Au Ski en Austria

Bienvenue sur la page de Ski en Autriche, fournissant un tour d'horizon régulier des conditions de ski bulletins d'enneigement actuels pour les principales stations de ski dans les Alpes autrichiennes. Ces dernières années, certaines des meilleures et plus constantes conditions de piste ont été signalées à Kaprun, Zurs, Obergurgl, St Anton, Hintertux, Neustift, Lech et Pitztal, un mélange de stations sur glacier et celles parmi les plus exposées à la trajectoire des tempêtes.

Toutefois, pour une semaine ou une saison donnée, les meilleures conditions de piste peuvent se trouver à toute autre des hautes stations autrichiennes ou en stations de ski de moindre altitude par mauvais temps.

Pour le hors-piste en poudreuse, les stations telles que Kuhtai, Kaprun, Galtür, St Anton, Lech, Zurs, Obertauern et Ischgl se sont averées parmi les plus consistantes au fil des saisons, soit grâce à des chutes de neige régulières, un ensoleillement favorable ou parce qu'elles ne sont pas rapidement couvertes de traces. Il est à noter que si St Anton est considérée comme la Mecque du hors-piste, la fréquentation y est telle que les itinéraires accessibles par remontée mécaniques sont rapidement couverts de traces. En revanche, la station bénéficie d'importantes chutes de neige régulières.

Les Autrichiens ont une attitude très détendue au sujet du ski ou snowboard hors-piste, cependant il est important d'observer les avertissements, car l'Autriche a sa juste part d'accidents mortels dûs aux avalanche. Vérifiez le bulletin d'enneigement ci-dessous pour obtenir les dernières nouvelles, car les conditions changent rapidement dans les Alpes. En général, les meilleures conditions de neige arrivent en Autriche avec des systèmes météorologiques venus du nord et du nord-ouest, mais vous pouvez compter sur de la neige depuis n'importe quelle direction produisant un enneigement fiable sur la plupart des stations d'altitude élevée.

L'Autriche est l'une des six meilleures nations mondiales pour le ski et a joué un rôle crucial dans le développement du ski alpin au cours du siècle passé.

Il y a plus de 600 stations de ski autrichiennes de toutes tailles dans tous les coins du pays, depuis les célèbres régions montagneuses du Tyrol et de Stiermark à l'Ouest, jusqu'aux montagnes de l'Est autrichien.

Contrairement à ses voisins alpins, l'Autriche a très peu de stations artificiellement construites. Bien que nombre des stations les plus célèbres du pays aient été reconstruites à 95% en raison de leur succès et de l'expansion au cours des 60 dernières années, presque tous les nouveaux bâtiments sont sujets aux strictes règlements d'urbanisme du style chalet classique; ainsi les villages sont toujours attrayants et il est difficile de savoir s'ils ont deux ans ou deux cents ans.

Les détracteurs du ski autrichien disent qu'en n'ayant pas construit les stations au sommet des montagnes, l'Autriche dispose en majorité de stations de faible altitude - allant de 600 à 1000m d'altitude, avec leurs remontées mécaniques la plus haute souvent en dessous de 2000m - ce qui, paraît-il, peut être de mauvaise augure pour la couverture neigeuse.

En fait, l'une des plus célèbres stations critiquée pour cela, Kitzbühel, a publié les statistique montrant que leur couverture de neige a peu changé au cours des 50 dernières années. Ou peut-être arrivant un jour plus tôt et se terminant un jour plus tard en moyenne que dans les années 60.

L'Autriche bat aussi ses voisins, et tout autre pays dans le monde, pour le ski sur glacier. Pour la plupart des sept mois de mai à novembre où peu de domaines skiables sont ouverts, jusqu'à huit domaines skiables sur glacier sont ouverts en Autriche tandis que trois domaines sont ouverts dans tout autre pays de l'hémisphère nord. Ceci comprend notamment remontée mécanique la plus haute du pays au glacier de Pitztal, à 3440m.

