• Icon snowing  color

Visitor reviews for Tignes Ski Resort

Tignes Ratings

Overall: 4.2. Based on 87 votes and 96 reviews. Vote

Snowsure: 4.8

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Tignes is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Variety of pistes: 4.7

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Tignes has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Off-piste: 4.7

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Scenery: 3.8

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Access: 3.5

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Tignes.

Public Transport: 4.0

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Tignes, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Accommodation: 4.7

(1) No places to stay in/near Tignes, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 3.9

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 4.2

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Tignes.

Ski in/Ski out: 4.7

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 4.1

(1) There are no child care facilities at Tignes, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowmaking: 4.3

(1) Tignes relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 4.6

(1) There are no snow groomers at Tignes, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Tignes are groomed daily.

Shelter: 3.1

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Tignes is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 3.8

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Tignes, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 4.7

(1) Tignes usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.2

(1) The staff at Tignes are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Tignes are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 3.7

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.6

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.6

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Beginners: 4.0

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.8

(1) No intermediate terrain at Tignes, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 4.9

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 4.4

(1) Not even a kicker at Tignes, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Cross-country: 3.3

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Tignes, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 2.9

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Tignes has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 4.2

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 4.5

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 4.1

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 4.5

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 3.7

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 3.4

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 4.2

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 4.2

(1) Overall, Tignes is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 4.1

(1) Overall, Tignes is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

November 16, 2016
Dan from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Snow, snow and more snow with more on the way. The best pre-season skiing for a decade and Tignes is one of the only resorts open and enjoying it!
March 20, 2007
jorge sousa from Ski Portugal Portugal
Just came back from Tignes. Great ski holiday. The snow was great but a bit slushy in the afternoon. Great weather but a bit hot on the lower slopes. The " Espace Killy " is amazing with wonderful spots and amazing views. The people are warm and very friendly. We stayed in an apartment in Val Claret. It was small but well located. The prices for me were a bit " heavy", for example a dinner out was never less 40€, a 1,5L bottle of water was 5€ ( Val D´Isere), 2 coffees, a coke and fresh fries were 25€ (Les Boisses). Ok, we know that they only have 4 months to get rich!!!!but for me it is a place to return. Probably next season.
February 23, 2011
David J from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just got back from Tignes and also went there last year. The variation of runs is fantastic, the lifts are fast, lots of other activities for non skiers and the piste management is first class, off-piste is also good. I have no hesitation in booking again. There is also a good selection of ski schools, this year we had a group of 6 and we used Ultimate who were very good.
January 12, 2020
Tom from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Tignes is one of my favourite places in the Alps/Europe. Tignes is suited for serious skiers who love off-piste. If you care about anything other than skiing, leave it for everyone else to enjoy and keep writing the negative reviews! They really do make me laugh. Tignes is an ugly village, all the lifts are ancient, accommodation basic, 'weather was cold' (it's a ski resort up to 3500m what do you expect?) blah blah… Ugly village - I do not give a monkey's, I came here to ski. Majority of lifts are 4/6 seater high speed chairs, quite a few bubbles, cable cars + gondolas. The lifts are very well planned too, the vertical you can cover in a day really is exceptional. There is one ancient chairlift that goes up to the Aguille de Percee (eye of the needle - rock formation with a hole in it) but it serves some of the most epic off-piste you will find anywhere. Good snow-park too, half-pipe (watched the world cup half pipe from my hotel room before) and a mini kicker with a free airbag sometimes makes an appearance! Previous review complained about piste grooming too ('third world resort' is how they described it, LOL!). It's really not that bad. They do groom pistes despite what another reviewer said. Maybe not perfect piste basher lines at the end of the day but what do you expect from such a popular resort...? They sometimes leave some pistes with fresh snowfall on because seriously who doesn't like fresh powder?! Snow-wise Tignes gets a decent amount as it's high up. Usually retains it very well and you can still find fresh snow (if you know where to look) weeks after the last dump. When it is white-out conditions it can be pretty bad as there aren't many trees on the Tignes side (more in Val D'Isere) but in the 8 years I've been there I've had one true white-out day. It wasn't all bad though as I practically had the mountain to myself! Avalanches are frequent off-piste. Take safety equipment and know the conditions/get a guide to make the most of it safely. To be expected though given the snowfall and vast amount of off-piste available. Heliski run was fantastic steep tree skiing. Free bus too between Tignes and Val which can pick you up after some off-piste runs too (forget which ones sorry!) Nightlife is ok, quite expensive depending where you go. Even more so on Val d'Isere side (although it's known as a party town). Val also has 'La Folie Douce' restaurant/bar/club on the mountain itself which is always rammed all day. Food also quite expensive wherever you go. In summary, if you're a skier who wants to find things to moan about, leave this place for the real skiers :) Because it really is a skiers' paradise. Oh and if you can avoid French and English school holidays you will find a much quieter resort!
