Visitor reviews for Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) Ski Resort

Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) Ratings

Overall: 3.9. Based on 26 votes and 63 reviews. Vote

Snowsure: 3.8

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Variety of pistes: 4.2

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Off-piste: 3.8

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Scenery: 4.1

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Access: 4.4

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea).

Public Transport: 4.1

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Accommodation: 4.3

(1) No places to stay in/near Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 4.0

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 3.4

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea).

Ski in/Ski out: 3.9

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 3.6

(1) There are no child care facilities at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowmaking: 3.8

(1) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 4.0

(1) There are no snow groomers at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) are groomed daily.

Shelter: 3.9

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 3.9

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 3.8

(1) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.1

(1) The staff at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 3.7

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.5

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.4

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Beginners: 3.7

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.7

(1) No intermediate terrain at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 4.2

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 3.1

(1) Not even a kicker at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Cross-country: 2.8

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 2.5

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 4.3

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 4.2

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 4.3

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 3.1

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 3.1

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 3.4

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 4.0

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 4.0

(1) Overall, Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 4.2

(1) Overall, Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

December 23, 2010
John Jones from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
The Jones/ Macdonald families Flew out from Gatwick last Sunday 19th December, just made it so here we are in Sauze d'Oulx (Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea)) and we love it. Snow conditions are great and it keeps snowing so if you are on your way here for New year week you will have even better snow. People are really friendly, ski school excellent and everybody speaks English, pizza and pasta fantastic, hotel good value for money and breakfast and dinner excellent......oh yes, that is at the Gran Baita hotel. So far so good you would say....well not exactly, I am actually sitting here in a bar that offers wifi for free and writing this review because I am so angry at having been ripped off by Crystal with their pre booking prices. This is going on all the forums I can find, and read on and you will not blame me for it. We are 2 families traveling together, I opted to pre book all and pay £177 x 2 adult lift pass,1 x 7 year old free, 1x 9 year old £115 total lift pass £469 plus 2 x adult 2 x child ski and boot £264 plus 4 x ski school £444 all in all a massive big total of £1177. My friend was a little bit cleverer then I am and booked everything on line with skiinitaly.com for less then 12% of what it cost me for exactly the same (if not better ski equipment) for only €1180 thats the equivalent of £1032, so their family has an extra £145 to spend in resort and also paid for everything once he got here whilst I have pre booked 8months ago!! So if you are coming to Sauze d'Oulx you will have a great time and your kids will love it too, but just contact Christine@skiinitaly.com and book all your extras direct with her, 12% cheaper nowadays is a lot of money especially with a family of 4
March 06, 2010
M Taylor from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Went to Sauze d'Olux 21/02/10 to 28/02/10...... My first time to this resort as an intermediate skier. Fantastic skiing conditions; the piste bashers really know what they're doing over there. Sauze d'Olux is mostly a red run resort and even the few blacks I'd really call reds. I went to all the resorts in the Milky Way: Pragelato Sestrieree, Sanscario, Clavier and a day trip to Montgenevre, in France. All fantasticly pisted but equally useless at signposting but as another reviewer says, it's hard to get lost. There is a nightlife to suit all be it going nuts for 25 pints to get a paddys t-shirt or a quiet beer in the many bars. A few things to be careful of at Sauze d'Olux: The lifts can shut at the first sign of bad weather (this is generally in the afternoons and will get as bad as 5 meter visibility), weekends are really busy with the locals but even then the longest I waited for a chair lift was 10 mins, the ski plod are always on the lookout for an off-pister which