L'Autriche a été le choix de destination le plus populaire pour les skieurs britanniques dans les années 70 et 80 et demeure la deuxième destination la plus populaire après la France. Il lui manque les larges domaines skiable des Alpes françaises - la plus grande région s'étendant grâce à une connexion un peu étroite entre les 280 km du Skiwelt et les quelques 160 km autour de Kitzbühel; mais les fans de l'Autriche soulignent que le terrain y est plus varié avec des pistes à travers les forêts avec d'agréables restaurants de montagne en bois pour faire une pause, plutôt que de vastes cafétérias en béton du style stations d'autoroutes. Les prix des forfaits y sont aussi généralement 10 ou 20% moins chers.

L'avant-coureur du style de ski alpin que nous pratiquons tous aujourd'hui a en fait commencé sur de modestes collines près de Vienne. Le pionnier Mathias Zdarsky développa ce nouveau "style alpin" en 1905 à partir de la technique du norvègien Telemark, inventée 40 ans plus tôt et en enseigna les bases à des milliers de personnes, souvent dans d'énormes classes de plus 100 personnes. En quelques années la technique d'Arlberg apparut à St Anton, dont le pionnier cette fois un certain Johann "Hannes" Schneider, développa le ski alpin et le popularisa dans le monde entier à la suite de films dans lesquels il apparut. Il introduisit l'invention au Japon avant d'émigrer aux États-Unis lorsqu'on lui a demanda de soutenir les nazis. Au lieu de cela, il contribua à former la section des chasseurs alpins de l'armée américaine. Ce sont les anciens combattants de cette section qui, à leur tour, entrainèrent le développement d'après-guerre des domaines skiables dans les États de l'ouest des États-Unis comme le Colorado.
Lire la suite...

Austria: résumé des dernières conditions de neige

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in Austria. Fresh snow is forecast at 294resorts. Powder is reported at 47 resorts and 76 are reporting good piste conditions.

Rapports récents de nos Reporter de Neige pour Austria

A–D

E–F G–G H–J K–K L–M N–Q R–R S–S T–Z Meilleure poudreuse (47)Meilleures conditions de piste (76)

Ski resorts in Austria from A to D

Bottom Mid Top
Station de Ski Webcam Top
Profondeur de neige
en haut et en bas
Good piste
En piste
Powder
Hors-Piste
Fresh snow depth
Dernière neige
Fresh snow depth
prochains 9 jours
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
neige (cm)
Weather Prévision météo des 5 prochains jours
Niveau de gel (m)
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri

(950m — 1780m)

35
26
Milieu de station 1365 m
800m 1400m 2300m 2100m 1200m

(950m — 1780m)

Achenkirch am Achensee webcam
31
44
Milieu de station 1365 m
1050m 1600m 2500m 2300m 1300m

(1127m — 1500m)

18
21
Milieu de station 1314 m
750m 1200m 2250m 2300m 1400m

(810m — 1810m)

Aflenz webcam
7
6
Milieu de station 1310 m
650m 1150m 2050m 2700m 1750m

(721m — 1201m)

2
17
Milieu de station 961 m
1500m 1750m 2450m 2200m 1150m

(813m — 2025m)

snow report il y a 3 jours

Alpbachtal webcam
190
80

Fresh

Fresh
25 cm
il y a 4 jours
17
27
Milieu de station 1419 m
1050m 1500m 2400m 2200m 1300m

(1000m — 1280m)

3
7
Milieu de station 1140 m
550m 1100m 1950m 2800m 1800m

(750m — 1750m)

27
21
Milieu de station 1250 m
800m 1300m 2250m 2200m 1300m

(655m — 1700m)

9
25
Milieu de station 1178 m
1450m 1700m 2450m 2200m 1150m

(800m — 1333m)

snow report hier

Annaberg webcam
110
50
Powder
Powder
hier
26
22
Milieu de station 1066 m
800m 1300m 2250m 1900m 1100m

(1349m — 1593m)

3
11
Milieu de station 1471 m
500m 1050m 1900m 2800m 1800m

(680m — 1600m)

