Visitor reviews for Borovets Ski Resort

Borovets Ratings

Overall: 3.7. Based on 103 votes and 185 reviews. Vote

Snowsure: 3.7

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Borovets is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Variety of pistes: 4.0

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Borovets has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Off-piste: 3.1

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Scenery: 4.0

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Access: 4.2

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Borovets.

Public Transport: 3.6

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Borovets, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Accommodation: 4.4

(1) No places to stay in/near Borovets, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 3.9

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 3.7

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Borovets.

Ski in/Ski out: 4.3

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 3.6

(1) There are no child care facilities at Borovets, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowmaking: 3.6

(1) Borovets relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 3.9

(1) There are no snow groomers at Borovets, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Borovets are groomed daily.

Shelter: 3.7

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Borovets is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 2.7

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Borovets, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 4.0

(1) Borovets usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 3.6

(1) The staff at Borovets are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Borovets are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 3.4

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.2

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.2

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Beginners: 4.1

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.2

(1) No intermediate terrain at Borovets, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 3.7

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 3.1

(1) Not even a kicker at Borovets, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Cross-country: 3.3

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Borovets, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 2.2

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Borovets has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 3.6

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 4.2

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 4.2

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 3.6

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 3.3

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 3.5

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 3.7

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 4.0

(1) Overall, Borovets is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 4.1

