Visitor reviews for Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) Ski Resort

Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) Ratings

Overall: 3.9. Based on 26 votes and 63 reviews. Vote

Snowsure: 3.8

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Variety of pistes: 4.2

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Off-piste: 3.8

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Scenery: 4.1

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Access: 4.4

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea).

Public Transport: 4.1

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Accommodation: 4.3

(1) No places to stay in/near Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 4.0

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 3.4

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea).

Ski in/Ski out: 3.9

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 3.6

(1) There are no child care facilities at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowmaking: 3.8

(1) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 4.0

(1) There are no snow groomers at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) are groomed daily.

Shelter: 3.9

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 3.9

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 3.8

(1) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.1

(1) The staff at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 3.7

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.5

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.4

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Beginners: 3.7

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.7

(1) No intermediate terrain at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 4.2

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 3.1

(1) Not even a kicker at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Cross-country: 2.8

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 2.5

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 4.3

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 4.2

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 4.3

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 3.1

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 3.1

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 3.4

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 4.0

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 4.0

(1) Overall, Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 4.2

(1) Overall, Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

February 03, 2009
lee from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Got back from Sauze d'Oulx on Sunday. It was the best ski holiday out of last 8. The food is very good. I stayed in hotel Miraville where the staff are brilliant. Paddys bar/queens lounge are very good; 4 euros a beer (buy 4 get 5th free.) Then go to the Cotton Club at 1am for some great music and fun. Skiing at Sauze d'Oulx is not really challenging but is very enjoyable.
February 01, 2009
Steve from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just returned from a week in Sauze d'Oulx. Stayed at the Gran Baita Hotel. The resort was excellent with great snow. Only small queues at the lifts with lots of varied runs to try. I did notice two lifts that looked past their best but the majority are fast and new. The hotel was excellent with great food, a good bar and comfortable rooms and the staff very friendly and helpful. I would recommend Sauze d'Oulx to anyone.
January 31, 2009
Matt from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just got back from Sauze d'Oulx and thought I would leave some info for the weary traveler. It might just be the current exchange rates, but it seems that this whole resort is a complete rip off. If you're going to this place on a budget be prepared to bring lots of cash because you will easily be paying between 4.50 and 6.50 for a pint. If you're thinking of going to the Beastros for lunch be prepared to spend around 10-15 Euros for pretty much nothing; my advice is to pack your own. As far as the skiing goes the place is not too bad, but Sauze d'Oulx itself is distinctly lacking in challenging runs; mostly reds that, in reality, are blues everywhere else in the Alps. That said you can get some nice speed by pointing it down most runs. This is of course not mentioning some very nice runs in Sestriere which will be hard to find anywhere else in the Alps. The lift system is pretty dated and slow with the connecting areas to Sansicario only being accessible via a rather steep button; definitely not one for the boarders. It is possible to get back from Sestriere without the use of the long old button but you will need to trade that for the very long, narrow and winding black run Treceire which eventually brings you back to the Jouvenceaux lift and from there it's a quick hop back to Sauze d'Oulx via Sportinia. This wouldn't be so bad if Treceire wasn't practically the only black run in the entire mountain range, and it was at least a consistent run. Unfortunately, there are uphill parts which are just not accessible to any boarder no matter how good they are (enjoy