• Icon snowing  color

Visitor reviews for Cerro Catedral Ski Resort

Cerro Catedral Ratings

Overall: 3.5. Based on 161 votes and 264 reviews. Vote

Snowsure: 3.1

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Cerro Catedral is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Variety of pistes: 4.1

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Cerro Catedral has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Off-piste: 3.5

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Scenery: 4.6

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Access: 4.6

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Cerro Catedral.

Public Transport: 3.6

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Cerro Catedral, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Accommodation: 4.2

(1) No places to stay in/near Cerro Catedral, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 3.6

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 4.0

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Cerro Catedral.

Ski in/Ski out: 3.5

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 3.8

(1) There are no child care facilities at Cerro Catedral, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowmaking: 2.4

(1) Cerro Catedral relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 3.4

(1) There are no snow groomers at Cerro Catedral, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Cerro Catedral are groomed daily.

Shelter: 2.7

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Cerro Catedral is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 2.3

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Cerro Catedral, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 3.4

(1) Cerro Catedral usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 3.6

(1) The staff at Cerro Catedral are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Cerro Catedral are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 2.7

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.2

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.2

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Beginners: 3.4

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.3

(1) No intermediate terrain at Cerro Catedral, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 4.2

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 2.9

(1) Not even a kicker at Cerro Catedral, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Cross-country: 2.9

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Cerro Catedral, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 2.4

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Cerro Catedral has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 3.8

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 3.9

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 3.8

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 2.7

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 3.7

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 3.0

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 2.8

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 3.0

(1) Overall, Cerro Catedral is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 2.7

(1) Overall, Cerro Catedral is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

