Uk Ski en United Kingdom

Le Royaume-Uni est l'une des nations du monde les plus insolites pour le ski. Premièrement, le pays dispose de cinq stations de ski traditionnels - dans le nord de l'Ecosse, mais aussi, deuxièmement, de petites stations ou club de ski gérés principalement par des bénévoles et passionnés sur les collines et les vallées du Pays de Galles et du Nord de l'Angleterre. Il y a aussi occasionnellement du ski sur les collines d'Irlande du Nord. Troisièmement, au niveau du ski britannique, l'Angleterre et l'Ecosse ont six centres de ski intérieur ouverts toute l'année - le même nombre que l'Allemagne, troisième ex-aequo derrière les Pays-Bas et le Japon pour ce genre de pistes de ski et enfin, quatrièmement, il y a environ 60 pistes sèches de surface artificielle à travers le pays où les gens peuvent skier toute l'année sur une surface sèche, qui peuvent parfois avoir de la neige pendant quelques semaines au total chaque hiver.

Ce mélange insolite de domaines skiables - presque tous fonctionnant sur un modèle économique marginal - reflète l'obsessions des Britanniques pour les sports d'hiver qui s'étend bien au-delà du territoire national puisqu'environ un million de britanniques s'envolent vers les pistes de ski du monde entier chaque hiver. En fait, ce sont les britanniques qui ont lancé le concept des vacances de ski en Suisse au XIXe siècle, à l'origine de l'industrie mondiale des vacances de sports d'hiver, puis popularisé le ski alpin au début du XXème siècle, étant les principaux acteurs dans la mise en place de courses de ski internationales dans les premières décennies du siècle dernier. Les britanniques ont également inventé les pentes sèches dans les années 40 et revendiquent la première «vraie» manufacture de neige à l'intérieur dans le début des années 1990 (aujourd'hui également utilisée dans des centres aussi divers que Dubaï et Madrid) afin de pouvoir skier toute l'année malgré un climat britannique peu propice aux sports d'hiver.

Les 5 Stations de ski d'Ecosse ont été principalement établies dans la première moitié du XXe siècle avec les skieurs de randonnée en place afin de dévaler les pentes non damées. La première remontée facilite le ski en Ecosse - potentiellement le premier télésiège débrayable au monde - a été installé à Cairngorm au dessus de Aviemore en 1961. La remontée, inhabituelle par rapport aux normes modernes, se fait par des chaises sur le côté de la pente. Ceci a attiré l'attention du mari de la Reine, le Duc d'Edimbourg venu rester dans les environs du Chateau de Balmoral, qui l'a visité peu après l'ouverture. Il concentra ainsi l'attention des médias sur Aviemore et les aida à lancer une période de plusieurs décennies ou ski écossaise était la plus populaire option pour les Britanniques, avant que l'Autriche et ,plus récemment, la France ne prenne le pas avec les voyages internationaux devenus plus faciles.

Ski écossais est une option assez inhabituelle par rapport à la majorité des stations. Comme le reste du Royaume-Uni de la région est soumise à des vents réchauffement du Gulf Stream, et la météo de l'Atlantique est généralement dominante, ce qui rend la région plus chaude qu'elle ne devrait l'être compte tenu de sa latitude. Ces conditions chaudes alternent avec des périodes climatiques plus froides arrivant parfois de l'Europe continentale et, plus spectaculairement, de l'Arctique. Le résultat est que les pistes de ski peuvent recevoir des fortes chutes de neige et de construire des bases profondes, mais à tout moment de l'hiver, et avec peu d'avertissement, la température peut monter brusquement dans les dizaine de degré et tout faire fondre en quelques jours.

Pour cette raison, les tentatives d'enneigement artificiel ont été problématiques, bien que la plupart des centres ont un ou deux canons à neige maintenant, car il peut être trop chaud pour fabriquer de la neige et la neige de machine fond plus rapidement que la neige naturelle.

