Visitor reviews for Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche Ski Resort

Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche Ratings

Overall: 3.8. Based on 19 votes and 31 reviews. Vote

Snowsure: 4.7

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Variety of pistes: 4.2

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Off-piste: 3.8

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Scenery: 4.2

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Access: 3.5

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche.

Public Transport: 3.2

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Accommodation: 4.6

(1) No places to stay in/near Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 3.7

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 4.0

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche.

Ski in/Ski out: 4.4

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 3.8

(1) There are no child care facilities at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowmaking: 4.2

(1) Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 4.6

(1) There are no snow groomers at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche are groomed daily.

Shelter: 2.4

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 3.4

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 4.6

(1) Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.5

(1) The staff at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 4.1

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.1

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.3

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Beginners: 4.5

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.4

(1) No intermediate terrain at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 3.2

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 3.7

(1) Not even a kicker at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Cross-country: 2.9

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 1.7

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 4.4

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 4.4

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 3.6

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 3.0

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 2.6

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 3.7

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 3.7

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 4.1

(1) Overall, Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 4.3

(1) Overall, Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

December 23, 2011
Andrew Crump from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
December 12 - 19th 2011 My 8th time boarding and 8th resort and I would have to say I will be going back there without a shadow of doubt. It's a most fantastic resort especially for boarders and the best I have been to. The snow was just out of this world. It was amazing when we got there considering most of Europe had none and we had around 7 foot fall in 1 day and 3 meters of fresh snow at the top! The food and drink wasn't too cheep but I have certainly paid more else where. The mountain restaurants were very nice and there were lots of them. The resort restaurants were also very nice and there were plenty of bars to drink in after a hard day on the slopes! We stayed in the Hotel Sertorelli 4* Crystal finest and over all would highly recommend this hotel, it's has an amazing spa on the 6th floor overlooking the mountains. Last thing I would say is can't wait until March as will be going back for sure and look forward to red 7 which is around 14km long!!
January 06, 2011
Guy Pocock from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
We visited Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche from 27th December to 2nd January 2011 and had a fantastic time. We benefited from superb weather with bright blue skies and hardly a breath of wind all week (we were reminded however that for the time of year "we were very lucky!") We booked the self-catering accommodation through Franchesca at agenzia.il.cervinia@libero.it. They were very helpful and did all they could to make the week superb. Their office is based right in the middle of the resort, open from 9am until 7.30pm, so if you have any problems they are on hand to resolve them! I really cannot recommend them highly enough. The ski resort benefits from skiing in Switzerland (Zermatt) and Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche (Italy) all accessed from the same lift system. The lift pass is pricy (194 euros) for 6 days on the Italian slopes or 252 euros for the opportunity to ski in both Switzerland and Italy for 6 days. We bought the Italian 6 day pass then bought a one day "ski-pass extension" for 30 euros to use in Switzerland for a day. Surprisingly, we managed to ski in three separate mountain areas on the same day in Switzerland, so it was well worth the effort. The resort suits beginners & intermediate skiers - there are a few Black runs, but advanced "dare-devils" may struggle to find too many challenges? The food and drink in the resort and on the slopes is expensive, but the fantastic skiing makes up for it! Also if you go self-catering there is a well stocked supermarket right in the centre of the town. Overall, I would whole-heartedly recommend Breil-Cervinia Valtournenche, I just hope you get good weather, which makes the resort a beautiful, magical place.
April 16, 2009
Steve from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
I've been to Cervinia (Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche) three times, and the main reasons for returning are the guaranteed snow and the great blue and red runs. There are also a couple of new lifts which have improved things recently, reducing the bottlenecks from the resort up the mountain. There are still a few of the old, slow, orange chair lifts higher up, however, it looks like at least one more new lift is due by end of 09. Snow is guaranteed, but the height of the resort means cloud, extreme cold, wind and low visibility are frequent visitors. Fresh snow can get hard and icy pretty quickly in the winter months, so you have to enjoy it while it's there, but it will stick around forever. The high altitude means that the resort (Cervinia - Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche) generally stays open until early May, and the spring skiing can be fantastic, with less cloud and wind than the winter months, and warmer too. There are a few good bars in the resort, and a reasonable club, but not the liveliest resort ever. We booked for 3 nights directly with the Hotel Grivola, which was comfortable and comparably cheap. I will be back.
