Visitor reviews for Panorama Mountain Resort Ski Resort

Panorama Mountain Resort Ratings

Overall: 3.9. Based on 59 votes and 59 reviews. Vote

Snowsure: 3.8

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Panorama Mountain Resort is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Variety of pistes: 4.4

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Panorama Mountain Resort has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Off-piste: 4.1

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Scenery: 4.5

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Access: 3.5

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Panorama Mountain Resort.

Public Transport: 3.2

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Panorama Mountain Resort, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Accommodation: 4.2

(1) No places to stay in/near Panorama Mountain Resort, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 3.4

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 3.7

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Panorama Mountain Resort.

Ski in/Ski out: 4.6

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 4.3

(1) There are no child care facilities at Panorama Mountain Resort, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowmaking: 4.1

(1) Panorama Mountain Resort relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 3.9

(1) There are no snow groomers at Panorama Mountain Resort, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Panorama Mountain Resort are groomed daily.

Shelter: 4.2

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Panorama Mountain Resort is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 3.3

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Panorama Mountain Resort, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 3.3

(1) Panorama Mountain Resort usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.3

(1) The staff at Panorama Mountain Resort are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Panorama Mountain Resort are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 4.4

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.2

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.3

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Beginners: 4.0

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.3

(1) No intermediate terrain at Panorama Mountain Resort, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 4.5

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 3.6

(1) Not even a kicker at Panorama Mountain Resort, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Cross-country: 4.1

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Panorama Mountain Resort, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 2.7

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Panorama Mountain Resort has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 3.6

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 3.8

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 3.5

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 3.3

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 3.2

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 3.5

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 3.7

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 3.9

(1) Overall, Panorama Mountain Resort is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 3.9

(1) Overall, Panorama Mountain Resort is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

