Visitor reviews for Saas Fee Ski Resort

Saas Fee Ratings

Overall: 4.3. Based on 35 votes and 21 reviews. Vote

Snowsure: 4.8

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Saas Fee is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Variety of pistes: 4.4

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Saas Fee has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Off-piste: 4.1

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Scenery: 4.9

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Access: 3.7

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Saas Fee.

Public Transport: 4.6

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Saas Fee, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Accommodation: 4.6

(1) No places to stay in/near Saas Fee, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 3.5

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 4.6

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Saas Fee.

Ski in/Ski out: 4.4

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 4.2

(1) There are no child care facilities at Saas Fee, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowmaking: 4.3

(1) Saas Fee relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 4.6

(1) There are no snow groomers at Saas Fee, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Saas Fee are groomed daily.

Shelter: 3.5

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Saas Fee is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 3.5

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Saas Fee, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 4.8

(1) Saas Fee usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.6

(1) The staff at Saas Fee are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Saas Fee are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 4.3

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.7

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.7

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Beginners: 3.9

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.4

(1) No intermediate terrain at Saas Fee, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 4.4

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 4.3

(1) Not even a kicker at Saas Fee, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Cross-country: 3.5

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Saas Fee, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 4.4

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Saas Fee has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 4.5

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 4.7

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 4.4

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 4.4

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 4.1

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 4.5

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 3.5

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 3.9

(1) Overall, Saas Fee is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 3.9

