Visitor reviews for Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) Ski Resort

Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) Ratings

Overall: 3.9. Based on 26 votes and 63 reviews. Vote

Snowsure: 3.8

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Variety of pistes: 4.2

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Off-piste: 3.8

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Scenery: 4.1

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Access: 4.4

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea).

Public Transport: 4.1

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Accommodation: 4.3

(1) No places to stay in/near Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 4.0

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 3.4

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea).

Ski in/Ski out: 3.9

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 3.6

(1) There are no child care facilities at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowmaking: 3.8

(1) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 4.0

(1) There are no snow groomers at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) are groomed daily.

Shelter: 3.9

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 3.9

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 3.8

(1) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.1

(1) The staff at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 3.7

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.5

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.4

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Beginners: 3.7

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.7

(1) No intermediate terrain at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 4.2

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 3.1

(1) Not even a kicker at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Cross-country: 2.8

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 2.5

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 4.3

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 4.2

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 4.3

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 3.1

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 3.1

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 3.4

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 4.0

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 4.0

(1) Overall, Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 4.2

(1) Overall, Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

March 10, 2008
trish and eamonn from Ski Ireland Ireland
Back from a great week in Sauze, Feb 2008. Had been here four years ago and it was just as good as before. Stayed in a lovely homely, friendly hotel; Hotel Martin in Jovenceaux. It's about 1 mile from the centre but a bus can bring you up or Max, in the hotel, will bring you up at night ( all downhill on the way home). The ski hire is outside the door and the ski lift is about a four minute walk! The food was lovely and the atmosphere; great. The walk down each evening was brilliant, lots of apres-ski. I can't praise the resort enough. The snow was very good and the weather; lovely. Can't wait to go back.
March 03, 2008
Jose from Ski Italy Italy
Just got back from Sauze. The resort is ok but would not recommend it to friends. The lifts are old fashioned and some of the Italian people could be nicer to tourists because if they carry on the way they are doing they might find that their slopes/hotels/apartments might be a bit emptier in the near future. The food was either excellent or poor. Cold lasagne, cold coffee, rotten lettuce and hard bread... Zias restaurant was fantastic but avoid Per Bacco as they tried to charge our group 32 Euros for a starter that included 8 pieces of ham, a large piece of lettuce and 5 olives. It's only when I said that they should call the police as I wasn't prepared to pay the full bill that they subtracted 11 Euros from the bill. still a rip off. If you need to use the internet go to the pool/table tennis shopping centre next to Hotel Derby. Do not go to the one next to the The Cotton Club as they rip you off and somehow charge you to register to use the internet??? Oh, my friend had a little accident on the Friday. I called the emergency services using the 112 number and was astonished to find out that the emergency services and local police could not speak a word of English. Unbelievable, considering most of the tourists there are English! Hotel Besson have a lovely spa facility and the Godfather restaurant is worth a visit as the owner is quite funny. Acceptable but definitely not going back. Austria next year. Forget Italy.
March 01, 2008
tom from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
I went to Sauze from Feb 3 to the 10. It snowed heavily on the first day which kept the snow great all week. There was off- piste everywhere unless the machines had been over it, and tree runs were fun. The gondola to Sestriere was open. Also, the run to Sestiere which hadn't been open in past seasons (someone tells me at the start of the run) was open too. Highly recommend going to Sestriere. The womens downhill or super G was on and we got a lift behind someone from the US ski team. Stayed in hotel Edelweiss which was good 'cause the lift is 100 meters down a run so you can ski down it, BUT this means you have to walk up at the end of the day which feels like trying to pull a Boeing 747 uphill. If you can go to France definitely go it's hell good. It's quite a walk from Jouvenseux to the main town Sauze but it's quite good. We saw Jakki Degg and Lisa Maffia around town. The skiing was class when we went, but looking at the reports now, it hasn't snowed since the first day I was there and I wouldn't be happy if I was there now. I would be worried to book there again in case of the snow, but that's a shame because it's a really good resort, five stars when theres been lots of snow.
February 21, 2008
