Visitor reviews for Borovets Ski Resort

Borovets Ratings

Overall: 3.7. Based on 106 votes and 186 reviews. Vote

Snowsure: 3.7

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Borovets is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Variety of pistes: 4.0

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Borovets has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Off-piste: 3.1

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Scenery: 4.0

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Access: 4.2

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Borovets.

Public Transport: 3.6

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Borovets, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Accommodation: 4.4

(1) No places to stay in/near Borovets, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 3.9

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 3.7

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Borovets.

Ski in/Ski out: 4.3

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 3.7

(1) There are no child care facilities at Borovets, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowmaking: 3.6

(1) Borovets relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 3.9

(1) There are no snow groomers at Borovets, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Borovets are groomed daily.

Shelter: 3.7

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Borovets is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 2.7

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Borovets, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 4.0

(1) Borovets usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 3.6

(1) The staff at Borovets are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Borovets are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 3.4

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.2

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.2

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Beginners: 4.1

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.2

(1) No intermediate terrain at Borovets, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 3.7

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 3.1

(1) Not even a kicker at Borovets, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Cross-country: 3.3

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Borovets, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 2.2

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Borovets has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 3.7

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 4.2

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 4.2

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 3.6

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 3.3

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 3.5

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 3.7

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 4.0

(1) Overall, Borovets is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 4.1

