Login / Sign Up


Snow-Forecast logoSnow mountain photo


Ski Italy

Livigno Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Livigno Ski Resort



  • January 05, 2014
    50 Somthing Skier from Australia

    5th Jan 2014,
    Great place, come one, come all. Beautiful slopes, groomed to death. Good lifts, nice places to eat, reasonable cost. Dumping powder for two days. Just dug my car out. Sunny tomorrow and deep powder. Could this be heaven.
    Recommend the Skiatorie Hotel. Not near the action but you can ski to door and it's a 50 metre walk to lift. Hotel is first class; shinny and new.

  • Livigno Ratings

    Based on 39 votes. Vote

    Access: 3.2

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Livigno.

    Public Transport: 3.7

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Livigno, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.7

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.9

    (1) No places to stay in/near Livigno, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 4.7

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 4.7

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Livigno.

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.7

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 4.7

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Livigno, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.9

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Livigno is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 4.8

    (1) Livigno relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.9

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Livigno, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Livigno are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 4.3

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Livigno is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 3.7

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Livigno, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.9

    (1) Livigno usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 4.8

    (1) The staff at Livigno are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Livigno are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 4.6

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.9

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.9

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.7

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Livigno has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 4.8

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.9

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Livigno, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 4.5

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 4.9

    (1) Not even a kicker at Livigno, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 4.0

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 4.5

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Livigno, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 3.7

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Livigno has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 4.5

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.9

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 4.7

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 4.6

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 4.7

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 4.5

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 4.7

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 4.7

    (1) Overall, Livigno is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.9

    (1) Overall, Livigno is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Based on 39 votes. Vote

  • December 30, 2013
    Gerard Landman from Australia

    Well, when I saw another reviewer's submission from South Africa (where I came from originally and emigrated to Australia in 2001), he wrote such a negative report, but here is my view:

    • I have been skiing in Livigno since early 1980's and has been skiing in numerous resorts all over Europe, Australia & New Zealand.

    • In January 2013 it was my 24th time skiing in Livigno and my biggest group of friends and family that I took with me was in 1987 when I was accompanied by 86 people.

    • I still believe Livigno provides the best ski conditions and equipment for extreme value!

    • The local people are extremely friendly and provide such a wonderful atmosphere! I can only highly recommend anyone who appreciates snow and skiing

    Welcome to contact me and ask questions !! – gerard.landman@cba.com.au

    I now live in Sydney Australia and, by the way, am leaving for Livigno on the 24th January till 8th February 2014!

    Gerard

  • December 08, 2013
    Sonya Eriksson from Norway

    Livigno caters for all level of skier. Best way to get there: fly to Zurich and then take the train to Zernez and final short bus ride to the village. Swiss trains fabulously on time and transfer from train to train very easy. Piece of cake.!

  • November 18, 2013
    Gerald from South Africa

    This December will be our 5th visit to Livigno. Cannot agree with another reviewer as we were there at the same time.
    I do not believe it has deteriorated. On the contrary, we enjoy each visit more and more, and can only recommend it as a wonderful place. The ski slopes are very well groomed even if weather conditions are not perfect.
    The bus and taxi service is excellent. The locals are one of the main reasons we come back as they are friendly and treat us like family.
    Yes, it has become more expensive for South Africans, due to the devaluation of our currency but it is still inexpensive compared to other ski resorts. Delicious Italian food at very reasonable prices.
    You cannot please everyone but Livigno will please most.

  • March 13, 2013
    Michael the Good from United Kingdom

    I'd never skied in Livigno before and agree it has been an awful long way to go (at least 5 1/2 hours from Milan along a slow and narrow single highway from Lecce but now there is a tunnel from St Moritz. We stayed in a delightful apartment above a microbrewery producing both English, and German style beers in 5 litre jars. Great atmosphere and good food.
    Livigno itself more than made up for the long drive with superb skiing and a fabulous and lively centre. I took my 10 year granddaughter, who not only enjoyed the skiing but also the ice rink and huskie sleigh ride available. We joined up with the local Inghams ski rep who was very entertaining and a great guide. The local people are very friendly but personally I didn't find the goods that cheap despite the duty free status. I would definitely go again, perhaps via St Moritz.