the walk). If like me you were looking forward to some nice park action be aware that it is illigal in Italy to do rails and kickers without a helmet, because of this there were a few sad faces in my group, luckily I don't go anywhere without my helmet. I would also warn that while there is supposed to be parks in all the resorts the Italians seem too lazy to actually make it in Sauze and it wasn't until the end of my trip that they had completed the Setriere park. This was most unfortunate because the park there was actually half decent with a wide range of kickers including some really knarly stuff. The Sansicario one which seemed to be the only one which had been made by the time I went out there was however, pretty limited. The people are generally quite pleasant and to be honest for the money you're spending should be. That said there were a few rude Italians in certain places who I think have experienced the less desirable type of British holiday maker. If you don't have half board then you are likely to spend a fortune on food, but there are several quant Itialian places out the way which are actually not to bad value for money wise. Of all the Brit places I would say the best value for money would be from Paddy Mginty's on the main drag up to the Clotes lift, you can pick up a pretty reasonable pub lunch from there. All in all I wouldn't recommend this place unless the snows impecable which is what is was when I went out there. If the snow hadn't been as good as it was then the whole place would have been a waste of time, effort and money so bare that in mind when you book your cheap holiday here.
January 28, 2009
Steph from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Have just returned from an amazing week in Sauze d'Oulx. The lifts are slightly dated but they get you on the mountain to some amazing runs and I personally have seen worse in other resorts. The lifts get you all over the mountain and the links are simple to get to Sestriere (gondola) and Sansicaro. How about focusing on the lack of queues and lack of pushy Europeans you have on the lift system in Sauze d'Oulx, which you see in many resorts in Europe (France inparticular). There are a good choice of runs to suit beginners to advanced, even skiing the Olympic runs if you go over to Sestriere and Sansicaro. It has more choice of runs over the Milky Way than any other resort in Europe. The Sauze town is very pretty, there is a number of bars but it is definitely not a 'noisy' resort. There are things for everyone; quiet bars for a nice drink, small cafes and a few more lively bars as you get in the majority of resorts these days. We stayed in the hotel Gran Baita; 2 mintues walk from the hotel, lovely hotel and would go back today if I could. The snow this season is amazing. Locals said it was the best in 30 years. The slopes were pisted daily, so the slopes were pretty perfect most days. Prices on the slopes were only expensive due to the British pound being so weak (1euro=1 pound at the mo). Once it returns, it is a very reasonable resort and much cheaper than some we have experienced in the past. I would definitely go again and I think if you're debating the idea on going to Sauze, it's definitely worth it. Amazing slopes, lots to do, good food and reasonably priced. Hopefully see you in Sauze soon.
January 08, 2009
RICCARDO from Ski Italy Italy
I'm Italian from Turin and have a second home in Sauze d'Oulx. Unfortunately, I agree with many comments about the situation of the lifts. If compared with those near France, of course, some lifts need updating for the apres-ski. Only bars are not enough. I often go to Montgenevre for the same reasons. Keep in mind that other services in France, like food, are very expensive . But believe me, pistes like Rio Nero, the top of Fraiteve or the 2000 in the middle of the tress are really difficult to find everywhere else. Sincerely, I think it's very funny complaining about a place according to the English who spend their holidays here. So, take any comment with a right consideration.
January 01, 2009
LESLEY from Ski Afghanistan Afghanistan
We are loving Sauze d'Oulx. Although there must be over 20 thousand people here for the New Year we have only a couple of times queued at lifts. Ok, maybe there are a couple of old lifts but the skiing is great, food the best and the people friendly and helpful. We are having a great time and will be back more than once this year with all this snow. Sauze d'Oulx is great.
December 22, 2008
