
Anglo-Canadian from Ski Canada Canada
Grew up on European skiing, learnt real skiing in Canada. Skied at least 10 ski holiday in Trois Vallee (plus a number of other resorts). Skied 20+ days in Whistler. I prefer Whistler. It's less crowded. There are huge tree lines to ski (if you can't or don't like skiing trees then stick to Europe). I've skied Blackcomb glacier a number of times. Even in December, with poor snow, this last year I loved it; great views, a sense of majesty with a degree of remote that you just don't achieve in Europe (save perhaps for Vallee Blanche). April 8 2013, bluebird, 30cm of fresh and no one around; fresh lines everywhere. Yes, it's a hyped resort, they're there to make money, but it remains the best place I've skied in the world bar none. Lets hope this climate change pattern is a one off that isn't a sign of times to come.
February 04, 2014
Do Your Research from Ski Canada Canada
Some of the recent comments on this site are so uninformed it is rediculous. First of all, it should be noted that WB purchases their weather forecast from a 3rd party forecaster: MWS (look up shredfx). They report it as MWS calls it. Secondly, the size of WB means the variation in snow measurements can be huge. Yes, they may say one thing and a groomed lower mountain run will have less snow. But if you can't find the snow, you need to pick up a guide and go search, not complain online. And lastly, this is a brutal year for all PNW resorts. Blaming WB staff for being unprepared to handle these conditions is ridiculous, and comments about making snow in extreme cold temps shows a lack of understanding of snow making process. WB has lots of pros, and it's share of cons too, as do all resorts. It's crazy how fast people are in a bad snow year to criticise the resort and the people who run it for variables that are outside of their control. And full disclaimer - I do not work for WB but, like most people in this town, I rely on the economic impact WB has here. [note from the editor: names of individuals not included in reviews.]