Les pentes sont également souvent exposés aux vents forts, avec la rafale la plus forte jamais enregistrée de Grande-Bretagne à Cairngorm à plus de 180 mph (soit près de 300kph) qui, lorsqu'il est combiné avec le froid, créé un très haut facteur de refroidissement éolien. Les montagnes sont sillonnées extensivement par des barrières "Garde-Neige" conçues pour arrêter la neige de souffler hors de la montagne.

Il est également intéressant de noter que les conditions sont souvent très différents d'un côté du pays à l'autre. Nevis Range et Glencoe Mountain Resort sont sur la côte Ouest (les deux offrent des paysages parmi les plus spectaculaires du monde du ski) alors que les trois autres (Cairngorm, Glenshee et Le Lecht) sont sur la côte Est . Bien que les conditions sont le plus souvent bonne (ou mauvaise) aux cinq stations, les stations d'un côté sont arfois bonnes et mauvaises de l'autre côté - même si elles sont en fait à une vingtaine de kilomètres à vol d'oiseau.

Le résultat de cela est que lorsque les conditions sont bonnes, les pistes sont très occupées - en particulier les week-ends et en périodes de vacances. L'idéal est de visiter la mi-semaine, hors heures de pointe quand vous pouvez avoir une superbe journée sur les pentes désertes et vous n'aurez pas à faire la queue pour vous garer, louer de l'équipement, acheter un billet ou prendre des remontées - qui sont, d'ailleurs, presque tous des tire-fesses avec un funiculaire à Cairngorm, une gondole à Nevis Range et un télésiège aux deux autres centres.

Quelles que soient les conditions, le ski écossais a toujours une ambiance amicale avec une grande camaraderie et un sens de l'étiquette britannique légendaire qui rend le doublage de queue une hérésie accompagnée par beaucoup de désagrément si quelqu'un essaye.

Peut-être est-ce en raison des défis que les domaines skiables écossais font face, toujours résolu par un personnel dévoué, quand vous avez une bonne journée sur de la neige fraîche sous un ciel bleu sans vent et les pentes vides, le ski écossais peut être le meilleur du le monde.

En tout cas, bien que réserver un séjour au ski écossais longtemps à l'avance sans connaître les conditions sera toujours un pari. Mais la région possède une grande gamme d'activité de remplacement, y compris les attractions du Loch Ness, la faune des parcs avec des tigres et ours polaires, des parcs à thème, des chemins de fer à vapeur, des parcs aquatiques intérieurs, des excursions en bateau pour voir des dauphins, de superbes terrains de golf, des distilleries de whisky et de toutes sortes d'activités de montagne et de sports nautiques disponibles toutes l'année. Il y a donc toujours beaucoup à faire et même lorsque les conditions ne sont pas très bonnes, les stations ouvrent généralement une partie limitée de leur terrain. Et Nevis Range et Le Lecht ont des pentes sèches pour les débutants.

Les conditions météorologiques des montagnes du Nord de l'Angleterre, Pays de Galles et d'Irlande du Nord sont sensiblement les mêmes et les remontées sont mises en place pour tirer le maximum des domaines qui ont une longue histoire de tenir de la neige en températures chaudes. La plupart impliquent de marcher à travers la neige vers un téléski assez basique. Beaucoup ont été en service depuis les premières années de ce sport avec le Lake District Ski Club célèbrant ses 75 ans pour la saison 2011-12 et la construction de toilettes de bord de piste pour commémorer l'évènement - transportant chaque partie de l'installation, y compris une grande fosse septique, à la main.
Lire la suite...

