Tw Ski en Taiwan

Taïwan a le plus haut sommet de l'Asie de l'Est, Yushan (également nommé Yu Shan, Yùshān ou Mont Morrison) qui est situé juste en-dessous de 4000m d'altitude (3997m/13113 pieds pour être précis) et reçoit normalement beaucoup de neige pendant hiver – bien que toute la neige fonde au milieu du printemps. Bien qu'il est difficile de savoir si quelqu'un est déjà monté au sommet, c'est possible de skier à Taïwan, en marchant avec son équipement. Il n'y a aucune station de ski à Taïwan.

Yushan est situé dans un grand parc national, dans le centre de l'île de Taïwan. C'est un explorateur allemand nommé Stoppel qui arriva au sommet pour la première fois en 1898, seulement quelques dizaines d'années après que le sommet fût repéré pour la première fois par les yeux des Occidentaux. Apparemment, chaque hiver, la neige du sommet brille comme de la jade. C'est de là que vient le nom de Yushan, signifiant montagne de jade. Ceci a aussi aidé à nommer la montagne la plus haute montagne et l'un des 28 finalistes dans un concours mondiale en 2009 pour déterminer les sept merveilles naturelles du monde. La montagne continue 4000m sous la mer, lui donnant une hauteur totale d'environ 8 000m.

La neige tombe au-dessus de 2000m et 3000m. La neige dure de décembre à mars, et réapparait à nouveau en octobre. Les plus grandes chutes de neige sont normalement en janvier et mars et la neige tombe en moyenne pendant environ 24 jours chaque hiver, même si ce nombre baisse.
Lire la suite...

Taiwan: résumé des dernières conditions de neige

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in Taiwan. Fresh snow is forecast at 0resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

Toutes stations

Ski resorts of Taiwan, alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Station de Ski Webcam Top
Profondeur de neige
en haut et en bas
Good piste
En piste
Powder
Hors-Piste
Fresh snow depth
Dernière neige
Fresh snow depth
prochains 9 jours
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
neige (cm)
Weather Prévision météo des 5 prochains jours
Niveau de gel (m)
Sat Sun Mon Tue Wed

(1m — 3997m)

Milieu de station 1999 m
3800m 3750m 3900m 3900m 3600m

Tw Ski Taiwan

Taiwan is home to eastern Asia’s highest peak, Yushan (also variously Yu Shan, Yùshān or Mount Morrison) it is just under 4,000m high (3997m/13113ft to be precise) and normally receives plenty of snowfall each winter – although it all melts by mid-Spring. So it should be possible to ski Taiwan, if you hike up with your gear, although reports of anyone having done so are hard to find. There is no Taiwan ski resort as such.

Yushan is located in a large national park, in the centre of the island of Taiwan, it was first climbed in 1898 by a German explorer named Stopel, only a few decades after it was first spotted by western eyes. The snow on its summit each winter apparently shines like jade, which is where the name Yushan comes from, as it means Jade Mountain. It also helped the mountain be the highest mountain and one of the 28 overall finalists in a 2009 contest to name seven natural wonders of the world. The mountain continues for 4000m under the sea giving it a total height of around 8,000m.

The snow falls above 2000m and above 3000m it usually lasts from December to March, having first appeared in October. The biggest snowfalls are normally in January and March and on average snow falls around 24 days each winter, although that number is declining.
read more...

Taiwan: latest snow conditions round-up

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in Taiwan. Fresh snow is forecast at 0resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

All resorts

Ski resorts of Taiwan, alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Resort Webcam Top
snow depth
top and bottom
Good piste
on-piste
Powder
off-piste
Fresh snow depth
last snow
Fresh snow depth
next 9 days
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
snow (cm)
Weather Next 5 days weather forecast.
Freezing level (m)
Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat

(1m — 3997m)

heavy rain
thunderstorm
thunderstorm
thunderstorm
thunderstorm
Mid station 1999 m
5550m 5400m 5150m 4900m 4850m