December 01, 2009
julian from Ski France France
Val Claret is superb everything so close at hand, only draw back, it is expensive, and im not a tight arse. Since living in France we now go to the Cental Massif, eg Supper-Besse, Le Mont Dore, Le Lorian. You can go for a week for a third of the cost and eat out every night. We will return though to the three valleys im sure, soon
December 09, 2008
Peter Mason from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
I visited the area in 2000 and had a superb week in January. I went by train and had the benefit of two Saturdays skiing as opposed to travelling to and from the airport. Met a bunch of folks in a chalet in Val D'Isere led by Gerry and Gill who knew everywhere to go both to ski and eat. After a great week I decided that I had only skied about half of the resort and so went back in March staying in Tignes to discover the rest of the area. The second time was even better as I really started to understand how the lifts system linked together and so had to spend less time looking at piste maps and checking times of lifts. Have not missed a year since (except 2007 when I had a triple heart bi-pass and was under orders from the Doc.) All of the different parts have their own attractions and it is a question of both balancing your priorities and budget. I rarely pay more than £250 for a catered week using Skiworld who I believe to be the best operator in the Alps. You do have to wait until a week or so before setting off to get such deals and this means you can almost get three weeks for the price of two normal trips. My favourite location is Val Claret where you have plenty of bars and restaurants and almost no walking as access to the slopes is close at hand. It is not in the same league as Val D'Isere for nightlife but I believe it does have the best restaurant in Le Caveau where the food and entertainment are the very best. The area sets the standard for ski resorts and I'm convinced that once you've tried it you will definitely want to return. I'm off again on Friday for a pre Christmas trip and hopefully will be back again in the new year. Enjoy
December 06, 2007
Eamonn from Ski Ireland Ireland
My family and I have been staying and skiing in Tignes for the past 4 years and in comparison to other European resorts that we have experienced, you will find the best snow conditions in this resort. The architecture is definitely lacking but the convenience of the free bus link and easy access to the pistes makes up for the lack of traditional alpine charm. I meet a lot of skiers on the lifts who confess that the lifts and slopes in Tignes are more superior than neighbouring Val D'Isere. So that great debate continues!!
February 21, 2013
Stevie from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
I was also there the first week of February and I'm struggling to comprehend the previous report. Were we in the same place? My abiding memories will be copious amounts of dry fluffy powder, no queues and even more dry fluffy powder. Even for the lifts out of Val Claret at lunch the longest we waited was 5 minutes. Same goes for pistes, yes, the Double M and and the blue down from Toviere are busy at the end of the day, but you just go slow and be aware. And until you need to use these busy pistes - you don't have to. There is a whole mountain to explore with very few people on it. Regarding the pistes, I think they did a great job considering the amount of snow coming down. As for flats, as a boarder I don't remember many on the Val side, although I can usually get up enough speed to ride them out. The only negative I can say is that it was bloody freezing - but that's what you get when you choose to go to a high altitude resort at that time of the year, nothing to do with the resort or resort management.
January 16, 2020
Karen Moyse from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
I would highly recommend Tignes. It is incredibly snowsure even early in the season (we had powder and sun and great pistes even early December). The resort takes huge care in keeping the mountain safe and the pistes are always well looked after. The off-piste is fantastic even if you are learning. The town has lots of great friendly bars and restaurants and many quiet parts of the resort eg Les Almes and Tignes Le Lac. It's not the prettiest resort but with a dusting of snow everything transforms. Probably more for early intermediates onwards rather than first beginners but there are enough runs for all levels. The buses are better than any other resort I've stayed in and it's extremely easy to find your way around the pistes as there are great direction signs. Enjoy.
March 18, 2015
Lenny from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
I've been skiing for 25 years all over the world and have just come back from skiing Tignes and the Espace Killy ski area for the first time. We went in low season and I have to say how disappointed I was with the outdated lift system, especially on the Les Brevieres side, with the fixed chairlifts which crack the back of the legs before taking you up the mountain at a snail's pace. Even though it was low season the ineffective lift system was the cause for many delays throughout the whole area. The condition of the pistes was an absolute disgrace with very little grooming, even on main pistes being groomed only once in the week and when I say "once" I mean that half of the piste was groomed. This can vary between the top, bottom or side of the piste whichever they seemed bothered to do. This whole area needs major investment in the lift system and in some more piste bashers as it was, at times, like a third world resort! I will not be returning to this ski area until it resembles something like a ski area which has some pride. Come on Espace Killy, sort it out!