Visitor reviews for Revelstoke Mountain Resort Ski Resort

Revelstoke Mountain Resort Ratings

Overall: 3.4. Based on 58 votes and 107 reviews. Vote

Snowsure: 4.3

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Revelstoke Mountain Resort is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Variety of pistes: 4.4

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Revelstoke Mountain Resort has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Off-piste: 4.5

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Scenery: 4.2

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Access: 3.1

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Revelstoke Mountain Resort.

Public Transport: 3.4

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Revelstoke Mountain Resort, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Accommodation: 3.7

(1) No places to stay in/near Revelstoke Mountain Resort, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 3.1

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 3.8

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Revelstoke Mountain Resort.

Ski in/Ski out: 3.7

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 3.1

(1) There are no child care facilities at Revelstoke Mountain Resort, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowmaking: 2.1

(1) Revelstoke Mountain Resort relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 3.2

(1) There are no snow groomers at Revelstoke Mountain Resort, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Revelstoke Mountain Resort are groomed daily.

Shelter: 3.9

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Revelstoke Mountain Resort is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 2.4

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Revelstoke Mountain Resort, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 4.3

(1) Revelstoke Mountain Resort usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.2

(1) The staff at Revelstoke Mountain Resort are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Revelstoke Mountain Resort are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 3.7

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 3.4

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.3

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Beginners: 2.2

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 3.6

(1) No intermediate terrain at Revelstoke Mountain Resort, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 4.6

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 1.7

(1) Not even a kicker at Revelstoke Mountain Resort, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Cross-country: 3.1

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Revelstoke Mountain Resort, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 1.7

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Revelstoke Mountain Resort has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 3.0

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 2.9

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 2.9

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 3.1

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 3.0

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 3.0

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 3.8

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 4.0

(1) Overall, Revelstoke Mountain Resort is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 4.0

(1) Overall, Revelstoke Mountain Resort is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

