Login / Sign Up


Snow-Forecast logoSnow mountain photo


Ski Italy

Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche Ski Resort



  • February 14, 2012
    Collette from United Kingdom

    Went to Cervina 27th Jan 2012 for a week and can honestly say the conditions were awesome. No wind, light snow in the day which didn't stop us from going up which continued through the night, which meant fresh powder the next morning. That day was quiet on the slopes we had a full 4 runs all to ourselves, some off piste areas too, so much fun. I'm a boarder and so are the people who went with me. The terrain is great for all levels and will encourage the less confident of boarders/skiiers to travel a little faster as there are some flats in some areas. There is a great link over to Zermat but make sure you set off early to have a good day over there. We stayed in an all-inclusive hotel 50m from the gondola so we could practically board right back to the hotel at the end of the day. We went out a few times for drinks. The Dragon is a great pub set right in the town and at the base of the slopes and the Grivola Restaurant does a lovely steak and beautiful desserts we only paid about 50 euros for 3 courses and some wine, water etc, but you do need to book a table. Overall we all had a great time, and would come back again, the off piste sections are way too good and you can practically stay close to the slope so being new to off piste was welcome, I could go in and out as I pleased.

  • Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche Ratings

    Based on 10 votes. Vote

    Access: 3.1

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche.

    Public Transport: 3.0

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 3.9

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.8

    (1) No places to stay in/near Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 3.6

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 3.9

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche.

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.3

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 3.8

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.6

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 3.9

    (1) Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.6

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 2.3

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 3.1

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.3

    (1) Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 4.2

    (1) The staff at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 3.9

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.1

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.4

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.1

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 4.1

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.6

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 2.8

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 3.4

    (1) Not even a kicker at Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 3.7

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 3.2

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 1.4

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 4.3

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.4

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 3.8

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 3.3

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 2.7

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 3.9

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 3.6

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 3.7

    (1) Overall, Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.0

    (1) Overall, Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Based on 10 votes. Vote

  • January 25, 2012
    Jo P from United Kingdom

    Just returned from a week's skiing in Cervinia. We did, unfortunately, experience the high winds of this area. Friday wind and visibility made conditions poor so this was a short days skiing. Saturday no lifts were open in the area at all until lunchtime then one chairlift was opened that gave access to one blue and one red run. Even this lift kept stopping because of high winds. We did also have the most terrifying experience of being stuck on the old 3 man chair in the Valtournenche area in extremely high winds. Lift was shut by the time we got off but it is an experience I, and the rest of my party would never wish to repeat or for others to experience. I would advise, especially on older lifts, not to trust that because the resort are still running it, it will be ok to get on. Once we were off we went straight back to the hotel and had a large brandy which I don't even like!! Great to ski over to Zermatt, have lunch and come back to Italy! We did have 4 lovely days of great snow conditions and sun. Changing weather conditions are to be expected if skiing.

  • December 23, 2011
    Andrew Crump from United Kingdom

    December 12 - 19th 2011

    My 8th time boarding and 8th resort and I would have to say I will be going back there without a shadow of doubt. It's a most fantastic resort especially for boarders and the best I have been to. The snow was just out of this world. It was amazing when we got there considering most of Europe had none and we had around 7 foot fall in 1 day and 3 meters of fresh snow at the top!

    The food and drink wasn't too cheep but I have certainly paid more else where. The mountain restaurants were very nice and there were lots of them. The resort restaurants were also very nice and there were plenty of bars to drink in after a hard day on the slopes!

    We stayed in the Hotel Sertorelli 4* Crystal finest and over all would highly recommend this hotel, it's has an amazing spa on the 6th floor overlooking the mountains.

    Last thing I would say is can't wait until March as will be going back for sure and look forward to red 7 which is around 14km long!!

  • January 06, 2011
    Guy Pocock from United Kingdom

    We visited Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche from 27th December to 2nd January 2011 and had a fantastic time. We benefited from superb weather with bright blue skies and hardly a breath of wind all week (we were reminded however that for the time of year "we were very lucky!")

    We booked the self-catering accommodation through Franchesca at agenzia.il.cervinia@libero.it. They were very helpful and did all they could to make the week superb. Their office is based right in the middle of the resort, open from 9am until 7.30pm, so if you have any problems they are on hand to resolve them! I really cannot recommend them highly enough.

    The ski resort benefits from skiing in Switzerland (Zermatt) and Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche (Italy) all accessed from the same lift system. The lift pass is pricy (194 euros) for 6 days on the Italian slopes or 252 euros for the opportunity to ski in both Switzerland and Italy for 6 days. We bought the Italian 6 day pass then bought a one day "ski-pass extension" for 30 euros to use in Switzerland for a day. Surprisingly, we managed to ski in three separate mountain areas on the same day in Switzerland, so it was well worth the effort. The resort suits beginners & intermediate skiers - there are a few Black runs, but advanced "dare-devils" may struggle to find too many challenges?

