Ski Cyprus

Mt Olympus Resort Reviews

  • Weather Forecast for Mt Olympus at  m altitude issued: 2 pm25 Oct 2016 (local time)  
Ski Cyprus

Mt Olympus Resort Reviews

CyMt Olympus

Use the buttons below to tell us…

Visitor reviews for Mt Olympus Ski Resort

  • March 13, 2015
    from Cyprus

    Having just read a pretty poor review of Mt Olympus, I am peed off so will write my own. I have lived here for 3 years and only just discovered the mountain this season. It is great; plenty of snow this year, the lift pass and ski hire (own boots) was 12 Euros. Yes, 12 Euros for a day. That was the first nice surprise. Locals, expats and military folk stationed here should take full advantage. It is not a place you would come to from the UK expecting a week of skiing. But, if you are here and the conditions are good, please go up to Troodos. We drove up in an Astra with no chains and managed to park on the busiest day of the season, a bank holiday Monday, queued for rental about 15 mins and got some fairly old skis which were perfectly adequate. There was over a metre of snow too and the place looked beautiful with lots of pine trees covered in snow. On a later visit, this week, it had bit less snow but was still skiable.
    Speaking as a person who learnt to ski as a child in the very rough and ready Alpine region of Australia, Mt Olympus brought back happy memories of just skiing for fun; no need to cover a massive resort to get value from your expensive lift pass, no piste maps, no lift queues and not a go pro in sight. It ain't Val d'Isere and I love it for that.
    If you go you can expect to get good experience skiing in sometimes difficult conditions. There appears to be no grooming of slopes. You could learn to ski here; there are ski school group lessons for 15 Euros, private lessons for 35 Euros. I have skied in much worse condition this time of year (mid March) in Andorra, France, Italy so really I think Mt Olympus is a little gem. Beware of other skiers/snowboarders though, some people are out of their depth and can be a bit scary, i.e the inability to stop or check their speed.

  • Mt Olympus Ratings

    Overall: 2.8. Based on 38 votes and 50 reviews. Vote

    Access: 4.4

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Mt Olympus.

    Public Transport: 2.4

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Mt Olympus, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 3.6

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 3.1

    (1) No places to stay in/near Mt Olympus, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 2.9

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 2.6

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Mt Olympus.

    Ski in/Ski out: 2.7

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 2.3

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Mt Olympus, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 2.7

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Mt Olympus is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 1.9

    (1) Mt Olympus relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 3.1

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Mt Olympus, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Mt Olympus are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 3.5

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Mt Olympus is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 2.0

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Mt Olympus, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 3.3

    (1) Mt Olympus usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 3.4

    (1) The staff at Mt Olympus are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Mt Olympus are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 3.1

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 3.2

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 2.9

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 2.6

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Mt Olympus has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 3.4

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 3.2

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Mt Olympus, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 2.9

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 1.9

    (1) Not even a kicker at Mt Olympus, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 2.8

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 2.5

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Mt Olympus, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 2.1

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Mt Olympus has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 3.1

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 2.9

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 2.7

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 2.1

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 2.7

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 3.1

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 2.5

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 3.0

    (1) Overall, Mt Olympus is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 2.7

    (1) Overall, Mt Olympus is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Show all 35 ratings

  • February 10, 2015
    from Cyprus

    A great and true review from another reviewer.
    Looks like it's going to be a great week for snow in the Troodos. However, it's going to be very windy and feel very cold. Winds will have dropped by the weekend but will probabaly be one of the busiest weekends of the year so lots of queuing and non working lifts and most likely bad visibility.
    I will prob give it a bash early next week.
    I will keep you all posted but really don't expect any improvements from previous visits.
    As long as there is some snow and a bit of sunshine I'm gonna have some fun.

  • February 07, 2015
    from Cyprus

    I am looking at the yellow star ratings for Mt Olympus that people voted on this page and they are ridiculously inaccurate. So I want to give an accurate assessment.

