Ski Austria

Rauris Resort Reviews

  • Weather Forecast for Rauris at  m altitude issued: 1 pm30 Sep 2016 (local time)  
Ski Austria

Rauris Resort Reviews

AuRauris

Use the buttons below to tell us…

Visitor reviews for Rauris Ski Resort

  • March 25, 2015
    from United Kingdom

    We having been returning to Rauris for the last 11 years. It's a beautiful village with beautiful people; great for families and couples. A real gem.

  • Rauris Ratings

    Overall: 4.2. Based on 10 votes and 29 reviews. Vote

    Access: 4.1

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Rauris.

    Public Transport: 4.7

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Rauris, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.8

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.8

    (1) No places to stay in/near Rauris, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 4.3

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 4.1

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Rauris.

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.0

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 4.7

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Rauris, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.6

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Rauris is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 4.6

    (1) Rauris relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.6

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Rauris, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Rauris are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 3.9

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Rauris is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 3.9

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Rauris, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.2

    (1) Rauris usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 4.8

    (1) The staff at Rauris are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Rauris are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 4.6

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.8

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.7

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 3.8

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Rauris has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 4.3

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.4

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Rauris, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 2.8

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 2.7

    (1) Not even a kicker at Rauris, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 4.0

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 4.0

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Rauris, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 4.4

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Rauris has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 4.2

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.6

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 3.3

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 3.5

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 4.1

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 4.6

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 4.0

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 4.1

    (1) Overall, Rauris is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.2

    (1) Overall, Rauris is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Show all 35 ratings

  • February 22, 2013
    from United Kingdom

    Rauris Feb 2013.

    Blessed with excellent snow conditions for our recent trip. One of my best skiing trips in recent memory!

    Travelled with family and was lucky to stay at the Schönblick apartments; 3 min walk to the gondola and in to town. The staff in the sports bar at the resort were fabulous and made you feel welcome. Facilities there were excellent especially the outside hot tub! I would give the Schönblick 9/10. A little disappointed that the sports bar was closed on the night of the Real Madrid v Man Utd game.

    Rauris, the village, is beautiful and set in a stunning valley. Perfect in every way for families! The hospitality and the après-ski is what the Austrians, I feel, sets them ahead of the other Alpine countries. Location is easy to find and would recommend flying to Salzburg with about an hour transfer into the mountains until you pass the Gastein valley and head up to the village itself. My score 9/10.

    Finally, the skiing! Well kept pistes, little queuing first thing in the morning at the gondola or chairlift, excellent ski school facilities with the Karl Maier ski school. There are at least 2 other ski schools in the resort, from which I hadn't heard a bad word either. The only criticism, from myself, would be the small pisted runs available. I believe there was only 33km of marked runs available. As a holiday skier, as I would call myself (15th time on snow), I would like a little more variety but having said this you can easily reach the much larger resorts either side of the valley; Zell am see and the gastein valley are comfortably within half an hour either way. The lift pass at €200 was a tad pricey, but all in all, for a beginner up to an advanced intermediate, you would not be disappointed. Off-piste and cross country skiing, amply catered for and the large toboggan run from above the mid station back to the village is a must! The skiing I would give a 7.5/10.

    Overall, having weighed up the holiday as a whole and the sheer enjoyment I had, I would definitely recommend and if possible stay at the Schönblick apartments. Rauris, in my book, scores a massive 9/10 and a potential resort I would invest in for a holiday home!

    Thank you Rauris and especially the staff at the Schönblick, keep up the excellent hospitality!

  • October 30, 2012
    from United Kingdom

    We are about to return for our second holiday in Rauris. We stayed at the Alpina which is a great hotel with fantastic food, although, at first glance the portions aren't huge, however, they just keep coming with courses and I was never hungry; and I have a great big appetite for good food. The Alpina does not dissapoint. if I had to be over critical, the pool could be a few degrees warmer this year please, but don't let that put you off staying here.

    The resort is very much a village with friendly faces who actually greet you and chat, there are never any queues on any lifts and the tobogan run is a must, but on the nights of the floodlit run there was a little too much snow for me to go, (chicken).

    The walks are superb; fantastic prepared walks between the gondola stations are a must do, beware they say they take an hour and we were taking 3 hours minimum as we wanted to take in the stunning scenery.

    This is not a village for late night party fiends from our experience, which suited us perfectly. If you want smaller, friendlier, happier, no hassle skiing you have to try Rauris. Forget endless bars, gift shops, hurry places, that is not what Rauris is about.

    Take the horse drawn sled rides at night, it is wonderful. Be warned about the free rocket fuel schnapps.

    Now I wish I hadn't told you all that as I am looking for a late deal bargain for Rauris and now you lot will all go there, hope to see you there mid January.

