Ks Ski en South Korea

Pris en sandwich entre la Chine et la mer à l'Ouest, le Japon et la mer à l'est et avec comme seule connexion terrestre la fontière avec la Corée du Nord, la Corée du Sud est un pays où un certain nombre de chaînes de montagnes relativement peu élevées se succèdent.

Les montagnes Taebaek, Sobaek et Jiri sont les trois chaînes principales du pays, avec le plus haut sommet de la Corée du Sud, Hallasan (1,950m), qui est en fait un cône de formation volcanique formant l'île de Jeju, au sud de la Corée continentale.
 
Le pays est célèbre pour ses hivers froids, connus pour apporter des chutes de neige modérées et des températures suffisamment froides pour faire de la neige de décembre à mars.
 
La grande majorité des domaines skiables de la Corée du Sud sont situés dans le nord du pays dans la province de Gangwon-do, la zone qui reçoit le plus de neige durant l'année. Certains d'entre elles sont situées à moins d'une heure de Séoul.
 
Quelques domaines sont situés en dehors de cette région, comme la station Eden Valley situé sur la montagne de Sinbulsan dans le Gyeongsang du Sud.
 
Le ski alpin organisé a été développé assez tard en Corée du Sud avec les premiers développements de stations datant du milieu des années 1970. Toutefois, la hausse de la popularité des sports d'hiver a été assez fulgurante et malgré le fait qu'il n'y ait que 20 domaines skiables dans le pays à la fin des années 1990, la Corée du Sud envisageait d'accueillir les Jeux Olympiques d'hiver et était proche de ravir le prix à Vancouver pour 2010 et à Sotchi en 2014 avant de finalement gagner le droit d'organiser les Jeux de 2018 à Pyeongchang.

La Corée du Sud n'a pas non plus souffert de la baisse soudaine de l'intérêt pour les sports d'hiver qui a affecté le Japon au début des années 1990 après l'effondrement de la «bulle économique».

Bien que les domaines skiables sud-coréens soient relativement peu nombreux, ils sont très fortement développés dans la plupart des cas, offrant de nombreuses autres activités pendant toute l'année autre que le ski et le snowboard, ainsi que de nombreuses options d'hébergement sur place. La plupart des domaines sont faciles à atteindre depuis les grandes villes, dont la capitale Séoul. Des projecteurs sur les pistes sont également fréquents afin de permettre le ski depuis l'aube jusqu'au crépuscule. La haute saison est de mi-Décembre à la mi-Février et les chambres ont tendance à être réservées à l'avance au cours de ces deux mois.
 
Muju, une des plus grandes stations de la Corée du Sud compte 15 télésièges et abrite aussi le plus grand complexe de tennis du pays avec pas moins de 108 cours de tennis, un lac pour les sports nautiques, un golf de 18 trous conçu par Arnold Palmer, un club de campagne et de nombreux autres installations sportives, comme de l'équitation et des chemins pour le VTT. Il y a aussi le Palais de Beauté de Cendrillon, un parc de cinéma, un village d'artistes couvrant toutes les formes d'art, un parc à thème culturel Coréen et une branche de l'institution Musical Russe de Tchaïkovski.
 
À Muju, l'énorme complexes hôtelier Tirol de 742 chambres avec comme thème la station alpine, comprend une grande salle de bal pouvant contenir 700 personnes avec un système de traduction simultanée en cinq langues.
 
Bien que Muju offre peut-être plus d'options autre que du ski ou du snowboard que tout autre domaine skiable Coréen, il est typique en ce qui concerne la variété des activités disponibles dans les stations du pays, et comment les sports d'hiver sont souvent considérés comme l'une des nombreuses activités proposées, plutôt que la principale activité.
 
Jeux Olympiques et Paralympiques d'hiver de 2018
 
La plupart des épreuves des Jeux 2018 sont planifiés pour avoir lieu dans les stations existantes de Alpensia (épreuves de ski nordique) et Yongpyong (Slalom et Slalom Géant).
 
