Login / Sign Up


Snow-Forecast logoSnow mountain photo


Ski Austria

Obertauern Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Obertauern Ski Resort



  • March 09, 2012
    Brian Miller from United Kingdom

    Obertauern! What a great choice ski resort. I searched about 20 other places in Austria (other high on the list were Ischgl and Obergurgl) and this place has it all. Access to the slopes and the hotels is easy. High altitude ski village to give you that joy of staying in the snow without the dreaded bus trips at the end of the day. The height gives great guarantee of snow. 4 - 8 meters in January for us. Awesome. The hotels are all close to the slopes with a short walk to one of the many access lifts. We actually skied right to the most excellent Petersbuhel hotel door. There was an abundance of snow when we were there in Jan 2012. At least ski down to the next row of buildings and a 5 minute walk to the doors of most hotels. The resort pistes rise either side of a central strip road and is set up for a brilliant circuit in either direction. I ski red/black and was happy with the variety and setup. The slopes scenery is nice some trees lined runs lower. The town has retained a slight village atmosphere with some fun and funky places to apres ski. There are plenty of bars and taverns and restaurants on the slopes to stop in for a break. The Edelweiss bar on the slopes is a real treat at the end of your day - and a 400 meter run down an easy slope into the village after. Oh, nearly forgot what we didn't have... we did not have any lift queues, even on the sunny days, awesome. All in all this resort offered a very good mix of convenience, snow quality, low quantity of drag lifts, fun, scenery. Go for it.

  • Obertauern Ratings

    Based on 13 votes. Vote

    Access: 4.6

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Obertauern.

    Public Transport: 4.2

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Obertauern, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.4

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.6

    (1) No places to stay in/near Obertauern, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 3.6

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 4.7

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Obertauern.

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.8

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 4.1

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Obertauern, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.8

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Obertauern is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 4.2

    (1) Obertauern relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.8

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Obertauern, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Obertauern are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 3.7

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Obertauern is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 3.5

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Obertauern, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.9

    (1) Obertauern usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 4.4

    (1) The staff at Obertauern are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Obertauern are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 4.5

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.5

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.9

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.4

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Obertauern has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 3.9

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.7

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Obertauern, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 4.2

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 3.5

    (1) Not even a kicker at Obertauern, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 3.8

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 3.5

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Obertauern, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 2.2

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Obertauern has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 4.6

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.6

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 4.5

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 3.8

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 3.2

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 3.5

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 4.2

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 3.6

    (1) Overall, Obertauern is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.0

    (1) Overall, Obertauern is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Based on 13 votes. Vote

  • January 06, 2012
    Helen Ackrill from Guernsey

    We have just finished a fabulous holiday here in SeekarHaus. We were my daughter, her husband and three children aged 2,6 and 10. The two elder girls had 5 days ski school and really loved it and improved no end. The little boy was not so happy in the creche and we had to come back to him a few times but everyone managed to get some skiing and the snow was just perfect. We were here for Christmas and New Year. Father Christmas visited on Christmas Eve and the children were entranced! Especially to hear their names called out and to be given a present! New Year was a great evening. We were joined by my partner on 28th December and we stayed on until 6th January. Food was varied and excellent and sauna etc. Great. All in all, a fabulous holiday with best snow ever. Really nice resort. Not cheap though but skiing isn't if you want comfort as well! Probably not so challenging for expert skiers although you can get a ski pass to the whole area and there is plenty of off-piste skiing.

  • March 20, 2011
    David Wright from United Kingdom

    Hi, being a Brit living in Austria, I have the pleasure of traveling around at weekends trying out all the local ski resorts in the Salzburg area.
    Having heard of Obertauern because of the Beatles film HELP! I discovered it to be a bit of a gem.
    A compact well organized resort with excellent snow conditions that last until the end of April. A good modern ski lift system allows even the most tentative of skiers to cover a lot of the area. A variety of ski passes offers good value for money skiing, be sure to ask about the points cards! 250 points for only 24 euros, 12 euros for kids. This will cut down the costs for any skiers still developing and of course families. With ski pistes that are so well groomed, they will flatter any intermediate. Great apres-ski, for a small resort! Definitely a good choice of destination for intermediate skiers and families.
    For skiers looking for a bigger challenge there are lots of other resorts within 20 minutes drive of Obertauern. The Ski Amade Ski Pass covers all of the resorts in the Salzburg region.