    Access. 3 out of 5
    Because Cyprus is small, you can get anywhere within an hour or so. However, you could end up being stuck in traffic in the resort area for hours, especially on the weekends. The local authorities do a terrible job of clearing up snow from the roads. They have no way of salting the roads nor do they stock up any salt other than the salt they put on their sunday BBQ. So even days after it last snowed, roads can be dangerous. Especially the last stretch of narrow road leading up to the ski rental place.

    Public Transport 0 out of 5
    No public transport. No scheduled bus routes or anything like that. You can pay for a taxi if you want to get there, assuming the roads are clean and it hasn't snowed for days. Good luck finding one to get you out of there.

    Scenery 4 out of 5
    Ok, scenery might be the best attribute of the ski resort. Where as other European resorts lack trees and forests, Mt Olympus is set right in the forest with beautiful views of the coast on a clear day.

    Accommodation. 2 out of 5.
    There are very few hotels in the area. Most are located in Platres village which is a 20 minute drive away. But if it is snowing, or within a couple of days after a good snowfall, then 20 min could turn into 2 hours easily as the roads are extremely poorly cleaned of snow and traffic is crazy on the weekends.

    Cheap rooms. 3 out of 5
    Hotels up there are not that expensive, assuming you can find a room on a busy weekend.

    Luxury hotels 0 out 5
    No such thing in the area

    Ski in and out 0 out 5
    No such thing in the resort

    Childcare 0 out of 5
    No such thing in the resort or the surrounding area

    Snowsure 1 out of 5
    Chances are the snow will be poor with rocks appearing on the piste and with 3 out of 4 pistes closed for the majority of the season

    Snowmaking 0 out of 5
    There is NO snowmaking in cyprus. They bought 3 or 4 snow canons a few years ago and they have never been used and they will never be used

    Snow grooming 1 out of 5
    No real expertise when it comes to snow grooming. Poorly groomed resort, poorly maintained, no features, slow to open pistes after snowfall

    Shelter 3 out of 5
    Weather Conditions are never that terrible up there and two restaurants are easily reached from the slopes.

    Nearby options 0 out 5
    There is no other ski resort.

    Regional rating 1 out of 5
    Compared to Lebanon... well... it just can't be compared.

    Lift Staff 3 out of 5
    No major complaints except for the fact that most speak neither english nor greek

    Crowds/queues 3 out of 5
    Weekdays are perfect. Sunday after a good snow, don't even think about it. The longest slope is 500 meters. Yep, 500 meters. Half a kilometer. So you can ski that in under a minute while you could wait up to 10 minutes in line to go up.

    Ski Schools 3 out 5
    For skiing there are many good options.
    For snowboarding, not really

    Hires and Repairs 2 out of 5
    Not much variety, no new stuff, not very well maintained

    Variety of Pistes 0 out 5
    There are 4 total slopes. The longest is 500 meters. Only two are kind of interconnected: Hera and Dias. For the rest you have to walk or drive to go from the one to the other. 90% of the time only sun valley 1 will be open which is about 150 meters long. For the majority of the time you will have to worry about rocks on any slope. No features, no snow park, no kickers, no rails, no imagination, no good grooming. Could it have been better. Yes, all slopes are possible to be connected, there are routes that can be opened to make runs longer than a kilometer, they could make some artificial features etc. Could have but won't.

    Beginners. 2 out of 5
    Ok, there is confusion about this. Everyone thinks that since the resort is small (no black runs) that it is suitable for beginners. Not quite. Beginners need two things. A long slope to keep trying what they are trying and for the slope to be mellow too. Sun valley 1, which is supposed to be a super beginner slope, has neither of these two attributes

    Intermediates 3 out of 5
    Some intermediate terrain and possibly tree runs, but from top to bottom takes seconds..

    Advanced 1 out of 5
    No such thing. There is a route on Dias slope that is advanced, but it is never opened.

    Snow park 0 out 5
    No such thing, not even close, not even remote, not at all. A 2 feet small kicker on Hera may be found if built by a snowboarder or something.

    Off Piste 2 out 5
    There are some options, but not adjacent to the slopes.

    Cross country ?
    I know there is but don't know much about it to rate it.

