Visitor reviews for Panorama Mountain Resort Ski Resort

Panorama Mountain Resort Ratings

Overall: 3.9. Based on 59 votes and 59 reviews. Vote

Snowsure: 3.8

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Panorama Mountain Resort is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Variety of pistes: 4.4

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Panorama Mountain Resort has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Off-piste: 4.1

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Scenery: 4.5

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Access: 3.5

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Panorama Mountain Resort.

Public Transport: 3.2

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Panorama Mountain Resort, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Accommodation: 4.2

(1) No places to stay in/near Panorama Mountain Resort, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 3.4

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 3.7

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Panorama Mountain Resort.

Ski in/Ski out: 4.6

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 4.3

(1) There are no child care facilities at Panorama Mountain Resort, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowmaking: 4.1

(1) Panorama Mountain Resort relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 3.9

(1) There are no snow groomers at Panorama Mountain Resort, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Panorama Mountain Resort are groomed daily.

Shelter: 4.2

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Panorama Mountain Resort is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 3.3

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Panorama Mountain Resort, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 3.3

(1) Panorama Mountain Resort usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.3

(1) The staff at Panorama Mountain Resort are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Panorama Mountain Resort are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 4.4

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.2

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.3

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Beginners: 4.0

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.3

(1) No intermediate terrain at Panorama Mountain Resort, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 4.5

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 3.6

(1) Not even a kicker at Panorama Mountain Resort, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Cross-country: 4.1

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Panorama Mountain Resort, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 2.7

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Panorama Mountain Resort has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 3.6

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 3.8

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 3.5

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 3.3

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 3.2

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 3.5

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 3.7

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 3.9

(1) Overall, Panorama Mountain Resort is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 3.9

(1) Overall, Panorama Mountain Resort is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