49
1
Milieu de station 1140 m
650m 1500m 1750m 1500m 1650m

(1310m — 1900m)

snow report il y a 3 jours

190
80

Fresh

Fresh
25 cm
il y a 4 jours
19
25
Milieu de station 1605 m
1050m 1500m 2400m 2250m 1300m

(1560m — 2340m)

snow report il y a 3 jours

Axamer Lizum webcam
120
100

Fresh

Fresh
10 cm
il y a 4 jours
24
34
Milieu de station 1950 m
1350m 1600m 2400m 2150m 1250m

(1080m — 2230m)

snow report il y a 3 jours

Bad Gastein webcam
170
30

Good

Fresh
10 cm
il y a 4 jours
18
53
Milieu de station 1655 m
850m 1250m 1950m 1650m 1350m

(840m — 2300m)

snow report il y a 3 jours

Bad Hofgastein webcam
170
30

Good

Fresh
10 cm
il y a 4 jours
15
47
Milieu de station 1570 m
850m 1250m 2000m 1700m 1350m

(470m — 1415m)

19
15
Milieu de station 942 m
800m 1350m 2300m 2300m 1350m

(1001m — 2055m)

snow report il y a 3 jours

95
30

Good

Fresh
10 cm
il y a 5 jours
2
30
Milieu de station 1528 m
700m 1400m 1700m 1300m 1500m

(1650m — 2200m)

5
51
Milieu de station 1925 m
750m 1550m 1750m 1250m 1450m

(1019m — 2231m)

27
35
Milieu de station 1625 m
1250m 1350m 2100m 1700m 1200m

(1075m — 1740m)

snow report hier

Berwang-Bichlbach-Rinnen webcam
190
140

Fresh

Fresh
hier
22
30
Milieu de station 1408 m
1350m 1700m 2500m 2250m 1200m

(1000m — 1800m)

Biberwier webcam
21
31
Milieu de station 1400 m
1350m 1650m 2450m 2200m 1200m

(681m — 1700m)

11
29
Milieu de station 1190 m
1400m 1700m 2400m 2150m 1150m

(1030m — 1201m)

35
Milieu de station 1116 m
850m 1450m 1900m 1900m 1750m

(1037m — 1920m)

snow report il y a 3 jours

120
20

Fresh

Fresh
30 cm
il y a 4 jours
35
37
Milieu de station 1478 m
1400m 1600m 2200m 2050m 1200m

(421m — 1064m)

2
8
Milieu de station 742 m
1550m 1700m 2450m 2200m 1100m

(620m — 1957m)

snow report hier

Brixen im Thale webcam
160
75

Excellent

Fresh
50 cm
hier
9
17
Milieu de station 1288 m
900m 1600m 2450m 2350m 1400m

(1200m — 2701m)

Dachstein Glacier webcam
40
39
Milieu de station 1950 m
800m 1100m 1800m 1700m 1250m

(1000m — 2301m)

66
48
Milieu de station 1650 m
1350m 1500m 2050m 1700m 1150m

(1311m — 2009m)

snow report il y a 3 jours

180
30

Fresh

Fresh
15 cm
il y a 3 jours
66
46
Milieu de station 1660 m
1350m 1700m 2400m 2100m 1150m

(1410m — 2525m)

30
56
Milieu de station 1968 m
900m 1400m 1900m 1600m 1400m

(850m — 2060m)

63
43
Milieu de station 1455 m
1300m 1650m 2300m 2050m 1150m

(800m — 2000m)

29
42
Milieu de station 1400 m
850m 1300m 2050m 1800m 1150m

(1367m — 2168m)

66
1
Milieu de station 1768 m
750m 1450m 1850m 1700m 1650m

(990m — 2100m)

17
28
Milieu de station 1545 m
750m 1150m 1850m 2000m 1350m

(681m — 1551m)

49
1
Milieu de station 1116 m
650m 1500m 1750m 1450m 1650m

(800m — 1600m)

25
26
Milieu de station 1200 m
800m 1300m 2200m 2200m 1300m

Au Ski Austria

Welcome to the Ski Austria page, providing a regular round-up of the skiing conditions and current snow reports for the main ski resorts in the Austrian Alps. Over recent years some of the most consistent good piste conditions have been reported at Kaprun, Zurs, Obergurgl, St Anton, Hintertux, Neustift, Lech and Pitztal showing a mix of glacial resorts and those most exposed to prevailing storm tracks.