Des lieux spéciaux sont crées pour accueillir le ski acrobatique et le snowboard au Bokwang Snow Park et pour la descente du Super-G, et les événements alpin combinés, le nouveau centre alpin Jeongseon.
 
Le centre alpin Jeongseon a dû être créé parce que la Corée du Sud manquait de domaines skiables existants avec une remontée mécanique verticale de plus de 800 mètres nécessaire à la descente selon les règles du Comité International Olympique (CIO) (la plus grande verticale existante était de 702m dans la région skiable de Yongpyong ski, avec la plupart des régions n'ayant que 200-400m de verticales). Toutefois, le développement de la piste, qui aura un dénivelé de 880m, s'est avérée controversée car la piste coupe à travers un parc naturel et une ancienne forêt, conduisant à des protestations de groupes environnementaux. Ils ont suggéré la construction d'un ajout artificiel en haut de la pente à Yongpyong pour fournir le dénivelé nécessaire, et ont aussi demandé une autorisation exceptionnelle au CIO pour réduire légèrement le dénivelé requis, ce qui était une meilleure option à leur avis.
 
Selon les médias occidentaux, la décision d'organiser les Jeux Olympiques d'hiver en Corée du Sud a été la raison pour laquelle la Corée du Nord a décidé de développer son propre domaine skiable au Col de Masik, qui a ouvert pour la saison de ski de 2013-14, même si il y avait déjà plusieurs domaines skiables de même taille en Corée du Nord avant ce projet de haut profil.
 
La Corée du Nord a les plus hautes montagnes de la péninsule coréenne. Culminant à 2744 m (9003 pi), Paektu, Baekdu ou la montagne Changbai, un volcan actif à la frontière avec la Chine, est la plus haute montagne de la Corée du Nord. Elle est vénérée dans le pays comme le lieu de naissance du «grand leader» Kim Jong Il. Chinsa a développé plusieurs stations de ski sur le côté de la montagne.
 
Les Jeux Olympiques d'hiver à Pyeongchang auront lieu du 9 au 25 Février 2018 avec les Jeux Paralympiques d'hiver qui auront lieu de 9 au 18 Mars 2018 (http://pyeongchang2018.com/horizon/eng/index.asp).
Lire la suite...

South Korea: résumé des dernières conditions de neige

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in South Korea. Fresh snow is forecast at 7resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

Toutes stations

Ski resorts of South Korea, alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Station de Ski Webcam Top
Profondeur de neige
en haut et en bas
Good piste
En piste
Powder
Hors-Piste
Fresh snow depth
Dernière neige
Fresh snow depth
prochains 9 jours
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
neige (cm)
Weather Prévision météo des 5 prochains jours
Niveau de gel (m)
Thu Fri Sat Sun Mon

(700m — 900m)

Milieu de station 800 m
400m 450m 200m 400m 700m

(300m — 629m)

5
10
Milieu de station 464 m
350m 350m 100m 200m 500m

(300m — 379m)

1
Milieu de station 340 m
400m 500m 200m 450m 900m

(200m — 399m)

Milieu de station 300 m
1200m 750m 500m 700m 1400m

(300m — 473m)

4
10
Milieu de station 386 m
300m 300m 0m 150m 500m

(680m — 1367m)

1
Milieu de station 1024 m
400m 450m 250m 400m 700m

(99m — 303m)

8
Milieu de station 201 m
400m 550m 200m 350m 600m

(177m — 497m)

8
Milieu de station 337 m
350m 550m 150m 300m 550m

(800m — 1614m)

1
3
Milieu de station 1207 m
450m 550m 200m 200m 450m

(1100m — 1420m)

1
Milieu de station 1260 m
450m 500m 300m 400m 600m

(172m — 434m)

Milieu de station 303 m
350m 500m 150m 200m 650m

(681m — 1080m)

2
7
Milieu de station 880 m
300m 450m 0m 300m 700m

(250m — 450m)

5
10
Milieu de station 350 m
350m 400m 150m 200m 550m

(310m — 580m)

3
7
Milieu de station 445 m
350m 400m 100m 200m 500m

(573m — 896m)

3
2
Milieu de station 734 m
300m 450m 0m 250m 750m

(81m — 230m)

8
Milieu de station 156 m
400m 600m 200m 350m 600m

(756m — 1458m)

4
Milieu de station 1107 m
400m 450m 200m 400m 700m

Ks Ski South Korea

Sandwiched between China across the sea to the West, Japan across the sea to the east and with North Korea the only country to which it is connected over land, South Korea is a country where a number of relatively low level mountain ranges succeed one another across its land mass.