  • January 24, 2013
    Gordon Bloch from Israel

    We have heard about this resort and have wanted to visit for so many years that we decided 2013 would be the year. To reach the resort is longer than any other resort we have ever visited and we have been skiing in Italy, Switzerland and France for the past almost 40 years.
    That said we found Livigno absolutely delightful. Plenty of shops, in a pedestrian zone area, and the bars and restaurants, each one more delightful than the next. We prefer self catering so took an apartment next to the Mottolini Cable Car. Could not have been more convenient!
    For us the slopes were amazing, never ever have we skied on such wide slopes at any other resort, well groomed and a pleasure to use. Since we were off-season there was no waiting for lifts etc.
    What is interesting is that one can ski on both sides of the valley, so we did one day either side, with a free shuttle bus service running all day so no problem to get around.
    The town itself is about 5km long and makes for interesting window-shopping since the town is duty free and many shops specialise in perfums, booze and smokes, with the supermarkets selling a large variety of chocolates.
    Restaurants are plentiful with any variety of cuisine on offer.
    What we did find interesting is that the bars offer a free buffet with one's drink. No extra charge and the drinks are reasonably priced, a must for the visitor.
    With the skier and family in mind, plenty of runs at all levels, and many play areas for children of all ages.
    The strangest fact about Livigno is the snow. We found it harder than we have been used to. Don't know if it's the low freezing temperatures, but often we felt we were skiing on pebbles!
    All in all, a very enjoyable 2 weeks was had.

  • December 25, 2012
    Martin Brøchner-Nielsen from Denmark

    Going to Livigno for the 9th time this January. Have stayed in different places, hotels and appartements, but have never been dissapointet. The food and bars in the ski area have good food and drinks and nice atmosphere. And the preperation of the pistes is beyond what I have ever seen at other places. So, Livigno, I'll be back, again and again.

  • November 25, 2012
    Patricia Shields from United Kingdom

    We have been skiing in Livigno as a group for 15 years; we have stayed at the Hotel Le Alpi. Mauro and his family have always ensured that we have a great week. The hotel is very clean and food is great. Family are always willing to spend time and chat in the evening. The hotel is a short walk away from the pedestrian shopping area. it is close to Doss 18 (lift) which means you can ski back to the hotel. Bus service is good and free. Mauro's brother runs a ski shop and they will always give you good service. The transfer from Milan is long but as you get the early flight it is a chance for a sleep and you arrive refreshed and ready to go. As the village is so high you can almost guarantee snow, they have also invested in a lot of snow cannons and snow parks.
    We have skied several resorts in Italy, this one is value for money. A wide range of pistes, good hotels, good ski schools, guaranteed snow, all round good value for money.

  • November 12, 2012
    Ryan Mitchell from United Kingdom

    Livigno is situated in a beautiful tree lined valley, with no ugly high rise architecture. The food is excellent, the snow is usually excellent, given its high altitude location right in the centre of the Alps, and lift pass/lessons/equipment hire prices are lower than almost anywhere else, due to the tax free status of the resort. Do not let the low prices put you off, however. The lift system is fast and efficient with helpful lift staff and good piste grooming, and they have recently added several new lifts and opened up some scenic tree skiing near the lake. They have two excellent snowparks, both with airbags to practice tricks on, and they have extensive freeride areas of graded difficulty. I've been skiing in resorts all across the Alps and Pyrenees, but Livigno is my favourite by far, independent of its low prices.

  • May 16, 2012
    Keith Binks from United Kingdom

    Returned yet again at Easter 2012 for 9 days, against doctors advice after cruciate ligament replacement in August, but survived just about intact. It's still a great place, so good in fact we're going to drag the caravan there this summer to do a little biking and sample the best national park in Europe.

  • April 12, 2012
    Hilton Davidson from South Africa

    I travelled with my wife and two children aged 22 and 19 to Livigno for the first time in March 2012. While I have always selected high altitude resorts in the French Alps for the past 6 ski trips from South Africa together with ski-in-ski-out accommodation, I admittedly was a little apprehensive about our first trip to Livigno due to the spread-out nature of the resort.
    Firstly, the agent, Alessia, who assisted me in not only our booking of accommodation at Chalet Picchio but also a total package deal including ski hire, ski lessons and ski pass was brilliant. Secondly, any dealings that we had with the citizens of Livigno was always met with friendliness and assistance. Thirdly, Livigno was extremely family orientated for all ages of children and made the stay brilliant for all members of my family. Lastly, the ski school instructors were definitely more professional than those that we have had in the French resorts.
    While we have visited Belle Plagne and Tignes Le Lac on numerous occasions and thoroughly enjoyed each visit, the overall impression left by our visit to Livigno has already lead to our next trip being organised for January 2013. This time hopefully for 10 or more days versus our 7 days in March this year.
    While getting to the resort takes more effort than most in the Alps, it is worth the effort.