February 20, 2011
Jeremy from Ski Canada Canada
I have been skiing for 40 years. Panorama is our favorite. A true ski-in ski- out experience and the best variety in expert terrain I know of. I have skied Kitzbuel, Couchevel, Tignes, Val d'Isere, Sauze D 'Oulx, Mt St Anne, Falcade, Cervina, Lermoos, Auron, Les deux Alpes, Verbier, Whistler, Fernie, Lake Louise, Sunshine, and too many other places to mention. Panorama is the best experience - if you seek a great family atmosphere and incredible variety - bowls, chutes, glades, trees, powder, monster bumps, wide steep groomers, an awesome terrain park, and heli skiing at your doorstep then look no further than Panorama.
February 05, 2011
Buzz Junkie from Ski Australia Australia
If I want ice I'll walk to my freezer instead of going to Panorama (Panorama Mountain Village).
February 05, 2011
mike from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
I have just come back from a week at Panorama (Panorama Mountain Village) and have got to say "what an awesome time!" There's plenty of runs but the fun is in between the runs where you find powder even after a week of no snow. Yes, more used and harder runs do get a bit bumpy but there is always a flat part or powder off to the sides. I wouldn't recommend the resort to a beginner as there is very little for them. But for others the vast, varied terrain and off-piste styled runs are amazing and the best thing about this place: you're lucky to see anyone on the same run as you during the week! I would recommend this to anyone for up to a week and if you don't mind traveling.
January 24, 2011
Gary from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
My family first went to Panorama (Panorama Mountain Village) in 2002 and we loved it. We've been every year since, often more than once a year, and we also spend time in other Canadian and European ski resorts. We've taken lots of friends to Panorama and none have ever been disappointed. The new ownership (2010) is resulting in further improvement - there is now night skiing for the full length of the Mile One lift, and the restaurants are noticeably better. The focus is now definitely on families. There's a lot of discussion about the number of lifts, and whilst I can understand the comments the number really doesn't matter. The four main chair lifts open up the whole ski area, and with the exception of a few public holiday weekends you never have to stand in line. There are lots of pistes and acres of super off-piste. We have just returned home from a 3 week trip to Panorama and we didn't get bored! The snow was excellent. My son has gone for the whole ski season as part of his gap year, and he is skiing every day and loving it. I hope more people discover this super place. But not TOO many as we like the uncrowded slopes!
January 13, 2011
Corey from Ski Canada Canada
The new management is making great strides in this resort. I own a 1 bedroom condo in the Panorama Springs building and spend approx 7-10 days snowboarding the hill each year fo the past 10 years. I also like to try other resorts (Louise, Kicking Horse, Sunshine, Marmot, Fernie, etc) but honestly feel there are many things that Panorama (Panorama Mountain Village) has to offer that I haven't found elsewhere. It is true that other resorts tend to get more snow, however, you can't beat a Tanyton bowl run on a powder day! Some years there is a ton of snow, others it can get icy, but no matter how long it has been since a snowfall, if you know the hill there are always powder spots to find. In fact, there are times I've been to Pano and foud powder all day long and it hadn't snowed in weeks..must have something to do with the fact there is no where near the traffic of other resorts, hence, no lift lines except between Christmas and New Years and Family day weekend. Pros: - Serious vertical! One run at decent speeds starting from the bottom to the top and down can take a minimum of 45 minutes and if you're with a group well over an hour. Long runs are great, you aren't hopping on a chairlift every 5 minutes as you are elsewhere (except Kicking Horse). - Food. The Summit hut is a great spot (although it could be expanded) for a drink and bite to eat and pictures! Also it would be tough to beat Earl Grey for fine dining, definitely one of the best restaurants I've ever been to. - True ski-in/ski-out - Nowhere has the pools/tubs/sauna atmosphere that Pano does. - Lots of expert skiing/boarding with Taynton bowl and Extreme Dream Zone... Cons: - Can be a little tough for beginnners. The green runs here are like blue runs elsewhere - the blue runs like black elsewhere. You get my point. - Snow conditions can be a little dicey at times, but as I mentioned, if you ask the locals where to go, you will find powder any day. - the road up to the hill can be a little scary, although it was widened and re-paved last year. All in all, it is a great family atmosphere, priced really well and if you hit a week of snow, there isn't anywhere better! Cheers!
January 11, 2011
Harry from Ski Canada Canada