United Kingdom: résumé des dernières conditions de neige

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in United Kingdom. Fresh snow is forecast at 0resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

Toutes stations

Ski resorts of United Kingdom, alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Station de Ski Webcam Top
Profondeur de neige
en haut et en bas
Good piste
En piste
Powder
Hors-Piste
Fresh snow depth
Dernière neige
Fresh snow depth
prochains 9 jours
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
neige (cm)
Weather Prévision météo des 5 prochains jours
Niveau de gel (m)
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu

(479m — 539m)

Allenheads webcam
Milieu de station 509 m
1850m 2400m 2900m 2900m 2850m

(282m — 358m)

Milieu de station 320 m
2700m 2800m 3100m 2900m 2900m

(549m — 1097m)

snow report il y a 58 jours

Milieu de station 823 m
1600m 1750m 2150m 2450m 2700m

(634m — 725m)

Milieu de station 680 m
1900m 2450m 2900m 2900m 2850m

(0m — 536m)

Milieu de station 268 m
3450m 3450m 3200m 2850m 2600m

(305m — 1108m)

snow report il y a 58 jours

Glencoe Mountain Resort webcam
Milieu de station 706 m
1650m 1800m 2450m 2550m 2650m

(603m — 1060m)

snow report il y a 58 jours

opens in 174 days
Milieu de station 832 m
1650m 1850m 2200m 2600m 2700m

(607m — 686m)

Milieu de station 646 m
1950m 2450m 2950m 2900m 2850m

(570m — 710m)

Milieu de station 640 m
1600m 2300m 2800m 2850m 2750m

(91m — 1221m)

snow report il y a 58 jours

Nevis Range webcam
opens in 160 days
Milieu de station 656 m
1600m 1800m 2350m 2550m 2650m

(190m — 800m)

Pen-y-Fan webcam
Milieu de station 495 m
3450m 3450m 3250m 2900m 2600m

(725m — 829m)

Milieu de station 777 m
2050m 2500m 2900m 2850m 2850m

(825m — 978m)

Milieu de station 902 m
2100m 2550m 2900m 2850m 2850m

(327m — 1089m)

Snowdon webcam
Milieu de station 708 m
2900m 3150m 3100m 2850m 2700m

(640m — 823m)

snow report il y a 58 jours

Milieu de station 732 m
1550m 1700m 2150m 2450m 2650m

(488m — 655m)

Milieu de station 572 m
1950m 2450m 2950m 2900m 2850m

(600m — 725m)

Milieu de station 662 m
1900m 2450m 2900m 2850m 2850m

Uk Ski United Kingdom

The UK is one of the world’s more unusual ski nations. The country has five conventional ski areas – all in Northern Scotland, but also small ski club hills run mostly by volunteers and enthusiasts on the hills and dales of Wales and Northern England and there is also occasional skiing on hills in Northern Ireland. At a third level of British skiing, England and Scotland have six year-round indoor snow centres – the same number as Germany, equal third in number behind the Netherlands and Japan for that kind of ski slopes and finally on a fourth level there are around 60 artificial surface dry slopes spread across the country where people can ski all year on a dry surface which may occasionally have snow for a few weeks in total each winter.

This unusual mix of ski areas – almost all running on marginal economic business models – reflects the obsessions Brits have with winter sports which permeates far beyond the UK’s national shores as about a million Brits head to ski slopes around the world each winter.

In fact it was Britons that pioneered ski holidays in Switzerland in the nineteenth century, starting the global ski holiday industry, and then popularised downhill skiing in the early 20th century, being the key players in the establishment of international ski racing in the first decades of the last century. Brits also invented dry slopes in the 1940s and claim the first ‘proper’ indoor snow making in the early 1990s (now also used in centres as diverse as Dubai and Madrid) in order to be able to ski year round despite the rarely-winter-sports-friendly British climate.

Scotland’s five ski centres were mostly established in the first half of the twentieth century with skiers hiking up in order to ski down ungroomed slopes. The first lift making it easier to ski Scotland – believed to be the world’s first detachable chairlift – was installed at Cairngorm above Aviemore in 1961. The unusual lift by modern standards ascended with chairs sideways on to the slope. It caught the attention of the Queen’s husband, the Duke of Edinburgh, staying in nearby Balmoral Castle, who visited it soon after opening, thus focusing media attention on Aviemore and helping to kick start a period of several decades when Scottish skiing was the most popular option for Brits, before Austria and most recently France took over as international travel became easier.

