Ski Italy

Corvara (Alta Badia) Resort Reviews

  • Weather Forecast for Corvara at  m altitude issued: 6 pm07 Dec 2016 (local time)  
Ski Italy

Corvara (Alta Badia) Resort Reviews

ItCorvara (Alta Badia)

Use the buttons below to tell us…

Visitor reviews for Corvara (Alta Badia) Ski Resort

  • March 30, 2016
    from United Kingdom

    Three times here and so much to explore. 2016 had a poor start with snow but the piste maintenance was superb. Did the Sella Ronda in both directions with all pistes perfect. Many mountain restaurants and good food at good prices. Corvara is very quiet; don't go for apres-ski, but go for no queues, easy access, stunning scenery and friendly service. Can't fault it and struggling to find a better place for a relaxing and adventurous ski week.

  • Corvara (Alta Badia) Ratings

    Overall: 4.3. Based on 12 votes and 10 reviews. Vote

    Access: 3.5

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Corvara (Alta Badia).

    Public Transport: 3.4

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Corvara (Alta Badia), (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.8

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.8

    (1) No places to stay in/near Corvara (Alta Badia), (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 4.2

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 4.7

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Corvara (Alta Badia).

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.6

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 4.1

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Corvara (Alta Badia), (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.5

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Corvara (Alta Badia) is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 4.6

    (1) Corvara (Alta Badia) relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.8

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Corvara (Alta Badia), (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Corvara (Alta Badia) are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 4.3

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Corvara (Alta Badia) is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 4.8

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Corvara (Alta Badia), it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.1

    (1) Corvara (Alta Badia) usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 4.3

    (1) The staff at Corvara (Alta Badia) are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Corvara (Alta Badia) are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 4.3

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.4

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.9

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.9

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Corvara (Alta Badia) has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 4.6

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 5.0

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Corvara (Alta Badia), (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 4.5

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 3.8

    (1) Not even a kicker at Corvara (Alta Badia), (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 3.5

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 4.1

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Corvara (Alta Badia), (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 2.8

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Corvara (Alta Badia) has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 4.8

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.5

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 4.1

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 3.8

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 3.5

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 4.1

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 4.8

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 4.6

    (1) Overall, Corvara (Alta Badia) is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.8

    (1) Overall, Corvara (Alta Badia) is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Show all 35 ratings

  • March 22, 2016
    from United Kingdom

    Just back from a week skiing (March 2016). I pity a bit those who skied the previous week and those this week. The previous week they had at least one white out day, which laid an excellent base. It was topped up on Tuesday night. So the best week skiing I have ever had with clear blue skies and zero clouds most days. Corvara itself has a good plateau with lots of easy blues but the real fun is the Super Dolomiti. We covered 185km slips on 110 lifts (73 different ones) including the Sellaronda, Marmolada (the highest in the area at 3,200m), Hidden Valley, Val Gardena, etc. Most days were a long way out, lunch and then looping back. And all of the runs pisted nightly so I felt like a really good skier. It did mean that the blacks were steep but not mogully. And more reds than blacks. So perfect for me, a 60 year old who first skied at 16. Loved it.

  • January 15, 2015
    from United States

    We stayed, in Corvara, at the family owned and run Hotel Posta Zirm. It was an amazing experience as the family welcomes you in to their home. Walking out the back door to the Col Alt lift was fantastic and a quick run down to Boe where you can start the epic Sellaronda ski tour.
    The village of Corvara, in Badia, is charming and not over-run by up tight skiers. The food and wine bars, in the areas, offer all of the Italian food and wine as well as the typical Tyrolean dishes. We needed to climb some hills to burn off all of the good food we ate.
    A must see destination for snow seekers with a passion for beautiful sites, culture, food, wine and the ability to take a nice spa treatment at the Hotel Posta wellness center.

  • September 29, 2013
    from South Africa

    I was surfing and found this site and thought it correct to comment.
    Corvara has brilliant scenery, is on the Sella Ronda, close to the Marmalade, and not far from Cortina.

    Piste grooming, lift queues, mountain restaurants are superb. Our hotel was better than anything I have ever had in Switzerland-and cheaper!

    Cannot recommend this spot too much; access is difficult, it's quiet at night, but worth the mission to get there!

  • December 14, 2011
    from Australia

    I skied in Corvara in season 2010 with 14 other skiers from Australia.
    We have all skied all over the world and had such a good time there we are returning for this ski season 2011/12. We found the skiing absolutely fantastic and took guides on a number of days and they took us to places we probably would not have found ourselves. We are all very competent skiers and found many challenging runs. The Selaronda ski tour both ways exceptional fun with many on ski eating areas. We also frequented La Perla restaurant in Corvara and Shria restaurant in Colfosco on a number of occasions, both worth a visit as food was good. We actually stayed in Colfosco and loved it, we are staying there again.

