Bm Ski en Myanmar (Burma)

Après des décennies de dictature militaire à Myanmar (anciennement connu comme la Birmanie), il y a très peu d'infrastructures dans le pays, sans parler des remontées mécaniques, mais, étonnamment, il y a eu plusieurs plans pour construire une station de ski sur le plus haut sommet d'Asie du sud-est qui branche de l'Himalaya tibétain, le mont Hkakabo Razi mesurant 5 881 m et se situant dans la province de Kachin, dans le nord-ouest du pays.

Les plans initiaux du gouvernement à la fin des années 1990 ont échoué parce que l'accès aux pistes de ski dans cet endroit qui est un des plus reculé sur terre implique un trek de 10 jours à travers la jungle, en partie contrôlée par la guérilla séparatiste, et l'utilisation de l'aéroport international de la première destination touristique du Nord de la Thaïlande, Chiang Mai, derrière la frontière qui Myanmar avait unilatéralement fermé. Plus récemment, des investisseurs thaïlandais annonçaient la création d'une destination touristique ouverte toute l'année dans une nature immaculée, mais rien n'est sorti de cette idée.

Bien qu'il soit en permanence recouvert de neige, skier sur ou à proximité du Mount Hkakabo Razi est pratiquement impossible à cause des problèmes politiques et pratiques pour se rendre sur les pistes. Il ne fut même pas gravi jusqu'en 1997 quand une équipe de grimpeurs japonais et birmans arrivèrent au sommet. La ville la plus proche, Putao, était autrefois un des avant-postes le plus reculé de l'empire britannique au XIXe siècle. Il y a néanmoins un aéroport à proximité avec des vols quotidiens à partir de Yangon.

Les précipitations dans la région – environ 5 mètres par an - , tombant sous forme de neige à des altitudes plus élevées, sont censées être abondantes, grâce à sa proximité à nombre de sources d'eau importantes dont le golfe du Bengale à 900 km. Cependant, les glaciers qui existaient sur Hkakabo Razi ont tellement fondu, dû au changement climatique, qu'ils ne sont plus classés comme tels. Mais la neige abondante reste encore toute l'année dans certains lieux sur la montagne.

Un autre facteur inhabituel, c'est que les pentes raides de la montagne génèrent une grande quantité d'avalanches à des niveaux plus bas où la neige se recueille dans des zones abritées et dure souvent toute l'année à des altitudes plus faibles qu'il serait normalement le cas à cette latitude.
Lire la suite...

Myanmar (Burma): résumé des dernières conditions de neige

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in Myanmar (Burma). Fresh snow is forecast at 1resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

Toutes stations

Ski resorts of Myanmar (Burma), alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Station de Ski Webcam Top
Profondeur de neige
en haut et en bas
Good piste
En piste
Powder
Hors-Piste
Fresh snow depth
Dernière neige
Fresh snow depth
prochains 9 jours
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
neige (cm)
Weather Prévision météo des 5 prochains jours
Niveau de gel (m)
Sat Sun Mon Tue Wed

(4357m — 5881m)

2
Milieu de station 5119 m
3500m 3300m 3650m 3750m 3700m

Login / Sign Up


Snow-Forecast logoSnow mountain photo

Bm Ski Myanmar (Burma)

After decades of mis-rule by the military dictatorship in Myanmar (formerly Burma) there is very little infrastructure left in the country, let alone ski lifts, but surprisingly there have been several plans to construct a Myanmar ski resort on South East asia’s highest peak, 5,881m high Mount Hkakabo Razi in the province of Kachin in the north-west of the country, an off shoot of the Tibetan Himalayas.

Initial plans by the government in the late 1990s failed because accessing the ski slopes in one of the remotest places on earth involved a 10-day trek through jungle, which is partly controlled by separatist guerrillas and the use of the international airport over the border at the leading northern Thai tourist destination of Chiang Mai, a border which Myanmar had unilaterally closed. More recently there have been plans announced by Thai investors to create a year round tourist destination in the pristine wilderness, but as yet nothing has come of that idea either.

Although permanently snow capped, skiing in or near Mount Hkakabo Razi is virtually impossible because of the political and practical problems in getting to the slopes. It was not even climbed until 1997 when a team of Japanese and Myanmar climbers made the summit. The closest town, Putao, was once one of the remotest outposts of the British empire in the 19th century. There is an airport here however with daily flights in from Yangon.

Precipitation in the region, falling as snow at higher altitudes, is reported to be abundant, thanks to its proximity to a number of major water sources including the Bay of Bengal 900km away, – around 5 metres per year. However glaciers that used to exist on Hkakabo Razi are reported to have melted away so much due to climate change there are no longer classed as such. But the abundant snow does still lie year round in places on the mountain.

Another unusual factor is that the steep sides of the mountain lead to large volumes of snow avalanching to lower levels where the fallen snow collects in sheltered areas and again often lasts year round at lower altitudes than would normally be the case at this latitude.
read more...

Myanmar (Burma): latest snow conditions round-up

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in Myanmar (Burma). Fresh snow is forecast at 0 resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

All resorts

Ski resorts of Myanmar (Burma), alphabetically


Bottom Mid Top
Resort Webcam Top
snow depth
top and bottom
Good piste
on-piste
Powder
off-piste
Fresh snow depth
last snow
Fresh snow depth
next 9 days
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
snow (cm)
Weather Next 5 days weather forecast.
Freezing level (m)
Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

(4357m — 5881m)

3
snow showers
snow showers
clear
snow showers
snow showers
Mid station 5119 m
4400m 4400m 4300m 4450m 4450m

Return to countries list