  • February 24, 2012
    Andy Marshall-Brown from United Kingdom

    In resort as I write this having not visited for three seasons. This is our ninth time in Livigno. We stay at a lovely family run hotel called Hotel Valeria right in the centre of the village and I cannot recommend it enough. It's spotlessly clean, great food and very friendly hostess.
    We can ski in and out from the rear of the hotel with access right from the door.
    Three new lifts have been built since our last visit along with new runs being opened the skiing is excellent with very well maintained slopes.
    We have always found the locals to be very helpful and friendly and the resort offers a good variety of eating and drinking establishments along with lots of shops.
    Prices have increased dramatically over the last few years since the introduction of the Euro. Livigno is no longer a cheap resort despite its tax free reputation. That said it's no more expensive than other parts of Europe we visit.
    All in all, I believe that Livigno is a fantastic resort with great skiing for beginner and intermediate skiers and we will continue to return year in year out to the Hotel Valeria.

  • January 18, 2012
    Clive from South Africa

    I visited at the beginning of January 2012, having been there 3 times previously. It has deteriorated enormously, and I can certainly no longer recommend it. The ski slopes are very poorly groomed. The bus service, the main form of transport in the resort, is hopelessly inadequate. The locals have very poor attitudes. Prices have rocketed. It has, in my opinion, become a money making racket and I suggest anyone wanting to go skiing looks elsewhere.

  • January 16, 2011
    Greg from Cyprus

    We went first time to Livigno in the second week of Dec. Private transport from Milan Malpensa took around 41/2 hours. The road after Bormio was full of snow so do not go without snow tyres. When we arrived it was snowing and everything was white. We stayed at hotel Mota in the center of the village. The location of the hotel was ideal for both shopping and skiing as the gondola was just opposite to it. The hotel itself is great and modern, good food, perfect indoor swimming pool and facilities. As other reviewers mentioned about shopping ripoffs, I did not check anything on electronics. However, clothing, food and drinks were a great deal. For example, a Salomon 10k/30k jacket had a price of 450 Euro in Livigno and the same jacket in Greece had 600 Euro (do not know prices for other countries). Also, when you go there check the prices on diesel and petrol, and wish you can avoid paying taxes in your home town.
    Skiing was amazing, most days being sunny but freezing, one day reached -23c in the morning in the village. Due to low temps the snow was hard but, thanks to snow cannons (which are everywhere), we had fresh snow every morning. Best day was Saturday. Whilst being change over day for Livigno, I was completly alone in the whole ski area up to around 11 in the morning when some Italians showed up. Anyway, other people are no trouble in Livigno as all chairlifts are fast and efficient. The longest I waited in a queue all week was 4 min to catch a chairlift. The gondolas before 9.30 had no skiers waiting. Do not know for later in the morning.
    If I have to say something negative (just to say it so they will have something to improve) it would be that I think they should renew Carosello 3000 gondola as it looks very old compared to the rest. Also, while we were there they were renewing two old lifts, this I guess can be done in autumn and not to wait for athe winter season to start. A final thing is that they are charging a price on the tube rides (next to Campo Scuola chair lift 23), come on guys...put it there for free, people will pay for the skipass anyway.
    All in all, we had an amazing skiing holiday and will go back. Ciao!

  • March 29, 2010
    simon stafrace from Malta

    I have been in Livingo last week and what a great place to be.
    I just want to give some advice to people: although it is a tax haven everthing is a rip off in Livingo. In fact I wanted to buy a new cam corderd and to my disbelief I found the same Sony came corder that I own for sale. This was more expensive than I bought 3 years ago in my honeymoon. The same happened to me when we where trying to buy a Guess watch as we realized that my wife had one exactly the same on her wrist. To our disbelief they asked us 180 Euros for it and we barely paid 50 Euros for it 3 years ago.

    I think that any thing worth it to buy in Livingo is sugar and whisky. In fact, all scotch items in shop are all old stuff.

    I must say that the food is great here, especially if you move out of the center as you will taste the real food of Livingo at a fraction of the price.

    Our holiday last week was as just being in paradise. But again I do not recomand that one should do shopping unless he is happy to be ripped off.

  • February 06, 2010
    stokie steve from United Kingdom

    I have always flown to Bergamo, but I must say the cheap flight ain't so cheap anymore and there isn't the choice of flight times and dates that used to be available. I will be honest, this must be the 1st year in about 15 that we have not gone to Livigno.

