Ec Ski en Ecuador

L'Equateur n'a pas de remontées mécaniques mais il est traversé par les hautes montagnes des Andes, dont certains sommets sont enneigées en permanence. Pour ceux qui souhaitent une vraie expérience de ski alpin, qui acceptent de monter en randonnée jusqu'à des milliers de mètres pour skier en dehors des sentiers battus, l'Equateur est certainement une destination à considérer.

La "montagne de ski" la plus connue est en fait un volcan dans la région de Pichincha vers le nord du pays dont la dernière éruption date de 1786. Le Cayambe s'élève à 5790 m d'altitude, le troisième plus haut sommet d'Equateur, et s'étend sur plus de 2000m au-dessus du paysage environnant, y compris une ville agricole importante du même nom à la base du volcan, où vivent quelque 30.000 personnes, à environ 70 km (43 miles) au Nord-Est de la capitale équatorienne, Quito.

La première ascension eut lieu en 1880 par Edward Whymper, un célèbre alpiniste de l'époque victorienne. Il fit sa première ascension du Cervin 15 ans auparavant pendant laquelle quatre personnes de son groupe décédèrent. Son ascension du Cayambe était en partie destinée à étudier la question peu connue à l'époque de la maladie d'altitude qui bien sûr touche encore les skieurs aujourd'hui. Lire la suite...

Ecuador: résumé des dernières conditions de neige

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in Ecuador. Fresh snow is forecast at 1resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

Toutes stations

Ski resorts of Ecuador, alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Station de Ski Webcam Top
Profondeur de neige
en haut et en bas
Good piste
En piste
Powder
Hors-Piste
Fresh snow depth
Dernière neige
Fresh snow depth
prochains 9 jours
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
neige (cm)
Weather Prévision météo des 5 prochains jours
Niveau de gel (m)
Sat Sun Mon Tue Wed

(3957m — 5785m)

59
13
97
Milieu de station 4871 m
4700m 4750m 4800m 4850m 4900m

Ec Ski Ecuador

Equador does not have any ski lifts but it does have high mountains of the Andes, some of which are permanently snow-capped so for those wish ski mountaineering experience who are happy to hike up thousands of metres in order to ski an off-the-beaten-track ski nation, Equador is certainly on the hit list.

The best known ‘ski mountain’ is in fact a volcano in the Pichincha region towards the north of the country which last erupted in 1786. Cayambe is 5,790m (18,996 ft) high, making it Equador’s third highest peak, and extends more than 2000m above the surrounding landscape including the large farming town of the same name at the base of the volcano, home to some 30,000 people and around 70 km (43 mi) northeast of Ecuador’s capital Quito.

It was first ascended in 1880 by Edward Whymper who was a famous Victorian-era mountaineer who had made the first ascent of the Matterhorn 15 years earlier in which four of his party fell to their deaths. His ascent of Cayambe was in part to study the then little known issue of altitude sickness which of course still affects skiers at these altitudes today. read more...

Ecuador: latest snow conditions round-up

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in Ecuador. Fresh snow is forecast at 1resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

All resorts

Ski resorts of Ecuador, alphabetically

Bottom Mid Top
Resort Webcam Top
snow depth
top and bottom
Good piste
on-piste
Powder
off-piste
Fresh snow depth
last snow
Fresh snow depth
next 9 days
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
snow (cm)
Weather Next 5 days weather forecast.
Freezing level (m)
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu

(3957m — 5785m)

27
4
88
light snow
light snow
snow showers
snow showers
partly cloudy
Mid station 4871 m
4700m 4800m 4800m 4850m 4950m