However, in any given week or season the best slope conditions may be found at any of the other high Austrian resorts or at lower elevation ski stations in poor weather. For off-piste powder, resorts such as Kuhtai, Kaprun, Galtur, St Anton, Lech, Zurs, Obertauern and Ischgl have proven among the most consistent over the seasons, either brought on by regular snowfalls, favourable sun aspect or for not getting tracked out quickly. It is worth noting that while St Anton is an off-piste mecca it does get extremely busy and the lift accessed routes get tracked very quickly, however, it does benefit from regular heavy snowfalls.

Austrians have a very relaxed policy when it comes to skiing or boarding off-piste, however it is important to observe the warnings because Austria has its fair share of avalanche fatalities. Check out the snow reports below for the latest news as conditions change quickly in the Alps. Generally the best snow conditions arrive in Austria with weather systems tracking in from the north and northwest but you can expect snow from any direction producing reliable snow cover at most of the higher altitude resorts.

Austria is one of the world’s six leading ski nations and has played a crucial role in the development of downhill skiing over the past century.

There are more than 600 Austrian ski resorts of all sizes that fill every corner of the country, from the famous mountainous regions of Tirol and Stiermark in the West to the rolling hills of Eastern Austria.

Unlike in its Alpine neighbours, purpose build ski resorts are a real rarity in Austria. Although many of the country’s most famous resorts have been 95% built from scratch due to their success and expansion over the past 60 years, almost all new building is to strict planning regulations in the classic chalet style so villages always look attractive and it’s hard to know what is 2 years old and what 200.

Critics of Austrian skiing say that as a result of not building ski resorts on mountain tops most Austrian resorts are low – ranging from perhaps 600 to 1000m above sea level, and often their top lifts are below 2000m – which, the argument goes, can be bad news for snow cover.

In fact one of the most famous resorts criticised for that, Kitzbühel, published stats showing that their snow cover is little changed in the past 50 years. Perhaps, on average, arriving a day sooner and ending a day later than in the 1960s, but otherwise fairly constant.

Austria also beats its neighbours, and indeed any other country in the world, for glacier skiing. For much of those seven months of the year from May to November when few ski areas are open, up to eight glacier ski areas are open to ski Austria when no more than three are open in any other country north of the equator. These include the country’s highest ski lift at Pitztal Glacier 3440m.

Skiing in Austria was the most popular destination choice for British skiers in the 1970s and 1980s and remains second most popular after France. It lacks the vast ski areas of the French Alps – the largest region the slightly tenuous connection between the 280km of the Skiwelt and 160km or so around Kitzbühel, but Austria’s fans point out the terrain is more varied with runs down through the forest; friendly wooden mountain restaurants to stop off at, rather than vast motorway-services style concrete-cafeterias, and prices are generally 10 or 20% less for a lift ticket too.

The fore-runner of the style of downhill skiing we all enjoy today actually began in those smaller hills near Vienna. Pioneer Mathias Zdarsky developed it from the Norwegian Telemark technique invented 40 years earlier in to the first ‘Alpine’ style in 1905 and taught thousands of people the basics, many in huge 100+ people classes. Within a few years the Arlberg technique had appeared in St Anton, pioneered this time by one Johann ‘Hannes’ Schneider, which further developed downhill and popularised skiing worldwide as Schneider appeared in films and took the invention to Japan before going to the US when asked to support the Nazis. Instead he helped train the US Army mountain division, veterans from which were in turn behind the post-war development of ski areas in the Western US states like Colorado.
read more...