    The food and drink in the resort and on the slopes is expensive, but the fantastic skiing makes up for it! Also if you go self-catering there is a well stocked supermarket right in the centre of the town.

    Overall, I would whole-heartedly recommend Breil-Cervinia Valtournenche, I just hope you get good weather, which makes the resort a beautiful, magical place.

  • April 16, 2009
    Steve from United Kingdom

    I've been to Cervinia (Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche) three times, and the main reasons for returning are the guaranteed snow and the great blue and red runs. There are also a couple of new lifts which have improved things recently, reducing the bottlenecks from the resort up the mountain. There are still a few of the old, slow, orange chair lifts higher up, however, it looks like at least one more new lift is due by end of 09. Snow is guaranteed, but the height of the resort means cloud, extreme cold, wind and low visibility are frequent visitors. Fresh snow can get hard and icy pretty quickly in the winter months, so you have to enjoy it while it's there, but it will stick around forever. The high altitude means that the resort (Cervinia - Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche) generally stays open until early May, and the spring skiing can be fantastic, with less cloud and wind than the winter months, and warmer too. There are a few good bars in the resort, and a reasonable club, but not the liveliest resort ever. We booked for 3 nights directly with the Hotel Grivola, which was comfortable and comparably cheap. I will be back.

  • February 14, 2009
    Duncan from United Kingdom

    A great week in Cervinia (Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche), although, dare I say it, too much snow. The skiing from Cervinia is a little limited for anyone looking for a challenge, but go over to Valtourneche and it gets much more taxing. The run from the top, Plan rosa, is awesome and maybe the best ski run I have ever done.
    Apres-ski was good; we generally used the Dragon that has live music. Nightlife again was good with some lively places. Food was good wherever we went at Cervinia (Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche). All in all, the trip was great. Be aware of the prices though: £5 a pint.

  • January 18, 2009
    Pekka Nikunen from Finland

    Just back from Cervinia (Breuil-Cervinia Valtournenche). Spent splendid skiing holiday 10 - 18.1.2009 there. Four people from 10 to 60 years. All were skiing 6 to 7 hours every day. Weather was full of sunshine from the bright sky the whole week. Occasionally light wind. Temperature just perfect for skiing. Slopes were in unbelievably good condition. No queues to the lifts. Great experience to visit Zermatt. Three areas to ski. Matterhorn is a good landmark and is to be seen almost everywhere. Slope validation was enough for all skiers - from beginners to alpine cannons. Food in the restaurants was good. People were friendly. Price level was reasonable. What else can you wish any more? (We´'ll be back.)

  • February 23, 2008
    ruby walker from United Kingdom

    WOW!!! This is absolutely brilliant. I came here with my mum and dad and we love it! We are here 4 the whole season because we love it soooooo much. I haven't been over 2 Switzerland yet, but everyone is saying that the view is better from the other side. I'm not a skier, I'm a good snowboarder and I'm loving it. Ciao, ciao, bye for now.
    xxx

  • February 19, 2008
    Richard cole from Italy

    Wow, what a great week's skiing in Valtournenche/Cervinia,
    Sunshine everyday, no wind and good snow cover. I booked my group of 17 people into a family run 2 star hotel (the hotel Tersiva in Valtournenche). It is one of the friendliest I have ever stayed in. I chose 1/2 board accommodation. The food was the usual Italian cuisine but it was excellent and plentyful: mornings there was a full buffet breakfast, evening meal was salad plus 3 course menu with extras if anyone was like my 15 stone son-in-law who eats like a horse. Rooms are very comfortable. However, the showers were on the small side in some of the rooms. There was a very comfortable lounge on the 1st floor and the drinks were very reasonable. A courtesy bus takes you to the lifts a 9am and will collect you by arrangement when you have finished skiing. We skied everyday between Valtournench & Cevinia. Enjoyed th 19 km run from Val to Cervina. I went at the mid term - 9th Feb and it only cost us 320 Euros per person. The proprietors name is Fabritzio. I can highly recommend this Hotel. My ski holiday was one of the best I have enjoyed in all my many years of skiing. So make it your next ski holiday, you won't be disappointed espesially if you choose the Hotel Tersiva.
    Richard Cole.

  • February 12, 2008
    Jack from Canada

    Stayed at Club Med and had a great time. Perfect weather for 6 days so no problem with winds on top. The runs at Cervinia are great for lessons and the mountains are full of breathtaking views. No powder as the slopes are consistently groomed. Not safe for off-piste due to crevices on the glaciers. You have to plan your day to Zermatt as there is no way back, except up the lift.
    Overall, well worth a visit.