    I've always used Jacquie from Mountain Tours in the past to book my accommodation in Livigno and I must say she provides a greast service and her husband, Renzo, is a top taxi driver if you ever want a taxi. I went to Alpe D'Huez this year with Ski World Ltd and had a great time. Just found a great offer to Flugen, in Austria, for £92 for the week. Looks like a goer. Just need to convince my Mrs it's a good idea for me to go skiing again.

  • January 18, 2010
    steveleedslad from United Kingdom

    Post the same question on Livigno Forum Trip Advisor, I'm sure you will get help. Sorry I can't help always fly to Bergamo.

    [note from the editor: I shall leave this message on the site for a short while as it is an answer to another post placed in the Livigno reviews]

  • January 13, 2010
    Conor from United Kingdom

    Livigno is, without doubt, the best resort that we have ever visited. The skiing is amazing and the food is great. My family and I go every year from Ireland and enjoy it so much!

  • December 18, 2009
    stokie steve from United Kingdom

    Hi we are looking to drive all the way to Livigno for the 1st time ever in January, can any body offer us any advice on route time etc from Calais......

  • November 05, 2009
    Jo from United Kingdom

    A group of 8 of us will be driving to Livigno for the 3rd time on the 11th Dec. Although early season, we haven't been let down by the snow yet. When it comes to going, if the snow is not good, we'll just drive to where the snow is. It will mean losing our deposit, but worth the flexibility. We worked out the cost of the total trip last year - £500 per person. This is for totally everything - food, booze, meals/nights out,crossing, tolls, petrol, self catering accomodation. We will continue to visit Livigno until we need something more challenging.

  • June 17, 2009
    Paul from United Kingdom

    I have been to Livigno a few times the last trip being in January 2009. It's a perfect place for beginners & intermediates. For experts there is nothing to do there, so don't bother unless you taking your family or friends who want to learn to ski/snowboard.

    It's very cheap at Livigno compared to other resorts like in France or Austria, but don't be fooled, this place packs a punch. It has an impressive modern lift system, the terrain park is very good, it even hosts the world rookie fest and some other contests. I also read that pros coming to practice. Livigno is quite snow sure due to it's high altitude, but snow cannons are everywhere and grooming is top notch. In other words there is always plenty of snow.

    Off-slopes:
    If you want night clubs go to Ibiza. However, there are plenty of bars and restaurants in Livigno. Don't just walk the main road and think that's all there is as there are nice, cosy bars behind buildings off the main road. The bar/club on Carosello mountain is the one to check. It's party time until 5am with people getting very drunk. Also check Original Galli bar where party time also runs until the early hours.

    All in all, there are much better resorts to go to than Livigno but at £220-£250 for 7 days in nice cosy self catering acommodation with flight and all transfers, what more do you want?

  • March 31, 2009
    Simon from United Kingdom

    I came back from Livigno three weeks ago. I went with a group of four guys and decided to try out Livigno due to reports of a good ski area and cheap après-ski. My parents would have loved the ski area. Seriously wide and empty slopes and not challenging at all. A red in Livigno is closer to a green in France. A couple of more interesting blacks thrown in but not enough to challenge a descent skier. The snow was superb with fresh powder every day, but by the third day we had tackled all runs, but that said we did ski quite hard. The food in was excellent and well priced and it's true, a bottle of vodka is around £5. The après-ski was limp and too far apart. We went in peak season and most bars we're half full. The après-ski straight off the runs was, again, a bit of a disappointment and no comparison to the well known resorts in France etc. Kokodi was as good as it get's.
    For a group of 4 youngish lads who are half descent skiers and looking for a party town, I would consider other destinations. If you are a family on a budget or skiing with couples then give Livigno a go.

  • January 18, 2009
    Izo from Slovenia

    I was first time in Livigno in the middle of December 2008. There was a lot of people - this is very annoying on ski slopes.
    If you want to go with bus, you have to wait half and hour and more to got it.
    One cabin lift from bottom didn't work - and this wasn't nice, because this can help skiers not to concentrate on one (or two) lifts from bottom.
    Lift are relatively old. But I have to say that slopes are fantastic and snow is very good (Livigno is at high altitude).
    One big minus for Livigno is that there are many dogs in the village. One of them bites my 10-years old son.
    The tunnel to Livigno is quite expensive.
    Otherwise, people are very kind and I'm sure that we will go to Livigno again.