Scottish skiing is a fairly unusual option compared to the majority of resorts. Like the rest of the UK the region is subject to the warming winds of the Gulf Stream, and Atlantic weather is usually dominant, making the region warmer than it should be for its latitude. These warm conditions alternate with periods when colder weather arrives sometimes from mainland Europe and most dramatically from the Arctic. The result is that the ski slopes can receive heavy snowfalls and build up bases metres deep, but then at any time of the winter and with little warning, the temperature can shoot up in to double digits and melt it all away within days.

For this reason attempts to add snowmaking have been problematic, although most of the centres have one or two snowguns now, because it can be too warm to make snow or machine made snow melts as fast as the natural stuff when it has been made.

The slopes are also often exposed to strong wind, with Britain’s biggest ever gust recorded at Cairngorm at over 180mph (nearly 300kph) which, when combined with cold, can mean high wind chill factors. The mountainsides are criss-crossed with extensive ‘snow fencing’ designed to stop snow from blowing off the mountainside.

It’s also worth noting that conditions are often very different on one side of the country to the other. Nevis Range and Glencoe Mountain Resort are on the West Coast (both offer some of the most spectacular scenery in world skiing) while the other three (Cairngorm, Glenshee and The Lecht) are on the East. Although conditions are most commonly good (or bad) at all five, sometimes the resorts on one side are good and the other side bad – even though they are in fact only a few dozen miles apart as the crow flies.

The result of this is that when conditions are good each winter the slopes are very busy – particularly at weekends and in holiday periods – and can get crowded. The ideal is to visit mid-week, off peak when you can have a superb day on the uncrowded slopes and won’t have to queue to park, rent equipment, buy tickets or board the lifts – which are, incidentally, almost all drag lifts with an additional funicular railway at Cairngorm, a gondola at Nevis Range and a chairlift or two at the other centres.

Whatever the conditions Scottish skiing is always friendly with great camaraderie and a famous sense of British etiquette that makes queue jumping a definite no no accompanied by much tutting if anyone tries it.

Perhaps because of the challenges Scottish ski areas face, overcome by their always dedicated staff, when you do get a good day on fresh snow under a blue sky with no wind and empty slopes, Scottish skiing can be the best in the world.

In any case, although booking a Scottish ski holiday long in advance of knowing what the conditions are like is always going to be something of a gamble, the area does have a massive range of alternative attractions including Loch Ness, wildlife parks with tigers and polar bears, theme parks, steam railways, indoor water parks, dolphin-spotting boat trips, great golf courses, whisky distilleries and all kinds of mountain and water sports available year round, so there’s always plenty to do and even when conditions aren’t great the centres can usually open limited terrain. And Nevis Range and The Lecht have dry slopes for beginners.

Weather conditions at the Northern English, Welsh and Northern Irish ski hills are much the same and ski lifts there are set up to make the most of areas with a long history of holding snow as temperatures warm. Most involve walking up through the snow to what is normally a fairly basic single ski lift. Many have been operating since the early years of the sport with the Lake District Ski Club celebrating 75 years for the 2011-12 season and building its first slopeside toilet to commemorate the achievement – carrying every part of the facility, including a large septic tank, up the mountainside by hand.
read more...

United Kingdom: latest snow conditions round-up


SCOTLAND REPORT Conditions do seem to be gradually improving on the Scottish hills but with a full-blown storm raging for the past five days and lifts shut down, it's hard to be sure yet just what the situation is. There has been a lot of precipitation driven in on the strong winds but with temperatures generally above freezing this has mostly fallen as rain or sleet at lower elevations, although there appears to have been a good dump of hill snow higher up, particularly in the west.

As it has done all year so far, Glencoe looks to have the most potential terrain to open with nearby Nevis Range also looking good. All five areas have their all-weather snow-making machines maintaining beginner areas.

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in United Kingdom. Fresh snow is forecast at 5 resorts. Powder is reported at 4 resorts and 4 are reporting good piste conditions.

read more...