September 08, 2009
Carlo from Ski Italy Italy
I was at Cerro Catedral for the 22nd and 23rd of August and the weather was terrible. Guys living there told me 2009 winter is being the worst ever. As I could test, it was almost unlikable. Most of the slopes were closed and the snow was in really bad condition. The weather was rainy. The only good thing was the view of the lakes: very suggestive. Anyway, slopes are quite narrow and crowded, ski level low (maybe dangerous if someone hits you), chair lifts quite old, and Cerro Catedral is also expensive.
September 04, 2009
Wilson from Ski Venezuela Venezuela
Come to Cerro Catedral. You will ski in the worst resort of the world.
September 04, 2009
Antonio from Ski Venezuela Venezuela
After this bad experience with the Cerro Catedral, I am upset with the owners of this resort. My first day (Sunday) was really disappointing as I was early on top of mountain and I found all the slopes without grooming. A snow machine was working at 10.30 am on the only slope opened. I'm an intermediate skier and it was really hard for me to ski down with the deep snow of the mountain. When I tried to climb up again from the lift at the bottom, the queue was the biggest I've seen in my life. I waited two hours and an half for a seat on the Sextuple. The rest of the week was no much better. Capsa is a complete disaster by every point of view: very old lifts with a lot of mechanical problems (always there is one of two closed for some technical problem), big queues if you are not with a instructor, horrible grooming on the slopes, no signalization of the connections of the different parts of the mountain, information staff employed that didn't have idea of the situation of the mountain, rocks everywhere (I broke my new skies) and a parking situation that is unbelievable. This is the kingdom of 'no service' and the prices are really expensive (Usa and Europe are much cheaper than Bariloche). These peoples are thieves.
September 04, 2009
Nico from Ski Argentina Argentina
I was in Bariloche during last week (23rd - 30th August) and I was really unlucky due to the bad weather conditions. All week there was heavy rain, strong wind and some snowstorms. However, the situation on the mountain and on the lifts was unbelievable. Every day there was no information on which chair lift would be opened, never a slope groomed after the snowfalls, continuous opening and closing of the lift in the same weather conditions and there were big stones in the middle of every slope. I don't really want to write about the parking as there was completely no organization. If you don't pay and you go in the free parking part you could be closed by other cars until the night. My last day was the only one with good weather but almost all lifts were closed until 12.30. This meant two hours of standing in a queue at Sextuple or Condor. Nothing was groomed after the big snowfall and the company don't inform the customers. Obviously, the pass is full prize like a top level resort but we are light years from a decent level ski resort.
August 30, 2009
Alejandra from Ski Argentina Argentina
Cerro Catedral is simply the worst ski resort of all the world. Nothing else.....
August 29, 2009
Chris from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
After living in Bariloche for 15 months and spending two full seasons snowboarding at Cerro Catedral I felt the need to share my thoughts with you. In short, although I love Argentina, unfortunately the resort is a disgrace and a national embaressment for the whole country. Put simply, it is the worst organised ski resort in the world with the blame being put on the company that run the mountain: Alta Patagonia, in addition, the local/national government that let them get away with it. Why on earth is there no accountability for this debacle when it is so important for the region? Many locals depend on the mountain for work and they are suffering as people start to turn there backs on it and go else where. Highlights of Cerro Catedral for me include: Splitting the carpark in two and charging 25 pesos to park nearer the resort. Because there is an almost non-existent bus service from Bariloche centre the only real option is to drive and by midday the 'free' half of the car park is full and people start parking everywhere and anywhere trying to avoid paying the 25 pesos, thus blocking the road for coaches to leave causing complete chaos at the end of the day. This could be solved immediately by putting on a free regular bus service to and from the centre for anyone with a lift pass. Why don't they do it? 'The slowest lift systems in the world'. Some lifts like Sextuple and Nubes are designed to run quickly but they always run them at half pace to save power. When there is any wind every 2nd lift on the Sextuple gets filled with concrete because the wind shields make them dangerous in the wind. Did nobody realise Bariloche is a windy place before buying them? On others like Condor 1 every 4th lift has to go free because apparently it will collapse with the weight. Es una porqueria (it's a joke). Absolutely no information about anything. Why are there not boards showing the status of all the lifts? When you eventually find a staff member to ask, the information is useless and there is never an explanation. Often rude staff as well. Queuing for hours to buy a lift pass. On a clear day after a snowfall why is there only a handful of desks open, and never open on time? No pisting. The lovely sight of seeing the lights of the CATs work through the night preparing the pistes doesn't exist here at Cerro Catedral. After a heavy snowfall it can take days to prepare the pistes, and even when they do they are the worst pisted runs you could imagine, leaving deep ridges for you to catch an edge on. It is simply a question of them not wanting to spend money on this. Dangerous rocks. I don't think it takes a rocket scientist to know that leaving un-marked rocks in the middle of the piste could be a hazard. Why don't they spend the summer months removing some of the obvious rocks? Terrible sign posts. It is almost impossible to navigate your way around the mountain. Why don't they label the runs on the piste markers? Steep drop offs. As a boarder the last thing you want is steep icy drop offs from the lifts with often immediate sharp turns to the left or right. Why don't they spend the summer sorting them out? Boarders can't use T-bars. Why not - please explain? Most of the mountain is always closed often for no apparent reason. Too much snow and avalanche risk is not a reason. Other resorts cope with way more snow but have staff who get out of bed early to prepare the mountain before the paying public arrive. However, to end on a real high note, the view from the top of Nubes on a clear day at Cerro Catedral is in my opinion unrivaled in any other ski resort in the world. You just have to be lucky enough to be there on the few days of the year when they open the lift
August 25, 2009
Diego aka DT from Ski Argentina Argentina
Just got back from our yearly ski week with 15 snow gladiators. We were in the mountain at Cerro Catedral from Aug 16th to Aug 22nd. Luckily, 3 days before we arrived the big fall of snow came. So, we were lucky enough to have snow to ski. This was my 2nd year in the Cerro Catedral and, from the way I see it, it is like other people are saying; it seems like the Cerro Catedral management are doing things badly on purpose. The landscape is awesome, but the pistes are badly or never groomed. That forces you to ski in deep snow and if you are not a good skier, you know what that means; you are gonna be tired soon. We were lucky enough to have gained some experience from last year and to know the directions of the slopes and the lifts, because if you are a 'newbie' to Cerro Catedral, no matter your ski experience, you are not gonna have a good time. It is clear that the management of the resort are running it with 20-30% of the people and investment they are supposed to do it. On the other hand, they charge like it's a 1st level ski resort. If you have a problem with your pass card or anything like it, you have to go back to base and fight the administration staff to have the problem solved. Lifts are old tech from USA and Europe centers, but in the week we were there, they worked fine. The courses and hazards are barely marked. Course signs, lift status and other important data required to have a safe day are in the guesstimated mode. This year the mountain was dangerous and I managed to ski well only because I was here last year too. One day we were warned that the workers were gonna do a strike against the management and the lifts (already paid for) were not gonna run. Luckily, it rained that day and we stood in our cabin playing poker and recovering our sore legs. Long story short: Cerro Catedral has a great mountain with good people doing their job in the lifts but there is bad management and bad admin. The groomed slopes, after a heavy snow, take forever. That makes the slopes dangerous and with lots of powder snow, they are only friendly or fun to an intermediate or pro level skier. Been here last year and this one. Maybe it is time to give the other smaller centers like Las Leñas or Chapelco a try. Bariloche is a great city, with lot of alternatives to have a great vacation. A beautiful mountain to ski but with bad and expensive management. Hope these words help you . Best regards to all of you over the world. C' ya in the slopes, Diego.
August 20, 2009
A Joke from Ski Australia Australia
I have been back home in Australia for a few days now and I am still trying to come to grips with my 8 days in Cerro Catadral. What is going on with this place? It has epic views of the lake from the mountain, the town (Bariloche) is stunning the local people are friendly the food is awesome but the lifts don't go. It is so frustrating to stand in lines for lifts (our record was one hour for Condor 1) and then have the lift close, then head over the Sextuplet, wait forty minutes to go up to find no lifts open above anyway. We stood in line one day from 9.30am and skied till 4.30 and had 5 runs and two of those were from Condor 1 only. In the end we just gave up and realised we had blown a holiday . The lifts open when they want at around 10am or 11am and the gondola does it's own thing .No one cares that you came halfway around the world to stand in line. I doubt there's the staff to open all the lifts even if they had a day with no wind or snow. When the Sextuplet finally gets going it can move plenty of people but every second chair is loaded with 20 litre water containers. We still managed to make the most of it and had one day of awesome skiing but that is down to us making the most of a bad situation. This place could be world class but the management of the resort blows it. It looked good in the brochure but I will be heading to Japan again next year.
August 19, 2009
r sitfight from Ski Australia Australia
Cerro Catedral is a great place but is run badly. It has a 'get you once and get you good' attitude. The lift company would end up in jail in any other country with a attitude that customer service is available after 2 pm each day. I feel sorry for the tour operators that put the hard yards in and are left holding the problem. Spend a bit more and ski in the USA or Europe or even New Zealand.
August 17, 2009
Graciela from Ski Argentina Argentina
Bariloche (Cerro Catedral) is an incredible place for natural places, for the views and for the lakes, but really horrible for skiing. It's definitely not a ski resort. The lifts always opens late,the slopes are badly groomed (when somebody grooms...), the queues are eternal, prices are more expensive than USA or Europe and information about the mountain doesn't exist. This was my last holiday in Bariloche. I'll start to go to Europe for skiing where there are a lot of ski resorts much cheaper than Cerro Catedral, even if you count the price of the flight.