  • December 22, 2008
    Craig from Italy

    Went boarding to Pila, Livigno and Validentro last week. Livigno is obviously a lot larger than the other resorts and has more non-locals. This being said, on Saturday the conditions for boarding and skiing were perfect. With Saturday being the changeover day for Livigno, the runs were extremely quiet, combined with the resorts wide open areas, you can cruise your way down some great reds for intermediates and hardly see a soul. Some of the runs are still closed, but, at 80% open at the moment, there is still plenty of fun to be had. If you're a beginner or intermediate and have never been to Livigno or not considered it, then this is a superb resort with good quality runs and a range of areas to explore. For more advanced riders then maybe a day or two and you'd have nailed the blacks. The board park is good and definitely worth spending a little time in.
    In the resort and the cabins on the mountains food is fairly cheap and quality is general very good for the money. Being tax free, drinks are cheap and house wine (usually decent in Italy) is about €8 - 10.
    The apres-ski is not as lively as say, Mayrhofen, but still there are a few good bars to hangout in.
    The drive is a bit of a pain and access throughout the winter is via Bormio and a couple of routes in from Switzerland. The drive from airports in Milan or Bergamo is about 3 1/2 - 4 1/2 hours by car (Worth getting a hire car as coach transfers are longer; up to 6 hours I believe on a bad day) but that being said, the journey itself is quite nice through the mountains and some good photo opportunities.
    I have heard the ski schools are good and reasonably priced compared to some resorts.
    All in all, this is great place to go, the ski area is good for beginners and intermediates, albeit a little limited for advanced riders, unless you're hanging with friends who are learning, which can be a laugh on the slopes. In addition the board park is well worth it. Check out youtube for some videos of the board park.
    Definitely recommend a trip here.
    Happy boarding

  • December 19, 2008
    Keith from Rotherham from United Kingdom

    Setting off tomorrow on the drive to Livigno. 5th consecutive Xmas and this time for New Year as well. Drive & self cater accommodation is still cheapest way, though the poor pound will offset the duty free prices. Can't wait - the best way to spend Xmas with family and friends without a doubt. The snow conditions at Livigno look just perfect this year. New winter tyres on and off we go!

  • November 16, 2008
    Stokie Buck from United Kingdom

    Its off to Livigno for another great pre-season offer in 4 weeks time. We shall be staying in the Hotel St Michael. We have booked our accommodation through Jacquie from Mountain tours Ltd. I can really recommend her for great advise and a friendly service. We have used her husbands Renzo taxi service from Bergamo airport on a number of occasions, and have found him to be friendly and efficient. If anybody is wondering about the long transfer to Livigno don't worry its well worth it. We have been going to Livigno for at least 12 years along with other resorts but we always love and want to go back to Livigno. Check out the cheap flights with Ryan air and the free lift passes before Christmas and bag yourself a bargain.

    P.S the snow is already falling...................

  • September 17, 2008
    WendyWoo from United Kingdom

    I went to Livigno in January 2007. It was the first snowboarding trip I'd ever made. I thought the place was amazingly gorgeous, I like the way it's so isolated and self sufficient. Everything is on your doorstep. The drive there was long and a bit scary at times, felt a bit of a chore.
    The snow was fab, off-piste was wonderfully fluffy! I got caught in a snow storm for half an hour which was terrifying as they closed the slopes around us, you couldn't see more than an inch in front of you- what an experience!
    About to book again!
    I stayed at La Locanda, the pub with the Simpsons on the roof (for some reason!)
    Very nice, open fire in the bar, you can quite happily sit downstairs in your pyjamas and eat a pizza and drink beer.
    My only negative is regarding the price of everything. Most people seem to be raving about low prices but I didn't think so. I paid £85 for a pair of DC's and they were the cheapest I could find, they're £55 here, branded clothing was very expensive, I bought an O'Niell sweater for £35 half price!. Drink seemed to be the same price as here, meals were a bit cheaper but only a bit.
    My advice would be don't go to shop, don't take a car - you wont need it, do eat your Weetabix first thing in the morning - you'll need it!

  • February 07, 2008
    Steve Leeds Lad from United Kingdom

    Depends on where you're staying for ski hire. I would go on the Livigno forum and put on a bit more detail, I'm sure you'll get the answers to your questions.

  • February 05, 2008
    Steve Leeds lad from United Kingdom

    Back also on the 9th Feb, after being in Livigno for the new year and can't wait.
    Don't know if people look on the Livigno Forum Trip advisor. Great tips from people who ski Livigno and local Italians who will answer questions and even ring 'round for you.Seems like a lot of people on the Livigno forum are heading out on the 9th Feb.
    Steve Leeds Lad AKA Articwarrior

  • January 30, 2008
    hannah from United Kingdom

    Lasse, buses are free around the resort. If you are staying in Teola, the Mottolino is the nearest ski area and my personal favourite, but it's easy to get around everywhere with the buses. It is about a ten minute walk to town from Teola.