Recent Eyeball Snow Reports for United Kingdom

All resorts

Best powder (4)Best piste conditions (4)

Ski resorts of United Kingdom, alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Resort Webcam Top
snow depth
top and bottom
Good piste
on-piste
Powder
off-piste
Fresh snow depth
Last Snow
Fresh snow depth
Next 9 Days
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
snow (cm)
Weather Next 5 days weather forecast.
Freezing level (m)
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu

(479m — 539m)

snow report 3 days ago

Allenheads webcam
4 cm
3 days ago
4
4
3
snow showers
snow showers
light snow
light rain
light snow
Mid station 509 m
350m 450m 350m 300m 400m

(282m — 358m)

snow report 5 days ago

2 cm
5 days ago
1
1
rain showers
rain showers
light rain
light rain
light snow
Mid station 320 m
700m 450m 450m 400m 450m

(549m — 1097m)

snow report today

Cairngorm webcam
60
45

Fresh

Fresh
10 cm
today
16
5
22
snow showers
snow showers
snow showers
light snow
snow showers
Mid station 823 m
0m 500m 200m 150m 350m

(634m — 725m)

snow report today

1 cm
today
3
2
3
partly cloudy
snow showers
snow showers
light rain
light snow
Mid station 680 m
400m 450m 450m 450m 450m

(0m — 536m)

snow report 4 days ago

7 cm
4 days ago
3
rain showers
light rain
light rain
moderate rain
light rain
Mid station 268 m
2100m 600m 600m 600m 500m

(305m — 1108m)

snow report today

Glencoe Mountain Resort webcam
105
75

Fresh

Fresh
16 cm
today
30
17
32
light snow
light snow
light snow
light snow
light snow
Mid station 706 m
100m 450m 300m 150m 300m

(654m — 1029m)

snow report yesterday

60
45

Fresh

Fresh
8 cm
today
13
4
17
light snow
partly cloudy
snow showers
light snow
snow showers
Mid station 842 m
0m 400m 200m 150m 300m

(607m — 686m)

snow report today

3 cm
today
8
5
6
snow showers
light snow
light snow
light snow
light snow
Mid station 646 m
400m 450m 350m 300m 400m

(570m — 710m)

snow report today

Lowther Hills webcam
3 cm
today
12
6
12
light snow
light snow
light snow
light snow
light snow
Mid station 640 m
300m 400m 300m 300m 350m

(91m — 1221m)

snow report today

10
Wet 15 cm
today
31
19
36
light snow
light snow
light snow
light snow
light snow
Mid station 656 m
100m 400m 300m 0m 300m

(276m — 886m)

snow report today

Pen-y-Fan webcam
2 cm
today
3
1
2
light rain
light snow
light snow
moderate rain
light snow
Mid station 581 m
2150m 500m 500m 350m 450m

(725m — 829m)

snow report today

3 cm
today
8
9
8
snow showers
light snow
light snow
light snow
light snow
Mid station 777 m
550m 500m 400m 400m 400m

(825m — 978m)

snow report today

4 cm
today
10
12
8
snow showers
snow showers
light snow
light snow
light snow
Mid station 902 m
550m 500m 450m 450m 400m

(327m — 1089m)

snow report today

5 cm
today
6
12
2
snow showers
light snow
light snow
heavy rain
light snow
Mid station 708 m
1200m 550m 500m 500m 350m

(640m — 823m)

snow report today

The Lecht webcam
40
35

Fresh

Fresh
3 cm
today
8
2
13
snow showers
partly cloudy
snow showers
light snow
cloudy
Mid station 732 m
0m 550m 350m 350m 400m

(488m — 655m)

snow report 3 days ago

4 cm
3 days ago
6
4
4
snow showers
snow showers
light snow
light snow
light snow
Mid station 572 m
400m 450m 350m 350m 400m

(600m — 725m)

snow report today

Yad Moss webcam
3 cm
today
7
7
6
snow showers
light snow
light snow
light snow
light snow
Mid station 662 m
350m 450m 350m 300m 350m