Катание в Australia - Victoria

Обзоры Mount Buffalo

Катание в Australia - Victoria

Обзоры Mount Buffalo

Отзывы посетителей о Mount Buffalo

Mount Buffalo Ratings

Общий рейтинг: 3.0. Основано на 1 голосе и 4 отзывах. Проголосовать

Доступ: 4.0

(1) По меньшей мере одна ночевка в пути, (2) дорога требует целый день, (3) требует больше, чем полдня, но можно успеть немного покататься, (4) прибываете в обед и катаетесь всю вторую половину, (5) крупный аэропорт в пределах часа езды от Mount Buffalo

Транспорт: 1.0

(1) Нет ни автобусов, ни такси, доставляющих в Mount Buffalo, (3) автобусы / поезда есть, но ходят медленно или редко, (5) добраться до курорта легко за счет регулярных поездов или автобусов.

Ландшафт: 4.0

(1) Некрасивые здания горнолыжного курорта в унылом ландшафте, (3) типичные горные виды, типичный курорт, (5) зрелищное место расположения и красивейший / исторический населенный пункт.

Жилье: 2.0

(1) Остановиться в или около Mount Buffalo негде, (3) есть несколько мест, где можно поселиться в курорте, (5) широкое разнообразие жилья на любые запросы.

Дешевые комнаты: 1.0

(1) Дешево остановиться негде, (3) есть всего один или два хостела, так что резервируйте места заранее, (5) несколько дешевых хостелов и пансионатов

Роскошные отели: 1.0

(1) Жилья в премиум-сегменте не предоставляется совсем, (3) есть только один или два фешенебельных отеля, так что бронируйте апартаменты задолго, (5) несколько отелей высокого класса в Mount Buffalo.

Жилье на склоне: 1.0

(1) Места катания расположены от мест, где можно поселиться, (3) бесплатный автобус быстро доставит вас до мест катания, (5) можно поселиться прямо на склоне и въезжать / выезжать прямо на лыжах.

Уход за детьми: 1.0

(1) В Mount Buffalo нет мест, где бы позаботились о детях, (5) курорт имеет отличные заведения заботы о детях, включая как минимум одни доступные по цене ясли.

Надежность: 4.0

(1) Лишь временами получает достаточно снега для катания, (2) часто закрыт из-за нехватки снега, (3) временами страдает нехваткой снега, (4) редко испытывает нехватку снега, (5) Mount Buffalo надежно обеспечен снегом даже в худшие сезоны.

Искусственный снег: 1.0

(1) Mount Buffalo полагается только на естественные снегопады, (3) есть всего несколько снежных пушек, (5) оборудование для приготовления искусственного снега установлено на всех трассах.

Уход за трассами: 3.0

(1) В Mount Buffalo за снегом не ухаживают, (3) временами часть трассы оставляют неухоженными и в плохом состоянии, (5) все маршруты в Mount Buffalo ежедневно обрабатывают.

Защита от ветра: 5.0

(1) В ветренную погоду или плохую видимость кататься негде, подъемники при этом часто закрывают, (3) есть сколько-то деревьев, которые помогают ориентироваться и защищают от ветра, но подъемники временами закрываются, (5) Mount Buffalo расположен по большей части в лесу, где можно кататься при рассеянном свете и при ветре, подъемники закрываются редко.

Варианты рядом: 3.0

(1) Если состояние снега неудовлетворительное в Mount Buffalo, то и везде в округе будет плохо, (3) есть хорошие альтернативы в часе езды, (5) другие курорты, доступные по тому же ски-пассу, открывают доступ к разнообразию склонов, где можно с надежностью найти хороший снег.

Рейтинг в регионе: 2.0

(1) Состояние снега в Mount Buffalo обычно хуже, чем в других курортах того же региона, (3) типичные условия, характерные для всего региона, (5) в этом курорте обычно наилучшие условия со снегом из всего региона.

Персонал подъемника: 4.0

(1) Работники курорта Mount Buffalo грубы и безучастны, (5) коллектив Mount Buffalo приятны в общении, дружелюбны и всегда идут на помощь.

Толпы/очереди: 3.0

(1) курорт всегда наполнен людьми и, как правило, к подъемнику ведут длинные очереди, (3) это тихое место, за исключением выходных и каникул, (5) тут не людно, очереди на подъемник крайне редки

Обучение: 2.0

(1) Нет горнолыжных школ, (2) есть одна или две школы, но только на местном языке, (4) несколько школ, но договаривайтесь заранее, чтобы попасть к многоязычному инструктору, (4) множество школ и многоязычных инструкторов, (5) отличные горнолыжные школы и дружелюбные инструкторы, говорящие на разных языках.

