Ski France

Samoens Resort Reviews

Ski France

Samoens Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Samoens Ski Resort

  • January 05, 2012
    from United Kingdom

    We've been going to Samoens for 10 years or more. Unfortunately, it has now been ruined by excessive developments, with many new appartments and chalets. The lift system can no longer cope, with long queues at various bottlenecks: last year they needed to use Police to supervise the GM Express! Costs have also gone up significantly, and with regret, we are now looking to go elsewhere in future.

  • December 30, 2011
    from United Kingdom

    Just got back from Samoens for Xmas. The place is amazing, very picturesque and there was lots of snow, the skiing was very good and catered for our every need. The resort is very pricey and the restaurants are very samey , we ate in a lot and that worked for us x

  • May 26, 2011
    from United Kingdom

    I stayed in Samoens for a week in early March. Although the town is hugely pretty there are a number of ugly apartment buildings spoiling the fantastic views. The snow wasn't great but no worse than anywhere in France. I made the mistake of booking my family a transfer from Geneva and should instead have booked a hire car as you really need one to get around Samoens as the buses are infrequent and often crowded and it's probably the same price. Eating out wasn't cheap for what was often only very average food and the service was typically surly in the French manner. In one restaurant we were rudely told to leave the table at 9pm. I'd consider going back but would definitely do it differently next time.

  • April 07, 2011
    from United Kingdom

    I could not be more impressed with the Grand Massif area. There is an excellent range of beginner, intermediate, advanced and off-piste runs, with Samoens having some of the best beginner slopes, Morillon some of the best cruiser blues, Les Carroz the best tree-lined skiing and Flaine the best terrain for off-piste and wacky fun, like natural half-pipes, as well as amazingly wide blues and reds. The 14km Cascades run is a once-in-a-lifetime experience.
    The lift attendants are so on the ball, helping children and adults alike and making sure queues move quickly. The pistes are well groomed, and even this year with little snow the effort the resort made to keep the slopes in tip top condition was stunning. It is hard to find a bad restaurant (although prices are steep), and there are lots of amazing finds, like Gite de Gers.
    I cannot recommend it enough.

  • February 28, 2011
    from United Kingdom

    Samoens is a pleasant village and although it has had new lifts I would avoid this resort during the half term weeks if you have beginners with your group. Queues are expected almost anywhere during the half term, unfortunately the lower lift system became overwhelmed with demand.

    The main lift up to the ski area opens at 8:50 and lessons tend to start at 9:15, you’ll need to be at the lift before 8:30 not to be late, be warned when booking lessons if they start at 9. The two adjacent green runs are serviced by two drag lifts and during our half term week we would normally wait longer than 15 minutes. The main blue into and out of the ski lesson area would also become overwhelmed in the afternoon with the queues for the lift taking so long people resorted to walking up the slope.
    All of these would not be an issue if your group are confident on reds/blues as you’ll be able to get away from the main congested areas.

  • January 29, 2011
    from France

    New lifts (from last season) at Samoens and Molliet have vastly improved the speed of transit and reduced bottlenecks. Flaine have made an error in installing seating in the Grand Plattieres gondola, which has resulted in longer queues at the base of Flaine. I don't agree that all the best skiing is at Flaine - it depends what you want. Les Carroz has the greatest number of good mountain restaurants and lots of long easy slopes. There is a good new restaurant at the Gouilles chair lift in Samoens and two excellent mountain restaurants in Morrillon (BTW, I don't do self-service!). FYI, as at 29 Jan 2011, there has been 2 solid weeks of sunshine - new snow canons installed this year have saved the day and skiing is much better than one would expect.

  • April 16, 2010
    from United Kingdom

    Just has a fantastic Easter skiing week in Samoens and the Grand Massif. Not sure why some people refuse to ski at Easter as we always seem to get good snow conditions, nice weather and pretty quiet skiing, and this year was no exception!

    The resort is definitely a bit livelier than when we skied here a few years ago, more restaurants etc and more people around, but still not over-busy. As picturesque as ever with dramatic views across to Mont-Blanc.

    Very pleased with the quality of the skiing & lifts. The new 6-seater Chariande Express above Samoens makes a tremendous difference to the speed you can get across to Flaine and also means you access the higher-altitude slopes in 20mins from Samoens centre, whic is pretty rapid. The pistes around Morillon and Les Carroz were great for blue/red cruising and even the off-piste was good after a fresh dump of snow.

    In summary, it's not the resort for drunken party groups of 20-30 yr olds, but if you want an authentic French town and excellent quality skiing you can't beat it.

  • March 09, 2010
    from United Kingdom

    Been going to Samoens for 10 years. It is a pretty French village, with access to great skiing, but unfortunately has been over-developed.
    The lifts no longer have capacity to cope with the demand, as the best skiing is in Flaine, and you can expect long queues to get over there in the morning, and even longer ones coming back, with a couple of serious bottlenecks.
    It is a great shame that the developers have been allowed to spoil what was a well kept secret!

  • March 27, 2009
    from France

    Got a last minute booking to an apartment in Samoens and had a great week of skiing. Not having been before I did'nt know what to expect of the Grand Massif. The town has a new gondola which takes you up to the 1600 ski area and links to all of the Massif. Pistes are for all levels with some great runs into Morillon and Samoens. The Igloo cafe was our favourite along with a new one on Dahu run. There are ample runs at Samoens and in the week we only covered half of them. Definitely going back and going to rebook Villa Monette apartment; it's in the centre of Samoens with a ski bus outside the door. Not a crazy place for night-life but there are good restaurants, shops and unspoilt French style. Love the place.

  • February 02, 2009
    from United Kingdom

    Having just returned from a one week break in Samoens, I felt compelled to submit a review whilst my experience was still fresh. This is, beyond doubt, the most picturesque ski base that I have ever encountered and it accesses some fabulous terrain, albeit somewhat slowly via some antiquated links (particularly into Flaine). The town is jaw droppingly pretty with a real sense of history and understated charm. Samoens may not have the rugged splendour of Chamonix but the scenery will not disappoint.
    The local ski runs at Samoens 1600 are sufficient for beginners and early intermediates although there seemed to be a higher proportion of button tows than I have seen in other resorts. Beyond 1600 there is great tree lined skiing at Morillon and Les Carroz. A particular favourite with the kids was the Marvel run in Morillon - labelled green but more like an easy blue - with lots of bumps and jumps off the sides and through the trees.
    Blue sky days should be spent in Flaine bowl where you will find great cruising off the Grands Platieres and fabulous views of Mont Blanc; particularly liked cruising Cristal and the bumps and gullies off the sides of Faust.
    All in all, Samoens is a great destination for a family with young kids, particularly if they are competent enough to manage all blues and easier reds as this really opens up the whole area. Just be prepared for slow links and bottle necks when trying to get to and from Flaine.