Visitor reviews for Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche Ski Resort

Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche Ratings

Overall: 3.9. Based on 22 votes and 34 reviews. Vote

Snowsure: 4.7

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Variety of pistes: 4.2

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Off-piste: 3.8

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Scenery: 4.3

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Access: 3.6

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche.

Public Transport: 3.3

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Accommodation: 4.5

(1) No places to stay in/near Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 3.8

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 4.1

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche.

Ski in/Ski out: 4.4

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 3.8

(1) There are no child care facilities at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowmaking: 4.3

(1) Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 4.6

(1) There are no snow groomers at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche are groomed daily.

Shelter: 2.5

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 3.6

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 4.6

(1) Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.5

(1) The staff at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 4.1

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.2

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.4

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Beginners: 4.5

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.4

(1) No intermediate terrain at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 3.3

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 3.8

(1) Not even a kicker at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Cross-country: 3.0

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 2.0

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 4.4

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 4.4

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 3.6

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 3.2

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 2.8

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 3.8

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 3.8

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 4.1

(1) Overall, Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 4.3

(1) Overall, Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

April 11, 2022
Anthony Ellard from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Valtournenche is a gem! So much prettier and authentic than Cervinia. We skied 1st week of April and could still ski right down to the Valtournenche. Great views and high, snowsure slopes. Access to the Cervinia side was open and didn't take too long.
January 28, 2022
walt from Ski Netherlands Netherlands
Cervinia has high altitude and great views of the mountains. Mountain restaurants are really good but far from cheap, especially for Italy. The skiing is easy, fun and the slopes are well groomed. However, the lift company really tries to up-sell ski passes, attempting to get you to buy the Zermatt connection, which is often closed due to wind. The ski pass is also not really great value as the lifts are confused. The main road of the village is nice but that is it, the town is truly ugly. In a good snow year you have much easier connections to Austrian or French resorts (or pretty Courmayeur in Italy). Personally, I will not return here. I enjoyed Lech 3 years ago so much more and the price difference was not that much.
January 19, 2022
martin from Ski South Africa South Africa
Cervinia is really a two tone resort. It has slopes that are good for beginners and low intermediates and the snow is good due to the altitude. However, the town is really a mess with a poor layout and architecture with no atmosphere. It's everything that classy Zermatt, on the other side of the mountain, isn't. The ski pass is poor value, the lift system not decently linked and I am afraid to say this but you really have to watch your pockets with the lift company, restaurant, ski hire shops etc. Yes, the Swiss are more expensive but scrupulously transparent and honest. I really recommend skiers to rather go to Zermatt and pay (slightly) more for sheer class, efficiency, and atmosphere.
May 12, 2020
Stefano from Ski Switzerland Switzerland
This wonderful ski resort will open for summer skiing on June 26th. Summer skiing is located at the Plateau Rosa': take the gondola to the top station Testa Grigia and ski down to the Plateau Rosa', just wonderful!
February 29, 2020
Zbynek from Ski Switzerland Switzerland
We had a good week in Cervinia. We had good snow, weather was moderate. If you skied in different resorts before, you should be aware that Cervinia is a little different. We stayed in Cielo Alto area. We rented an apartment there because of the view at Monte Cervino, which was amazing, and were aware that it is not located close to base station. We knew that we have to take gondola to Laghi Cime Bianch in order to be able to ski there. What we did not expect was that the gondola to middle part of the area would be in operation only 2 days out of 6. The first day when the gondola did not operate we went for bus, as all the others living in the area. We all did not get on the bus; I had to drive back down to pick rest of the family. Next day when it happened I rather walked up the slope from base for the car. The problem is that the company operating the lifts shows every morning status orange as On Standby so you hope it will be in operation. Then between 11 and 12 they change it to red and even if the weather improves later, they do not open it. The other option to get to to Cielo Alto could be to take the chair lift from Plan Maison (if in operation) and the "green" slope to Laghi Cime Bianch, which requires about 10 minutes of moderate climb on a groomed track. You can also drive down to the village. There were free places next to base station during weekdays, but the parking lot was full during weekend. You may need chains, especially after a snow day. We looked at forecast and decided to buy 6 days international ski pass and we were aware that we may not be able to get to Zermatt every day. The cost is similar as if you buy 3 days International and 3 days Cervinia. In reality, the way to Zermatt was opened only one day, to Valtournenche valley only 2 days. It can be difficult to buy passes every day, because except of one day, each morning Zermatt was announced until 11am as On Standby. You could check weather forecast and look on web at lift status for few days to get an impression before you go there. I checked the lifts status 2 weeks after we returned back, it seemed to follow the same pattern. The lifts did not operate one whole day because of wind. We got voucher for one day for next season. Overal, we have a good memory for the week; views of Monte Cervino are amazing from any side. I’d say it is worth of visiting.