Снаряжение и ремонт: 1.0

(1) Ничего не найти, даже лыжную мазь или свечки для ремонта скользяка. (3) Есть какие-то горнолыжные магазины, но арендовать снаряжение надо заранее. (5) Высококачественное горнолыжное снаряжение можно купить или взять в прокат, предоставляется услуга ремонта снаряжения за ночь.

Разнообразие: 5.0

(1) Горнолыжные спуски однообразные и не запоминающиеся, (3) трассы разнообразны, но недостаточно длинны, чтобы не надоесть за неделю, (5) Mount Buffalo имеет разнообразные и интересные трассы, включая леса и высокогорные ландшафты.

Для начинающих: 3.0

(1) Новички могут только смотреть, как катаются остальные, (3) есть несколько пологих спусков, но новичкам катание наскучит раньше, чем за неделю, (5) Обширные пространства пологого рельефа.

Средний уровень: 4.0

(1) Нет склонов для среднего уровеня подготовки в Mount Buffalo, (3) катающиеся на среднем уровне потеряют интерес за несколько дней, (5) обширные зоны катания, подходящие для типичного лыжника/сноубордиста.

Внетрассовое катание: 5.0

(1) Кататься вне трасс совсем негде, (2) катание вне трасс официально запрещено, (3) немного внетрассовых зон среднего качества, где снег раскатывают за пару дней после выпадения, (5) обширные зоны внетрассовых маршрутов, которые остаются нераскатанными несколько дней.

Кросс-кантри: 5.0

(1) Кросс-кантри катание вокруг Mount Buffalo отсутствует, (3) есть несколько маршрутов для кросс-кантри, (5) район курорта отличается множеством красивых и хорошо ухоженных маршрутов

Сани/тобоганы: 4.0

(1) Нет склонов для катания на санях и тобоганах, (3) Есть санные трассы, которые обычно открыты, (5) Mount Buffalo имеет протяженные и хорошо ухоженные трассы для катания на санях или тобоганах в любом возрасте.

Кафе на склоне: 2.0

(1) В зоне катания негде купить еду, (3) есть некоторые места, где можно перекусить, не покидая склона, но они обычно переполнены и недешевы, (5) есть разнообразные кафе на любой бюджет прямо у склона.

Поесть: 2.0

(1) Везите продукты с собой – тут нет даже магазина. (5) Разнообразие гастрономических и питейных заведений, от фаст-фуда и до изысканных ресторанов.

После катания: 1.0

(1) Нет ничего, даже нет бара, (3) есть несколько баров в курорте, но ничего особенного, (5) клубы и бары открыты допоздна, и в них позитивная атмосфера.

Развлечения: 5.0

(1) Кроме катания и прогулок, делать тут нечего, (3) не катающиеся компаньоны найдут, чем развлечься на несколько дней, но через неделю место им наскучит, (5) район курорта – само по себе восхитительное место для визита, вне зависимости от зимних видов спорта.

Прогулки: 5.0

(1) Минимальные возможности для пеших прогулок, нет маршрутов для снегоступов, (3) есть пара обозначенных живописных пеших трасс и маршрутов для снегоступов, (5) обширные и разнообразные зимние пешие маршруты на любой уровень подготовки.

Цена/качество в регионе: 4.0

(1) В целом, Mount Buffalo – один из самых дорогих горнолыжных курортов в стране и не стоит своих денег, (3) отношение цены к качеству типичное (5) наиболее выгодный вариант в стране.

Цена/качество глобально: 4.0

(1) В целом, Mount Buffalo – один из самых дорогих горнолыжных курортов во всем мире, (3) отношение цены к качеству типичное в сравнение с другими странами (5) курорт предлагает отличное отношение цены к качеству по мировым меркам.

Еще 4 отзыв(ов) на других языках

Ski Australia - Victoria

Mount Buffalo Resort Reviews

Ski Australia - Victoria

Mount Buffalo Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Mount Buffalo Ski Resort

  • August 08, 2018
    from Australia

    Mount Buffalo Snow Season 2018
    Mount Buffalo has some of the best and most accessible snow in Victoria and it’s free as there are no resort fees to enter the park. Located only a 45 minute drive from Porepunkah and Bright, Mount Buffalo is “North East Victoria’s Winter Wonderland” and has extensive areas of snow at both Dingo Dell and Cresta Valley for snow play and tobogganing, cross country skiing or simply enjoying the amazing views.