December 06, 2009
White Trash from Ski Canada Canada
You don't want to come to Revy. You want to go and join the crowds at Whistler and Banff. Forget about Revy's 5600 vertical, the epic snow, the unpretentious town full of powder freaks and Mt. Begbie Kolsch, the local Pilsner beer. I said FORGET about 'em! Please.
December 05, 2009
Noel from Ski Canada Canada
Well for anyone that actually ventures out in the bowls and trees you will find Revelstoke Moutain has it ALL, you gotta know where to go yea small town nothing around....but powder ....don't come ski here go to Big White, Whistler I hear Sunshine Village is good LOL leave Revy for the real men you poofter gorbies can bite me.... grow up or is that op!!
November 29, 2009
KK from Ski Canada Canada
Yesterday was opening day at Revelstoke Mountain Resort, and it was epic! The mountain has as much snow as it did at the end of December last season, so the coverage is amazing and lots of lines are filled in more than they were all winter last year. There were face shots to be had all day, and I can't wait for the Ripper Chair to open next Friday to open up North and Greely Bowls! More than a handful of pro riders call Revy their home, and for good reason. The terrain is incredibly varied, the snow is light and fluffy, and the town is unpretentious and fun. This is a resort still in its infancy, so it's bound to experience some growing pains , but a big new retail shop is open this season, along with a new restaurant at the base and the Revelstoke Outdoors Centre. Revelstoke Mountain Resort is an amazing mountain with insanely good skiing, friendly people, and inordinate amounts of snowfall and local talent. I think we should be happy that it didn't turn into a Banff or Whistler overnight; there's still a big sense of community, and everyone is here for the same reason - the great riding.
November 28, 2009
Starbuck from Ski Canada Canada
Revelstoke Mountain Resort is pretty good skiing. However, it's easy to argue that it is overhyped, the lower half of the mountain is testicle du chien. It's no lake Louise, no Whistler. I don't think anyone could actually compare the 3 lifts at Revy (Revelstoke Mountain Resort) with any mega resort. In 10 years it'll still be the same. No rush to go there, hit it when you pass through some time in the spring, but make sure to bring some $$ for the heli-skiing as it is the best in the world. That's the straight talk.
November 27, 2009
Geno from Ski Canada Canada
Revy (Revelstoke Mountain Resort), in my opinion, is overhyped; at the moment anyway. On paper, it looks impressive but having visited during the last two seasons I think anyone planning a ski trip, whether it is with buddies or family should look to more established resorts. Although the terrain and vertical can be impressive on paper, lift serviced terrain is quickly tracked out on powder days, and by lunch you are just about doing moguls for the rest of the day. The lower half of the hill is too warm for any decent skiing. There are seriously undersized services for basics such as food and lodging. The biggest disappointments I experienced: - Ski out from North bowl is absolutely brutal, especially if you are on a board. The bowl is actually great but to access it you have to hike half an hour straight up. The rest of Alpine terrain is basically inaccessible by lift and even all this gets tracked out by the first day. I did the run once, and had enough. - Glade skiing is way too tight. Not sure it really exists. - Long line ups on powder days. I have to say the hill felt as crowded as Golden, Banff or Whistler that day. - Fog patches up to the peak. Can be down-right scary going down (read moguls, drops, cliffs). - Lack of blue runs means nothing for the wife/gf or family to enjoy and the town of Revelstoke has nothing to offer apres-ski. Although they hope to expand the resort and terrain in the future, Revy (Revelstoke Mountain Resort) has a lot of work to do and it might be 10+ years before they can compete with even Fernie, or Golden. Banff and Whistler are in a league of their own. Revelstoke is no where near the size and capacity. This hill is striving to be the next Fernie or KH.
November 26, 2009
Powderheads' J from Ski Canada Canada
I live an 8 hour drive away from Revy (Revelstoke Mountain Resort). We (25 year skibuddy Mark) went Feb 08 and I went Jan 09. The base in Feb 08 was aproaching 3 m and Jan 09 was not as nice but in the 2m range. These are the times to visit Revy. The location is semi-tropical in the summer so of course spring /fall can be hit and miss. The pppow!! in Jan/Feb is amazing, light fluffy and soft up top, but 5500 feet below it is a different climate. Who ever says there is no snow has not been to the top of this hill. This is a skier's mountain 49330 vert.feet done by 2pm and bagged. If you come expecting a family Big White, Panorama, or Whistler trip you may not be fulfilled. If you go to Revy (Revelstoke Mountain Resort) expecting BIG DUMPS (Dec-Feb) of light fluffy blower and going back to your room at night feeling like a spanked donkey,... you will be amazed.. Opening day in 3 days, my second opening day this year..(Jasper is doing VERY well this year) after the 8hr drive each way, if the roads are good, but I am going anyway, REVY rocked my world forever. This will be an annual pilgrimage.
November 12, 2009
Bob from Ski United States United States
Well - Revy (Revelstoke Mountain Resort) is definitely over-hyped. I was there for 3 weeks last Feb and couldn't believe how little snow they received. The locals said is was a dry-spell, but I think they were just trying to keep the hype going. Restaurants in town were average, hill dining was limited and could hardly accommodate the amount of people that were there and the retail options were nearly non-existent. This all sounds pretty bad, but the terrain was great (for me - an expert skier), but my family had to stay on the same run for the entire trip. Revelstoke is certainly not a place to bring your family skiing, they'd be lucky to survive. As for all the 'glades' - I don't even think they thinned the trees at all. Give Revy (Revelstoke Mountain Resort) another ten years to develop before you waste your time there. I suggest Whistler, Banff, or for family vacations, Sun Peaks and Big White. Maybe Revy (Revelstoke Mountain Resort) needs 15 years even?
November 05, 2009
B from Ski Canada Canada
Revy (Revelstoke Mountain Resort) is a terrible place for you to vacation. It never snows and the terrain is boring. The town has no nightlife. You will have a much better time at Whistler or Banff.
October 17, 2009
Revy Rider from Ski Canada Canada
Hey, Revy (Revelstoke Mountain Resort) is one of a kind but first I want to know what is wrong with Whistler and Banff. These are two magical places in western Canada; city life in the middle of the mountains. If you want solitude, go elsewhere... Revy will never be a Banff or Whistler as we are in the middle of nowhere. We have a tiny airport but no big metropolis such as Calgary or Vancouver to feed the lift lines. Our hotel rooms are always pre-booked a year in advance because of all the slednecks (snowmobilers) who have known about Revelstoke's abundant snowfall for decades. This leaves little to no room for the masses of families who are the ones that demand all the ammenities you'll find at a true resort such as Whistler. The snow here is better and lasts longer than most. The Ozzies arrived in masses last year in November. The French knew about Revy before any gondolas were even thought of and the British are here too, but only the true riders. Some are real hard core. There are not 'some trees', there is an endless supply of trees, take it from a guy who's been riding that mountain every second day since the 'resort' opened two seasons ago. We have alpine galore, it's a good thing there are no lifts accessing it so as when I hike the last 100 vert to the sub-peak it's all mine, the lazy ones don't see what I do. The Powder Assault run is world class and it's more an assault on yer legs than anything as the run drops forever into a bowl full of cliffs and great snow that is often three or four times deeper than the front side of the mountain, depending on the breeze of course. In short, I am a B.C. boy who does what a lot of B.C. boys do. I move around my province freely every few years moving onto the next place I choose. I grew up in Victoria, lived in Banff for a coupla years and spent damn near 15 years in the interior. I have riddin most mountains B.C. has to offer and up until recently I would have sworn that the back side of Lake Louise was the best lift accessed terrain western Canada has to offer even though the snow sucks some seasons. It is now my opinion that Revy (Revelstoke Mountain Resort) has the steepest, deepest and longest runs this die-hard has seen on lift accessed terain period. We've got the lot. D.
April 14, 2009
John from Ski United States United States
Revelstoke (Revelstoke Mountain Resort) has amazing potential, but it's not there yet. The lift-served terrain is magnificent cruising (with perfect grooming) with some good tree-skiing, but the access to the alpine is extremely limited. To become the resort it claims to be, they need lift access to the alpine, otherwise regardless of the big vertical, they will never be the competition for Whistler they want to be (which I'm sure some people will like). The crowds are small, which from a Whistlerite's perspective is like Nirvana. Most of the glades they claim need thinning. Run design is excellent though, with great fall lines and few of the road/catwalk issues that plague Blackcomb say. Overall though, mountain operations run very well. Base operations, however, leave a lot to be desired. The day lodge was too small to accommodate even a modest crowd, and the food setup led to severe inefficiencies. With marginal retail and food options, they seemed to be leaving a lot of potential revenue on the table. Facilities at the road level are almost non-existent. (Hopefully this will change with the opening of the condos.) Overall, the ski 'resort' of Revelstoke Mountain Resort is more like an overgrown day area with unreal potential. It's not quite ready for prime time, but that also makes it a great time to visit. Revelstoke itself, is a charming town, with great people.