Visitor reviews for Saas Fee Ski Resort

Saas Fee Ratings

Overall: 4.3. Based on 35 votes and 21 reviews. Vote

Snowsure: 4.8

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Saas Fee is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Variety of pistes: 4.4

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Saas Fee has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Off-piste: 4.1

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Scenery: 4.9

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Access: 3.7

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Saas Fee.

Public Transport: 4.6

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Saas Fee, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Accommodation: 4.6

(1) No places to stay in/near Saas Fee, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 3.5

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 4.6

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Saas Fee.

Ski in/Ski out: 4.4

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 4.2

(1) There are no child care facilities at Saas Fee, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowmaking: 4.3

(1) Saas Fee relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 4.6

(1) There are no snow groomers at Saas Fee, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Saas Fee are groomed daily.

Shelter: 3.5

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Saas Fee is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 3.5

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Saas Fee, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 4.8

(1) Saas Fee usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.6

(1) The staff at Saas Fee are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Saas Fee are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 4.3

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.7

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.7

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Beginners: 3.9

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.4

(1) No intermediate terrain at Saas Fee, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 4.4

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 4.3

(1) Not even a kicker at Saas Fee, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Cross-country: 3.5

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Saas Fee, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 4.4

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Saas Fee has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 4.5

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 4.7

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 4.4

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 4.4

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 4.1

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 4.5

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 3.5

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 3.9

(1) Overall, Saas Fee is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 3.9

