Ski Austria

Ischgl Resort Reviews

Ski Austria

Ischgl Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Ischgl Ski Resort

Ischgl Ratings

Overall: 4.2. Based on 42 votes and 33 reviews. Vote

Access: 3.9

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Ischgl.

Public Transport: 3.9

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Ischgl, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Scenery: 4.2

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Accommodation: 4.5

(1) No places to stay in/near Ischgl, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 3.0

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 4.9

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Ischgl.

Ski in/Ski out: 4.2

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 3.8

(1) There are no child care facilities at Ischgl, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowsure: 4.7

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Ischgl is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Snowmaking: 4.6

(1) Ischgl relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 4.7

(1) There are no snow groomers at Ischgl, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Ischgl are groomed daily.

Shelter: 3.5

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Ischgl is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 3.7

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Ischgl, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 4.6

(1) Ischgl usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.3

(1) The staff at Ischgl are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Ischgl are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 3.9

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.3

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.8

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Variety of pistes: 4.6

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Ischgl has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Beginners: 3.9

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.7

(1) No intermediate terrain at Ischgl, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 4.4

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 4.5

(1) Not even a kicker at Ischgl, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Off-piste: 4.0

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Cross-country: 2.9

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Ischgl, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 3.7

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Ischgl has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 4.5

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 4.8

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 4.9

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 4.1

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 3.6

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 3.9

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 4.4

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 4.0

(1) Overall, Ischgl is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 4.3

(1) Overall, Ischgl is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

March 08, 2012
RB from Ski United States United States
To another reviewer: you sound like a skier after my own heart. I, too, go skiing mainly for the skiing. You make excellent points about lack of challenge at Ischgl but I have to admit as I get older, it is nice to have the amenities also. An ideal area would offer both. That's where I think the Rockies have the edge over the Alps. OK, the verticals aren't quite as large there as in the Alps but the snow is better (20 meters last year in Utah) and most of the skiing is below tree line. I can't overemphasize the value of the latter. Trees give character to the slopes and offer an endless array of lines. Anyone who has skied Moran Woods or Saratoga Bowl at Jackson Hole after a big dump understands what I am saying. Also, trees provide the shadows and contrast needed to ski on cloudy or snowy days. There is nothing quite like being able to ski the trees when the falling snow fills in your tracks behind you. Snowy (or even just cloudy) days in the Alps relegate skiers to feeling their way from marker to marker down groomed pistes, or worse yet, waiting out the weather in the lodge. That's not how I want to spend my precious vacation days!
March 08, 2012
JC from Ski Singapore Singapore
To another reviewer: Some of your points are indeed valid, Tignes and Val have fantastic skiing. I have been skiing for 30 years now since I was a kid. I learned to ski in France and went there year in year out for more than 15 years. However, I discovered Austria, and nowadays I don't bother with France for all of the reasons another reviewer mentioned. I am a fanatical skier, I am up early, I ski all day off-piste with guides wherever the snow is best, but I also enjoy a beer, I don't like cold spag Bol from rude French waiters, and I like to go out in the evening too. [note from editor: text edited for the sake of relevance]
February 27, 2012
RB from Ski United States United States