(1) Overall, Saas Fee is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

November 22, 2011
alex from Ski Greece Greece
Simply perfect for all kindd of skiers, especially for off-piste skiers and snowboarders. The villages are also magnificent... Very expensive resort, like everywhere in Switzerland...
March 16, 2011
matt from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
I went to Saas Fee early March 2011 - there had been a 5 week period without significant snowfall. It snowed twice (30-40cm ) on the upper slopes, dusting at village level. Beautiful village which lived up to the name 'pearl of the Alps'. We had some excellent skiing above the mid-station, as well as an 'all day' day tour with one of the guides from the resort ski school. Highly recommended. The glacial scenery, the motorway carving on top of the glacier and the deep snow were holiday highlights. We experienced little to no queuing - but you should be at the lift before 9.30 or after 11 to miss the ski school rush. As for the 'endless walking' - if you can ski 2000m vertical then you should be able to manage a 5 minute walk. Nothing as bad as expected having read some negative reviews here. It isn't door step skiing but if you do your research - stay near the lifts, go at the right time - no problem whatsoever . Pros : massive mountain - good range of runs / glacial scenery / off-piste tour (with guide) / friendly staff everywhere / good snow Cons : very expensive / always squashed in cable cars with coffee breath people / limited for beginners
February 06, 2011
Tracey from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Saas Fee is a beautiful high altitude resort. The village itself is very picturesque. We had lovely weather and great snow. Food and drink were expensive though (eg CHF3 for tap water). For beginners, I would recommend the village slopes and some of the blues and easy reds from the Felskinn. Beginners are probably best getting the cable car down as the blue runs to the bottom are narrow, icy paths. Lots of choice for intermediates but beware the red runs from Plattjen and Spielboden which are quite steep. If it's cold in the afternoon (and it can get very cold), consider taking the bus to Saas Grund for some sunny reds. For advanced skiers: although there are not many black runs on the piste map, the advanced skiers in our group loved Saas Almagell (20mins by Postbus) and found it very challenging. They also liked the Plattjen runs.
March 04, 2021
Ranger dad from Ski Germany Germany
I’ve done a bit of a Swiss ski tour this year, skiing 15 different resorts. Skied 4 days at Saas Fee early in the new year. Fresh snow everyday. Overall it’s a Little underwhelming, I mostly skied off-piste and it’s ok. There are some nice lines off both sides of the mountain. And it was super cold so the snow was light. Good ski touring. The piste was poor quality even with fresh snow. The scenery is amazing and I stayed at the Bristol which was great. Car free is nice but watch the cost of parking. Pretty expensive lift ticket for the dated and somewhat limited system. It feels like a tourist resort first and a ski resort second.
January 11, 2018
Nadia from Ski Switzerland Switzerland
Since the introduction of Winter card the quality of Saas Fee has gone down to almost non existent. This is the 2nd time I'm here for ski, yet almost all slopes are closed, apparently due to risk of avalanche. But I've skied here before and it was never an issue. I say spend a bit more and go to another ski resort.
February 10, 2006
Graham from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
I went to Saas Fee in Feb 2004 and the snow was amazing - apparently it was their best season in 5 years! The village is lovely with many nice shops and really nice to wander around. The beginner slopes are quite good but crowded and repetitive after a day or so. A good variety of runs once you go up one of the many gondolas or cable cars though. There's nothing special about the skiing in Saas Fee but if you go when it's not too busy and good snow , and you're happy to take it easy and not challenge yourself too much then it's a good resort. WATCH OUT FOR CRAZY LITTLE KIDS GOING TOO FAST!!
February 13, 2006
adrian aj from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just back from Saas. Skiing - okay, but a bit limited below 2500m as lack of snow meant only one run to village open. Do a day at Saas Grund....great slopes and very sunny, whereas Saas Fee is cold and sun goes early. Village - very beautiful and charming, with all you could want. Accomodation - stayed at Hotel Allalin which was totally brilliant. Great views, food and staff. Very clean and service was excellent. Bars, etc - apres is a bit light but the Black Bull and Nesti were good but not like Austtria (jumping). Metro bar was good later. Avoid Poison unless under 22 and grungy. Overall - nice and beautiful resort with great views. Skiing okay but a bit limited unless lots of snow below 2500m. Do go to Saas Grund. Had a great holiday overall and would rate it as a good destination for couples, over 30's and those wanting an alpine village.
April 02, 2006
Felix from Ski Switzerland Switzerland
Note: Went after it had snowed 70 cm in one week, so piste conditions were unusually good. It was also the first couple of days in April, so the resort was sunnier than usual. Despite variable conditions (everything from foot-deep powder on top to sloggy slush at the bottom), my wife and I had a great time. The glacier runs are far better than Zermatt's, yet the village lacks the charm and authenticity of its more popular sister. The only Walliser houses I saw were purely for tourist consumption. The pistes are limited, and, as other reviewers have pointed out, there is a lot of walking to be done. I was lucky enough to find some fresh powder on Plattjen two days after it snowed; even the crud was fun on my longboard. Avoid the Alpin Express, which gets horrendously crowded. Head to Felskinn early in the day if you want to get in lots of vertical. The gondola to Spielboden is amazingly empty and is also a better way of getting up the mountain than the awful Metro/Allalin route.
March 17, 2019
Esthi from Ski United States United States
We probably picked the two most beautiful weeks of the whole ski season: a cloudless sky, sunny and very pleasant temperatures during the period Feb 15th - March 1st 2019. My husband and I have been skiing in Saas-Fee several times before and had no problem picking this resort to bring our three grand-children along to discover the beauty of Switzerland. Needless to say Saas-Fee is the ideal place to cater for families with children. The ski school worked out perfectly for our 12 year old grand-daughter as well as for the 9 and 4 year old grand-sons. The older two became excellent skiers and loved the variety of slopes and the snow conditions while the little one, who just started, could follow us beautifully down the blue slopes after a few days. Amazing! We took them on every cable car, ski lift and the metro alpin, of course. We skied down to the village and didn't skip a day except for an excursion to Zermatt. The unbeatable price of Sfr 220.00, for each season pass we purchased ahead of time was tremendous value. We rented a chalet that satisfied all our needs and we enjoyed every day to the fullest. The torchlight descent at night performed by the ski school instructors, followed by a show and fireworks, was a lot of fun and very entertaining. We also happened to get a taste of the Saaser Carnival with a great marching band, playing their catchy tunes, a few times right below our balcony. We were all sad to leave this beautiful village that made our Swiss vacation a real hit. We take home beautiful souvenirs and will be back one day without a doubt. Thank you Saas-Fee.
December 07, 2011
Drew from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
I've been skiing Saas Fee for the past few years. The skiing is great with challenging off-piste (take a guide for the best) and some awesome blacks but it's still got nice blues and reds. The best thing is NO QUEUES - the longest you'll have to wait is 10 mins for a cable car but once you're on the mountain the queues evaporate. If you're after racking up kilometres don't go to Saas Fee but if you want spacious, uncrowded, quality skiing Saas Fee is unbeatable. It's a mecca for boarders and ski-teams go there form France to train every year. Last year we had synchronised ski teams training which was awesome. The altitude and aspect mean that Saas Fee has probably the best snow record in the Alps with resort skiing from mid December to mid April and glacier skiing all year round. This was a blessing in 2011 when we were skiing in April as the rest of Switzerland shut-down or resorted to grass skiing. Beauty-wise Saas Fee can't be beat with eight 4000+ metre peaks seemingly at touching distance. The views are tremendous everywhere and the village is just lovely. Eating and nightlife are good but I confess I normally head home and put my feet up with a beer after a day skiing. I usually self cater with the family and there are some great apartments and chalets with a few you can ski-in and out of - take care with Alpine Village. The apartments are nice but it's a long walk to the snow. Drew