(1) Overall, Saas Fee is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

January 23, 2004
Simon from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Flying out to Saas Fee for the 3rd year in a row this year. Wonderful place. The snow has always been excellent and the ski school is great. We've always been in groups of 6. The resort is very picturesque with no cars, only mini electic 'milk floats' which carry your luggage or act as buses. There are lots of wooden carvings on the walls of the buildings and there is a wonderful exhibition at the top which is built into the glacier. You can walk through the glacier and see all the different ice formations and exhibits showing how they explored it - Eispavillion. The open air apres ski bars have a great atmosphere. Recommend this resort to anyone.
January 26, 2004
peter diffner from Ski Sweden Sweden
SaasFee is DIFFENT its wild, majestic and so beautiful. You wake up in silence with gigantic high alps surrendering the whole village. Very much athmosphere. Good quality of snow.
January 08, 2005
Simon Malster from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
I have just spent New Year in Saas Fee and as most of the skiing is between 2,500m and 3,500m the snow was great. No lift queues either. All the bars near the slopes fill up after skiing and later there is Popcorn Bar and Poison. New Years eve was a huge party and I will be back next year.
November 23, 2005
Tall Paul Barnett from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Saas. Oh Saas. Depending on who you are.......it can be fabulous or feeble. Take last season for example! Good early dump of snow then not much, well bugger all for the next few months until Easter... arghhh. This is welcomed by the Spyder suited, knitted headband wearing I only like the wide ROCK hard ICY piste to carve down ze mountain type 50 year olds..! However if like me you enjoy the softer snow and exploration... actually skiing something different, taking your own line (requires imagination) then Saas the "crevasse" littered upper section is poor! O.K I worked in a glacier resort, my own fault... well perhaps not. I have skied there before when snow actually falls in the lower reaches of the resort allowing a tremendous variety of routes. To summerise: When snow fall good at altitude...then awesome. When no snow fall... boring repetitive not very steep motorways. (which are ROCK ICY HARD.....)
January 03, 2006
Rich G from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Not a good resort to go to if you're not a fan of spending more time walking than skiing. Almost every lift has a decent length walk off the top of it to either get to another lift or to start skiing. Runs at the top of the resort off the T-Bars are enjoyable but short. All the T-Bars more or less follow the line of the runs so you spend a lot of time on the lift in return for not a lot of time on the skis. Very limited extent and unless you're more interested in a pretty village and aprés ski than the skiing then you'll be bored within a couple of days. Not a patch on neighbour Zermatt.
February 10, 2006
Graham from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
I went to Saas Fee in Feb 2004 and the snow was amazing - apparently it was their best season in 5 years! The village is lovely with many nice shops and really nice to wander around. The beginner slopes are quite good but crowded and repetitive after a day or so. A good variety of runs once you go up one of the many gondolas or cable cars though. There's nothing special about the skiing in Saas Fee but if you go when it's not too busy and good snow , and you're happy to take it easy and not challenge yourself too much then it's a good resort. WATCH OUT FOR CRAZY LITTLE KIDS GOING TOO FAST!!
February 13, 2006
adrian aj from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just back from Saas. Skiing - okay, but a bit limited below 2500m as lack of snow meant only one run to village open. Do a day at Saas Grund....great slopes and very sunny, whereas Saas Fee is cold and sun goes early. Village - very beautiful and charming, with all you could want. Accomodation - stayed at Hotel Allalin which was totally brilliant. Great views, food and staff. Very clean and service was excellent. Bars, etc - apres is a bit light but the Black Bull and Nesti were good but not like Austtria (jumping). Metro bar was good later. Avoid Poison unless under 22 and grungy. Overall - nice and beautiful resort with great views. Skiing okay but a bit limited unless lots of snow below 2500m. Do go to Saas Grund. Had a great holiday overall and would rate it as a good destination for couples, over 30's and those wanting an alpine village.
April 02, 2006
Felix from Ski Switzerland Switzerland
Note: Went after it had snowed 70 cm in one week, so piste conditions were unusually good. It was also the first couple of days in April, so the resort was sunnier than usual. Despite variable conditions (everything from foot-deep powder on top to sloggy slush at the bottom), my wife and I had a great time. The glacier runs are far better than Zermatt's, yet the village lacks the charm and authenticity of its more popular sister. The only Walliser houses I saw were purely for tourist consumption. The pistes are limited, and, as other reviewers have pointed out, there is a lot of walking to be done. I was lucky enough to find some fresh powder on Plattjen two days after it snowed; even the crud was fun on my longboard. Avoid the Alpin Express, which gets horrendously crowded. Head to Felskinn early in the day if you want to get in lots of vertical. The gondola to Spielboden is amazingly empty and is also a better way of getting up the mountain than the awful Metro/Allalin route.
March 28, 2008
Arik from Ski United States United States
