Visitor reviews for Obergurgl Ski Resort

Obergurgl Ratings

Overall: 4.1. Based on 30 votes and 43 reviews. Vote

Snowsure: 4.9

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Obergurgl is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Variety of pistes: 4.1

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Obergurgl has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Off-piste: 3.7

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Scenery: 4.5

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Access: 4.3

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Obergurgl.

Public Transport: 4.2

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Obergurgl, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Accommodation: 4.4

(1) No places to stay in/near Obergurgl, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 2.9

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 4.9

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Obergurgl.

Ski in/Ski out: 4.9

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 4.1

(1) There are no child care facilities at Obergurgl, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowmaking: 4.3

(1) Obergurgl relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 4.5

(1) There are no snow groomers at Obergurgl, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Obergurgl are groomed daily.

Shelter: 3.6

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Obergurgl is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 3.8

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Obergurgl, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 4.8

(1) Obergurgl usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.6

(1) The staff at Obergurgl are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Obergurgl are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 4.8

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.6

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.8

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Beginners: 4.5

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.6

(1) No intermediate terrain at Obergurgl, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 3.7

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 2.8

(1) Not even a kicker at Obergurgl, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Cross-country: 3.5

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Obergurgl, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 3.4

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Obergurgl has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 4.7

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 4.4

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 3.7

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 3.2

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 3.0

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 3.7

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 3.7

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 4.2

(1) Overall, Obergurgl is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 4.2