Austria: latest snow conditions round-up


INTRODUCTION With the exception of New Zealand, the Southern Hemisphere season continues its very slow start. More snow is needed across Chile, Argentina and Australia, but sadly there is very little in the forecast this week. New Zealand meanwhile continues to enjoy one of the best starts to the season in recent years, with snow depths well above average, despite high winds closing most lifts on Monday. In the Northern Hemisphere, a major heatwave is set to hit the Alps this week, with the freezing level rising to 5,000m and temperatures at 3,000m reaching well into double figures.


AUSTRIA Warm sunshine bathed our Austrian summer ski destinations on the morning of Monday 29th June, although more clouds rolled in during the afternoon – a pattern that is set to continue all week. Some good conditions are currently on offer on the country's glaciers, although with the forecast heatwave set to begin on Tuesday the slope conditions may deteriorate over the coming days. That being said, all of our featured glaciers retain a base of greater than two metres, including the Hintertux (0/220cm) which was able to run nine lifts on Monday - the most in the country. The Dachstein Glacier (0/262cm) was also in good condition, as was the Molltal Glacier (0/290cm).The Stubai Glacier (0/200cm) is set to close on July 3rd, so get up there this week to enjoy some good conditions on the Daunferner Glacier.

read more...

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in Austria. Fresh snow is forecast at 0resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

A–D

E–F G–G H–J K–K L–M N–Q R–R S–S T–Z

Ski resorts in Austria from A to D

Bottom Mid Top
Resort Webcam Top
snow depth
top and bottom
Good piste
on-piste
Powder
off-piste
Fresh snow depth
last snow
Fresh snow depth
next 9 days
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
snow (cm)
Weather Next 5 days weather forecast.
Freezing level (m)
Thu Fri Sat Sun Mon

(950m — 1780m)

rain showers
rain showers
clear
clear
partially cloudy
Mid station 1365 m
4400m 4300m 4450m 4500m 4550m

(950m — 1780m)

rain showers
rain showers
clear
rain showers
partially cloudy
Mid station 1365 m
4450m 4400m 4500m 4500m 4550m

(1127m — 1500m)

opens in 170 days
rain showers
clear
clear
clear
clear
Mid station 1314 m
4300m 4150m 4300m 4400m 4500m

(810m — 1810m)

opens in 171 days
rain showers
rain showers
clear
clear
clear
Mid station 1310 m
4250m 4150m 4350m 4300m 4400m

(721m — 1201m)

Alberschwende webcam
clear
clear
clear
clear
partially cloudy
Mid station 961 m
4450m 4450m 4600m 4550m 4550m

(813m — 2025m)

opens in 156 days
rain showers
rain showers
clear
clear
rain showers
Mid station 1419 m
4400m 4350m 4500m 4450m 4500m

(1000m — 1280m)

rain showers
rain showers
clear
clear
clear
Mid station 1140 m
4250m 4100m 4350m 4300m 4400m

(750m — 1750m)

Altaussee webcam
rain showers
rain showers
clear
clear
partially cloudy
Mid station 1250 m
4350m 4250m 4400m 4450m 4550m

(655m — 1700m)

clear
rain showers
clear
rain showers
partially cloudy
Mid station 1178 m
4450m 4450m 4600m 4550m 4550m

(800m — 1333m)

rain showers
rain showers
clear
clear
partially cloudy
Mid station 1066 m
4400m 4250m 4450m 4500m 4600m

(1349m — 1593m)

rain showers
clear
clear
clear
clear
Mid station 1471 m
4200m 4100m 4350m 4350m 4450m

(680m — 1600m)

rain showers
rain showers
partially cloudy
clear
clear
Mid station 1140 m
4350m 4200m 4350m 4400m 4500m

(1310m — 1900m)

rain showers
clear
clear
clear
rain showers
Mid station 1605 m
4400m 4350m 4500m 4450m 4500m

(1560m — 2340m)