December 04, 2012
Ricky Jay from Ski Canada Canada
This resort is the best. Why you ask? Two words... Euro bungie!!! Who cares about good parks. Who cares that racers take up most of the runs on the lower mountain. Who cares about the lack of good pubs and restaurants. None of those things matter cause there is a Euro bungie. Oh wait a minute, I just heard that the Euro bungie won't be running in the winter. Oh well, Panorama is still the best in my books!
February 01, 2012
Andrew from Ski Canada Canada
I have been coming to Panorama for three seasons and spend multiple days per there. I have experienced very good conditions and excellent service. Tayton bowl, Extreme Dream Zone offer excellent expert conditions and there has been an abundance of powder days the last few years. Great views, great sun. A great variety of terrain for novices and intermediates. True beginners may find it limiting. Lots of choices for families and individuals.
September 06, 2011
D Hall from Ski Canada Canada
We arrived over the September long weekend as part of our trip around BC/Alta. We live in Ontario. Grey Wolf is a nice track to play at reasonable rates. It is quiet at this time of year so you have to enjoy the walks and kayaking which we did in Invermere. The lifts and most restaurants are all closed at Panorama. The WIFI is a joke. I would have liked to use this time as business/pleasure but no WIFI makes that impossible. Nice people.
May 21, 2011
Kevin from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
After reading the reports on here I had to post to let people know just how good a resort this is. I was in Pano (Panorama Mountain Village) for 9 weeks this year, we had new snow every week at least. I skied every day both working with ski school (which is on of the most professional ski schools I have come across) and training with Snow Challenge instructor training course. With so much snow this year (I know I was lucky) I was still finding new routes in both Taynton Bowl and the Extreme Dream Zone on my last day. With so much beginner terrain it’s a great place to teach and you can have so much fun in safe off-piste in-bounds areas like the Sunbowl and Funders Ridge. Yes, there are a few bad points such as a long ski out from Taynton down the worlds coldest cat track and the -30 days. If you have only skied in Europe then you just have to go somewhere like Pano. No lift queues even on the busy February holidays, 5min max at the bottom lift, I didn’t see a queue on any of the other lifts more than 20 people. As for après-ski two bars is all I need, always a good time in the TBar after a day’s skiing. Yes, it is limited but that’s the price you pay for having the pistes to yourself (If you don’t mind the cold January is empty). As for the people I challenge anyone to find a more friendly resort. After skiing Canada I will find it very hard to ski in Europe again. If you are looking to do some serious training Snow Challenge Canada offers some good value coursed with a great bunch of people. I will be back next year if it’s the last thing I do.
April 02, 2011
Jeremy from Ski Canada Canada
April 2, 2011 - we are in the midst of a serious dump. Looks like 20 to 30 cm when all is said and done. Every run is open with no rocks anywhere - absolutely amazing late season conditions. I see some complain of icy conditions here but that is simply due to the elevation - it is colder here and we often get snow when other BC resorts get rain. Anyway, nobody could complain about a lack of snow here - at least not this year. We are in the Taynton Lodge which is well situated up the slopes and you simply pop on you skis and ski down to the main chair lift! True ski-in and ski-out - great for families. The accommodation is great with hot tubs and Panorama Springs pools within easy access and night skiing until 8pm - no wonder my kids say this is the best holiday ever!! There is an enormous amount of terrain here. You can find fresh powder even two weeks after the last big dump - you simply need to know where to look and the pleasant staff here will help you. This is the best kept secret in Western Canada.
March 29, 2011
George from Ski Canada Canada
Unbelievable! It is the end of March. There is sooooo much snow and it is still snowing. If you like rain then go to Fernie or Whistler. If you like to ski then I have yet to find a better place. This place has an amazing variety of terrain. Experts can take the double blacks (unlike other resorts this is real extreme expert terrain and not just a signpost, furthermore there is about 40% of expert terrain and ALL easily accessible). Meanwhile the less aggressive skiers can take a nice groomer. The amazing thing is that you can all meet together at the bottom - amazing variety all in the same vicinity. No more skiing one side of the mountain while the grandparents and kids ski the other side - here you can all ski together and each enjoying the difficulty to the maximum of their ability. The view at the top is breathtaking - as pretty as the Italian Dolomiti and better than the view from the top of Whistler - "View of a thousand peaks" is the Panorama run that just takes your breath away. I have skied all over the world and Panorama (Panorama Mountain Village) is absolutely world class. For a family, this resort is simply far better than anything else we have found in North America.
March 27, 2011
Bob from Ski United States United States
Skied Panorama (Panorama Mountain Village) from 20 - 26 March 2011. Stayed in the lower village, Riverbend, exchanged my timeshare at Whistler for a week at Panorama. The views from the top are second to none. The staff we met was friendly and most willing to help. We took advantage of skiing with the Friends of the Mountain one morning. Bob, Bobby et al were are excellent ambassadors for the resort. The runs were long and uncrowded. Took a photo from the top of Roy's run with nobody skiing on it, and it was groomed the night before, fabulous! The area is huge, @ 3K acres, and it would ski even bigger if more runs were groomed. I would say that perhaps only 25% are groomed at any one time. While fresh moguls are fun to ski, blocks of ice are not. Every day there should be a run groomed from the top, and I don't count Get me down as a run, it is a service road. Either Roy's, View of a 1000 Peaks or Top of the World should be groomed nightly. The two runs groomed on the Champagne Chair were Rollercoaster and Skyline. World Cup and Downhill should see the groomers also. Millennium was groomed, but it takes one all of the way down to the Sunbird Chair. Shoeber's Dream saw the groomer once, that run should see it nightly for it is a lot of fun. To the far left is Founder's Bowl. At least one run needs to see the groomer nightly. The moguls were rock solid and rocks were poking out. Need to take skis to the shop for some base repair. Work on grooming no less than 50% of the named runs. Did enjoy the restaurants in the village. Ate at Chopper's Landing, excellent! Jack Pine Pub, big burgers! T-Bar and Grill, also very good. Generally ate lunch at the Great Hall, good food with a fair price. One night took the dinner bus into Invermere, ate at Angus McToogle's. Nice place, no TVs to distract and excellent food. Wish that the area would inform guests as to what is going on in town. Walked to the rink and saw a tiny bit of a youth hockey game. Will I go back? I would say yes, even though it was an 11 hr. drive from Seattle.
March 02, 2011
Jim from Ski Canada Canada
I just returned from 5-day skiing at Panorama and had an absolute blast. True ski in/out lodging, outdoor hot tubs, hot pool and barbecues. The snow conditions this winter are the best they have had in years. Taynton Bowl is no hype. True backcountry skiing with lots of fresh deep powder to be found even days after a storm if you don't mind the hike along Summit Ridge. The ski-out from the bottom of the Bowl (after Funnel) however is not great. They could use a lift there instead of having to ski all the way to the bottom. No lift lines at Champagne Express or Summit Quad and maximum 5 minutes at Mile One Quad. The steeps, glades and bowls are as good as anywhere. Those complaining of ice obviously have not skied there this winter. Also, Panorama is very affordable compared to other big resorts and the scenery is breath-taking.
February 28, 2011
Peter from Ski Canada Canada
I've been skiing more than 40 years with close to 100 different ski resorts under my skis from Euorpe, North and South America. Panorama cannot be rated near the top by any means. Tayton Bowl expert terrain is a lot of marketing hype when compared to the bowls at Fernie, Revelstoke, Kicking Horse or Lake Louise. Grooming is second rate although on many occasions the "ice" is first class.... thus the reputation "Iceorama". Yes it's a great family resort and they don't have any long queues, since most skiers are at the aforementioned resorts
February 22, 2011
Rick from Ski Canada Canada
Just returned from a 3 day weekend of skiing with my family at Panorama (Panorama Mountain Village). I have been going there for around 5 yrs now as I find it an excellent hill for my family. We ski everything from the lower groomers to Taynton Bowl and the Extreme Dream Zone. The snow this year is just excellent. Everything off the Summit was in the best shape I've ever seen it. My sons' found fresh tracks in Taynton Bowl 5 days after the last major snowfall and there were pockets of fresh in the trees as well. The Sun Bowl and Founders Ridge were both a total blast to ski. If you are finding ice in some of the main runs near the lifts, you really don't have to look very far to find the soft stuff. Get off the main runs and explore!