marion scanlon from Ski Ireland Ireland
I've been skiing in Sauze for at least 6 years. My husband and I love it there. Last year we went to America to ski, the runs were fab. but the night life was really bad! Nothing like Sauze at all. We've stayed in Des Amie Hotel in Jouvenseux, Hotel Sauze, New Miravelle, and Raise des Alpes. Hotel Sauze is right at the end of the slopes and you can ski right up to the door. The staff are very friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed. Some people even come down to breakfast in their pyjamas. The food is excellent too. From here you can ski over to Sesterier, it's a beautiful day out, the scenery is fantastic. We're off to Sauze next Sunday, but at the moment the snow report doesn't look too good. I just hope it snows before we go. I'm really looking forward to it !!! 20.02.08
February 18, 2008
steve from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Sauz d'Oulx..... Never again.
February 18, 2008
lesley speake from Ski Italy Italy
Went to Sauz d'Oulx in Jan 08. Had a great time. It snowed really hard and the resort was packed with snow. We stayed at the hotel Sayorana. It was warm and comfy and the food was good. Prices on resort were ok. I expected it to be more expensive but there is no market. Ice rink or cinema as stated in the brochures so not much to do for the non skier. A visit to Turin is hard work on public transport but it is worth it.
January 31, 2008
Lydia from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
J and C, I am not altogether surprised that you chose to make your slightly xenophobic review anonymously. “Italians were nice and friendly but most of them seriously needed some deo!!” Shame on you! I suggest you do a little research before you book your next holiday so you don’t inadvertently end up booking a hotel in a village outside the resort if you want to stay in the resort.
December 20, 2007
Tony H from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Myself and a mate went on a last minute cheapy, booked 3 days before departure in March 2007. We had to fly from Manchester as part of the deal, hardly on our doorstep (Peterborough) but possibly the best UK departure airport experience I have had!!! Flight was delayed because of high winds, but only an hour or so, and then they couldn't shut one of the doors and had to find a new nut and bolt to fit - Star Alliance airlines, chartered to BMI. Only a little A320 airbus. Needless to say, it got blown about on take off, but after the initial 15 minutes of violence, the flight to Turin was fine. Lots of snow over Switzerland, contrary to reports, Turin airport was actually warm and sunny. Around 20c, not good when you want to ski! The airport is badly organised - bags from UK flights appearing all over the place, skis and boots on the wrong carousel too. Crystal rep got cheeky with everyone and threatened to leave people behind who had not got luggage, and asked those who hadn't to get on the bus and they would send it on - yeah, right! We were with Panorama (Airtours) booked through skideals.co.uk - £129 for a weeks half board. I wasn't expecting much for that, apart from somewhere to sleep to be honest. You cant fly to Turin on a Sunday for less than that! Transfer to Sauze took about 90 minutes, the resort was hot and sunny when we arrived. Headed out for a beer, and had to sit in T shirts and roll jeans up, it was so warm! Luckily we had our own skis and boots, as the rental shops in general didn't look good. Lots of old and damaged skis, worn out boots, but mainly because there hadn't been much snow this season. Short walk from where buses drop you to the main square. We were in Hotel Sportinia. For £129, you can't complain, but had I paid full price, I would be quite upset. The receptionist got arrested for doing drugs and turned out to be an illegal immigrant from Brazil, the bedrooms were large but basic, but adequate for a nights sleep, but the place was run by a Romanian family of gypsies, who were neither trusting nor friendly. Very strange people indeed. Food was ok, edible, but not very filling, and we often ended up eating up in town later on as well. Found Paddy McGintys and stayed there first evening and every other evening. It's a fun place, good natured, always something going on, god pint of Peroni, and H who runs it is welcoming. Next morning, it was minus 10! Sudden change in temp is common up here apparently. Headed up Clotes lift, no sign of any snow until we reached the top, where the pistes were all groomed with some real and some fake snow, but the actual skiing conditions were excellent - lots of long open cruising runs, and we had the best weeks skiing ever. Roca Nere restaurant at the Sportinia is the place to eat; friendly family run bar. We headed over the 1 man chair to Sestriere, good day out there, and took a day bus trip to Montgenevre - highly recommended, where we did off-piste and skied a river bed too. Sauze is fun, and the skiing is good. Italian accommodations is renowned for being basic, but the people, food and nightlife make up for it. Go here for good skiing and good fun.
November 30, 2007
Ian M from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Avoiding Andy Capps every night proved to be impossible. Members of my ski party could still be found there at 4 in the morning, which is not conducive for a 9:30 meeting at the top of the mountain. Cold weather but a lack of snow meant that the link to Sestriere wasn't open so all the piste was well bashed before we stopped skiing.
November 05, 2007
Glenn young from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Went to Sauze D'Oulx in April 07 and stayed in Hotel Splendid. The hotel was great, food was plentiful and the staff were great too. Skiing was great with plenty of good reds and blacks. The ski instructors were the best I have ever been taught by. Stefano, and Corado were second to none. If you want to get your skiing up to scratch then these guys are the ones. However, if you are just starting out there are not many greens or blues.