    Luge Tobogan 2 out of 5
    In pure Cypriot fashion, they have taken up a part of the slope and you can see kids with nylon bags sliding 10 meters down the slope.

    Mountain Dining 2 out of 5
    Good luck finding something open at night.

    Eating 2 out 5
    Two restaurants on two different slopes. One on each. Mainly sandwiches and refreshments. Expensive.

    Apres ski 0 out 5
    Apres what?

    Other sports 1 out 5
    I guess if you have a big imagination, you can come up with something.

    Entertainment 1 out of 5
    See immediately above

    Winter walks 3 out 5
    Not bad

    Ski pass value 2 out of 5
    Taking into account the dangerous roads to get there, the traffic on weekends, the poorly maintained slopes, the lack of options, short pistes, featureless pistes, lift lines the price may sound alright, but relative to other resorts and what they offer for double the price, then it is super expensive.

    Value 2 out of 5
    It is the only resort in Cyprus. Globally speaking, our resort is like a back yard contraption.

    Final thoughts. Some say we are lucky to have it and that we shouldn't complain. Sure, sure of course if our ancestors didn't complain about the caves they were living in or the trees they were hanging from, then we wouldn't be here today talking online. So, yes, it is something that we have a resort in sunny Cyprus. We are grateful for the British who built it decades ago and since then we still use the same ski rental "building" that is ready to fall down, the same exact pistes, etc. Could it be better: yes, easily. If there were people who cared in the government or if they privatized it, it could easily be better. They could widen the road easily. they could clean the road of snow better. they could create more parking. they could widen the slopes, make them longer, connect them (yes even dias can be connected to sun valley 1. They were 50 year plans to make some features, etc, etc. Do you build it and hope they will come or do you wait until they come and then build it. In cyprus we prefer option 2. Show us the money first, come even if there is nothing to see or do and if you come often enough, in great masses for no reason at all, then maybe we will build it for you, hahahahaha.

  • January 04, 2014
    from Cyprus

    Snow forecast, this year, is very wrong.

    [note from the editor: it is always disappointing to discover that forecasts have been very different to actual weather experienced. Maybe you could become an Eyeball Reporter (a facility set up for the purpose of users supplying 'real time' weather reports.]

  • December 14, 2013
    from Cyprus

    Snow forecast was wrong this week 8-15/12/2013, for Mt Olympus, in Cyprus. Now there is 50 cm of snow in the resort but in snow forecast was written that the snow will be 10cm.

  • December 12, 2012
    from Cyprus

    The season is pretty much arriving! We had the first light snow yesterday. We hope that Christmas is white!
    The prices of the services are down, the Sun Valley Cafeteria has been renovated, the ski lifts inspected, the web camera has been repaired. In addition some minor problems of the North Face ski lift have been solved with additional power supply provided to the lift.
    Ski people up there are optimistic for the new season despite the economic recess that hits the island.
    In Troodos there are two hotels offering accommodation.They also offer dining in addition to the ski club. Some small souvenir shops also exist in the Troodos Square.
    I will report again as the resort opens for ski business. Mind you that the Sun Valley Ski Club restaurant is open throughout the year offering delicious meals in a newly decorated cozy restaurant room.
    Lets hope for a great & safe season!

  • December 11, 2012
    from Cyprus

    Good season everybody. Prices went down. I guess this action is to justify the poor service provided all these years, from lift breakdowns, bad to even worst grooming, and above all the web cam. This is a joke, the web cam in Troodos is the only one in the world that works all summer and never in the winter!

  • January 25, 2012
    from Cyprus

    I haven't had the time just yet to read through all the comments, but I agree with a lot of what I did see.

    A few additional features would be nice, but as you can imagine, updating the ski area is a fairly low priority with such a small ski season and presumably small budget - not to mention the old school closed mindedness previously mentioned.

    A few medium to big tabletops and a few boxes and rails would be nice, but I can't see them being built just yet (except the ones currently under snow at Sun Valley 2). More involvement with management and petitions might improve our chances of getting things done..