will cost you a few euros! Hotel Sauze is extremly close to the bottom of the runs and very convenient for this but it is halfway up the hill from the coach park and all the pubs, restaraunts and shops etc are in between. Not a bad walk but gets a bit boring if you make the trip a few times. The food was basic and you had to be quick at breakfast as they only made a certain amount of items such as boiled eggs. Dinners are good, they are set out as a 4 course with the first being a salad type bar, second a pasta dish (usually the bigger), your main then desert. Rooms were basic. All piste restaraunts were fantastic and great value although the day in France was extremely expensive so keep some euros for that. Which brings me onto money. I budgeted for about 10-15 euros for lunch and coffee etc and about 20-30 for beer vouchers in the evening. All in all, a very good holiday with fantastic snow all week and very sad to be home. I would and will go back to Sauze d'Olux again, Enjoy your trip and don't break a leg!
February 23, 2010
Tony Bolus from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Went out to Sauze d'Oulx on 3rd Jan 2010, going back 7th March 2010 (3rd time to Sauze). Plenty of skiing for intermediates and beginners. Yes, the chair lifts from the Sportina to the top are antiquated, but you rarely have big queues and you can avoid them by using the Clotes lift to get over to The Bowl and other resorts. Yes, the signs are typically Italian and non-existent, but to be fair it's difficult to get lost unless you try to ski to France. The snow has been excellent, loads of powder, and yes, the resort runs get worn and busy, just like every other resort in Europe. If in doubt, ski high and get the Sportina chair back down to the bottom. It's now easy to get over to Sestriere and Sansicario. Use the rep guides, Crystal are particularly good (unlike the good old days). The apres-ski at Sauze d'Oulx is as good as Austria. Do the torchlight decent and have a game of football in ski boots - hilarious, but don't try to head the basketball, it hurts. Watch off-pisting as the mountain police were around and there is a 230 euro fine. People got warned but didn't get marched to the cash point! Enjoy!
February 14, 2010
martin kent from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Arrived back on 14th Feb. Left in heavy snow fall at Turin airport after 1 hour delay. Sauz (Sauze d'Oulx) is a good resort but do not stay in Hotel Derby. It's a dump [Neilson ski] noisy, dirty, cramped and no food to mention apart from a hard roll with dried ham and stale breakfast cereal. If you like pizza, Per Bacco is a must in the corner of the car park square. If you like a fry up Paddy Mcgintys is a must: 8euro for a full English. If you like a kebab for lunch the Cabana kind near ski school Sportina is excellent. Wicked snow fall: 3ft in one day. Head to the bowl at the top for ultimate powder heaven. All in all, food is expensive as are the drinks, buy in the supermarkets and save a bomb. Go see for yourself. Have a fantastic time in Sauze d'Oulx, Italy.
January 31, 2010
Colin Bromley from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Snow conditions were good on arrival at Sauze d'Oulx and lots more fell during our stay. We were sold a Milky Way pass which proved to be something of a joke as the link to Sestrierre was closed most of the time. Very few runs were pisted with little piste-basher action until Christmas Eve by which time we had been there four days. On Christmas Eve and Christmas night the pisteurs were out all night making lots of new runs ready for the Italian holidaymakers. Frankly, we felt cheated and we were far from alone in this. Additionaly, this year's changes to the ski lift arrangements meant that in poor conditions, the only way back from Sestrierre to Sauze (although only a green run) was hairy to say the least with a steep fall away on one side of a very narrow track. My strong advice, based on numerous years visiting Sauze (Sauze d'Oulx), is "Don't bother!" Try France instead where the lift systems are better and piste conditions well monitored and maintained.
March 09, 2009
Alan Hackney from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just got back from a week in Sauze d'Oulx, staying at the Hotel Sauze. Just like to say the conditions were fantastic; couldn't have been better. The hotel was great, food really good, staff really nice and freindly. Only downside was the bathrooms need a bit of up-dating, but this is a minor point. Prices on the piste for food and drinks at Sauze d'Oulx was reasonable despite the exchange rate. The pistes were really good, lift system was good enough, some are a bit ancient but in general they are adequate. The town was not as lively as expected, but this was not a problem as we were too tired to party due to the amount of skiing done over the 6 days. All in all, Sauze d'Oulx is excellent.
March 02, 2009