Finally under new mgt. (18 local investors) someone who has an idea of how to run a ski resort. As a (15 year) season pass holder, did 12 days @ Xmas (see my comments below from last year). Pros: 1) The terrain park has been relocated off their main blue run "Show Off" to the Powder Trail. More family usage in one weekend than all of last season. 2) Reconfiguration of the food services in the main lodge, more seating, open till 9:00pm, resonable priced buffet, excellent value. 3) Night skiing till 9:00pm off Mile One Quad. 4) Shuttle from Panorama to Invermere (closet town) for more eating options and shopping. Also a shuttle from Calgary. 5) Mile One hut, good start but could be bigger. 6) Several daily "apres-ski" activities for families. 7) Great Italian restaurant @ Greywolf 8) Honest snow condition reports. Cons: 1) For you Eastern skiers, do bring your "ice" skis unless you plan to ski Tayton Bowl .. double black with a long, long run out road. The main runs live up to Panorama's reputation as "Iceorama" by about Noon. They should continue to make artificial snow on those runs during the high traffic periods. 2) Grooming is limited to less than ten trails per night out of 120 ???.... as per writer below, I ski all mountain and haven't found more than 60. I think they need to acquire additional grooming equipment. 3) Some trails especially in the Founder's Ridge area could use some summer bush/tree clearing. Overall, the new owners are doing a good job, so I no longer feel I"m "hand cuffed" by real estate .. see below.
January 11, 2011
Jeremy from Ski Canada Canada
There are some thorough reviews on here so I will streamline my response regarding Panorama Mountain Village. First of all, remember within a two hour driving radius there are numerous ski resorts in the area including Kicking Horse, Fernie, Lake Louise, and Sunshine. Within a 3-4 hour radius there are even more. I ski most of them, and they all have unique features. For Panorama (Panorama Mountain Village) I think the main advantages/disadvantages are: Pros: - Best price for ski in/ski out accomodation - Quietest mountain w/ shortest lift lines - Best blue cruisers/grooming and best conditions for racers - Arguably best terrain park - Good glades for intermediate and advanced skiers - Good family mountain (good variety of terrain, good schools for kids, "happy, friendly" atmosphere, events/pools for kids, etc.) - Basically only mountain in the area with night skiing Cons: - Consistently has the least snow of all the resorts in the area - Getting to the summit takes three lifts and my kids always get cold at some point (except in the spring) - Tayton bowl is nice expert terrain but the ski out at the bottom is a drag. The other expert area, the Extreme Dream Zone, is usually too rocky except for great snow years - Food quality is highly, highly variable I have skied it several times already in the 2010/11 year, as well as the other resorts. This year has definitely been its best year for snow out of the last 3 or 4 years. The whole mountain is currently skiable, which hasn't been the case in recent years. Perhaps because of the recent poor snow years, or change in management, it is also quieter than usual. I found many powder stashes this year that would have already been tracked out in other years. That being said, it still has the smallest base of the resorts in the area....
January 03, 2011
John E. from Ski Canada Canada
Great opening to the season - I have logged 13 days of skiing at Panorama thus far - between Dec 10 - Jan 1. Snow has been good to great - favourite runs so far - Sidewider Glades (double black) - Stumbocks (black -a perennial fav), and Stump Farm/Sunbowl (black/blue)- the snow is soft and carveable. New ownership seems to be an improvement - customer service is much improved. Treated ourselves to Greys Restarant for Boxing day - Prime Rib and Yorkshire pudding - simple divine. The latte's at Lusti's are "kicking ass" good. No lift lines - really increase the enjoyment factor. Stay away from the main runs (they get skied off) under the two high speed quads and you'll have a great time
March 08, 2010
Nick from Ski New Zealand New Zealand
I've worked at Pano (Panorama Mountain Village) for two seasons now so will tell you what it's really like. Snow and terrain: the Pano donut theory, is definitly no theory or myth. When I looked into all of the resorts around Panorama all of them had at least twice as much snow as Panorama. It doesn't get that much snow here. The snow at the summit rarely/barely gets over a metre and the snow at the base rarely/barely gets over half a metre. It hasn't snowed here for about two months now. Its snowed solidly 40cmsish in two days twice so far. You do the math. I can't understand how the view of a thousand peaks run always has tonnes of little rocks sticking out of it; don't go down there if you don't want your board/skis to get scratched. In two seasons I still haven't had a real good powder run here, one where you can actually charge and link together a whole heap of nice big turns. Tatyon bowl is good to check out, after a wee hike, for black runs but it is usually quite steap, icy and moguly. And there is a really long traverse out. It would probably take you 45mins minimum to do Tatyon bowl, going up three chairs, hiking along a bit, coming down the bowl and traversing out, so if it is icy and moguly it could be a bit of a dissapointing waste of time. Other than that the terrain is pretty much blue groomers with not many real cool natural features to hit, however, the vertical is very large so you do get long runs. Thats terrain and snow covered. Weather: I find the weather here (Panorama Mountain Village) to be really good. Still haven't had a windy or white out day here in two seasons. This season its been incredibly warm and was only particularly cold for maybe a week or two just after they opened in December. Last season, however, it was around -10 to -15 from when I arrived in mid January to mid Febuary, so yeah, it can vary. From mid Feburary onwards, however, you will get lots of nice warm sunny spring days, which are just lush. Terrain Park: the terrain park last season was better. It is pretty much the same as last season, except this season there is a patch where there are a couple of rollers, instead of a couple of rails and a pretty cool hip thing that they had, which is a bit of a waste of