  • December 24, 2007
    mike rowlands from Australia

    Great place for messing around , great snow and ok food and hotels, Cervinia is great for learners and skiers that like to cruise on long slopes. Ok for intermediates and advanced but boarders will soon become bored with scooting or walking as there are huge flat areas!!!
    But you can go over into Zermatt (Swiss) which is great. However, I think that Cervinia is better as the food and hotels, ski passes etc are all a lot cheaper than Zermatt and it doesn't take long to head up and over to Zermatt. I reckon that you can ski/ board everything in a week if you are keen but it would also be great for two weeks.

  • March 12, 2007
    Garfield from United Kingdom

    Just back 04/03-11/03. What a fabulous week's skiing and what a gem of a resort! Very snow sure and everything is no more than 5 minutes walk away. The steps up to the Plan Maison gondola can be a challenge in ski boots but if you want to avoid this, stay at the Hotel Astoria which is just 30m away (but don't expect gourmet food at the hotel)! The Dragon is excellent for apres with live music and big screen for sports (and Guinness!)and the Matterhorn Pizza does great food. Eating on the mountain is pricey (as expected) but try Chalet Etoile between Blues 4&6(stop by in the morning and book a table).
    A few things to note about this resort though because it's not all a bed of roses:
    1) The weather is VERY unpredictable, more so than any other Alpine resort I have visited. The links with Zermatt close frequently and I would recommend buying a local pass and upgrading to the area pass when the lifts are open. Getting stuck in Zermatt will be pricey!!!
    2) The lack of challenging skiing means that the Blues and Reds are plagued by 'speed freaks' who seem to have little regard for anyone else on the mountain and really spoil a wonderful array of cruisy blues and fun reds.
    3) As noted below the chair lifts stop frequently and are painfully SLOW, even the brand new ones, it does seem to take an age to get anywhere. Also the piste grooming isn't the best as, despite the fact that there was tons of snow, the pistes were often hard and icy and didn't look groomed at all, even at first lift! All of this doesn't really mean value for money in one of the most expensive lift passes in the Alps!
    4) You can all but forget the weekends as the car-parks and lower lift queues are packed by 08:30. This was the only time I had to queue all week and it made the pistes even more dangerous.
    I would happily go back to Cervinia now I know what to expect and hope for some more fresh powder as this really does bring out the best in this super resort.

  • December 20, 2006
    jorge sousa from Portugal

    Just back from Cervinia 08/12-19/12. Great snow, good ski lifts, not many queues, not all the slopes were open or groomed but amazing off-piste. They´ve got good hotels with very competitive prices. The after-ski is not the best and the night life, forget it. The Swiss part, the slopes are better groomed and more challeging and the town of Zermatt with the electric cars and the chalets is unique do not miss it, here the prices are much higher. In conclusion, a place to return.

  • April 18, 2006
    Campbell McCaughrain from United Kingdom

    Just back from Cervinia 8 - 15 April 2006. The skiing is as good as everyone says but Ski convenience does not exist here. From leaving the village to stepping onto the snow at Plan Maison there are 162 steps to negotiate plus a lot of uphill climbing in ski boots while carrying skis and poles. If you want to go higher there are even more steps to climb. On the slopes you will find every lift will drop you off well below the next one so more climbing. Considering how much the lift company are charging for a lift pass I think they need to do better than this. Looking on the bright side you will come back a lot fitter than you went. With typical Swiss efficiency the sign in the cable car station queue on the Zermatt side said "Waiting time from this point 50 mins and it was indeed exactly 50 mins. The Matterhorn seems to generate its own weather and for 4 days we could see blue sky all around but we were in cloud and falling snow.

  • March 27, 2006
    Joy from Sweden

    We would have loved the opportunity to get over to Switzerland but the bad weather in the beginning of March put a stop to those plans. When the sun doesn't shine in the Alps you get to looking around a bit more than you would normally. Cervinia was probably a pearl in the 1960s and 70s. Unfortunately it's now unkempt and unattractive. Lots of very old lifts that are like park benches and freezing cold when the winds of Cervinia blow, as they often do. It was an unusual event to get on a lift and get to the top without at least 2 stops. The main lift terminals are badly in need of repair, broken and slippy floors, uphill and down dale so that you're bathed in sweat before the day even starts. Lots of rooms up on the mountain-side but very difficult to get transport up there after a restaurant visit in the town. Poor bus services to boot.
    The best things about Cervinia were the friendly resauranteurs and shopkeepers, the good food and reasonable prices. Will we be back? No siree.

  • February 23, 2006
    mike from United Kingdom

    I am inclined to agree with the previous report wholey, but renters of skis and boots beware ...check the underside of the skis before you take them out of the shop and make sure they have no scrapes or scratches and there is no damage on the boots and agree a price and ask for a copy of the contract. The reason I am reporting this is because we were taken for a ride by the hirer, there are loads of them so shop around (avoid the one on the left after the carpark near the tourist office on the main road into Cervinia.) Above all have a great time.

