Visitor reviews for Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) Ski Resort

Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) Ratings

Overall: 3.9. Based on 26 votes and 63 reviews. Vote

Snowsure: 3.8

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Variety of pistes: 4.2

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Off-piste: 3.8

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Scenery: 4.1

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Access: 4.4

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea).

Public Transport: 4.1

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Accommodation: 4.3

(1) No places to stay in/near Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 4.0

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 3.4

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea).

Ski in/Ski out: 3.9

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 3.6

(1) There are no child care facilities at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowmaking: 3.8

(1) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 4.0

(1) There are no snow groomers at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) are groomed daily.

Shelter: 3.9

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 3.9

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 3.8

(1) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.1

(1) The staff at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 3.7

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.5

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.4

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Beginners: 3.7

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.7

(1) No intermediate terrain at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 4.2

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 3.1

(1) Not even a kicker at Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Cross-country: 2.8

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea), (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 2.5

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 4.3

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 4.2

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 4.3

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 3.1

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 3.1

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 3.4

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 4.0

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 4.0

(1) Overall, Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 4.2

(1) Overall, Sauze d'Oulx (Via Lattea) is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

January 25, 2006
Paul Stoker from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Simon, you need to clarify your statement that it is not good for beginners. There are nursery runs at village level which can be accessed by a chair, trust me that's a pretty good start. And like Robert has stated, there are 2 ways back down to Clotes, one which is red but the other is blue.
January 23, 2006
robert binning from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Simon, beginners should take the ski bus to the bottom of the Sportinia Chair. Also, I assume the red you refer to is the short, direct one (forget it's name), you can ski down the long way round on a gentler slope.
January 19, 2006
simon from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Spent 7 days at the Hotel Sayonara over Xmas 2005. The deal was £170-ish inc flights, HB, transfers etc. from Iglu, so very much bargain basement. Hotel basic with good food-no problem. We liked the town which has more character than most. Forget about the lager lout reputation - it is an outdated image. We enjoyed the week in Sauze however a couple of points: 1.This resort is not good for beginners or nervous intermediates as the resort operators do not keep any blue runs open with snow cannons !!! 2. Weather was fantastic but there seems to be an issue with snow cover. A very large percentage of runs stay shut and you can forget about ski-ing the so called milky way unless you are very lucky with snow falls. When we were there most weather sites were saying there was 50cm of snow on the lower slopes - obviously not the ones we skied on !!!!
January 12, 2006
CR Leeds from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Spent 7 nights in Sauze at the Hotel Hermitage booked through Airtours. Booked about 3 weeks before Christmas, half board, Manchester to Turin all for £194!! I can highly recommend the Hermitage, all the rooms have just been completely refurbished, everything is brand new for this season including flat screen TV's in every room. Dinner was 4 courses: anti-pasta, pasta (2 different dishes), meat and with sauté potatoes and veg., desert. Serving are very generous, with as many helpings as you eat. It's also located just 50m across the piste from the brand new 4 man Clotes chairlift. The skiing was good considering they only had limited (40cm) snow for the first week in the season. They've invested in plenty of new snow cannons and managed to provide plenty of runs to keep both intermediate and beginners entertained for a week. The only problem was getting to Sportina for Ski school using Clotes lift meant descending a steep red, a bit tough for beginners to negotiate. Watch out when hiring equipment, we used the Airtours recommended Faure Sport. The Ski equipment was good although only after paying 25euro to upgrade, a bit of a scam there. The Snow Boards were totally worn out, no edges and no flex, a dangerous combination causing a number of painful falls when crossing some ice patches, should be thrown away. I returned mine after 3 days once I realised the cause. Overall excellent value, I’d certainly return.