Axamer Lizum webcam
opens in 149 days
rain showers
rain showers
clear
rain showers
rain showers
Mid station 1950 m
4350m 4350m 4450m 4450m 4500m

(1080m — 2230m)

opens in 170 days
rain showers
clear
clear
clear
rain showers
Mid station 1655 m
4350m 4300m 4400m 4500m 4550m

(840m — 2300m)

Bad Hofgastein webcam
opens in 155 days
rain showers
clear
clear
clear
rain showers
Mid station 1570 m
4350m 4300m 4400m 4450m 4550m

(470m — 1415m)

rain showers
rain showers
clear
clear
partially cloudy
Mid station 942 m
4400m 4250m 4450m 4500m 4550m

(1001m — 2055m)

rain showers
rain showers
clear
clear
clear
Mid station 1528 m
4350m 4200m 4400m 4400m 4500m

(1650m — 2200m)

rain showers
rain showers
clear
clear
rain showers
Mid station 1925 m
4350m 4250m 4350m 4400m 4500m

(1019m — 2231m)

rain showers
rain showers
clear
rain showers
rain showers
Mid station 1625 m
4400m 4400m 4500m 4450m 4550m

(1075m — 1740m)

opens in 163 days
rain showers
rain showers
clear
rain showers
clear
Mid station 1408 m
4350m 4400m 4500m 4500m 4550m

(1000m — 1800m)

opens in 169 days
rain showers
rain showers
clear
rain showers
clear
Mid station 1400 m
4400m 4400m 4550m 4500m 4550m

(681m — 1700m)

clear
rain showers
clear
rain showers
partially cloudy
Mid station 1190 m
4450m 4450m 4600m 4550m 4550m

(1030m — 1201m)

clear
clear
clear
clear
clear
Mid station 1116 m
4300m 4200m 4300m 4400m 4500m

(1037m — 1920m)

clear
rain showers
clear
clear
partially cloudy
Mid station 1478 m
4450m 4450m 4600m 4550m 4550m

(421m — 1064m)

clear
clear
clear
clear
partially cloudy
Mid station 742 m
4450m 4450m 4550m 4550m 4500m

(620m — 1957m)

opens in 156 days
rain showers
clear
clear
clear
rain showers
Mid station 1288 m
4400m 4350m 4450m 4500m 4500m

(1200m — 2701m)

snow report 3 days ago

Dachstein Glacier webcam
262
Spring snow
Limited
20 cm
12 days ago
rain showers
rain showers
clear
clear
partially cloudy
Mid station 1950 m
4350m 4250m 4400m 4500m 4550m

(1000m — 2301m)

clear
rain showers
clear
rain showers
rain showers
Mid station 1650 m
4500m 4500m 4600m 4550m 4600m

(1311m — 2009m)

Damüls webcam
opens in 155 days
clear
rain showers
clear
rain showers
partially cloudy
Mid station 1660 m
4450m 4450m 4600m 4550m 4550m

(1410m — 2525m)

rain showers
rain showers
rain showers
rain showers
rain showers
Mid station 1968 m
4400m 4350m 4450m 4500m 4600m

(850m — 2060m)

clear
rain showers
clear
rain showers
partially cloudy
Mid station 1455 m
4450m 4450m 4600m 4550m 4600m

(800m — 2000m)

clear
clear
clear
clear
partially cloudy
Mid station 1400 m
4400m 4300m 4450m 4500m 4550m

(1367m — 2168m)

rain showers
rain showers
clear
clear
clear
Mid station 1768 m
4350m 4200m 4350m 4400m 4500m

(990m — 2100m)

rain showers
rain showers
clear
clear
clear
Mid station 1545 m
4300m 4200m 4350m 4400m 4550m

(681m — 1551m)

Dreilaendereck webcam
rain showers
rain showers
rain showers
clear
clear
Mid station 1116 m
4350m 4200m 4350m 4400m 4500m

(800m — 1600m)

clear
clear
clear
clear
partially cloudy
Mid station 1200 m
4400m 4300m 4450m 4500m 4550m