(1) Overall, Obergurgl is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

January 16, 2013
Denise Boyne from Ski Austria Austria
The snow is amazing, the slopes are really well groomed. The staff are friendly, the hotels are first class but if you don't like smoking, ie in restaurants and bars this is not the place for you. Austria, you need to clean up your act, you are behind the rest of Europe although I suspect Germany also allows smoking as the majority of smokers appear to be German. Why would you walk about outside but the minute you come in you light up. Also, apart from the Niederhutte on the mountain there is no evening entertainment. The ski show put on by ski instructors is well worth going to. We also did the curling which was good fun. Again, they wait until they get inside and then they light up.
November 24, 2011
Dan from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just returned from Obergurgl for the opening weekend. We were fairly apprehensive before we left as we saw there has been practically no snow. All due respect to the staff at the resort though as the snow making machines were working overtime and they managed to open all the main lifts and over half the slopes. Of course best of all, the slopes were practically empty - never once having to wait inline.
November 11, 2011
jeremy saye from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
We are now approaching our 15th year in OberGurgl/HochGurgl, and would like to endorse 3 points that have been covered in earlier reviews. Firstly, it has that unmistakeable and intangible air (found only in Austrian resorts) of 'gemutlichkeit' (comfortable well-being). It is everywhere, from the ski slopes to the excellent hotels. Secondly, I have never, over more than 50 years on/off the slopes, found a better apres-ski 'hut' than the NederHutte, particularly on Mondays/Wednesdays/and Fridays when the music gets going. There's no rap/grunge/hip-hop/indie, nor any pretence at tune-less modern music (even if I knew what that would be!), but if you want to get on the tables and sing and dance, this is the place to be. Trust me! And thirdly, the snow is always there, and (most importantly) there is rarely any lift queue (if you avoid the start of ski school at half-terms). In all, just an excellent resort, but if you're an all-night raver, and enjoy crowds, stay down the hill in Solden. Please!
November 08, 2011
Craig from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
I went to Obergurgl early this year for the first time with a group of 8 friends. We stayed in a chalet right in the centre of town called The Chalet at 11 Degrees East..which has to be one of the most amazing ski chalets I've been to in terms of quality and central location in the main town - the slopes and apres-ski were less than a 5 minute walk way. The hospitality was excellent and the food truly, truly great. The rooms were all spacious and very well kitted out, mine even overlooked the ski slopes - a real alpine experience. The ski runs are great, with wide pistes and easier slopes for the less experienced. Snow conditions were perfect due to the higher altitude and well kept pistes. I prefer Obergurgl to St Anton where I went later in the year as the snow conditions and runs were, in my opinion, much better. Obergurgl is also a traditional resort which gives you a real feeling of being in the Alps. If you go try to take in the views from Hochgurgl.. they are amazing. I'm definitely looking forward to going back this year! I would strongly recommend Obergurgl and the Chalet at 11 Degrees East to any potential visitors.
February 20, 2011
Willie from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Excellent time and would strongly recommend Obergurgl/Hochgurgl to any potential visitors. Visited Obergurgl for the 1st time, arriving Sat the 12th Feb, for 1 week. Snow according to other repeat visitors was a bit on the light side. From my perspective 1st time there the snow was great. 3 days of predominant sun followed by 1 day of snow then a couple of mixed days. Left on Saturday with the sun splitting the heavens. All the runs were well pisted and made for good skiing. Following the snow on Wednesday the character of the slopes changed quite a bit. Especially in Hochburgl. Lots of fresh snow, some powder and quite a few moguls formed. Skiing on Thursday as the result of the fresh snow was more varied and challenging. By the time Friday came round more of the runs were once again well pisted, particularly in Obergurgl. The facilities for skiing in both Obergurgl and Hochburgl were excellent. No queue of any note. Excellent food and drink to be had on the hills. I would agree with the ratings for the resort in that it is excellent for beginners and intermediates. Not so challenging for experts. Although in saying that their was off-piste skiing to be had. On our last day myself and my 15 year old son skied all the black runs and to be honest only 1 of the black runs -33 was truly a black. Obviously this is subjective and is only my opinion. We stayed at the hotel Sportiv. A three star hotel. However, that is only part of the story as the hotel is owned by the same company as operate the 4 star hotel Crystal. Both hotels are directly connected via the excellent locker room and or a bridge at the 1st floor level. As guests at the Hotel Sportiv you are able to use all the facilities of the hotel Crystal including the excellent Spa! Not for the shy and reserved as the main spa area is nude only. However, I would recommend it. Afternoon tea was offered at the Hotel Crystal as well and was well worth a visit. The Sportiv itself was generally very good. We stayed half-board and although the menu was fairly limited, at least it was for a 15 year old, the food itself was very good. The staff in the hotel were nothing but friendly and helpful. 10 out of 10 for customer service. I would strongly recommend the hotel Sportiv. Do not want to stereotype anyone, however, we found the Austrians, in general, to be very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is located directly next to one of the main gondolas and it is literally no more than a 20 metre walk from the locker room to the gondola. At the end of the day it was possible to ski direct to the door of the hotel. Could not ask for more. What more can I say!
February 20, 2011
margaret from Ski Ireland Ireland
Was in Obergurgl Christmas for 2 weeks, now we have booked to return for 3, we loved it so much. Snow was amazing. It is not a big area but plenty big to keep you busy, also gives you time to know the slopes really well. Never busy, only when the ski school was out on the slopes. Never waited in line either except for around 5 mins at 10.00am. Quiet at night, but things are happening if you know where to look. We stayed outside the town for one week then in the center for the other, really nice mix. So peaceful both weeks but outside the town was really peaceful and the views where amazing. We stayed at pension Bergfriden. The host there was amazing. Really nice place and the dad was a snowboarder who is 75. He gave us a lot of tips. If you want hotel life, stay in a hotel. We went for an apartment which meant we could do what we wanted when we wanted. All in all we loved Obergurgl and can't wait to return this Christmas. Slopes are easy and good for beginners, Check out the mountain star for amazing views.
February 09, 2011
George from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just back (5th Feb 2011) from Hochgurgl (Obergurgl). A fantastic time, stayed at the OlympSport. Great hotel with superb service. A short 20 meter walk up the hill to the ski lift to the upper slopes but we could ski right back to the front door, well almost! The snow was unbelievable. We were lucky as they had a dump on the 25th Jan and the cold temps meant the slopes were in great condition. We had 6 days of blue skies. The snow was becoming a bit thin in places when we left but still very good on the upper slopes and very skiable on the lower slopes. The red run down past Hochgurgl to the grill bar was becoming slushy in the pm. Very much looking forward to getting out there again this season once they get some new snowfalls.
January 16, 2011
Elizabeth Sullivan from Ski Ireland Ireland
Just about to go back to Obergurgl for about the 10th or 12th time. Every few years we go somewhere different and always return here the year after. We've been with adult only groups, just the two of us, and family gathering groups ranging in age from babies to late 60s. Always a success. In big family group with little ones Edelweiss was suitable but with adult children the Jenewein is best.
April 12, 2010
Bella from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just got back from my 8th year of staying in Obergurgl. Snow was incredible, as always. There were only 2 cloudy days, the rest were amazingly clear and the temperature was around 15 degrees at times. The brilliant ski instructors kept my little brother working hard and skiing to the very best of his ability, while the snowboarding instructors had me working really hard to improve my skills, whilst having plenty of snowball fights! In previous years we have stayed at the hotel Edelweis and Gurgl and the hotel Jenewein. Both hotels ensured our stay was luxurious and stress free. We particularly enjoyed the Jenewein (5 years there). This year we tried something different, a self-service appartment called Villa Alpin. We were pleasantly surprised as we found ourselves able to relax and do what we wanted when we wanted to do it and with no set times for anything. Overall, Obergurgl is an incredible place that makes you want to stay there forever and not able to wait to go back the next year!
March 09, 2010
sue tomlinson from Ski Austria Austria
Obergurgl, always plenty of snow, been ever year for 6 years now, fantastic skiing for all abilities, no waiting for lifts which is great, fantastic people and excellent food. The accomodation is second to none. The ski instructors display on the Tuesday night is a must and must be seen. If you want to relax and have fantastic skiing and breath taking views this is the place to be. Sue Tomlinson & Graham Hopper, East Yorkshire