Just returned from a week skiing holiday in Ischgl. We normally ski in the Rockies and it has been over a decade since I last skied in Europe. My observations about Ischgl and comparisons to my experience in the U.S.: High points: Lift system is unparalleled. Nothing like it in the U.S. All chairs are detachable, high-speed and many accommodate 6 or more people. All have plexiglass bubbles and some even have heated seats and conveyor systems to ease entry. On mountain restaurants and many and quite good. Still tough to find a seat at lunchtime, though (see comment below about crowds). Town of Ischgl is very charming and also quite lively. Apres-ski doesn't involve a drive into town like at many U.S. ski areas. Good, reasonably priced restaurants abound. Fun bars are everywhere. Scenery in Austria, like in most of the Alps, is stunning. Jagged peaks as far as the eye can see.. Huge vertical relief between peaks and valleys. The U.S, has a few areas that can compare, but not many. Snow: The Alps have had a great year (unlike most of the U.S.), so no issue here in 2012 However, to be fair, conditions in the Alps are far less dependable, on average than in the Rockies. Nine years out of ten, you will be better off going to Utah or Wyoming than France or Austria. Low points: Terrain: Most of the terrain in Ischgl was beginner to intermediate. Very little expert terrain, at least compared to my favourites: Jackson Hole and Snowbird. Also, all of the good skiing is above tree line. This means no tree skiing and, as importantly, very poor visibility in cloudy conditions. On the former point, I was dismayed to find that tree skiing is sometimes prohibited in Europe due to questionable environmental concerns (how can it be more harmful to ski through the trees than over fragile Artic tundra?). Crowds: Isghl made Vail look deserted. Lift system can handle holiday traffic ok (excepting 30-minute lines on gondolas out of town), but that just puts masses of people on the pistes. At times reminded me of skiing in Vermont. The good news is that Ischgl's skiers don't seem to venture off-piste, leaving untouched or lightly skied powder days after a storm. The bad news is that skiing off-piste is dangerous to impossible when light is flat, meaning you are stuck negotiating a limited number of boring marked runs with hordes of other skiers. Bottom Line: If you are a serious skier who looks for steep terrain, tree skiing, and powder, you are better off heading to the Rockies than skiing in Ischgl or other European resorts. If you prefer comfort, ambiance, scenery, and after-ski variety, head for the Alps. Or, better still, mix it up and try both.
February 14, 2012
Victor from Ski Estonia Estonia
@Tirolerhund, no i am not a sale rep from Val/Tignes. Just a guy who understands skiing in a different way than you. I do agree with most things you say - food, drinks, accomodation, hospitality - it is all cheaper or better in Ischgl than Val/Tignes. But once again - I go skiing for the skiing itself. Nothing else matters to me. A miserable flat in an ugly appartment block in Tignes is perfectly fine by me - I never go to hotels when I go skiing. I have my comfort at home and if I wanted to have the same during my holiday then I can just stay home. Also, I ski hard all day and then I am in bed by 10 pm and it does not make a difference to me if I am in a 4 star hotel or an ugly flat. The only skiing-related comment you make is about queues in Val/Tignes during half-term - well, the solution for me is simple - I do not go there at half-term. Maybe I am just lucky that I am not one of those people who take their holidays when 95% of Europe's population does.
February 10, 2012
Tirolerhund from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
I believe another reviewer is so wrong and sounds like a rep from the tourist office of Val d'Isere/Tignes. Yes the Espace de Killy has more skiing, including some that is more challenging than Ischgl, as do many French resorts, but who cares? With nearly 240 km of marked pistes how much more do you want for a weeks skiing? If you want surely French hospitality, second rate hotels at rip off prices often with no atmosphere or third rate apartments, a second class lift system and extortionately priced lunches then carry on going to France but spag bog and a beer at 140 euros for a family of four in a tatty hut with third world toilets soon gives you a wake up call. Ischgl, by contrast, is stuffed with affordable 4 star hotels, 28 to be precise, hundreds of high quality appartments at 50 - 70 euro per person per night, value for money mountain restaurants and hospitality that puts the French to shame. Try going to Espace de Killy or any of the mega French resorts at February half-term and you spend too long queueing for the lifts having taken 6 hours to get there from Lyon or Geneva. Austria, by contrast, is a revelation with virtually no lift queues. Why? because all their top resorts are designed to run at full capacity through out the season, with spare capacity in the lift systems, something the French simply don't get in their service offer. As regards the nightlife, Feuer und Eis and Kuhstal attract the younger set as do Pascha and the Trofana Arena later at night. Also better value with large beers typically 5 euro and entry to clubs 5 - 10 euro inc complimentary drink and beer at 5 euros