    Until then, we should quit our whining since it falls on deaf ears anyway and take matters into our own hands. I'm a big fan of the DIY attitude, and when I go up there I have a pretty good time and don't get bored after 15 minutes. Perhaps I have a low boredom threshold. Nothing is stopping you build a kicker! I'm taking an axe up there to attempt to deal with a fallen tree and turn it into a tree-jib rail thingy... you can thank me later!

    As for the hill being featureless, that's not strictly true. There are some great tree runs off to the sides of the pistes, and other off-piste areas which have interesting natural features to play with. The area to the skiers left of North-Face 1 is a gold mine in that regard. There are some perfect places to build kickers with nice sloped landing spots (by the way, who is is that keeps building jumps to flat landings on Hera?)

    To finish up this rant. Yes, the ski hill is managed a little sloppy, 23 euros is a little steep and yes, it lacks a terrain park and more runs. But lets be thankful we have a ski area to begin with. We need to get creative, and collaborate. This is not a place where things are handed to us on a plate. If anyone wants to get involved and build something, and see how long it lasts up there, hit me up at

  • January 18, 2012
    from Cyprus

    I also want to agree with a recent post below that emphasizes the importance of having features in a resort, and thus making it interesting, for more than 15 minutes.

    Troodos has NO features. Troodos is the most featureless resort on the face of the planet. Troodos is the least interesting resort in the history of ski resorts.

    Now, if you listen to the ski association people, the government people or the people who work at the resort they will tell you that a) there is not enough money, b) the forest department does not let them cut down trees c) there is not enough people and d) there is not enough snow.

    Excuses, excuses, excuses.

    How much money does it take to shape the slopes in the summer, open new paths on the side of existing slopes or between the trees, smooth out the areas between the trees, remove some rocks, make some kickers? place a wooden structure, a tree log, in the summer so that when it snows, the snow naturally creates a natural kicker? or some table rails (and not iron rails)? or shape the sides of Hera and Dias slopes, in some areas, to resemble a quarter pipe? shape a few paths on the side Hera where there is already enough incline, so that it naturally becomes a jump when it snows?

    Nothing. No money required. And you don't even have to cut down one tree.

    What about the area between the Hera ski lift and the Hera slope? What about the area between the Hera slope and the Dias slope? What about the area between the sun valley 1 slope and the sun valley 1 family path? These are just a few examples. There are so many things that can be done.

    What about the run between the top of Dias that goes towards the road in front of the ski rental shop, on the side of the road, then behind the mountain and ends up at the Hera ski lift? it is over a km long. Why is this not properly shaped out and groomed? Widened? the parts that are flat fixed?

    It just takes a bit of work in the summer. No money. No cutting trees. You need someone with a bit of common sense, who has been in resorts outside Cyprus (and I don't mean Lebanon), loves the sport and is below 40 years of age.

    And if you do this, more people will come and more money made off of them. Did you notice that despite having the best snow season in years, the traffic on the slopes is the same or less?

    But if you are an old-school skier above the age of 50, like all the people who run the show in Troodos and the ski associations, then you do not understand what features in a resort mean. They are just satisfied skiing down a slope. Hurray!

    So enough with the excuses. Enough with blaming the forest department. Enough with telling us that you managed to install a chair lift (slowest in Europe) on Dias. Enough. Enough is enough.

    Everyone associated with running the resort, are all simply, completely and utterly incompetent and indifferent. They are completely to blame for the poor state of the slopes.

    And on top of that, why would I risk my life driving to uncleaned dangerous roads to pay 23 euros for the lift, (more if you rent equipment), food and gas to go down a featureless 300 meter slope?

    No, thank you. Already did once this year and it is not happening again.

  • January 09, 2012
    from Cyprus

    To the poster below who had a perfect day, that is because you went on a week day when everybody works. Most people don't have this luxury.

    Go the following weekend and describe us what you see. Half our lines on the lifts, crowded slopes, 1 hour stuck on the road to go there and an hour stuck on the way back. So it is not just an hour from home, but two hours at least if you consider weekend traffic...

    And you found everyone helpful because you went with an instructor. Go alone, on a weekend, after the 2 sets of barely usable skis have been rented out, and see if you get good attitude and good equipment.