Date Skied: March 16-21, 2008 Resort: Saas Fee Conditions: Powder and Packed Powder, corn lower down in the afternoon Trip Report: I went to Switzerland for a week of skiing this March and choose Saas Fee due to its reputation of good late season snow and a charming town for my partner who only wanted to ski some of the time. Saas is the valley next to Zermatt and is supposedly just as nice but less pricey and less crowded. We flew into Zurich and caught a train at the Zurich airport (no need to transfer in town) which took us straight to Visp (through the new tunnel) where we took a short bus ride up a very narrow windy road to Saas Fee. It was 3 hours from the plane landing to us arriving in town. There are three ski areas in the Saas valley but Saas Fee is the largest. I had imagined I would ski one day at Saas Grund and another at Saas Almagel but it was clear these lower south facing resorts had little snow. When we arrived in Saas Fee it was pretty warm and I was a bit concerned but actually the conditions turned out to be great. I purchased a 6 day ski pass which gave the option of a day skiing in Zermatt which I did not take advantage of because I wasn't interested in spending several hours in a van or bus driving up and down curvy roads to Zermatt and back. Maybe someday they will put in a tram or tunnel to cross directly between Saas and Zermatt but until that day comes Saas and Zermatt are very separate ski areas. We stayed at the du Glacier Hotel and the hotels location was perfect, right in the middle of town but also close to the Alpine Express lift to ski. With regard to the skiing we had good snow conditions and the vertical drop (over 5000 feet) is impressive, I did some runs lasting well over an hour from top to bottom. There are several ways to get to the very top, one involving two gondolas (Alpine Express) and the other involving a new and impressive tram. Either way the last bit is in a subway type train tunnel. When you get out you are at 3500 meters and I admit to needing to sit to catch my breath the first time up. There is a fair amount of walking in tunnels carrying your skis which is no fun at that altitude. I think Saas Fee's skiing is probably better suited for an intermediate or advanced intermediate than an expert skier. The groomed runs are great but there isn't much off-piste skiing on account of rocks and glacial crevasses. I found lots of powder runs by scoping them out looking at other peoples tracks while going up on the lift, and noticed that the European skiers didn't seem to want the powder the way American skiers do, i.e. easy to find fresh tracks still available 2 days after it snowed. I had the best powder runs of my life up top, though I did notice I had come within a few feet of a glacial crevasse a couple times. I was loving the powder so much I basically didn't care. I can understand why off-piste skiing is forbidden and in fact illegal, but that didn't stop some people. Saas Fee's lifts are mostly gondolas or trams as well as a number of T bars. There are only 2 chairlifts, one the Morenia Sesselbahn is a high speed detachable 6 pack by Garaventa complete with bubble hood: nicest lift I have ever seen. There were, occasionally, short lines for the trams or gondolas but never any line for the chairlifts or T bars. I wondered if European skiers disliked chairlifts? The chairlifts and T bars, mostly, just led to one or two trails which were occasionally, mildly, crowded. I joked that it looked like Mount Snow (my local mountain and the closest ski resort in Vermont to New York City) on a Saturday. My favorite trails were in the Eiggenerjoch and the Gletscherwelt areas. The town is perfectly situated so it's warm and not too snowy in town but cold enough to have huge amounts of snow up top. It was very quiet at night though there were bars and clubs within a 2 minute walk if one was looking to go out at night. Some of the bars had an 80's theme which I liked. Saas Fee is a nice little town with cobblestone streets, good shops (an amazing and inexpensive cheese shop), bars, restaurants, and a variety of activities in winter not just skiing. We got over a foot of snow up top the first day but only an inch down in town, then on our last night it snowed 2 feet both at the top and bottom of the mountain. I do want to mention a suggestion for lunch while skiing, the Glacier-grotte restaurant which had much better food, a gorgeous location, a mellow vibe, and better prices than some of the other on mountain options like the Morenia Cafeteria which was crowded and stressful. In terms of hotels I liked the du Glacier, the Unique Dom hotel looked like a good less expensive choice and the La Gorge Apart-Hotel (the rooms have kitchens) looked very nice as well with a great location next to a gondola and a beautiful gorge. I had a nice time in Switzerland and am glad I chose to go to Saas Fee. In terms of language it seemed everyone could speak English though they did seem to brighten up at my attempts at German. We did meet one other American there, a college student on spring break from a year abroad in Spain. Everyone else seemed to be British, German, or Swiss. If there is a next time I probably won't return to Saas Fee just because I feel I skied it out in a week, like every trail multiple times. Our departure from Geneva was smooth and the journey from Saas Fee to Geneva along the Rhone valley was gorgeous and just as easy as our arrival from Zurich. The ski areas closer to Geneva (Verbier, Villars, Champery, Leukerbad) looked nice from the train, though they are all lower than Saas Fee and snow conditions reportedly can be iffy.
December 30, 2008
Gary Curtis from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Saas Fee 20 - 27 December 2008 I visited Saas Fee for Christmas week and I had waited many years to board in Switzerland, so my hopes were high. We arrived to metres of snow; a good start. The village itself is the perfect Swiss village. Totally beautiful, wonderfully festive and unspoilt. Wherever you look, you could see perfect white mountains surrounding the resort, I couldn't wait to get up there. I stayed in the Europa Hotel which was a charming hotel, fantastic food and staff. Longish way to the lifts but close to town. The first thing is Saas Fee is car free and little electric carts move people about. This works well and is actually quite exciting as the drivers seem to treat it as a race!. The main lift is a cable car, which takes you up to another cable car and finally a train to the summit. You can choose to ski from any of these. The resort had so much powder and fresh snow. Perfect conditions. The weather isn't really that sunny and towards the end of the week it was very, very cold. There are some parks with a half pipe, rails and kickers. These are located on the blue runs so it's easy to get to them and have a go. Well looked after also. The views are stunning from the top and as you board towards the village. I would say Saas Fee suits beginner or intermediate but there is enough to keep anyone happy. For a Christmas winter break it was perfect. I will return one day due to the great snow and stunningly pretty village. Pro's Perfect village Good snow Excellent lifts Cons Can be very cold