miker from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Sauze d'Oulx is a lovely resort. The skiing is fabulous - there are so many interesting runs, especially back down to Sauze (several interesting runs with lots of side turnings and little off-piste opportunities) - a great resort if you are a good skier. The views are far better than typical views in French resorts (and I actually do like France). The view from the top looking into Sansicario is sensational - I have never seen anything better anywhere - you can see for miles, and it is almost always sunny and clear. I was there in Jan and again in Feb 2009, in stupendous snow. Most of the runs are not particularly difficult, but there are wonderful off-piste opportunities, for example directly below the Jouvenceau chair (a splendid detachable new high speed quad chair) where you can ski in the open or through the trees. You can spend all day going round on this on this one lift, if you have the energy to ski off-piste all day (although in nice snow, the piste run down to Jouvenceau is beautiful, and it goes for miles). Unlike Meribel where I also ski a lot, you can ski powder days after new snow at Sauze d'Oulx. In Meribel it is usually skied out within 1 day (all 600km of it). The condition of the piste is typically much better than the 3 Valleys, for the same reason. If you want a really good lunch, try the Sport Hotel in Claviere (marked on the piste map) - they lay out literally dozens of different dishes, both cooked and salads, and the prices are reasonable, especially by Meribel stratospheric standards. Overall, probably my favorite place to go. Downsides: No bumps on the piste at Sauze d'Oulx (not skied enough to bump up). I fly in with Ryanair - the world's worst airline. Some restaurants are poor (but some are excellent). Some of the lifts are old/slow e.g. the 2 man chairs out of Sportinia (please upgrade them). I never use those lifts - you can always avoid them.
February 11, 2009
Wayne from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just got back from fantastic week in Sauze d'Oulx. Been three times now and never disappointed. We got a bargain deal through Nielsen. Their reps were great and the whole trip was well organised. We stayed at cheap and cheerful Sayonara which was perfectly adequate with nice food. Snow conditions were the best ever although the visablity wasn't great a lot of the time. The Milky Way could do with some new lifts but the ski area is huge and you'll be hard pressed to cover more than two areas in a day. Runs are mostly easy reds but there's lots of opportunity to go off between the trees and have some fun. Go over to Mont Genevre for a day to find some slightly more challenging runs. The nightlife is great at Sauze d'Oulx even though you are likely to bump into the odd wasted Brit on a stag trip. If this is not your idea of fun, just head into the old town for nice restaurants and quieter bars. Go to Vagabondi for some excellent live music and dancing. Thanks Cpl Kiara. Unfortunately, the strong Euro does make beer and food expensive. Beers are mostly €5. Look out for happy hour deals as you get off the slopes at Sauze d'Oulx though; Villiage Bar is a good start. A great spot, if you get some sun, is Clotes Bar at the top of the first lift. Stop here for a Bombardino or a beer and free snack at the end of the day and soak up the rays before racing down to the Villiage bar at the bottom for that last bit of adrenaline.
February 10, 2009
Johnny T from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Sauze d'Oulx is a great place. As a beginner I had some legwork to do. The last bit down into Sauze is more red than blue. Not to worry, the best money spent is a 5 euro weekly bus ticket to the Sportinia lift then 15 euros to leave your gear at the top. My fellows skiers were envious when they were humping skis and poles all the way up to the lift bottom in their boots every morning. Plenty of bars at Sauze d'Oulx and not a great deal of noise. Best value was Max's Cafe happy hour: 4.30 till 7.30 and ALL beers, not just the local lager, were 3 euros a pint. Hotel Relais Des Alpes was adequate for food if you like carvery style and nice buffet salads; 3 star is about right as ski resorts go. Had I made the grade from novice to intermediate I would have seen a lot more of the mountains. Suffice to say some of the instructors are more like tour guides than teachers and seem hell bent on getting you as far away form Sportinia as possible, regardless of your ability. That said the conditions were perfect with fresh deep snow and sunny days. I would certainly go to Sauze d'Oulx again.
February 04, 2009
Rob from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just got back from a brilliant week in Sauze (Sauze d'Oulx). I was surprised at the incredible variety of experiences listed here, so thought I'd add my own: + Friendly people on the mountains/resorts (the rudeness encountered on the day trip to the French resort of Montgenevre was enough to sell me on Italy for years despite my speaking French but no Italian) + Reasonably priced food on the mountain (€2.50 - €4 for a decent sized slab of pizza and €8 - €10 for a filling pasta/polenta main) + Cheap lift ticket compared to Alpine average (€170, but got mine for £130 through Nielsen) + No queues for most lifts except on weekends + Lots of gladed runs means the powder sticks around for a while if you're prepared to hunt - Slightly antiquated lift system in parts - Our chalet (Valentin) is a long walk from town c. 20 minutes - Difficult runs at the base make skiing out hard for absolute beginners - Not too many challenging runs without hitting the further flung resorts of the Milky Way - No park in Sauze (Sauze d'Oulx), and parks half built elsewhere early season. The only decent one seems to be in Sestriere, but costs an additional €15 a day. I really didn't find it pricey in town though. I wasn't there to go out and get wasted; that is most people's apparent bug-bear. Maguluf is good for that, leave the mountains for the skiers.