As Ski en Australia

Il y a environ 20 stations de ski en Australie, un peu moins de la moitié d'entre elles sont commerciales, le reste sont des domaines communautaires dirigés par des amateurs et généralement bénévoles.

La plupart des domaines skiables d'Australie sont situés dans les régions du New South Wales et du Victoria, qui abritent les plus hauts sommets du pays, ainsi que la plupart de sa population. Il y a aussi cependant deux petites stations de ski sur l'île méridionale de Tasmanie.

De lourds investissements ont été faits dans le développement des plus grandes stations ces dernières années, en particulier Perisher, qui se déclare elle-même comme étant le plus grand domaine skiable de l'hémisphère sud (en termes de terrains damés et le nombre de remontées mécaniques), mais aussi dans des stations comme Falls Creek, Mont Hotham et Mount Buller. Ainsi, lorsque vous skiez en Australie, vous trouverez tous les derniers équipements sur les pistes. Bien que typiquement australiennes, les stations de ski suivent généralement le modèle nord-américain de complexe autonome avec des systèmes de remontées mécaniques modernes, toutes commodités sur place et la possibilité de copropriété, la plupart des propriétés appartenant à une seule entreprise.

La couverture de neige peut être un problème dans les zones de ski australiennes mais, comme dans d'autres pays où le froid n'est pas garanti pour tout l'hiver, beaucoup de stratégies d'adaptation ont été développées pour assurer l'enneigement, même en «période adverse», notamment le "snow farming", création de nuages ​​et canons à neige traditionnels. L'une des stations reçut même une distinction pour son système de recyclage des «eaux usées» transformées en neige après purification. En fait, les stations australiennes ont généralement de relativement bonnes chutes de neige de mai à septembre.

Les stations de ski australiennes ont défrayé la chronique nationale ces dernières années pour une raison que les stations ne sont pas tellement désireuses de promouvoir : les forfaits sont les plus chers du monde, dépassant parfois ceux des les stations les plus hautes d'Amérique du Nord. Ceci est partiellement dû aux coûts d'exploitation élevés des stations en Australie mais plus vraisemblablement provoqué par la montée inexorable de la valeur du dollar australien face aux autres devises (au moins au moment de la rédaction!).

Bien que l'Australie soit l'une des plus récentes grandes nations du ski au monde, le ski en Australie est aussi vieux que le sport lui-même, grâce aux immigrants du XIXe siècle, apportant le ski en Australie avec eux.

En effet l'Australie a récemment célébré ses 150 années de ski - plus que la plupart des autres pays - grâce au Club Kiandra Snowshoe en Australie, qui revendique le titre commun de "plus vieux club du monde de ski" avec un concurrent norvégien.

Le titre peut être un peu académique, car les membres fondateurs du Club Kiandra Snowshoe sont probablement des immigrants norvégiens de toute façon, puisque c'est à eux qu'est attribuée l'introduction du ski en Australie en 1861 durant la ruée vers l'or. Depuis lors les Australiens, avec les Néo-Zélandais, ont réexporté leurs talents du ski dans le monde entier. Il est rare de trouver une école de ski dans les stations au top mondial qui n'emploie pas au moins un enseignant de ski des antipodes.

Plus récemment, le premier centre de ski intérieur au monde (vraisemblablement), Mont Thebarton, ouvrit en Australie en 1987 mais ferma 20 ans plus tard et les tentatives ultérieures de retour au ski intérieur en Australie n'ont pas encore abouti au succès. Cependant, plusieurs des pionniers mondiaux des entreprises manufacturières de "neige à l'intérieur» viennent également d'Australie.

La plupart des stations offrent un bon mélange d'hébergement, d'économique à luxueux. On y fait du ski quand 98% des stations du monde sont fermées par "manque de neige" dans les mois d'été de l'hémisphère nord, mais il faut être prêt pour un long périple afin d'atteindre la plupart des stations de ski car peu de stations sont proches des grandes agglomérations. Cependant, de plus en plus de liens aériens depuis Melbourne et Sydney ont raccourci le voyage.
Lire la suite...