thereafter. If you still think Ischgl is too old, then go to St Anton. It has skiing to match the Espace de Killy, an apres-ski scene that is mental, a state of the art lift system and as with all Austrian resorts high quality accommodation, at all cost levels, that is genuine value for money. Sorry if I sound like a rep for the Austrian tourist office but have skied for over 30 years including all the major french resorts, except Les Arcs and Alpe d'Huez, I see nothing in the French Alps to entice me back in the foreseeable future. I finally fell out of love with French skiing in January 2005, when we paid 200 euros per person per night for a standard twin room in a soulless 3 star hotel at Courcheval 1850. Yes, it was ski in / ski out, but so what. God only knows what it would cost today?? 7 years on you can stay in every 4*/4*s hotel in Ischgl/ St Anton/ Soelden and Saalbach etc for less, often substantially less....I rest my case!!
January 31, 2012
Victor from Ski Estonia Estonia
Went to Ischgl the week of 21 Jan. I had read a lot about it and mostly good things but I have to say that I expected more. I was by no means disappointed, though. In fact it is a good resort with lots of pistes and good facilities. Some comments compare it to Val D'Isere and Tignes. You have to be joking. Val/Tignes are on a completely different level. Why? Plenty of reasons: 1. In Ischgl some of the pistes are marked in a funny way. They are marked read but in fact it is a ski road in most parts. This can be very annoying given that it happens rather often. 2. Overall, Val/Tignes (especially Tignes) is much sportier - pistes are wider, harder (some blues in Val/Tignes are like Ischgl reds) and longer. 3. The quality of skiers - oh my god. Ischgl is a freak show in that respects. Idiots who barely manage wedge turns go down on blacks or hard reds is a beautiful sight. On one occasion I got hit by someone coming from behind and all he said was "I was going straight, it is your fault". No comment. We were a group of 15 and everyone said that this is the worst resort in terms of quality of skiers they have ever been to. And none of us had seen so many bad accidents in one week. 4. I really do not understand why Ishgl has a reputation of a party town. If your idea of partying is 50-year olds drinking snapps with beer all afternoon/night then you have to get a life. But this is a minor point for me since I go skiing....(surprise) - for the skiing. 5. Overall, Val d'Isere/Tignes or Val Thorens (again especially Tignes) just feel that people are there for the skiing and for the sport in general. Yes, Tignes is an ugly purpose built resort but it is so practical. You go out of your ugly concrete appartment block on skis and 5 minutes later you are on the top of the mountain. No nonsense, no car or bus ride to get to the lifts, no distractions, no waste of time. Ischgl has of course some positives too, even if it is more expensive that other ski resorts in Austria food and drinks on the pistes remain much cheaper than in France where you can easily pay 7 euros for a coke or 20 euros for some miserable burger. The lift system is indeed rather new. The facilities (piste restaurants, toilets etc) look amazing. But come on - is this enough? What do we really go skiing for? For the "accessories" (like cheap goulash soup and beer, good toilets and heated lift seats) or for the real stuff (pistes, snow, off-piste, beautiful mountains)? Val/Tignes beat Ischgl hands down in those departments. Whoever says the opposite goes skiing for a different (not necessarily wrong) reason than me. So about Ischgl - decent resort but if you really want to ski there is way way way better (not just Val/Tignes). Would I go there again? I do not see a reason why I would.
March 07, 2011
DP from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Fantastic resort with great lift system. However, Ischgl is only suitable for good intermediate and above. Beginners will struggle. Far too many very fast skiers on lowers slopes. During the week there was helicopter after helicopter picking up injured skiers who had bumped into each other every few hours. I saw lots of nasty accidents.
December 16, 2010
GB from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
The beauty of Ischgl is that the lift system is owned by a town co-operative and they just keep pumping the money back in to more slopes and more and better lifts. (Compare that to the 3 Valleys and Tignes where I seem to ride the same lifts I was sitting on 20 years ago). Two years ago they put in a new black to rival some of the best in the world (well not quite a Triftji, Le Herse or Sudan Couloir but p.d. good) but it was a 3 lift journey to go around. This year they have a brand new direct lift to service that and 3 other runs slapped on the side of the mountain in 08. Ski area also includes Samnaun. Probably most extensive interlinked "quality skiing" resort in Europe other than 3V and other than Whistler/Bc on the other side of the water. Lots of excellent accom but not cheap but then it never is in the best resorts is it (eg Zermatt, Whistler, Chamonix), supply and demand and all that. Cheaper accom available in outlying villages with excellent valley bus service and huge underground car park if you drive over. Good variety of after ski from party bars with table dancers (clad) to small bars and cafes. Similar range of price and variety later on. The only slight negative is that the number of in-town restaurants has not grown at the same pace as the accommodation and none are cheap by Austrian standards but, both in town and on the mountain, a bargain compared to 3V and most of France. Ski pass c £200 for a week. Even more of an early season snow pocket than St Anton/Lech. Extensive powder options after a dump. First visited 1977, now firmly established as my early season favourite just before the crowds arrive at Xmas. Roll on Friday!