    Ian

  • December 06, 2011
    from United Kingdom

    Been to Rauris in both the summer and winter. Really enjoy the village and the facilities. Very convenient for the lifts and lots of good restaurants. Some very good walking summer and winter. Ski school is very good even for unfit old men like me.
    Just watch the travel time back to the airport and miss the flight home like we did.
    Stayed self catering in the new Schomblick mountain village good facilities and very nice apartments.
    Really recommend Rauris, nice village which is not too touristie. I wish I was there now.

  • January 28, 2011
    from United Kingdom

    I have been to Rauris 3 times now and enjoyed it every time. It is a small and quiet resort which really suits me. The skiing is superb with a good selection of runs for beginners and intermediates. There are only 2 black runs so probably not enough for the expert skier.
    I have always used Karl Meier ski school who are located right next to the cable car. They have about 30 instructors who are all very professional and speak perfect English. The equipment we hired was of a good quality.
    We have stayed at The Grimming hotel which is right in the middle of town and a 5 min walk from the slopes. This hotel has been around since the 1300s so is steeped in history. It is an inexpensive well run family hotel that does super home style cooking.
    Shakesbeer (sic) bar is a great place for a drink and a cheese toastie in the evening.
    Sportalm restaurant which is near the bottom of the Kreutzboden red run is excellent with reasonable prices.
    Go to Rauris, you will not regret it.

  • December 29, 2010
    from United Kingdom

    Rauris is a fantastic place very peaceful and friendly we stopped at the Alpenrose which is very friendly and traditional.and the family make you feel apart of there family. a bit dated but it makes it feel like a small Austrian home instead of a main-stream hotel. not for those who want big hotel life.the resort is well run and has 2 very good ski schools.both have English speaking instructors and seem dedicated to individual needs.my niece went from starting snow boarding to the black runs in a week with Adventure Rauris ski school and the conditions were both good and poor with some very heavy fog and she was made to feel comfortable in all conditions.the runs are good pistes but you need to read the mountain map as the runs cross in various places from different levels (i.e. blue red and the black runs).but well posted big wide runs.
    The food was basic but very nice with a choice of 2 menus for the evening meals with a salad bar. drinks are not included.
    We booked with Nielson and for value found the holiday a good family holiday for all levels of skiers. and the rep (Paul ) is the best rep we have had from any package holiday. dedicated to making your holiday exactly want you want.this is his first ski resort and he will go out of his way to get things sorted instantly his knowledge will come as he gets to know the resort.(Paul if you read this thanks for a fantastic Christmas holiday.)

  • March 11, 2010
    from South Africa

    Rauris is an amzing little town; very friendly poeple who greet you as you walk down the street. I was a beginner and attended Adventure Rauris Ski School. They were fantastic, from a very friendly and accomodating ski school office to great instructors. I had Theo who has basically been working at the ski school all his life and he knows the slopes very well and also how to teach. He had me from never having even seen ski's to going down the black slope within a week!
    Great resort for beginners as not so many people on the slopes so you don't feel intimidated or in danger, also great for families, Adventure Rauris has an excellent kids school where Brummie the bear makes and appearance everyday!

  • March 30, 2009
    from United Kingdom

    I went to Rauris this time last year, and am about to go again as it was so good. I went with a party of 22, ranging from absolute beginners all the way up to high standard racers. All of us really enjoyed the slopes, though for advanced skiers, the 20km of runs is a little restrictive. However, the snow was good and the area compensates for a good amount of off-pisting.
    The village at Rauris is really nice, with a good supermarket and nice people (considering a group of us who will not be named, walked off the slopes and through the town with very little clothing on). The best bar is 'Shakesbeers' by far and much time was spent in there.
    Basically, we had so much fun that this year a group of 40 of us are going back out to Rauris.

  • March 26, 2008
    from United Kingdom

    Just returned from a 1 week holiday with Crystal in Rauris with husband and two teenage children. Stayed in apartments close to the centre of the village which were fine and meant we could eat out at different places in the village. Snow conditions were fabulous and the ski instructors from Karl Maier ski school were the best. They really created a family atmosphere with the music and presentation evenings. We all had a great laugh and there is a lot of pressure to return next year to the same resort as it was hard to fault it.

  • March 16, 2008
    from United Kingdom

    Just returned from an amazing weeks skiing at Rauris. Party of 7 ranging from absolute beginner to experienced intermediate. All booked for 5 days ski school with Karl Maier. As an experienced intermediate skier I was less than impressed with my instructor. Basically wasted my first days skiing "learning" the basics again. I left the school and never went back. That said the remainder of the week was fantastic. Youngest member was my 9 yr old daughter who loved her instructor (Carmen) and was skiing red runs with me after 3 days. We had 2 snow falls on consecutive nights and the powder was brilliant. Stayed at the Rauriserhof, I would recommend this hotel every time and can't wait to return. If it's excellent food you're after and friendly, professional staff then this is the place. The hotel has free table tennis, pool, sauna, jacuzzi, bowling (1 for Euro 10 mins). Rauris is a lovely village and I would thoroughly recommend it as a base for exploring the surrounding area, winter or summer.