The Taebaek, Sobaek and Jiri mountains are the country’s three main ranges, with the highest peak in South Korea, Hallasan (1,950m), actually the cone of a volcanic formation that forms Jeju Island to the south of the mainland.

The country is famous for its normally cold winters which can usually be relied upon to bring moderate snowfall, and cold enough temperatures for snowmaking, from December to March.

The vast majority of south Korea’s ski areas are located in the north of the country in Gangwon-do province, the area that receives the most annual snowfall. Some of these are located less than an hour from Seoul.

There are a few areas located outside this region however, with Eden Valley Resort located on Sinbulsan Mountain in the South Gyeongsang Province the country’s most southerly.

Organised downhill skiing developed rather late in South Korea with the first resort developments beginning in the mid-1970s. However the rise of popularity of winter sports was fairly meteoric and whilst there remain only around 20 ski areas in the country, by the late 1990s South Korea was already considering biding to host the Winter Olympics and was a close runner up to Vancouver for 2010 and Sochi for 2014 before finally winning the right to stage the 2018 Games in Pyeongchang.

South Korea also did not suffer from the sudden decrease in interest in winter sports that effected Japan in the early 1990s after the collapse of the ‘bubble economy’ there.

South Korean ski areas may be relatively few in number but they are very heavily developed facilities in most cases, with many other year-round activities offered besides skiing and snowboarding, and extensive accommodation options on site. Most are easy to reach from major cities including the capital Seoul. Floodlighting of pistes is also common to allow for skiing from early in the morning to late at night. Peak season is from mid-December to mid-February and rooms tend to get booked up well in advance during these two months.

Muju, one of Korea’s largest resorts with 15 chairlifts for example, is alkso home to the country’s largest tennis complex with no less than 108 courts, a lake for water sports, an Arnold palmer designed 18 hole golf course and country club and many other sporting facilities including horseback and mountain bike riding trails. There’s also the Cinderella Beauty Palace, a cinema park, an artist village covering all forms of art, a Korean cultural theme park and a branch of the Russian Tchaikovsky Music Institution.

Muju’s huge 742-bedroom Hotel Tirol complex, themed on an Alpine resort, includes a grand ballroom capable of holding 700 people with a five-language simultaneous translation system in place.

Although Muju perhaps offers more non-ski/board options than any other Korean ski area, it is typical of the variety of activities available in the country’s resorts, and how winter sports are often regarded as one of many activities offered, rather than the main activity.

2018 Winter Olympics and Paralympics

Most events at the 2018 Games are set to take place in the existing resorts of Alpensia (Nordic events) and Yongpyong (Slalom and Giant Slalom).

Special venues are being created to host freestyle skiing and snowboarding at Bokwang Snow Park and for Downhill, Super-G, and Combined Alpine events, the new Jeongseon Alpine Centre.

The Jeongseon Alpine Centre has had to be created because South Korea lacked any existing ski area with a lift served vertical of more than the 800 metres required for the Downhill under International Olympic Committee (IOC) rules (the largest existing vertical was 702m at Yongpyong ski area, with most areas only having 200—400m verticals). However the development of the course here, which will have an 880m vertical, has proved controversial as the course is being cut through natural parkland and old forest, leading to protests from environmental groups. They suggested that building an artificial addition to the top of the slope at Yongpyong to provide the vertical required, perhaps also requesting exceptional permission from the IOC to reduce the required size of the vertical slightly, was a better option in their opinion.

