Et Ski en Ethiopia

Il n'est pas normalement possible de skier en Ethiopie et vous n'y trouverez ni remontées mécaniques ni domaines skiables.

Le plus haut sommet du pays est Ras Dashen culminant à 4550m d'altitude dans les montagnes du Simien à l'extrémité nord de l'Ethiopie. Celui-ci surmonte de près de 4000 m le paysage environnant et en fait l'une des 25 plus hautes montagnes du monde en termes de leur élévation au-dessus des terres environnantes.

Ce qui manque très souvent à Ras Dashen c'est une abondance de neige, bien que la neige puisse s'accumuler sur les pentes supérieures dans de rares circonstances et que des photographies de la montagne avec de la neige semblent indiquer que par une journée propice et après une longue ascension à pied, il soit théoriquement possible de skier en Ethiopie.

La montagne est en fait le sommet oriental d'un vaste volcan, la moitié nord duquel possède des ravins spectaculaires jusqu'à 1000m de profondeur, creusés par des ruisseaux qui se déversent dans la rivière Takkazzi. Sur le côté ouest de ce super volcan se trouve le mont Biuat (presque aussi élevé à 4510 mètres), les deux étant séparés par la vallée du fleuve Meshaha. La première ascension connue du Ras Dashen eut lieu dans les années 1840 par des officiers de l'armée française arpentant la région. Lire la suite...

Ethiopia: résumé des dernières conditions de neige

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in Ethiopia. Fresh snow is forecast at 0resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

Toutes stations

Ski resorts of Ethiopia, alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Station de Ski Webcam Top
Profondeur de neige
en haut et en bas
Good piste
En piste
Powder
Hors-Piste
Fresh snow depth
Dernière neige
Fresh snow depth
prochains 9 jours
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
neige (cm)
Weather Prévision météo des 5 prochains jours
Niveau de gel (m)
Sat Sun Mon Tue Wed

(3096m — 4620m)

Milieu de station 3858 m
4950m 4950m 4950m 4900m 4850m

Et Ski Ethiopia

It is not normally possible to snow ski Ethiopia and you will not find any lifts or Ethiopia ski areas.

The country’s highest point is 4,550m (14,928ft) high Ras Dashen in the Semien Mountains at the northern end of Ethiopia. This towers nearly 4,000m (13,123ft) above the surrounding landscape making it one of the 25 highest mountains in the world in terms of their rise above the land surrounding them.

What Ras Dashen lacks is much snow, very often, although snow can accumulate on the upper slopes in rare circumstances and photographs of the mountain with snow appear to indicate that if you were there on the right day having hiked up a long way, it could potentially be possible to ski Ethiopia.

The mountain is in fact the eastern peak of a vast volcano, the northern half of which has spectacular ravines cut up to 1000m deep in to it by streams which draining in to the Takkazzi River. On the western side of this super volcano is Mount Biuat (almost as high at 4,510 meters) with the two divided by the Meshaha river valley. The first known ascent of Ras Dashen was in the 1840s by French army officers surveying the region. read more...

Ethiopia: latest snow conditions round-up

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in Ethiopia. Fresh snow is forecast at 0resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

All resorts

Ski resorts of Ethiopia, alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Resort Webcam Top
snow depth
top and bottom
Good piste
on-piste
Powder
off-piste
Fresh snow depth
last snow
Fresh snow depth
next 9 days
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
snow (cm)
Weather Next 5 days weather forecast.
Freezing level (m)
Thu Fri Sat Sun Mon

(3096m — 4620m)

moderate rain
rain showers
rain showers
rain showers
rain showers
Mid station 3858 m
5200m 5200m 5100m 4950m 5000m