March 22, 2010
millsy from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just returned from Ischgl having last visited half a dozen years or so ago and it's still a great place. There has been huge investment in the lift system, with few queues out of town and plenty of high speed detachable chairs. Piste maintainance is generally very good with artificial back up on the home slopes. Most runs are reds and suit confident intermediates with a number of steepish blacks looking at you as you ride the chair to start the duty free run down in Samnaun in Switzerland. There are mountain restaurants aplenty from self service and pizza to waiter service at Alp Trida. Off the hill the apres throbs from early on starting at around 3ish at Idalp and carrying on into town at the Schatzi /Hotel Elizabeth Bar at the foot of the slopes or in the village centre under the funitel at the Khustall or outside at the Fire and Ice. Later on the Arena in the Trofana, downstairs in Fire and Ice, the Hotel Post, Pacha, and Coyote Ugly provide the entertainment. We stayed at the Apartwolf apartments where the standard of accomodation was good, clean and reasonably well appointed. Go to Ischgl and enjoy.....
May 20, 2009
Andreas from Ski Norway Norway
After a few seasons in Ischgl (07/08 and 08/09) I thought I'd give the resort an honest review, seen as there doesn't seem to be much decent, accurate info out there. First I'll start with the good: Ischgl sits just over the mountain range from St Anton in Arlberg, so along with its infamous neighbour, it is a magnet for powder. Lucky for us, unlike St Anton, Ischgl attracts most people for the apres-ski and are just there to be 'seen' not to ride, so hang out on the piste all day in shiny Versace jackets, or in the local bar/restaurant with the rest of their 'apres ski-team'. In other words, the general standard of skiers/snowboarders is low; perfect for those who love back-country. Many areas stay untouched for days after a dump. Very surprising, considering most of the off-piste is easily accessible by the lifts. Expect perfect, untouched, challenging powder runs, all day long with very minimal crowds. This is the #1 reason I returned to Ischgl. For the days between powder, there is a novice/intermediate park,. However, this is nothing to write home about. There is a fun kicker line (3 x 10-15 meter tables), a few nice little 'muck around' barrel bonks, 5 or so boxes/rails, a spine, and a dodgy airbag for the punters. The facilities at Ischgl can't be faulted, everything is so fresh and so clean. Along with perfect lift placement, I can guarantee you'll be smiling with surprise while your bum is being slowly warmed on the gondola up. When paying 45 Euro for a day pass I guess a warm buttock is expected anyway. Now for the bad (or I guess the good depending on who is reading this): Life off the mountain: I'd like to dispel a huge myth that "Ischgl is the Ibiza of the Alps". Now, I've never actually been to Ibiza, but going by the tourist brochure, I'm pretty sure the majority of tourists there are not 35-45 year old drunken, mid-crisis men dancing on tables to German sing-a-longs, stumbling home feeling sorry for themselves or Russian gold-digging women with more fur draped over their bodies than a whole herd of the near-extinct animals that it came from. Ischgl is a far cry from Ibiza, but for middle aged men with a love of Deutsch apres-ski 'favorites' with a German DJ singing on the mic over every song, I would have to say this is the place for you. The main problem with the off-mountain scene in Ischgl is there is no cheap accommodation, which makes the average age there significantly higher than nearby resorts, St Anton for example (S.A is not cheap by any means but is if compared to Ischgl). So for the likes of me (25 years old), there aren't a lot of similar aged people around Ischgl, and with the prices soaring in all popular bars (4-5 euro for a small beer), it's not the kind of place where you can call a bar your 'local'. Expect a large age gap in the 'clubs' with the locals being 16-18, and the tourists ranging from 35-45 years old. So to conclude: Pros: Untouched powder to play in with your friends Perfect facilities Big resort, plenty of runs for all levels Can cruise to cool little Swiss town on the other side of the mountain. Cons: Expensive No cheap accom = not many young seasoners or tourists Middle aged men everywhere No train in the valley In final, if you want to go to a resort to ride and have the cash then Ischgl is for you. If you would like to include partying to your holiday then shop around.