Gl Ski en Greenland

Le Groenland est en grande partie recouvert de neige (80 % du territoire est sous la glace permanente) avec des sommets atteignant 3700m (Gunnbjørn Fjeld) et beaucoup de superbes domaines skiable. Il a acquis une autonomie croissante au cours des dernières décennies, mais il reste une dépendance autonome du Danemark.

Grâce à sa latitude septentrionale, la saison de ski dure souvent jusqu'au printemps avec les mois d'avril et de mai étant souvent les meilleurs mois pour skier.

Ce qui manque au Groenland c'est la population pour faire que les stations de ski soient commercialement viables : il y a moins de 60 000 personnes vivant ici. Cependant, vous pouvez skier au Groenland dans une douzaine de stations de ski, souvent équipées de simples tire-fesses, situées près des centre de population.

Il y a aussi des possibilités exceptionnelles pour les voyageurs aventureux de faire de l'héliski. L'héliski au Groenland, basé à 60 kilomètres au nord de Maniitsoq (qui lui-même a une réputation de base principale du pays pour les activités de ski de randonnée l'été), dans le petit village de Kangaamiut qui exploite le terrain sauvage de la côte Ouest du pays offre des pistes de 2000m de dénivelé jusqu'au bord de l'eau sur la côte.

Des établissements avec des remontées mécaniques ont été mis en place essentiellement pour le plaisir des locaux incluant une installation sur l'île de Tupilak, située à 1000m de Aasiaat à travers la glace et a été construite dans les années 1990 et offre des possibilités de location de matériel si vous avez oublié votre propre matériel. Nuuk a signalé deux tire-fesses qui ont un départ derrière l'aéroport de la capitale et continuent jusqu'au sommet de Quassussuaq. D'ici vous pouvez apprécier la vue sur Nuuk, Akia (Nordlandet), différentes îles, des péninsules et la mer.
Lire la suite...

Greenland: résumé des dernières conditions de neige

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in Greenland. Fresh snow is forecast at 1resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

Toutes stations

Ski resorts of Greenland, alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Station de Ski Webcam Top
Profondeur de neige
en haut et en bas
Good piste
En piste
Powder
Hors-Piste
Fresh snow depth
Dernière neige
Fresh snow depth
prochains 9 jours
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
neige (cm)
Weather Prévision météo des 5 prochains jours
Niveau de gel (m)
Sat Sun Mon Tue Wed

(800m — 1100m)

14
11
Milieu de station 950 m
800m 750m 100m 0m 0m

(0m — 914m)

11
7
22
Milieu de station 457 m
400m 500m 0m 0m 0m

Gl Ski Greenland

Greenland is a largely snow covered land (80% of it is beneath permanent ice) with peaks as high as 3700m (Gunnbjørn Fjeld) and lots of superb ski terrain. It has gained increasing autonomy in recent decades, but remains a self-governing dependency of Denmark.

Thanks to its northerly latitude the ski season can also continue right through spring with April and May often the best time to ski here.

What Greenland lacks is the population to make Greenland ski areas commercially viable (there are less than 60,000 living here), however you can ski Greenland at half a dozen small ski centres – usually with just a single drag lifts – in most cases close to the major population centres.

Well-heeled adventure travellers also have some exceptional heliskiing opportunities. Greenland Heliskiing, based 60 kilometres north of Maniitsoq (which itself has a reputation as the country’s main base for summer ski touring activities), in the tiny village of Kangaamiut for example operate on the wild terrain on the West coast of the country (not that much of it isn’t wild) and offer 2000m runs right down to the water’s edge on the coast.

Settlements with small ski lift operations set up primarily for the enjoyment of locals include an operation on the island of Tupilak, 1000m from Aasiaat across the ice which was built in the late 1990s and has rental equipment available if you’ve forgotten your own. Nuuk's reported two drag lifts start behind the capital’s airport and continue to the top of Quassussuaq. From here you can enjoy the view over Nuuk, Akia (Nordlandet), islands, peninsulas and the sea.
read more...

Greenland: latest snow conditions round-up

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in Greenland. Fresh snow is forecast at 2resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

All resorts

Ski resorts of Greenland, alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Resort Webcam Top
snow depth
top and bottom
Good piste
on-piste
Powder
off-piste
Fresh snow depth
last snow
Fresh snow depth
next 9 days
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
snow (cm)
Weather Next 5 days weather forecast.
Freezing level (m)
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu

(800m — 1100m)

3
1
partly cloudy
light snow
cloudy
partly cloudy
clear
Mid station 950 m
100m 250m 1050m 650m 0m

(0m — 914m)

8
2
7
light snow
light snow
partly cloudy
snow showers
snow showers
Mid station 457 m
150m 850m 850m 300m 50m