December 27, 2005
Lionel Griffiths from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just got back from christmas in Sauze. Very hard packed pistes and only 3 runs back to the resort. Snow cannons did their best but this actually made skiing more difficult. However. . . we had a mega time - the pistes are 99% reds and narrow in places but this only served to bring our standard up. If you can ski here you can ski anywhere. This is not a beginners resort and the walk up to the main ski lift at Clotes is steep and longer than the brochures tell you - it is at least 400 mtrs from the centre of Sauze. Sportinia is another option but you need to get on the ski bus - not easy! BUT, beware, Sportinia is packed with beginners - head straight up to the top and avoid it like the plague. The lifts are old and slow. When there is no snow, Sauze struggles - there was no link to Sestriere open. However, we had a great week skiing on the limited pistes and would definately go back to Sauze later in the season. The ski and boot hire is a racket - some try to get you to "upgrade" to better gear at extra cost - by hiring you awful condition skis & boots. The BEST shop for ski and boot hire is Besson Sport. We asked for our money back at another shop and went there. Good service and good gear. With more snow and less dog-pooh, Sauze could be a great resort - if it could drag itself out of the 80's Benidorm-in-ski mindset and offer more piste and less pi**ed! The old town is lovely, the rest is concrete. Oh, and there is NO ice rink despite what Airtours insist. It is not a family resort but fab if you want to booze all night and sleep all day. During the week, several horror stories emerged about the variation in quality of ski instructor - some were left up the mountain after their first 2hr lesson and walked back down - the only other way was steep reds! Others reported impatient instructors. hearsay? Certainly there is only ONE beginner piste, 75 mtrs long - learn at Xscape before you go. In conclusion - there are plenty of better resorts, but with plenty of snow, Sauze would be excellent for intermediates and I would go back - but only for the skiing and only if the Vialattea links were open. If you're a beginner - go to Montgenevre at the other end of the milky way - all blues and greens.
November 26, 2005
Debbie Pheby from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
The fact that my son and I will be retuning for our sixthe Xmas in Sauze, I think, speaks volumes! I can only reiterate other visitors reviews regarding the resort; the range of runs and facilities is there for every conceivable ability and the atmosphere on the mountain is 'cracking' not to mention the apre ski! the 'natives' are unbelievably friendly and hospitable. Anybody who says Sauze is the 'Ibiza' of ski resorts in Europe needs to try it for themself before they believe that! If you want to ski hard all day, apre ski all evening and then party through the night, you can....... and if you just want a quiet relaxing day on the slopes followed by a quiet night in, you can do that too and not even know the youngsters are partying (unless you want to join then if you are allowed!) I have skiied in America, France, Austria and other resorts in Italy, but for me Sauze is without a doubt the best. This xmas and new year cannot come soon enough!
October 31, 2005
robert binning from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Read J & C's review, had to respond. Sauze d'Oulx rocks! Great apres ski, blieant food, great range of pistes, miles of ski-ing, remember to visit Sestriere, Claviere, San Sicario and Mont Genevre. Yes, snow is sometimes a bit absent, but snow making is now phenomenal. Uplift from centre of village was a joke (but 4 man to sportinia is quick) but this is being replaced for this season. I've skied here every January for last five years, only going to Mayrhofen this year to avoid the Olympic crowds. I'll be back in 2007.
January 26, 2005
Richard Gardiner from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
I have been to Sauze twice before in mid 90's and have had a great time on both occasions, sun, skiing, beer bars and suprisingly good places to eat. Lucky with good snow I think. It does get busy at the weekend but quiet for the rest of the week. Mostly intermediate runs, with some steeper stuff in Sestriere. Some good potential for off-piste diversions. Chairs are definitely slow in comparison to other areas and the old two man chair that you have to jump off holding your ski's is always good for a laugh, unless it has now been replaced(remember to step to the side, rather than run away from it!). Going again this year because feeling poor, like to have two trips a year and got a good price for a resort that offers a lot of potential if snow OK (and short transfer). However, would always chooser higher, larger French resorts, or Selva in Italy if not skint. Would recommend Cervinia for beginners and early intermediates who want to go to Italy and want loads of easy runs. Sauze is well worth a visit if you get a good price and can tolerate some of the limitations.
December 09, 2004
J and C from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