(1) Overall, Borovets is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

February 21, 2013
Garry Causon from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
We went to Borovets between 9th-16th Feb 2013 and stayed in the Rila. We had a great time; plenty of snow and good skiing. The instructor was great and gave some good tips, the resort in general was well looked after with plenty of bars. The slopes was groomed each night and with the amount of snow we had no problems at all, hardly any queuing for lifts (except gondala at 9.30 -10.30 am) considering we were there during a half-term school break. There are plenty of negative comments given about the resort but we found it very good value for money and there was always something you could find to eat in the hotel or the bars which are very reasonable (try Francos pizza's). Well worth a visit especially for the money it costs for ski hire, lessons and lift passes. We will be returning here.
January 23, 2013
Gareth Bevan from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
We stopped in Borovets 7th January 2012 in the Lion hotel. Great hotel (very warm), great rooms (we even had a balcony), nice staff. Food typical Bulgarian, warm (rather than hot), filling rather than spectacular. Shuttle bus takes 10 minutes to resort and runs every 20 minutes. Spent most nights in Bobbys bar, Kas and Bobby are great, food fantastic (and hot), very hospitable (we go back there on 2nd February and are stopping in their new place! Snow was fantastic, not a lot of queuing needed for the lifts.
January 11, 2013
Steph from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Been back a week and would go back tomorrow. Borovets is a great place to go. It's our second year at the resort, last year we stayed at the RIla, the room was great but I have to say the food was poor; we are not fussy with food but we struggled to find anything that was edible!. So this year we went with the intention of eating out most nights as there are lots of good cheap places to eat. This year we stayed at the Iglika Palace hotel which is just behind the Rila, the rooms were clean a warm and the food was very good. I would definitely recommend this hotel; the staff are friendly, the bar is 24hr & happy hour seems to last all day! The snow this year was not as good as last year. I was a bit worried to start with as some of the runs were not open, but our instructor was fantastic, he catered to all of us in our group with mixed abilities. He was fantastic fun & nothing was too much trouble, he just wanted us to have a fantastic holiday, making the most of the runs that were open. We spent a fantastic new year at Bobbies Bar, down by the medical centre, check them out they are a great bunch and the food is great. There are lots of good restaurants in resort & yes, there are some not so good but don't moan just don't go back! People complain about the guys outside the bars trying to get you in but they are mostly friendly & are only trying to make a living, offering free shots you could practically go from bar to bar without having to buy a drink! Give Borovets a go, our family & friends loved it. Can't wait to return next year or even this if I can get a good deal!
January 10, 2013
Jordan from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Going out to Borovets on the 19th with a group of mates. Went last year and had a great holiday. You can't really knock this ski holiday. I paid 400pp for everything and I know it will be a good holiday. Yes, the food is bad and some of the locals are rude but they don't make your holiday. Can't wait to get out there!!
December 31, 2012
Steven from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Back from Borovets yesterday with my wife and daughter. Snow was definately better at the beginning of the week; towards the end hardly any runs were open, those that were were icy and showing stones. Wife had private lessons (almost a beginner) at 71 lev for 2 hours and she felt the instructor was good, certainly helped her skiing. I can't really understand why some people give it such bad reviews- it's what you make it. I've never met anyone there (my 4th visit) who I've found especially objectionable, everybodys there to enjoy themselves. I've never stayed in Borovets so I can't comment on the hotels. But there's plenty of places to get decent food cheap. I think a lot of the comparisions here compare food from other resorts to Borovets food but omit to mention the price difference. I've always found the food acceptable for the cost. And even in top Bulgarian restaurants their food isn't served hot, usually just warm. It's a Bulgarian peculiarity, live with it - it won't kill you.
December 30, 2012
dean morgan from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
I've been to Borovets 4 times and only had poor snow once. Went in Jan 2012 and it was -22 on the top but great, not busy no queues and the best snow. The chicken soup in the gon litf is the best. Stayed at Rila where the food was good. Going again on the 12 Jan 13. Great value for £580 with lift past in that as well.
December 28, 2012
chris from Ski Bulgaria Bulgaria
Borovets: stayed in 5 star Festa; never 5 star by English standards, but decent enough (3-4 star). The food is utterly terrible, cold or luke warm at best, with a very limited selection. Didn't find the service terribly good, very quick to take your plates, very slow to offer you drinks etc. Not especially friendly staff either. As for the skiing? I went skiing in Les Menuires in France, many years ago, which was utterly fantastic, but Borovets is a complete disappointment I'm afraid. Went over Christmas 2012 and lots of the upper runs were closed due to thawing/high winds, which meant half hour queues on some piddly little green and blue runs, some just a couple of hundred metres long! Very rude Italian children and their gormless tarty mothers on iPhone kept pushing in! Never have booked lessons. My gf and I are of differing abilities, so went off in different groups. My instructor spoke great English, but only catered for an idiot Chinese couple who insisted that they could ski, but who couldn't stop, kept falling over and wasted 2-3 days off everyone else's holiday. Group spent 2 days skiing rubbish, untaxing green runs when weather was decent and runs were open, so that we missed out on some blues and reds which were later closed. When he did allow us to ski harder runs, we went down a very difficult red, which was too hard and shot confidence of most of the group. Instructor completely inflexible with abilities and itinerary; I was parallel skiing, but he was skiing alongside barking out instructions to snowplough! What an idiot! As for my gf, she had an instructor out of the state police, she kept barking out "snowplough, snowplough" all day, without any real tuition to speak of, so that my gf didn't bother after 3 days. Booked lessons also involve 2 hours, lunch and then 2 hours, but you are taken to lunch in wooden shacks up the mountain, where the food is rubbish and expensive. Should be allowed to have lessons and go to lunch where you like. Nightlife here is okay, feels like most of the bars are run by local mafia, but they're friendly enough. Not my scene though. All in all, a terrible skiing experience in a seedy resort, ideal for the 'ere we go' Brits, who like cheap beer and an even cheaper experience. Oh and our so called rep, was conspicuous by her absence. Never again.
December 03, 2012
Rhonda Nathan from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
What can i say? Borovets is a great resort. I have been going now for the last 8 years and love it! Last year was the best snow in 5 of the years we have been going and I'm hoping for the same this year; been December, February and March and never been dissapointed yet. Never eat at Borovets, always have our evening meal in Samokov; it's as cheap as chips. Borovets prices are equivelant to English prices and not over the top. It is great for families wanting a ski holiday without the massive expense such like France, Italy, Andora, Norway as I have also been skiing in these resorts also. My parents have a house there and we get both great winter holidays and summer holidays out of the place. Please don't be put off by the bad reports on this web site, if you want an affordable enjoyable holiday this is the place, it won't break the bank. Three weeks to go 'till we return again and can't wait.
October 14, 2012
daisy from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
We went on mass, there was 9 of us! The runs were excellent, covered in loads of snow and the skiing conditions were fantastic. Everyone there was really freindly and the ski schools were great for all abilities. There were many aprez-ski bars and also a tobbogan slope which we enjoyed using after the lifts had shut and we had finished skiing. I am sure Borovets is not the poshest skiing resort in the world, however, for a family holiday it was perfect. The hotel Lion which we stayed at had wonderful facilities including a swimming pool, sauna and gym; the perfect place to relax after a days skiing. All in all, I would recommed Borovets to anyone thinking to go there as whenever we have been we have always felt very welcome and had a lovely time!
March 07, 2012
Gill from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Had a fantastic week skiing in Borovets in the English half term holiday (11th to 19th Feb). Having been to many resorts in France & Austria I was a little apprehensive about Bulgaria after reading some reviews. However we were pleasantly surprised. We are a family of 5 with the children's ages of 8,10 & 13 with varying abilities. There was loads of snow & we were all able to ski together as there are harder & easier routes down the mountains from the tops of most lifts. We managed to go up the gondola twice & the route down is beautiful. It was closed a few times in the week due to bad weather but plenty other places to ski when it's closed. Stayed in the Hotel Samokov which was great. The food was good & lots to choose from at breakfast & evening meal. Maybe not so hot as we would eat it, something some seem to complain about but it wasn't a problem to us!!!! Lots of ther activities going on in the hotel, kids loved the sports bar with pool, table tennis & bowling & the swimming pool which was a little colder than we are used to in England but wasn't a problem to any of us. The people were mostly very friendly & very helpful. Nowhere was over crowded & no massive lift queues even though it was half term & we could actually afford to stop at a mountain cafe for a hot chocolate. France/Austrai had become too expensive to do such things. A few seedy bars around as we had been warned but easy to ignore if you wish & we stayed in the hotel at night anyway. Maybe not the place for those wanting challenging black & red runs but for us a great affordable family skiing holiday & would definitely go again.