Sf Ski en S. Africa

Le Ski en Afrique du Sud a une histoire assez folklorique : des passionnés de ski ont traqué la neige sur les sommets du pays pendant des décennies avant que la première tentative commerciale de station de ski, Tiffindell au point le plus élevé du Cap, ne voit le jour en 1993.

Cette station utilisait une méthode de neige artificielle mise au point en Nouvelle Angleterre aux Etats-Unis, mais la station a parfois aussi d'importantes chutes de neige et des vacanciers ont même été bloqués par la neige dans le passé. Malheureusement, la station connut des difficultés financières environ 15 ans après son ouverture lors de plans d'expansion et de construction d'une télécabine et elle est à vendre au moment de la rédaction. Reste à voir si la station pourra renaître ou si elle suivra le même destin que d'autres station de ski comme Tena Head en 1972 et Qwa Qwa en 1977.

En attendant les Sud-Africains peuvent encore skier au Lesotho ou sur un certain nombre de pistes de ski à surface artificielle dans leur propre pays.

Bizarrement, l'Afrique du Sud a joué un rôle dans le développement des canons à neige. Une société israélienne qui conçoit des systèmes de refroidissement a été employée par une société minière d'or près de Johannesburg afin de créer une machine de refroidissement pour une de ses mines pour minimiser l'intense chaleur souterraine. Un sous-produit inattendu du processus de refroidissement s'est avéré être la production de pure neige fraîche, qui s'accumula au pied de la machine dans le désert Sud africain à plus de 30 degrés C. La société, qui n'avait auparavant aucune connexion avec des domaines skiables fit breveter son "canon à neige" comme la première machine capable de fabriquer de la neige sans additifs à des températures au-dessus de zéro et a vendu ses premières machines à Pitztal en Autriche et Zermatt en Suisse.
Lire la suite...

S. Africa: résumé des dernières conditions de neige

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in S. Africa. Fresh snow is forecast at 0resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

Toutes stations

Ski resorts of S. Africa, alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Station de Ski Webcam Top
Profondeur de neige
en haut et en bas
Good piste
En piste
Powder
Hors-Piste
Fresh snow depth
Dernière neige
Fresh snow depth
prochains 9 jours
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
neige (cm)
Weather Prévision météo des 5 prochains jours
Niveau de gel (m)
Sat Sun Mon Tue Wed

(1836m — 2229m)

Milieu de station 2032 m
4500m 4150m 4400m 4400m 3950m

(2368m — 3282m)

Milieu de station 2825 m
4850m 4900m 4550m 4650m 4700m

(2719m — 3000m)

Tiffindell webcam
opens in 182 days
Milieu de station 2860 m
4900m 4900m 4600m 4700m 4450m

Sf Ski S. Africa

Skiing in South Africa has a mixed and fairly colourful history with enthusiasts chasing what snow fell whenever it did in the higher parts of the country for decades before the first attempt at a commercial ski centre, Tiffindell, located at the highest point on the Cape, was created in 1993.

This used snow making techniques perfected by its owners from New England in the US but the centre also sometimes receives substantial snowfalls and guests have been snowed in in the past. Unfortunately the centre ran in to financial difficulties around 15 years after opening while planning an expansion including a gondola access lift and at time of writing was up for sale. Whether it will reborn or follow the fate of earlier ski area attempts such as Tena Head in 1972 and Qwa Qwa in 1977 remains to be seen.

In the meantime South Africans can still ski in Lesotho or on a number of artificial surface skis slopes in their own nation.


South Africa also has an unlikely roll in the development of snowmaking. An Israeli corporation that builds cooling systems was employed by a gold mining company near Johannesburg to create a cooling machine for one of its mines to minimise the intense heat underground. An unexpected by-product if the cooling process turned out to be pour fresh pure snow which piled out of the machine in to the 30+C heat of the South African desert. The company, which had no ski area connections previously, patented its ‘Snow-maker’ as the first machine capable of making snow without additives in plus temperatures and sold its first machines to Pitztal in Austria and Zermatt in Switzerland.
read more...

S. Africa: latest snow conditions round-up

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in S. Africa. Fresh snow is forecast at 0resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

All resorts

Ski resorts of S. Africa, alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Resort Webcam Top
snow depth
top and bottom
Good piste
on-piste
Powder
off-piste
Fresh snow depth
last snow
Fresh snow depth
next 9 days
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
snow (cm)
Weather Next 5 days weather forecast.
Freezing level (m)
Sat Sun Mon Tue Wed

(1836m — 2229m)

clear
clear
clear
clear
clear
Mid station 2032 m
4500m 4150m 4400m 4400m 3950m

(2368m — 3282m)

clear
thunderstorm
thunderstorm
thunderstorm
thunderstorm
Mid station 2825 m
4850m 4900m 4550m 4650m 4700m

(2719m — 3000m)

Tiffindell webcam
opens in 182 days
clear
partly cloudy
thunderstorm
thunderstorm
thunderstorm
Mid station 2860 m
4900m 4900m 4600m 4700m 4450m