Australia: résumé des dernières conditions de neige

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in Australia. Fresh snow is forecast at 0resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

Toutes stations

Ski resorts of Australia, alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Station de Ski Webcam Top
Profondeur de neige
en haut et en bas
Good piste
En piste
Powder
Hors-Piste
Fresh snow depth
Dernière neige
Fresh snow depth
prochains 9 jours
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
neige (cm)
Weather Prévision météo des 5 prochains jours
Niveau de gel (m)
Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat

(1448m — 1573m)

snow report hier

Ben Lomond webcam
60
55

Good

Varied
1 cm
il y a 4 jours
Overcast skies // 21 Aug
16
8
2
Milieu de station 1510 m
1500m 1500m 1150m 1600m 900m

(253m — 1167m)

Milieu de station 710 m
2100m 1850m 2100m 1800m 2100m

(1760m — 1954m)

snow report hier

Charlotte Pass webcam
164
50
Packed il y a 3 jours
1
4
Milieu de station 1857 m
2100m 2100m 1550m 1650m 1350m

(1506m — 1521m)

Dinner Plain webcam
4
4
Milieu de station 1514 m
2050m 1950m 1400m 1700m 1100m

(1600m — 1780m)

snow report hier

Falls Creek webcam
159
152
Packed
Varied
5 cm
il y a 3 jours
4
3
Milieu de station 1690 m
2100m 1950m 1500m 1650m 1100m

(1430m — 1520m)

Lake Mountain webcam
7
4
1
Milieu de station 1475 m
1950m 1800m 1200m 1450m 1000m

(1450m — 1560m)

snow report hier

35
35

Good

Varied
10 cm
il y a 2 jours
7
7
1
Milieu de station 1505 m
1950m 1800m 1200m 1450m 1100m

(1487m — 1662m)

4
Milieu de station 1574 m
2100m 1950m 1600m 1650m 1200m

(1390m — 1790m)

snow report hier

Mount Buller webcam
136
99
Packed
Varied
14 cm
il y a 2 jours
Overcast skies // 21 Aug
4
1
Milieu de station 1590 m
2000m 1850m 1300m 1600m 1000m

(1454m — 1850m)

snow report hier

Mount Hotham webcam
172
144

Excellent

Varied
10 cm
il y a 3 jours
4
2
Milieu de station 1652 m
2100m 1950m 1450m 1650m 1100m

(1219m — 1250m)

snow report il y a 4 jours

×
Closed
×
Not Enough Snow
2 cm
il y a 4 jours
7
3
Milieu de station 1234 m
1950m 1750m 1200m 1350m 1050m

(1230m — 1300m)

18
12
10
Milieu de station 1265 m
1550m 1300m 1000m 1400m 750m

(427m — 457m)

Milieu de station 442 m
1950m 1850m 1200m 1450m 1100m

(1719m — 1749m)

4
1
Milieu de station 1734 m
2050m 1850m 1350m 1600m 1000m

(1700m — 2034m)

snow report hier

Perisher webcam
179
22

Excellent

Varied
15 cm
il y a 3 jours
1
4
Milieu de station 1867 m
2100m 2150m 1600m 1650m 1400m

(1400m — 1520m)

snow report hier

20
120

Excellent

Varied
40 cm
il y a 3 jours
Milieu de station 1460 m
2100m 2100m 1700m 1700m 1500m

(1365m — 2037m)

snow report hier

Thredbo webcam
140
60

Excellent
Packed
hier
1
5
Milieu de station 1701 m
2100m 2100m 1550m 1650m 1350m

As Ski Australia

There are around 20 Australian ski resorts, a little under half of these are commercial ski centres, the remainder are club fields run by enthusiasts and generally volunteers.

Most of Australia's ski areas are located in New South Wales and Victoria, home to the country's highest peaks, as well as most of its population. There are two small ski centres on the southern island of Tasmania too however.

There has been heavy investment in resort development in recent years at the largest resorts, particularly Perisher, which measures itself as the largest ski area in the southern hemisphere (in terms of groomed terrain and number of lifts) but also at resorts including Falls Creek, Mount Hotham and Mount Buller.

So when you ski Australia you’ll find all the latest equipment on the slopes. Although uniquely Australian, the ski resorts typically follow the North American model of self-contained complexes with modern lift systems, all amenities on site and the opportunity for condominium ownership, most of them owned by a single company.

Snow cover can be an issue at Australian ski areas but, as in other countries where cold weather is not guaranteed through the winter, lots of coping strategies have been developed to ensure there is some snow even in the ‘bad times’ including snow farming, cloud seeding and traditional snow making. One resort has won awards for recycling ‘waste water’ in to snow after purification. And in fact Australian resorts typically have relatively good snowfall records from May to September.

Australian ski centres have hit media headlines in the country in recent years for a reason the centres are not so keen to promote – lift ticket prices have topped the world tables, sometimes overtaking the usual highest resorts in North America, as the most expensive anywhere. This is partly due to the high operating costs for resorts in Australia but more caused by the inexorable rise in value of the Australian dollar against other currencies (at least at the time of writing!)

Although Australia is one of the world’s newest major nations, skiing in Australia is as old as the sport itself anywhere in the world, thanks to immigrants bringing skiing to Australia with them in the nineteenth century.