  • February 03, 2008
    from United Kingdom

    I have just returned from a fantastic week in this part of the Dolomites. Amazingly good quality snow, both natural and man made! One review I read suggested Corvara can be on the quiet side, however, not if you visit the Taverna at Posta Zirm in Corvara, which is well known for its apres-ski atmosphere. The hotel is good value for money - with the facility to virtually ski in and ski out! The spa facilities are the best I have experienced in the area.Great food as well!.
    Notably, Corvara is ideally situated both for the Sella Ronda ski circuit, and the 200 plus kilometres of the Alta Badia circuit. You ski from valley to valley with the benefit of fantastic panoramas from each summit. No wonder this area is well frequented by some well known Hollywood film stars in more recent years.
    It's just as well there are less hotel beds in Corvara than in similar resorts such as Selva. The village should remain as it is - rather than become another anonymous mountain ski resort. Of the 30 or so ski trips I have made since starting this sport - this is by far the best for intermediate skiers seeking both ski safaris and the odd challenging run here and there.

  • January 22, 2008
    from United Kingdom

    I have been going to Colfosco, a small village outside Corvara for the past 7 years. This does sound sad but I have skied in France, Austria and Switzerland for the previous 15 years. The French seem only to want your money. In fifteen years of skiing in France I have only one good experience. In a local bar in Italy you will always be made welcome. The first year in a local bar they even made a cake for the last night, not ideal with beer but what a gesture. Now we are welcomed back as part of the family.
    The skiing is fantastic if you like hard packed, well groomed pistes. They are looked after so well you will not have rocks coming through like my last visit to Tignes (after only two day after 500mm of snow fell.) 90% of the Dolimiti super ski area is covered by snow cannons. I skied in Selva at the new year and it had not snowed for 3 weeks but the pistes were perfect so you don`t have to worry about it snowing as long as it is cold enough. The off-piste is very limited and not so good for boarders as some blue runs are a bit flat. The best piste for me is the hidden valley at Lagazuoi; steep, flat, wide, narrow, frozen water falls and you get pulled in the last km behind a horse and sleigh. Sella Ronda in both direction are a must, at 27km it can be skied in about 3 to 4 hours. At Utia la Cruc above Pedraces you will find a church. A short walk higher than the top lift it's a fantastic place to stop for lunch. Next to the church is a very good restaurant. A day in Alpe di Siusi is a good day out it's a bit flat but at the top they have a speed radar on a special run to see how fast you can go, our record is 105.78km/hour, see if you can beat that.
    Be careful not to miss the 3.00 bus back from Sultra or you will not get back for the last Dantercepies lift back. The Marmalada is the highest at 3342m but sometimes there are queues to get up the three cable cars. It is always cold at the top and the piste is in the shade and quite steep at the top. The food is fantastic on the mountain and in the village there are tens of restaurants. The black hill fpr pissa`s Peter`s stude for meat and local dishes and there are some a` la carte restaurants as well. The local wine is very good and not expensive.
    The lift system is second to none. Every year one or two lifts are built or upgraded. You can go 'round the Sella Ronda without going on one drag lift.
    Don`t fly to Innsbruck, fly to Bolzano, only 38 km away. Colfosco has an apres-ski bar 1 km up the mountain. It's open until 8pm which sound early but you try skiing down after four hours of beer and grappa. The piste is now floodlit but if you can`t manage that because of wobbly legs you can get a lift down on the back of a skido.
    There are no English tour companies that go to Colfosco so if you like to see and hear lots of English on your holiday it's not the place for you. Colfosco is the best kept secret in skiing. But now you know about it don`t go there it's rubbish.

  • December 01, 2007
    from United Kingdom

    Corvara is one of the best ski places I've ever stayed. A well kept secret by the Italians, it boasts tree lined runes and snow coverage if you go with in the ski season. Plenty of mountain restaurants with excellent food for people who just like a hot chocolate and chicken and chips at lunch. We stayed in the hotel La Perla in Corvara, right up against the slope for ski in-ski out convenience.
    My only problem is that the village doesn't have a village atmosphere, but for me this wasn't a huge problem since I was either on the slopes or in the pool back at the hotel.

  • January 02, 2005
    from Croatia

    The No.1 resort in Italy for sure. Sella Ronda tour provides best skiing for all categories of skiers, but is sometimes too difficult for begginers. Great 'to the front door skiing' in Colfosco (2 km from Corvara). Just one problem. Too much road crossing on slopes of Sella and great amount of time spent on lifts. Marmolada is extremely icy and I reccomend it to experts only!

  • December 29, 2004
    from Croatia

    It is the best village in the whole Sella Ronda area. The skiiers can enter the Sella Ronda in both directions from Corvara, so within an hour of two of skiing you can reach Arraba, Val Gardena or even Marmolada. The other day you can go in direction of Alta Badia and ski towards La Villa and San Cassiano which is a better area for beginners and intermediate skiers. If there is enough snow make sure to reserve one day to go to Armentarola (Paso Lagazuoi) which is the longest and the most beautiful piste in Dolomites, as well as one day for Marmolada tour (you must visit the 1st world war museum on the top of the Marmolada cable car). Corvara as a village is a bit more luxurious than the rest of the places around Sella Ronda massif, but the hotels are definitely worth the price. I would not recommend the area to snowboarders because the resort gives the most to the skiers who are fond of ski-safari (meaning spending quite a lot of time on lifts)and skiing every day on different piste.