  • January 23, 2010
    mary from Ireland

    Just back from Obertauern. Have skied over 20 years. Found the resort easy to get around but the runs were too short, and not very challenging, saying that though, there were no Q's because it was off-peak. Stayed in the Hotel Steiner which is the best ski hotel I have ever stayed in. Fab food and spa area, ski-in ski-out literally 20 feet across road to the slopes. Would love to say we will be going here every year, but unfortunately I don't think the skiing is challenging enough. If we went again I would get the most extensive ski pass, and travel to other resorts 1 or 2 of the days for more challening, longer runs. If you could stay in a hotel like the Steiner in a place like Meribel that would be the perfect holiday but it would probably cost you in the region of €2k there! All in all, I would recommend Obertauern to friends, particularly those who are beginners or have skied up to 4 or 5 times.

  • November 17, 2009
    Dave from United Kingdom

    After 14 years of skiing in France/Austria/Italy/Germany etc, we found Obertauern as our perfect resort. We have now been skiing there for the past 8 years and settled on our favourite, the Hotel Steiner. The doorstep skiing and layout of the lifts & runs at Obertauern is excellent. The nightlife can be whatever you want it to be: noisy, hectic or relaxed. We plan to go back to Obertauern every year as the snow record is second to none. There is some queing but never like in many other resorts. Transfer from Salzburg is quick and easy. Obertauern is recommended to all grades of skier.

  • November 03, 2009
    sally from Austria

    We have a Salzburg season pass and Obertauern is one of closet resorts to Carthinia. We love the place but the fights that break out in the evening are caused by the English.

  • December 31, 2008
    wizzo from United Kingdom

    We will be visiting Obertauren for the 4 th time in January. Having skied in Canada, US, and all over Europe I can safely say no one enjoys apres-ski like the Austrians. The resort is fairly small, but it's perfect for beginners and intermediates who don't like it too tough. Staying in the middle of town is best as it gives you easy access to and from the bars and slopes. In case you've not been before the apres-ski party starts at 3 pm in the Eidelweiss hut, found at the top of the Eidelweiss lift. This finishes at 6 pm, but fear not, after a ski down in the dark of no more than 800 yards you'll find yourself at the Lurzer Alm apres-ski hut. If you didn't know about the Ice Bear before you went you certainly will before you leave; you,ll be singing about him all week. The Austrians and Germans can drink and get drunk without having a punch up. You guys rock. See you in two weeks.

  • April 19, 2008
    Simon from United Kingdom

    Found this resort just by chance when looking for late snow last week for a short family ski break. Self booked flights, transfer and hotel and found that it was a smooth run being just over an hour from Salzburg. Having been to France in Feb , it was incredible that there was so much snow still at this resort and majority of hotels are pretty much 'ski to door'( that's true ski to door). Whilst the local sense of humour is not great the efficiency of everything from the lifts to the hotels is second to none. Can't say that we saw much in the way of night life other than in the hotels and a distinct shortage of independent restaurants, if you were self catering - but no complaint as we were catered and the food was over and above what we would have expected for a 3 star hotel. BE AWARE - if you are a non-smoker, this is a nation of smokers and they still allow smoking in all public areas. This resort is top of the list for a revisit next year.

  • March 27, 2006
    Julie Smith from United Kingdom

    I have been going to Obertauern for 3 years with my 14 and 16 year old children and we think it's great. The ski school is excellent and the nightlife is really lively. The slopes are great for beginners. Advanced skiers can try some of the mogouled blacks and the off-piste is great if you know the right parts!

  • February 06, 2006
    james straker from United Kingdom

    This was my first time skiing in Austria and it won't be the last. Obertauern is great in every way.

  • January 20, 2006
    Andrew from United Kingdom

    I've been going to Obertauern for several years as part of a school trip (sorry for those of you who don't enjoy being behind a group of beginners, but you have to learn somehow), and can only confirm what every other reviewer has said - great snow from November to the first week in May, both on and off piste (according to our adventurous colleagues), variety, good lifts, few queues, and few English (if that's your bag). Slopeside restaurants and bars are good (eat a Tiroler Gröstl while you're there - I know it's not Tirol, but what the hell) and while the town doesn't have the scenic appeal of somewhere like Saalbach, it's pretty functional. The only downside I can find is that it doesn't have a huge drop, so you don't get those huge long runs that turn your legs to jelly. There again, that's not all bad...