space. Instead, they took a couple of those rails and cluttered them all together up the top side by side, so you can only hit one of them instead of a couple and they've got the c-box and s-box so close together that it's pretty much impossible to hit one after hitting the other. And unfortunatly, the really cool down flat down rail is put in backwards as a flat down flat rail now, which is a bit of a waste considering there is a flat down flat box already in. So far this season once the park was built, which took about a month (mid Janish) they haven't really changed anything or put anything new in, or added anything new from last season, and I doubt they will all season. Oh yeah and watch out for all the groups of morons in the weekends who think that it is a good idea to stand on the flat park of the kickers and have a bit of a natter, and the parents who think that it is a good idea taking their kids through the park over the flats of the kickers and then pizza snaking their way all over the landings where you can't see them. The park is long though: almost a mile, and you probably won't find a better kicker line anywhere. There is a good 6 to 8 decent sized kicker sets to hit on your way down through the park, with two different sized jumps in each set. Food and drink: people say that there is a lack of of dining/eating options at Panorama, but you could stay here for a week and eat at a different place for dinner each night and almost a different place for lunch each day. e.g. dinner at Wildfire, Grey's restaurant, Choppers Landing, Fabuki Sushi, Elkhorn Cabin, T-bar, The Jackpine, Mile High Pizza and lunch: Picnic Deli, Great Hall, Summit Hut, Cappucino Hut, T-Bar. I think most people just aren't aware of all of these dining options or just don't think of them, and just think that the obvious ones are the only one. Yeah, so I could go own about all other aspects of Panorama (Panorama Mountain Village) but I can't be bothered. Think I've written enough already. But I will quickly say that there are lots of other facilities here that I'm not sure you would find in many places all together in a ski-in ski-out village like this, such as RK Heliski, Pano Springs hot pool, nordic skiing, and Toby Creek adventures snowmobiling and dog sledding. Chur.
March 06, 2010
M Page from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
My girlfriend and I have just returned from a weeks skiing in Panorama (Panorama Mountain Village). We managed to find a deal from Inghams and thought we'd give it a go, having read fairly positive reviews and reports on both the conditions and resort; some of which came from the Official Panorama Resort website (I'll come to this shortly). First impressions were that the resort is far samller than I imagined and the choice of places to eat, drink and shop: limited. The T-Bar did offer nice food, but it lacked atmosphere and the 'open-system' dishwasher made the whole bar stink like some chemical overspill. The 'specialist' ski and snowboard shops are limited in size and sadly, decent kit. I was very pleased with the accommodation; stayng at the Pine Inn Hotel. The gym and spa were good bonuses. However, with a mountain range of pisted runs this small together with an adequate number of piste bashers, why the management feel the need to have a bizarre grooming regime is beyond me. 'They' appear to start at the bottom in straight, up-slope lines meaning that the bashers seemingly return to the bottom every 1-2 hours. This is not so great if your bedroom overlooks the Mile 1 Quad Express Lift - it makes for a rather long, interrupted nights' sleep. Surely, the management could work an alternate system which would logically see the guys bash the runs at the lower section first and more higher as the night progresses? The official Panorama Resort website is laughable and blatantly misleading. Even today they have "118 of the 120 runs open". Now, I skied last week and the snow was poor, with rocks and deep sections of mud visible from above the second main lift. It has not snowed since and 'they' claim at the summit there is 96cm of snow cover... What?! How the hell did they measure that? And with what? I'm not disputing Panorama has almost all the runs open, but I feel the resort should be more honest and mature about what information they are putting out. I've skied exstensively in other resorts around the world and if runs are down to mud and rock then the patrol will close it and mark it as such. Sure you could still ski a closed run if you really felt like it but at least you'd have the correct information before venturing down. Although one or two runs had been taped off, I generally think this smacks of over-promotion and greedy, selfish marketing which will possibly back-fire in the end. I also think it's somewhat negligent. And what's the deal with the lifts? Panorama is stated as having 9 lifts. Well, this is true is you count the Disney World gondola linking the lower and upper part of Panorma village, and the 'magic carpets' for the kids on the nursey slopes. Once again; over-ambitious marketing... The WIFI available arunnd the resort was a welcome benefit but much of the time it seemed unreliable. I'd have preferred a sevice I could buy rather than the continual frustration of whether it would work or not. Overall, it's clear I didn't really enojoy Panorama (Panorama Mountain Village). Largely, this came from the lack of snow on this trip which clearly Panorama can't be blamed for. I'm sure with a quality dump this place would offer a high level of off-piste fun with the groomed runs being safe and playful. However, I'd still be frustrated by all the other elements outlined above. Sorry for moaning. I am British though ;-)