The decision to stage the Winter Olympics in South Korea is also popularly credited in Western media as being part of the reason why North Korea decided to develop their own ski area at Masik Pass which opened for the 2013-14 ski season, although there were several smaller basic ski areas existing in North Korea before this high profile project.

North Korea actually has the higher mountains in the Korean peninsular. At 2,744 m (9,003 ft), Paektu, Baekdu, or Changbai Mountain, an active volcano on the border with China, is North Korea’s highest mountain and revered in the country as the birth place of ‘great leader’ Kim Jong Il. Chinsa has developed several ski resorts on its side of the mountain.

The Pyeongchang Winter Olympics will take place from 9 - 25 February 2018 with the Winter Paralympic Games taking place from 9 – 18 March 2018 (http://pyeongchang2018.com/horizon/eng/index.asp).
read more...

South Korea: latest snow conditions round-up

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in South Korea. Fresh snow is forecast at 0resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

All resorts

Ski resorts of South Korea, alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Resort Webcam Top
snow depth
top and bottom
Good piste
on-piste
Powder
off-piste
Fresh snow depth
last snow
Fresh snow depth
next 9 days
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
snow (cm)
Weather Next 5 days weather forecast.
Freezing level (m)
Fri Sat Sun Mon Tue

(76m — 190m)

cloudy
partly cloudy
heavy rain
light rain
clear
Mid station 133 m
4400m 4350m 4150m 4100m 4450m

(300m — 629m)

cloudy
clear
heavy rain
clear
clear
Mid station 464 m
4400m 4250m 4100m 4100m 4400m

(300m — 379m)

partly cloudy
partly cloudy
heavy rain
thunderstorm
clear
Mid station 340 m
4500m 4400m 4350m 4250m 4500m

(200m — 399m)

heavy rain
light rain
thunderstorm
thunderstorm
partly cloudy
Mid station 300 m
4600m 4550m 4650m 4550m 4750m

(300m — 473m)

cloudy
clear
heavy rain
clear
clear
Mid station 386 m
4400m 4250m 4100m 4100m 4400m

(680m — 1367m)

cloudy
partly cloudy
heavy rain
thunderstorm
clear
Mid station 1024 m
4500m 4400m 4300m 4250m 4500m

(99m — 303m)

cloudy
partly cloudy
heavy rain
thunderstorm
clear
Mid station 201 m
4450m 4350m 4200m 4150m 4500m

(177m — 497m)

cloudy
partly cloudy
heavy rain
partly cloudy
clear
Mid station 337 m
4400m 4350m 4150m 4150m 4500m

(800m — 1614m)

partly cloudy
rain showers
light rain
clear
clear
Mid station 1207 m
4450m 4400m 4350m 4300m 4550m

(1100m — 1420m)

cloudy
partly cloudy
heavy rain
heavy rain
clear
Mid station 1260 m
4500m 4400m 4300m 4250m 4500m

(172m — 434m)

cloudy
partly cloudy
heavy rain
thunderstorm
clear
Mid station 303 m
4400m 4350m 4150m 4200m 4500m

(681m — 1080m)

cloudy
partly cloudy
heavy rain
thunderstorm
clear
Mid station 880 m
4450m 4350m 4150m 4150m 4450m

(250m — 450m)

cloudy
clear
heavy rain
clear
clear
Mid station 350 m
4400m 4300m 4100m 4100m 4450m

(310m — 580m)

cloudy
partly cloudy
heavy rain
partly cloudy
clear
Mid station 445 m
4400m 4300m 4150m 4100m 4450m

(573m — 896m)

cloudy
partly cloudy
heavy rain
thunderstorm
clear
Mid station 734 m
4450m 4350m 4200m 4150m 4500m

(81m — 230m)

cloudy
partly cloudy
heavy rain
thunderstorm
clear
Mid station 156 m
4400m 4350m 4200m 4150m 4500m

(756m — 1458m)

cloudy
partly cloudy
heavy rain
rain showers
clear
Mid station 1107 m
4400m 4350m 4150m 4100m 4450m