December 26, 2019
Kev from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Visited 15th to 22nd Dec 2019, Although there was lots of snow, the link to Zermatt was closed all week, despite the information boards displaying 'scheduled opening' on 2 mornings. Can't help thinking this was done to encourage skiers to upgrade their pass? Without the link open, the skiing is limited, which then leaves lots of other options open. Not sure I'll be returning which is a shame because it's a fairly nice resort.
March 25, 2019
Tim from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Went there in mid March 2019. Snow was great, nothing to complain about there. Weather conditions and visibility seriously unpredictable though. Was there for 6 days, and the link to Zermatt was only open for 1 day in that time, although the altitude is a contributing factor to that. As someone else has mentioned, lifts are slow to open, which can lead to queues in the morning time, with everyone queuing for the same couple of lower lifts. Lift pass was 300 Euro or so for 6 days including the link to Zermatt, which is pricey considering the chance you have of getting over there. Pretty much all the runs can be downgraded a colour from everything I have experienced in France & Austria (blue run = green, red run = blue, etc). Everything is pretty cruisey, which may be to some people's taste, but there is not much to challenge people here. As a snowboarder, you constantly need to bomb it to make it across the flat sections (and there are a lot of them) which is fine in good visibility, harder if not. Village is nice with some good eating out, not a massive party town. All in all, if you want a not too challenging resort and don't mind the expensive lift passes, sure for relaxed skiing, this is fine. I think i'll be heading back to Austria next year though.
January 31, 2019
Sam RB from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
The justification for my review is explained in depth below. The short version is that if you are anything beyond a novice skier, this is not the resort for you. If you are in the process of picking a resort for an upcoming ski trip, you will find far better places for the same cost. Hugely disappointed with Cervinia. Having skied a significant number of resorts across France, Switzerland, Austria etc. never have I been quite so frustrated. Given the location and access to Zermatt, this should be a gem. However, even when conditions at the highest lifts in Cervinia were fantastic (blue sky and absent wind), the Zermatt links were still not opened. On the one day when the Zermatt link was opened, there was clearly no rush and it took until 10:30am to open it all. This reflects the general attitude of the resort staff. Lifts advertised as opening at 8:20 or 8:30 were often not open until well after 9am. Some days upper lifts were closed until gone 10am. Lifts were even closed earlier than advertised with staff clearly just wanting to leave as soon as possible. Even the piste bashing seemed half-hearted; for whatever reason they just were not of a quality found in other resorts. Staff in the ticket office all seemed unable to give the same figures for what the unnecessarily confusing pricing system was and misled us to our financial detriment. When confronted they were extremely rude. Advertising the resort as a truly linked ski area with Zermatt is almost misleading. The odds of getting across the border are low. The lift pass for just the Cervinia side is massively overpriced. Having spent the previous week in Ischgl, the lift passes are basically the same cost for 6 days. However, at Ischgl you get a hugely extensive well kept resort, extremely modern and efficient lift system, polite and hardworking staff, beautiful surroundings and town. Indeed the pass was comparatively expensive compared with many resorts I have visited recently including St Anton, Val d'Isere, L2A. The pistes themselves are fabulous for total beginners but even intermediate skiers will become bored quickly. Black slopes are very straight forward, the reds that proliferate the resort would, in many cases, be blue elsewhere. The terrain is such that runs are mainly long flat sections interspersed with the odd downhill. This combined with the slow, exposed lifts makes for sheer tedium. The lift system is by far the worst I have experienced anywhere in a major European resort. As other reviews have noted, the lift buildings in some cases look like something from war torn Aleppo. The lifts are excruciatingly slow, often without covers despite being exposed. Gondolas are slow and outdated, sometimes without proper seats. To get to the top of the resort/to Zermatt requires either 3 separate gondolas or a gondola and three separate chairs. In any modern resort the top would be reached by one or, at the most, two lifts.
February 06, 2017
Lewis from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
A huge disappointment due to high winds nearly every day. I went to Cervinia with the intention to ski into Zermatt for at least three days, but I barely even saw Cervinia from Valtournenche over the six days I was there. The snow, just after new year, was only down to 2000 meters and I was forced to ski down a boring red run with green grass and brown shrubs again and again. It got so bad that I even took a day off as saving the lift pass money was better than skiing. Of course, you could be lucky and get day after day of blue sky and light winds. But the risk of bad weather, in my opinion, is too high. Even then there is little to interest the advanced skier compared with Argentiere, Chamonix, or the stable weather you can find in Austria. I've pretty much given up with skiing in Italy, but I'll stick to cycle touring in the summer.
March 13, 2016
James from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Visited for a long weekend just before Christmas when there was almost no snow anywhere. Worth a shout out because of the snow cannon and high altitude. The resort was open and we were able to ski every day. It doesn't have 100% snow cannon coverage but enough to keep the resort open. It was freaky skiing down a strip of snow with grass/mud off to the side, but the quality of the snow on the ground really was good. It wasn't icy as you can sometimes get from over skied cannon snow. Really enjoy staying in Italy. Good food and wine at a decent price, especially when compared to Switzerland or France.