  • December 09, 2005
    masa from Slovenia

    Obertauern doesn’t seem to boast great ski runs if you happen to drive through in the summer but the number of hotels and apartments gives you an idea it’s a very busy town in winter. And it is for a reason – skiing is good. It is our favorite destination for a day’s trip. If you stay for a week you might run out of pistes but you can also check some of the other resorts in the Lungau valley. There are also a lot of concerts and other happenings in the town to keep people active.
    Obetauern normally has good snow conditions from early December until April. In fact, often there is too much snow and the pistes get bad in the afternoon with heaps of snow shoved aside by skiers. The specialty of Obertaern skiing is Tauern runde. Meaning you can circle around the resort clockwise (follow the pink signs) or CCW (turquoise signs). Zehnekar-bahn is used by both ways and this used to be annoying bottleneck. With new cable cars there are no queues anymore.
    The most frequently used photograph for advertisement of resort uses the Gamsleitenspitz. This run should be avoided by inexperienced skiers since it’s not prepared and is steep and bumpy. But chair lift Gamsleitenbahn 2 quite often doesn’t run anyhow.
    There are also extensive cross country tracks around the resort. The nicest scenery is probably from the pass to the Kringsalm. Unfortunately this depression has to be crossed on the Tauernrunde as well and it is annoying to push your way along, I hope they will install some better connections here someday. Going CCW we actually rather ski down to Zentralbahn and ski some more on the Sonnenlifts and eat at Sonnhof – this is truly the sunny part of the resort and lying a bit lower than the upper runs also more sheltered in windy weather.

  • November 23, 2005
    David Pomeroy from United Kingdom

    We visited Obertauern on a day trip from Salzburg. It was great day. The snow was fantastic and there were no queues. There are some great runs for beginners and there is enough intermediate skiing for a day or two. I would highly recommend the resort especially as it is not one of the well known resorts accessed by British tour operators.

  • January 04, 2005
    Eddie from United Kingdom

    Obertauren is a small friendly resort, in the run up to Christmas the slopes are extremely quiet at some points you can be the only person on the slope. Fresh snow on the 27th and 28th of December. A good destination for the improving skier.

  • November 18, 2004
    paul from United Kingdom

    I agree with the previous post (kell).Absolutly amazing resort,Really long and wide shallow blue run for learner skiers and boarders called edelweiss run.lots and lots of varied pistes,mogul runs,but best of all,off piste powder is amazing.spend some cash and hire a guide to enjoy the local secret spots. great food,friendly locals,party nightlife.Wish i was there now!

  • November 26, 2003
    Kell from South Africa

    I have been snowbaording for years and have never experienced better off piste terrain. Having worked there I have explored all of it and recommend this resprt both for the best atmosphere ever experienced, great night life and bars. The snow is EXCELLENT, and only an hour or so from Salzburg. Can you get any better.


  • Sharon from United Kingdom

    February 2007. We went DIY to this resort, which was very easy from Salzburg airport. There is a coach that runs in time with the flights, but we hired our own minibus. The standard of food and accommodation at the Hotel Gamsleiten was faultless, so much so we are returning in 2008. The clientele in the resort are mainly German and Dutch so high standards are the order of the day. We only ever pick resorts that are good for nervous skiers, and have a good snow record, and Obertauern did not disappoint, we had more snow than we could cope with whilst other resorts were struggling. The resort is not as chocolate-box pretty as some Austrian resorts, but still has a charm of its own. Nightlife at the Lürzer Alm Après-Ski hut is lively and goes on till late!

    Be sure to stay in the main part of town, rather than the outskirts, as there is more action in the centre.

    There are plenty of easy blue runs, and wide cruising reds, but if you want to clock up the miles each day, you may find the resort limiting, but further down the road, there are other smaller villages with their own circuits, for which you can buy an all inclusive lift pass. To sum up, we loved the place.


  • Ronald Oerlemans from Netherlands

    Obertauern; I've been to this place in January 2006 and it is not yet discovered by the large crowd, so you rarely have to wait for the lift. I stayed in a Pension. The people there were very nice and pleasant. The part of the ski-area left above the town is the best. Also in the sunshine. The right part lies most of the time in the shadow. When snowfall is limited the slopes on this part get very hard.
    The area is not for beginners. The most part of the slopes are red. So if you are an experienced skier you will love this area. Due to its high altitude the snow at the bottom is good most of the time. The area is also big enough to have fun for a week.


  • Matt Carr from United Kingdom

    Obertauern is a good all-round resort with great snow. The night skiing on the "Eidelweiss" piste was fun, but get there early to avoid the crowds. There are enough blue and red runs to keep most intermediate skiers or boarders happy for a few days. The inter-linked lift system means you can do a circuit of the whole valley in a few hours and ski a varied mix of runs. The night life is not extensive but provides everything you need: for a chilled out beer find the Nanu Bar on the main street. We stayed at Pension Weinberger, a traditional and very friendly guesthouse in the centre of town with a great breakfast and relaxing sauna/solarium. With budget flights going to Salzburg, Obertauern is a little-known gem!