  • February 17, 2006
    Andrew Downes from United Kingdom

    We used Cervinia as a base to ski all over Zermatt and it was awesome! Great scenery, the highest cable car in Europe and generally amazing lift infrastructure. Cervinia itself is a lovely resort but a little quiet for a lads' holiday (which is what we were on), though there is one fantastic night club and several decent bars, the pick of which for us was the Dragon. Restaurants are plentiful but very similar to each other and the traditional dishes are on the pricey side - I would recommend a half board deal for some good value variety of food. Thomson put us up in the 2* Hotel Gorret, which was basic but very friendly - great weather reports and run recommendations from the guy who does breakfast! The worst snow base for many years meant basically only 2 routes down the mountain were open in Cervinia, though each was made up of several runs many kilometres in length with lift points to go back. For the extra few euros the international lift pass was excellent value for money, opening up hundreds of runs and a great snow park on the Swiss side. We ate in Switzerland every day - take Swiss francs for best value, though they will accept euros. The shortest route back to Cervinia was a tiresomely long drag lift, though you can go a longer route via a cable car. The payback was not paying Swiss prices for accommodation. A great find, and a resort I would like to go back to.

  • February 01, 2006
    Andrew from United Kingdom

    Having skied in Cervinia twice in mid-December I can vouch for its snow certainty, although not all areas were open. The pistes are very well-maintained and as befits a resort with such a big drop, long. The only drawback is the tendency for it to get windy, so much so that everything closes. In December 2003 some of the chairs were open but slowed down due to the wind and frequently stopped - some of the gusts were over 100mph and that was scary stuff. Pretty lairy but part of life's rich pageant; the face-mask I bought for 20 Euros was essential.

    Watch out for the steps coming away into town from the bottom cable car. They are sloped and icy.
    Do get over to Zermatt - it's great skiing and worth it to see the prices you have to pay in Switzerland and laugh. And go up to the glacier on the Klein Matterhorn and ski down onto the Ventina and all the way back to Cervinia. 12+ Km of leg jelly. Then have a couple of drinks at Cafe Whymper.

    Fantastic place.

  • December 16, 2005
    Keith (Skimonkey) from United Kingdom

    I'm a now a frequent visit to Cervinia. I first visited on a Thomson package a few years ago but now travel independently. Really easy access from Turin or Milan. A great snow-sure resort with the international lift pass covering the fabulous Zermatt. The Hotel Edelweiss in Cervinia offers great value half board deals and the people are really friendly. There's a free ride to the gondola station each day. Excellent for families with Kids Clubs and crêche etc. Recommended.

  • December 06, 2005
    G Ritchie from United Kingdom

    Great intermediate, cruising resort. Huge amount of skiing, excellent lift system. Virtually guaranteed snow. Went week b4 Christmas, and was really quiet. On some of the pistes we were the only skiers. Hotel Grivola, well placed, 2 star hotel. Basic. Good value at that time of year, but is overpriced in the peak times. Would recommend Cervinia to everyone, especially families.

  • October 31, 2005
    Elton from United Kingdom

    Stayed at the fantastic Hotel Grande Murailles in Valtournenche 5 mins down the road from Cervinia. Short 4 day break so great spot to get access to Cervinia and Zermatt as it has its own gondola, although for quicker access into Zermatt I recommend getting bus or driving to Cervinia. Slopes are intermediate paradise big cruisers to make the heart sing aswell as some nice steep stuff in Zermatt. Overall great place great food and you can get over to one of the worlds best in Zermatt without Swiss prices.

  • February 20, 2005
    DALE from United Kingdom

    Skied Cervinia first week in Feb. 2005.Stayed in Hotel Breiul and were more than happy with everything they had to offer.Fantastic central location and not far from main lifts. Rooms very nice and clean although single rooms were a little small, staff wonderful and so friendly. Food also very good and we would certainly stop there again. Skiing in Cervinia was superb for all levels and the widest we have seen,very quiet and hardly ever had to wait to get on lifts.Only got over to Zermatt on our last day due to strong winds that closed the lifts to the top but is certainly worth getting an international pass to go.Overall, had a fantastic week in a great resort, superb slopes on great snow.

  • November 09, 2004
    Muhz from United Kingdom

    One of the best kept secrets in the Alps. A small and unpretty town with a vast ski area, particularly suitable for intermediates. So called experts may get a little snooty about the lack of challenging runs (just a few blacks, and some reds are really only worthy of a blue, but the resort is linked to Zermatt which has miles of challenging piste and off piste.

    Stay in Cervinia and ski both sides of the mountain. The food and booze are much better than in zermatt, and the people are superb.