February 14, 2009
Duncan from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
A great week in Cervinia (Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche), although, dare I say it, too much snow. The skiing from Cervinia is a little limited for anyone looking for a challenge, but go over to Valtourneche and it gets much more taxing. The run from the top, Plan rosa, is awesome and maybe the best ski run I have ever done. Apres-ski was good; we generally used the Dragon that has live music. Nightlife again was good with some lively places. Food was good wherever we went at Cervinia (Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche). All in all, the trip was great. Be aware of the prices though: £5 a pint.
January 18, 2009
Pekka Nikunen from Ski Finland Finland
Just back from Cervinia (Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche). Spent splendid skiing holiday 10 - 18.1.2009 there. Four people from 10 to 60 years. All were skiing 6 to 7 hours every day. Weather was full of sunshine from the bright sky the whole week. Occasionally light wind. Temperature just perfect for skiing. Slopes were in unbelievably good condition. No queues to the lifts. Great experience to visit Zermatt. Three areas to ski. Matterhorn is a good landmark and is to be seen almost everywhere. Slope validation was enough for all skiers - from beginners to alpine cannons. Food in the restaurants was good. People were friendly. Price level was reasonable. What else can you wish any more? (We´'ll be back.)
February 23, 2008
ruby walker from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
WOW!!! This is absolutely brilliant. I came here with my mum and dad and we love it! We are here 4 the whole season because we love it soooooo much. I haven't been over 2 Switzerland yet, but everyone is saying that the view is better from the other side. I'm not a skier, I'm a good snowboarder and I'm loving it. Ciao, ciao, bye for now. xxx
February 19, 2008
Richard cole from Ski Italy Italy
Wow, what a great week's skiing in Valtournenche/Cervinia, Sunshine everyday, no wind and good snow cover. I booked my group of 17 people into a family run 2 star hotel (the hotel Tersiva in Valtournenche). It is one of the friendliest I have ever stayed in. I chose 1/2 board accommodation. The food was the usual Italian cuisine but it was excellent and plentyful: mornings there was a full buffet breakfast, evening meal was salad plus 3 course menu with extras if anyone was like my 15 stone son-in-law who eats like a horse. Rooms are very comfortable. However, the showers were on the small side in some of the rooms. There was a very comfortable lounge on the 1st floor and the drinks were very reasonable. A courtesy bus takes you to the lifts a 9am and will collect you by arrangement when you have finished skiing. We skied everyday between Valtournench & Cevinia. Enjoyed th 19 km run from Val to Cervina. I went at the mid term - 9th Feb and it only cost us 320 Euros per person. The proprietors name is Fabritzio. I can highly recommend this Hotel. My ski holiday was one of the best I have enjoyed in all my many years of skiing. So make it your next ski holiday, you won't be disappointed espesially if you choose the Hotel Tersiva. Richard Cole.
February 12, 2008
Jack from Ski Canada Canada
Stayed at Club Med and had a great time. Perfect weather for 6 days so no problem with winds on top. The runs at Cervinia are great for lessons and the mountains are full of breathtaking views. No powder as the slopes are consistently groomed. Not safe for off-piste due to crevices on the glaciers. You have to plan your day to Zermatt as there is no way back, except up the lift. Overall, well worth a visit.
December 24, 2007
mike rowlands from Ski Australia Australia
Great place for messing around , great snow and ok food and hotels, Cervinia is great for learners and skiers that like to cruise on long slopes. Ok for intermediates and advanced but boarders will soon become bored with scooting or walking as there are huge flat areas!!! But you can go over into Zermatt (Swiss) which is great. However, I think that Cervinia is better as the food and hotels, ski passes etc are all a lot cheaper than Zermatt and it doesn't take long to head up and over to Zermatt. I reckon that you can ski/ board everything in a week if you are keen but it would also be great for two weeks.
March 12, 2007
Garfield from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just back 04/03-11/03. What a fabulous week's skiing and what a gem of a resort! Very snow sure and everything is no more than 5 minutes walk away. The steps up to the Plan Maison gondola can be a challenge in ski boots but if you want to avoid this, stay at the Hotel Astoria which is just 30m away (but don't expect gourmet food at the hotel)! The Dragon is excellent for apres with live music and big screen for sports (and Guinness!)and the Matterhorn Pizza does great food. Eating on the mountain is pricey (as expected) but try Chalet Etoile between Blues 4&6(stop by in the morning and book a table). A few things to note about this resort though because it's not all a bed of roses: 1) The weather is VERY unpredictable, more so than any other Alpine resort I have visited. The links with Zermatt close frequently and I would recommend buying a local pass and upgrading to the area pass when the lifts are open. Getting stuck in Zermatt will be pricey!!! 2) The lack of challenging skiing means that the Blues and Reds are plagued by 'speed freaks' who seem to have little regard for anyone else on the mountain and really spoil a wonderful array of cruisy blues and fun reds. 3) As noted below the chair lifts stop frequently and are painfully SLOW, even the brand new ones, it does seem to take an age to get anywhere. Also the piste grooming isn't the best as, despite the fact that there was tons of snow, the pistes were often hard and icy and didn't look groomed at all, even at first lift! All of this doesn't really mean value for money in one of the most expensive lift passes in the Alps! 4) You can all but forget the weekends as the car-parks and lower lift queues are packed by 08:30. This was the only time I had to queue all week and it made the pistes even more dangerous. I would happily go back to Cervinia now I know what to expect and hope for some more fresh powder as this really does bring out the best in this super resort.