We are back from our ski weekend in Italy and in short …….never to return again!! We arrived at the Turin Airport ½ hour late, due to massive snow falls in the UK, to quite a warm Italy. my husband and I made our way to the closest toilet in the terminal and were pretty grossed out at how dirty they were. Outside the guy from our hotel was waiting with his blue jersey, to take us to our so called ‘hotel’. This guy, we still do not know his name, wore the same jersey from Friday when we arrived until Sunday when we left. The cab stunk of wet smelly stinking socks so we had to endure this for 1 hr. When we got to the place, we realized we were not in Sauze D’Oulx where our friends were staying but rather the town way below it called Jouvenceaux. There were just mountains everywhere and we could see this coming, the mountains we would be climbing to get to ski lifts and back to our ‘hotel’. The guy showed us to the closest ski hire shop which we could not believe. The ski’s were from 1800’s with tie bindings, not even click ones (like we were used to) so we asked for another shop which was now not in our village but Sauze instead. We eventually got our blue jersey man to drive us up the hill to try and get some skis before the shop closed in 15 mins. We soon realized most things closed btw 1230 and 1530 even the ski lift near to our town. We managed to get some skis and once again persuaded our man in the blue jersey to take us up to Sauze so we could ski on Friday afternoon from the Sauze lift system. But before skiing we got shown to our room which we were horrified at. This was also from the 1800’s. The beds were camper beds and if you sat in the middle of them, you got folded inside them. The mattresses were an entire 5cm thick with springs sticking out everywhere. The bathroom had no shower and there was so much junk all around the room, we could not believe our eyes. To top it all, it was the most we have ever paid for accommodation when skiing and it was def the worst. We then proceeded to the slopes which were probably the highlight of the w/end. The snow was great, there were no moguls and the slopes were strangely empty maybe it was because most of the lifts took about 45 mins to get anywhere at all not to mention uncomfortable at all – they all seemed to stick into the middle of your back. The lifts are in sure need of a major revamp and soon at that. They are supposed to be having the 2006 Olympics at this place and as far as we were concerned, they need to break down the entire of the village, ski lifts, restaurants etc and start again!! We had lunch at a restaurant in the Sportina region where we were served our meals on plastic plates. There must have been about 6-7 restaurants in this small area and yip they had all but one toilet!!! We really liked the slopes but seriously that was about it for Sauze. The Italians were nice and friendly but most of them seriously needed some deo!! Out on Friday night, we went to a bar which had about 200 people inside it and it has a communal bathroom for men and woman which was a ceramic hole in the floor. We were not impressed to say the least!! Friends went on a week’s package deal which was quite reasonable but I think if it were us, we would have left after the 2 nights we had experienced no matter what the cost!! Saturday it snowed huge and on Sunday morning there was at least 40cms of snow which melted so fast because we think it must have reached about 10 degrees on the mountains. We skied loads on Sunday and our bodies felt the effect. Last night we were delayed in Turin airport which is also filthy so only got back at 230am in th emorning. To sum it all up, we think Austria RULZZZZ big time, it is spotless, much cheaper and so modern and you can't even compare Austria's great nightlife to Suaze. We will never return to Italy, at least for a skiing holiday. We will need something really special to make us go back – maybe the Italian Riviera ....who knows?? So take advice from this, you might get a good ski package for Italy but DO NOT TAKE anyone/anything up on it.
March 30, 2004
A Jones from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just been to Sauze for a week. Was pleasantly suprised especially as a friend had said it was the Bendorm of ski resorts. The town is small but nice, especially the old town which has retained some of its character. There's plenty to do at night and if you're not into UK-style pubs abroad (which I personally think are sh*te) there's some places that are pretty cool - like the Derby Bar, just off the main square. Skiing is good - there are loads of runs in the Sauze/Sportina area, as well as the adjoiing areas of Sansicaria and Sestriere. Some of the lifts are old and slow so moving between and around the different areas can be a bit time consuming (which also means you freeze your arse off). Runs are mostly red and intermediate, but if you're confident and not a complete beginner the skiing is great. There's a few nice tree-lined runs for those 'scenic' descents. Not sure what the conditions are normally like but the runs were hard and icey for most of the week (Mar 21st to 28th). There was a 6 inch snow fall over the thursday and friday, which was great for the first half of the day but once everyone had skiied it the ice was showing through again so the skiing got pretty hairy in places. I get the impression that Italian piste-bashers are laid back as they didn't bother getting the bashers out at all in most places after the snow fall, which was a shame as this would have made the pistes much better. There's some great off-piste skiing to be had, especially of you're a boarder. All in, a good resort with great skiing as long as the conditions are ok. I'd recommend checking the snow reports before booking. Oh yeah, and don't stay in the Hotel Syanara. It was dreary, the beds were like old camp beds and the hotel manager was the most miserable woman I've met in a long time (it was only 2 star, but still...).