(1) Overall, Borovets is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

March 05, 2012
Hans from Ski Netherlands Netherlands
End of the week we are going back to Borovets. We can recommend to go there because the people are friendly and the prices are reasonable. Don't stay in the large hotels, but look for a good time in the small bars and restaurants. A very good place to go is snackbar Joy in front of the gondola. They serve western and traditional food and make delicious pizzas.
March 05, 2012
Derion from Ski Greece Greece
My fourth and best visit in Borovets for 2012 was on 3 and 4 March 2012. This time I focused on Yastrebets ski center. Indeed this is the best in comparison to Sitnyakovo and Markudjik. It is the smallest one, as you can find there only 3 pistes, namely Yastrebets 1 and 3 and Popangelov (named after a famous Bulgarian skier). But what of pistes!!! All of them are really long for Balkan standards and are truly red and in some parts are even black. For skiers who are not used in such big pistes (like me) it is essential to take some rests. I could not downhill them in once! I skied some part and then took some rest. My legs got a really good exercise! The scenery is fantastic. All 3 pistes are in a pine tree forest. In 3 – 4 March the weather was fantastic: Sunny and plenty of snow of good quality. I was afraid that the snow would be slushy, but this was absolutely not the case. The snow was excellent cold and only in few places there were few icy patches. Stones could not be found anywhere. On Saturday, 3.3, it was windy. That’s why the gondola drove only up to the mid station. On Sunday, 4 March, it was not windy. The visibility in both days was great. There were quite big queues but quite normal and expected for such a great ski weekend! Besides, 3 March is a Bulgarian National Holiday. Some practicalities: how to reach Yastrebets? You need to take the gondola. If the gondola operates normally, head up to the top of the mountain. Then you take the blue Haramia, an easy piste with great view over Samokov. In some point, you can (optionally) leave Haramia and take the piste Fonfon. This piste is characterized as “black”. However, believe me, it is easier than Yastrebets 1&3 and Popangelov and much shorter, which means your legs do not get tired! So, Haramia and Fonfon connect the top of the mountain with Yastrebets pistes. From the mid – station gondola you go to Yastrebets 1. All 3 pistes of Yastrebets finish in Yastrebets express, which is a 4 – persons – chair lift. Be warned that Yastrebets express can get crowded. On Saturday, I paid 25BGN for the lifts’ ticket, because the top of the mountain was closed due to high winds and on Sunday I paid the normal ticket, 45 BGN. Overall, I had a great time visiting Borovets ski area in 2012 and I hope next year will be for Borovets as snowy as 2012. Given good ski conditions, Borovets ski area consisting of Sitnyakovo, Yastrebets and Markudjik is a pretty good, affordable and enjoyable choice for skiers.
March 01, 2012
Dawn from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Had an absolutely amazing time here in January, so much so we have booked to go back in mid March (cannot wait!) It is basic but the people are friendly the snow was fab and powdery and it's actually quite a pretty place. If you want 5* luxury then go somewhere else and pay over the odds for it. I don't mind, it means more space on the slopes for me :) All in all, Borovets is brilliant value for money with reasonably priced lift passes and food and drink. Would recommend it for anyone who wants a good value fun ski/snowboarding holiday without being surrounded by pretentious nonsense.
February 19, 2012
Andrea from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just had a fantastic week in Borovets staying at the Samokov Hotel. The snow was really powdery and there was lots of it! As a beginner I have nothing to compare it to but the runs were challenging and when the gondola was working (closed from time to time due to weather conditions) we had more variety. The hotel was full of English families as it was the school half term- great if you want company. The food was good and mostly warm- I had heard some bad reviews about the food but we enjoyed what was on offer. The pool was lovely and not cold like the reviews had said and there was plenty of things for families to do (Pool,table tennis, bowling). Overall it was a great holiday and not too expensive. We'd definitely come again!
February 16, 2012
lou from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
You get what you pay for and skiing in Borovets is a cheap and tacky experience. It's ok for learning but after that, forget it. The worst was the food! Horrible cardboard like and made in dirty little huts. The people were friendly though. The place is full of strip clubs and just horrible. The hotels are basic, if you're a student on a budget. But if you want a bit of comfort and luxury, go elsewhere. Borovets is full of pushy Italians and Greeks at the lifts, who have no concept of queuing or politeness. Never again!
February 15, 2012
Derion from Ski Greece Greece
During the weekend 4-5 February, I was again in Borovets. On Saturday, I skied in Sitnyakovo ski center. The best snow conditions could be found on the black Martinovo Baraki 4. This time, I skied also the reds Sitnyakovo 2&3. Although there was plenty of snow, I did not enjoy the 2 as above red pistes, because there were alot of bumps, especiallly in Sitnyakovo 2, where there were also places with ice and I fell 3-4 times. Sitnyakovo 3 is actually a narrow path and there were many little stones inside the piste. It was sunny with some cloudy spells. On Sunday, I tried Markujdik ski center. Yastrebets was covered by fog. However, in Markudjik it was sunny, because of the high elevation. Please keep in mind that Yasterbets and Markujdik are connected. You can take the gondola up to end and then ski down to Yastrebets pistes. On the other hand Sitnyakovo is not connected. That's why I said there are 2 ski areas with 3 ski centers (1 ski area with Yastrebets and Markudjik and 1 ski area with Sitnyakovo). Up on Markujdik there was much more snow than in Sitnyakovo and especially lots of powder! My skis sank inside the snow. I could not see them, as I was skiing! Only the chair was working. However, with the chair, you can have access to the most pistes of Markujdik. Actually the only piste you cannot access is the red Markudjik 3, which is served by its own drag lift and was closed. The blue Markudjik can be reached with chair (although it is served also by its own drag lift, which was closed) and I practised there 3-4 time. Lot of snow and powder! The green Suhar is actually a green - easy path which connects the top of the mountain - the chair with the gondola. The black Markudjik was closed. The red Markudjik left to the chair (which was open) had many bumps and was very busy. I tried it once and I fell 3-4 times. So, I prefered the blue one which did not have any bumps and was less busy. Overall, Markudjik is a nice ski center in high eleveation with alpine character without any trees, which unfortunately usually stays closed (perhaps winds because of elevation?). The disadvantage is that pistes were not groomed or were not well groomed (in contrast with Sitnyakovo). A big problem is also the way to access the pistes and to come back. After you ski down the gondola, there is one drag lift which takes you up to the Markudjik pistes. However, this lift does not take you at the end and you have to carry the ski for a small distance until you ski again and you reach the chair or the other drag lift. On the way back (when you want to take the gondola) there is a big uphill after the end of the path which goes parallel to the drag lift. So, you have to ski down to the middle station of the gondola or you have to carry your skis, if you want to take the gondola from the up station. Beware there are no ski schools or ski equipment rental up in Markudjik (or at least I did not notice any).
February 08, 2012
Kostas from Ski Greece Greece
The company who manages all the Borovets ski centre must understand that the pistes need grooming every day and specially after a snowfall. It seems that they fix the pistes only on certain days no matter if it is really needed or not. At the top of the mountain there are all these cheap ugly huts to buy expensive food and usually are empty. What is needed is only one nice modern construction with glass view all over the surrounding area and a restaurant with a bar. This is how people will be attracted to stay at the upper slopes. The rest must be demolished asap.
February 05, 2012
Des from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just returned from Borovets. Had 5 excellent days skiing and apres ski. All runs open and well groomed. Been going for 6 years now and its the best yet. No long queues, not so many touts, good prices and good exchange rate. Boro sport have made improvements each year, not excessive but some. I have an apartment there so I know a lot of what goes on. Anyway all ski resorts are good when the snow is there!
February 02, 2012
tomba from Ski Greece Greece
I was in Borovets 6/1/12,7/1/12 & 8/1/12. There were a lot of problems with electricity blackout and I agree in all with the post of Svetoslav Trifonov from Bulgaria of 9/1/12, it was perfect snow conditions (about 2 meters fresh-snow powder!!) but because of electricity blackout about 12.00 lifts stop working for about 3 hours....till 15.00 then they worked the lifts for 30 min and finally stop working again! Borosport staff told us that the next day we'll have free ski pass but Sunday 8/1/12 in the gondola ski pass office they meant free ski pass just for half a day. Electricity problems go on and Sunday 8/1/12 (we stay up the gondola for 30'min at least!) and when we asked our money back from ski pass they said that they had no money because it was Sunday and the banks are closed! All the people from many countries (Bulgaria,Greece,England,Russia,Ukraine etc..) were angry! This is bad advertisment for the borosport-company and many people (like me) will not come again in Borovets.....(even if my opinion, the quality of snow in Borovets and the borovets-ski runs is the best in Balkan area). Besides on Sat7/1/12 because of the amount of snow at the hotel I stayed we had no water during all day! It was my first time in Borovets and the last one! I have gone at Bansko 4 times and I had never such a problems! Bansko again, Bankso!
February 01, 2012
Brian from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Got back on 21st Jan great conditions and no queing, only on the small button lift outside the Rila hotel in the afternoon :-) Enjoy.