    There is a warm and friendly café and day shelter at Dingo Dell where the Mount Buffalo Ski School is based and where there is excellent tobogganing for children and families. The ski school has a range of affordable snow clothes for those that might have forgotten winter warmers and also has toboggans for hire.

    Cresta Valley has extensive areas available for tobogganing as some of the old ski runs are now available to use for snow play and Cresta is also the hub for cross country skiers to access the groomed Cresta Beginners trail, Bogong Loop and Horn Road ski trails. There are also the longer ungroomed four and six kilometre trails (accessed off the Bogong Loop) and the Lyrebird Plain back country trail from the Horn Road. There is no café at Cresta Valley but there are portable toilets and a small day shelter (unheated). Take your winter woollies and wet weather gear.

    There is plenty of parking at both Dingo Dell and Cresta

    Other backcountry ski trails include the longer reservoir road trail. While the Mount McLeod and Rocky Creek ski trails take you further out backcountry. Mount Buffalo Ski School offer daily cross-country ski lessons at Dingo Dell plus half and full day ski tours.

    The mountain has snowshoe trails (and snow shoes for hire at the Ski School Shop) plus amazing snow hikes to the top of the Hump and the lookout at Dingo Dell. Mount Buffalo Ski School also run regular snowshoe rambles each Wednesday and Saturday afternoon at 2.30.

    The gorge precinct with its amazing views of the valleys below and the Alps is well worth a visit and the historical Mount Buffalo Chalet covered with snow is a great photo opportunity.

    Snow camping is available at Lake Catani and Mt McLeod camping areas

    While there are no ski lifts at Mount Buffalo (the old resort having burnt down in 2006) there are still areas at Cresta Valley where you can back country style alpine ski or snowboard by simply hiking uphill with your skis or board and then traveling back down the old ski runs and of course it is free!

  • Mount Buffalo Ratings

    Overall: 3.0. Based on 1 vote and 4 reviews. Vote

    Access: 4.0

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Mount Buffalo.

    Public Transport: 1.0

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Mount Buffalo, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.0

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 2.0

    (1) No places to stay in/near Mount Buffalo, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 1.0

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 1.0

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Mount Buffalo.

    Ski in/Ski out: 1.0

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 1.0

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Mount Buffalo, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.0

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Mount Buffalo is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 1.0

    (1) Mount Buffalo relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 3.0

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Mount Buffalo, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Mount Buffalo are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 5.0

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Mount Buffalo is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 3.0

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Mount Buffalo, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 2.0

    (1) Mount Buffalo usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 4.0

    (1) The staff at Mount Buffalo are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Mount Buffalo are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 3.0

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 2.0

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 1.0

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 5.0

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Mount Buffalo has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 3.0

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.0

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Mount Buffalo, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Off-piste: 5.0

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 5.0

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Mount Buffalo, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 4.0

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Mount Buffalo has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 2.0

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 2.0

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 1.0

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Entertainment: 5.0

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 5.0

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Value (National): 4.0

    (1) Overall, Mount Buffalo is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.0

    (1) Overall, Mount Buffalo is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Show all 31 ratings

  • August 21, 2015
    from Australia

    We are in the process of working to reopen the Cresta ski lifts at Mt Buffalo as some of the most affordable skiing in Australia. Please check out our facebook page, "Mt Buffalo Snow Resort" or our website mtbuffalo.com for more detailed information. The more support we get from the wider community, the more likely it is to happen.

  • July 12, 2015
    from Australia

    A correction: the Mt Buffalo Chalet did not burn down in 2014, it is closed but has received a grant from government for restoration. A fire burned parts of the summit and destroyed some of the ski facilities at Cresta. There is no downhill skiing from the summit now. Trails still exist. The degree to which they are groomed is unknown. Mt Buffalo is popular with sight-seers, campers, climbers and walkers.

    [note from the editor: some alterations to make sentences.]

  • July 07, 2014
    from Australia

    It burnt down. There is no lifts. That picture is ancient. You can cross country ski on some groomed trails and toboggan at two locations. There is a small cafe at Dingo Dell only. The chalet has closed too. Free entry to mountain and great for family with small kids.

    [note from the editor : thank you for providing updated information on this ski area.]