Lt Ski en Lesotho

Le Royaume enclavé du Lesotho a toujours été la destination de choix pour les skieurs africains du sud de Johannesburg, même si la station de ski sud-africaine de Tiffindell, plus éloignée, était opérationnelle sur le Cap occidental.

Dans ces dernières années, le ski est devenu plus organisé avec l'arrivée d’ Afri-Ski, le seul domaine skiable du Lesotho à proprement dit, bien qu'il existe d’autres zones populaires pour la randonnée à ski. Afri-ski est situé dans les hautes montagnes de Maluti, à environ cinq heures de Johannesburg, en passant par Bethléem et la frontière de Buthe Buthe avec une bonne route sur la plupart du chemin. Elle est située à 20 kilomètres au sud d’Oxbow et du col de Moteng à 3222m d’altitude.

Désormais l’unique domaine skiable commercial au sud du continent africain, vous pouvez skier au Lesotho à Afri-ski sur la piste principale longue d'un kilomètre ainsi que sur les parcs et les pistes de débutants. On y trouve également une opération de développement immobilière. La piste est plus longue et plus large que d'autres qui ont été créés dans la région, avec une section inférieure facile et une inclinaison de niveau intermédiaire en amont.

Généralement, c’est l’un des premiers des quelques 100 domaines skiables de l'hémisphère sud à ouvrir chaque hiver – avec une saison qui commence en mai – et également l'un des premiers à fermer début septembre. Afri-Ski a une importante capacité à fabriquer de la neige artificielle ce qui lui permet de rester ouverte la plus grande partie de sa saison de quatre mois. Malgré ça il y a des années où de fortes chutes de neige naturelle se produisent, comme en 2011 lorsque les routes d'accès furent bloquées par la neige et la glace le jour de l'ouverture de l'ouverture.
Lire la suite...

Lesotho: résumé des dernières conditions de neige

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in Lesotho. Fresh snow is forecast at 0resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

Toutes stations

Ski resorts of Lesotho, alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Station de Ski Webcam Top
Profondeur de neige
en haut et en bas
Good piste
En piste
Powder
Hors-Piste
Fresh snow depth
Dernière neige
Fresh snow depth
prochains 9 jours
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
neige (cm)
Weather Prévision météo des 5 prochains jours
Niveau de gel (m)
Sat Sun Mon Tue Wed

(2917m — 3222m)

Milieu de station 3070 m
4600m 4400m 4400m 4500m 4200m

Lt Ski Lesotho

The land-locked kingdom of Lesotho has always been the ski destination of choice for South African’s from Johannesburg, even where the more distant South African ski area of Tiffindell was operational on the more distant Western Cape of South Africa itself.

In recent years the country’s skiing has got more organised too with the arrival of Afri-Ski, the one proper Lesotho ski area although there are other areas popular with ski tourers. Afri-ski is located in the high Maluti Mountains, around five hours from Johannesburg, via Bethlehem and the Buthe Buthe border with a good road for most of the route. It is located 20 kilometres to the south of Oxbow and the 3222m high Moteng Pass.

Now the only commercial ski area in Southern Africa, you can ski Lesotho at Afri-ski on the resort’s kilometre long main run along with terrain park and beginners slope and has also been running a real estate operation. The slope is longer and wider than others that have been created over the years in the region, with a gentle lower section and intermediate standard steepness above.

Usually one of the first of the 100 or so ski areas in the southern hemisphere to open each winter – with a May season start date and also one of the first to close in early September, Afri-Ski has extensive snow making and some seasons remains open most of its four month season thanks to it, while other years heavy natural snowfall occurs – such as in 2011 when access roads were blocked by snow and ice on opening day.
read more...

Lesotho: latest snow conditions round-up

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in Lesotho. Fresh snow is forecast at 0resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

All resorts

Ski resorts of Lesotho, alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Resort Webcam Top
snow depth
top and bottom
Good piste
on-piste
Powder
off-piste
Fresh snow depth
last snow
Fresh snow depth
next 9 days
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
snow (cm)
Weather Next 5 days weather forecast.
Freezing level (m)
Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat

(2917m — 3222m)

1
rain showers
clear
clear
rain showers
moderate rain
Mid station 3070 m
4200m 3500m 3700m 3700m 3400m