Martin from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Never again... Just got back from a nightmare trip to Sauze d'Oulx. A group of us went early in the season, they had received a massive amount of snow which got us all excited... until we realised that they hadn't prepared any lifts, any pistes or anything at all. I've been to about 11 or so ski resorts in Europe and Sauze d'Oulx and the surrounding area is the worst by far. The snow was amazing but that's as far as it goes. The whole ski areas lift system is the worst designed thing ever, skiing connecting areas is a nightmare and the runs are very limiting. The red runs are more like blues and we couldn't find a single challenging run. The lifts are mostly out of date and very slow. What lifts and pistes they choose to open close very early and the locals are very rude. The food and drinks prices are disgusting. The town is horrible; badly organised and a little bit of snow and the whole place shuts down. I imagine it's like being in war time Poland. The people running this resort should hold their heads in shame. Do not get a taxi - biggest rip off ever. I could go on about how bad this place is but all I can say is do not go here, it may be cheap but there is a very good reason for that. Pay slightly more and go somewhere half decent. All my trips to the French Alps have been far superior to my Italian trips, I will never be going skiing in Italy again. Read other reviews and see for yourself, especially those written by people who have been to other ski resorts.
March 24, 2008
Jimbo from Ski Italy Italy
Just got from back from Sazue d'Olux, where we had good spring skiing and some powder skiing as well thanks to some snow overnight. The resort itself...from a skiers perspective: Many of the lifts are out of date and could do with a serious upgrade or replacement (still..better than the lift in Sestriere which injured 12 people this week....) The single man chair over to Sestriere is.,..character forming ! (it's one of those things you'll laugh about later in life, perhaps). Other lifts are two man, plastic chair affairs and quite slow. The pistes are not well signed at all and the piste map doesn't include basic information on it, such as where the restaurants are. Most of the runs we did were reds (managed to find one decent black) and were not taxing at all. I think the reds are really blues: nice for blasting down the slopes but not challenging. Beginners will be able to handle most reds with ease after a couple of lessons. It's an ok ski area I suppose, just badly sign-posted. The link with the Milky Way isn't great - one step up from a tight-rope really. The restaurants on the mountain are ok. Food is basic but reasonably priced (when compared to France anyway!) but where is the spag bol ?!!!!! It's all paninis and rolls. I expected really good pasta dishes but was disappointed. The Bombardino hot drinks are nice though ! We stayed at Hotel Sauze which was (almost) ski-in / ski-out. The food in the hotel was very good. The rooms good although the one weakness was the bathrooms - they seriously need updating. Very friendly, helpful staff though. The old town in Sauze makes a pleasant change from the custom made concrete jungles of Val Thorens or Val d'Isere and there are some nice places to eat there as well. There are some typical Brit bars which we avoided. One place which is is SUPERB to eat at is Chalet Caprincorno, just up the slopes from the main lift out of town. Superb food, reasonably priced (~E15 for a main course) and great atmosphere. In the evenings you have to get there by skido - it costs E10 per person for the trip from near the bottom of the slopes and is well worth it - it's a great way to arrive at a restaurant ! Transfer time of 1 hour from Turin airport was good. Would I go again ? Maybe..if the snow conditions were really good and I managed to find a good deal. I wouldn't pay more than £400 for a half-board holiday though (including flights) - there are better places to go for that sort of money (or for £50 more).
March 12, 2008
Jose from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Steve, I totally agree with you. I was ripped off on my first day. Per Baco restaurant!! 8 slices of ham, a leaf of lettuce and 5 olive; 32 Euros. No way José! I said to them to phone the police straight away as I was not going to pay for it. They reduced the bill by 11 Euros....rude locals as well!
March 11, 2008
Steve from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
My goodness, is all I can say! I have never been to such a god awful hell hole in my entire life! The resort is full of the rudest locals and possibly the worst kind of Brits abroad you could ever meet! I now know why the package I bought was so cheap and I was kicking myself everyday since my arrival! Sauze D'Oulx is an out of date, abused, beaten up and 'long overdue a face lift' resort probably in the entire Alps. Don't get me started on the food and the pints that aren't even cold,fizzy or full!!! Be sure to take plenty of Euros as it is 6Euros for a bottle of Becks in some places, that is unless you manage to find an honest enough English barman who is prepared to honour the 'Happy Hour' prices as opposed to just charging you full price for more beers than he actually gives you. Pay for 9 get 7, when you only wanted 8 in a bar called the Grot...how appropriate! It seemed that everyone there was trying to fleece us for us much as possible! Despite my ranting there are a few good points: 1. The Village (Bar), it does the nicest steaks and the staff are very friendly. 2. Skiing in Sestriere was comparable to some very good resorts that I have been to. It's certainly more of a challenge than the 2 runs that were open in Sauze D'Oulx. Final note, watch out for the Brits and The Lounge (daylight robbery merchants). Perhaps if there had been more snow the ridiculous prices and desperately rude locals and tourists would have been diluted?