Indeed Australia recently celebrated 150 years iof skiing – longer than most other countries – thanks to The Kiandra Snowshoe Club in Australia which lays joint claim to the title "world's oldest ski club" with a Norwegian contender.

The title may be a little academic, as the Kiandra Snowshoe Club's founder members were probably Norwegian immigrants anyway, as it is they who are credited with bringing skiing to Australia in 1861 during the gold rush. Since then Australians, along with New Zealanders, have re-exported their skiing talents world-wide, it's a rare ski school in the world's top resorts hat doesn't employ at least one antipodean ski teacher.

In more recent times the world's first indoor snowdome (arguably), Mount TheBarton, opened in Australia in 1987 although it closed after 20 years and subsequent attempts to bring indoor snow back to Australia are yet to prove successful. However several of the world's pioneering 'indoor snow' manufacturing businesses are also Australian.

Most resorts offer a good mix of accommodation from basic to high calibre. There's skiing here when 98% of the world's resorts are shut down through "lack of snow" in the northern hemisphere’s summer months but it can be a long trek to most of the resorts with few ski centres near major population centres. However increasingly good flight links from Melbourne and Sydney have shortened the trip.
read more...

Australia: latest snow conditions round-up

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in Australia. Fresh snow is forecast at 0resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

All resorts

Ski resorts of Australia, alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Resort Webcam Top
snow depth
top and bottom
Good piste
on-piste
Powder
off-piste
Fresh snow depth
last snow
Fresh snow depth
next 9 days
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
snow (cm)
Weather Next 5 days weather forecast.
Freezing level (m)
Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

(1448m — 1573m)

Ben Lomond webcam
1
clear
clear
partly cloudy
thunderstorm
clear
Mid station 1510 m
3950m 4000m 4000m 4350m 4700m

(253m — 1167m)

clear
clear
clear
clear
partly cloudy
Mid station 710 m
4350m 4250m 4300m 4300m 3950m

(1760m — 1954m)

Charlotte Pass webcam
opens in 144 days
partly cloudy
rain showers
thunderstorm
thunderstorm
thunderstorm
Mid station 1857 m
4350m 4400m 4550m 4700m 4650m

(1506m — 1521m)

Dinner Plain webcam
partly cloudy
light rain
rain showers
thunderstorm
clear
Mid station 1514 m
4350m 4350m 4500m 4700m 4750m

(1600m — 1780m)

Falls Creek webcam
opens in 137 days
partly cloudy
rain showers
partly cloudy
thunderstorm
thunderstorm
Mid station 1690 m
4300m 4350m 4500m 4700m 4700m

(1430m — 1520m)

Lake Mountain webcam
clear
partly cloudy
thunderstorm
partly cloudy
clear
Mid station 1475 m
4250m 4300m 4500m 4650m 4800m

(1450m — 1560m)

opens in 137 days
partly cloudy
thunderstorm
thunderstorm
clear
clear
Mid station 1505 m
4300m 4250m 4400m 4650m 4750m

(1487m — 1662m)

partly cloudy
clear
partly cloudy
clear
clear
Mid station 1574 m
4300m 4400m 4550m 4700m 4700m

(1390m — 1790m)

Mount Buller webcam
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
light rain
partly cloudy
clear
Mid station 1590 m
4300m 4350m 4550m 4650m 4750m

(1454m — 1850m)

Mount Hotham webcam
opens in 137 days
partly cloudy
rain showers
partly cloudy
thunderstorm
clear
Mid station 1652 m
4300m 4350m 4500m 4650m 4750m

(1219m — 1250m)

clear
clear
thunderstorm
partly cloudy
clear
Mid station 1234 m
4300m 4250m 4450m 4600m 4750m

(1230m — 1300m)

clear
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
clear
clear
Mid station 1265 m
3650m 3650m 3900m 4300m 4500m

(427m — 457m)

partly cloudy
thunderstorm
thunderstorm
clear
clear
Mid station 442 m
4300m 4250m 4400m 4650m 4750m

(1719m — 1749m)

partly cloudy
partly cloudy
light rain
partly cloudy
clear
Mid station 1734 m
4300m 4350m 4550m 4650m 4750m

(1700m — 2034m)

Perisher webcam
opens in 123 days
partly cloudy
rain showers
thunderstorm
thunderstorm
thunderstorm
Mid station 1867 m
4350m 4400m 4550m 4700m 4650m

(1400m — 1520m)

opens in 137 days
light rain
rain showers
thunderstorm
thunderstorm
thunderstorm
Mid station 1460 m
4350m 4450m 4550m 4700m 4650m

(1365m — 2037m)

Thredbo webcam
opens in 130 days
partly cloudy
rain showers
rain showers
partly cloudy
rain showers
Mid station 1701 m
4350m 4400m 4550m 4700m 4650m