Visitor reviews for Panorama Mountain Resort Ski Resort

Panorama Mountain Resort Ratings

Overall: 3.9. Based on 59 votes and 59 reviews. Vote

Snowsure: 3.8

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Panorama Mountain Resort is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Variety of pistes: 4.4

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Panorama Mountain Resort has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Off-piste: 4.1

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Scenery: 4.5

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Access: 3.5

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Panorama Mountain Resort.

Public Transport: 3.2

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Panorama Mountain Resort, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Accommodation: 4.2

(1) No places to stay in/near Panorama Mountain Resort, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 3.4

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 3.7

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Panorama Mountain Resort.

Ski in/Ski out: 4.6

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 4.3

(1) There are no child care facilities at Panorama Mountain Resort, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowmaking: 4.1

(1) Panorama Mountain Resort relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 3.9

(1) There are no snow groomers at Panorama Mountain Resort, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Panorama Mountain Resort are groomed daily.

Shelter: 4.2

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Panorama Mountain Resort is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 3.3

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Panorama Mountain Resort, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 3.3

(1) Panorama Mountain Resort usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.3

(1) The staff at Panorama Mountain Resort are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Panorama Mountain Resort are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 4.4

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.2

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.3

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Beginners: 4.0

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.3

(1) No intermediate terrain at Panorama Mountain Resort, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 4.5

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 3.6

(1) Not even a kicker at Panorama Mountain Resort, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Cross-country: 4.1

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Panorama Mountain Resort, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 2.7

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Panorama Mountain Resort has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 3.6

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 3.8

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 3.5

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 3.3

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 3.2

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 3.5

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 3.7

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 3.9

(1) Overall, Panorama Mountain Resort is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 3.9

(1) Overall, Panorama Mountain Resort is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

April 12, 2006
Peter Thomson from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Very friendly resort with some very good runs and good lift system with few queues. Panorama Springs offers excellent accomodation and the hot pools are wonderful at the end of a days skiing. Off-piste activities are limited both in terms of restaurants(2)and grocery shops(1).
April 20, 2006
Graeham Douglas from Ski Canada Canada
A great family hill, with something for everyone. While it doesnt get the snowfall of some other nearby hills like Fernie or Sunshine, there are also fewer skiers. As a result, fresh snow tends to stay for days longer, espessially in gladed expert areas. Staff are friendly and helpful. Panorama also has a great village with many hot tubs and nice condos. Taynton bowl and Extreme Dream are among the most underrated expert terrain in western Canada. Lifts rarely have lines, espessially midweek. Where Panorama is lacking is that it has no alpine (entirely below treeline), which reduces the number of cliffs, chutes and bowls it can have. Also, the lack of snowfall means that early season conditions can extend into late january in poor snow years.
December 12, 2006
Natalie from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Shhhhhh, don't tell everyone! Great little resort, lovely hill and heli skiing to die for. A true skiers resort. What it lacks in facilities and night life it makes up for in terrain with it's long cruisey blues and it's powder filled 'bowls' there's something for everyone at every level. It's a long transfer from Calgary, but well worth the extra journey time if you like peace and quiet and acres of skiing. I will be returning in January for my fourth visit and looking forward to it immensely.
February 11, 2007
Jeff Collyer from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
What a place! If you are looking for great skiing, then you can't beat this place. I've always skied in Europe prior to my trip (Jan 07) and after spending my time here, I can't see me going back to Europe out of choice! The good points - It was quiet, so we virtually got the slopes to ourselves! Busier at weekends (Due to locals using slopes)and had to wait upto 3mins to get on the mile lift!(Yes - that was the longest!) Ski school were fantastic, resort staff were fantastic! Food was great! The bad points - There are only two bars and a couple of restaurants, but to be honest, after a good days skiing, all you want to do is sit in the nearest bar and drink! So, for those looking to go anywhere but Europe (due to lack of snow) - This is the place! If you have taking time to read this, please don't tell everyone..........I do like it cheap and quiet! (and once this gets popular with the Brits - the price is sure to go up! Busier too!!!!!)
February 21, 2007
Derek from Ski Canada Canada
I have such a yin-yang thing with Panorama, living in Calgary having skied it occasionally for 15 years. Lets start with the good stuff. The mountain has a lot of terrain. The whole Shoeber's Dream/Sun Bowl areas is a great place to play in the trees, as is Founder's Ridge. There's plenty of mind numbingly freakishly scary double black terrain. There's RK Heliskiing based here, so you can go drop lots of dough if you want. The view from the top is stellar. The runs are long, and since they upgraded the chairs, it feels like you get in plenty of run for your lift line. Some of the accommodation is pretty nice, and the price is OK, so the value to stay on hill is there. Panorama Springs hot tub complex is huge. It's far enough away from a population base as to never be that busy on weekends. Sounds great? Well, the downsides are also many. They just don't get that much snow, and so even in epic years like 2007, coverage can be light even as late as February. They make up for it by making ice -- er, "snow" -- all the way to the top, on virtually all the popular runs. This makes it like a gigantic eastern North American ski area -- icy and nasty hard pack most days. The runs don't seem to integrate with the lifts; it seems like you always need to take at least 2 chairs (and sometimes 3) to get back to where you started. They seem to be focused on the double black stuff, with tons of it in Extreme Dream and Taynton Bowl, but just not that much for the other 80% of riders. For some reason, I just never seem to get a lot of vertical in in a day there -- about a third less than I get at Sunshine, and 20% less than Louise. It feels like 3 separate small (tall and narrow mountains), rather than one large one. The village is blah and a half, with very high priced real estate jammed in around the run bases, and the better (but not low) priced stuff down the hill and almost inaccessible (Intrawest has not done a good job here since they took over). The base area itself is poorly laid out, and so is always a mess to get to the one lift. There's only two restaurants and two bars (including the RK base), so not a lot of choice (and neither is really that great). In order to get there from Calgary, I have to pass Banff, Sunshine, Louise, and I could go to Kicking Horse in the same amount of driving time. The road through Kootenay Park is pretty, but the Sinclair Canyon pass is nasty, and homicidal Calgarians treat the drive back on Sunday night like a rule free Formula 1 race. So I like it and I don't. I make it a habit to go there for the weekend once every year or two, and it's a nice change, just not that often. I can't see skiing there a lot, but it would be an OK place for a vacation. I guess I just know too many other places that are better.
November 28, 2007
John from Ski Canada Canada
I think Derek on Feb 21 2007 has got it just about right. I have skied Panorama about 5 days a year for the past 15 years. Having a timeshare at Fairmont Hot Springs helps. I remember "ITB" (In The Beginning), as some of the senior locals call it. Without a doubt what we have now is better, but the original design faults cannot be corrected and you have to learn to live with them. The best time to go, I find, is early to mid March. Still good conditions on the mountain but the days are longer and the sun is getting warmer to soften up some of the runs. If I were coming from the UK for say a week's visit I would rent a car in Calgary. That way you have choices within an hour or so. For example: Kimberley- Not so "in your face" steep from the bottom as in Panorama. Good for beginners. Kicking Horse- Gets mixed reviews, depends on your skill level. There are a number of things to do in the adjacent Columbia Valley. Invermere has good restaurants i.e. Strands. There are a number of hot springs in the area, Radium, Fairmont, and Lussier. If this is starting to sound like a Travelog it is because there are many options in the area if the the skiing is poor and you have transportation. Derek's comments about the homicidal Calgarians apply to most times. People from the Edmonton area are much more restrained; we have further to go. On balance, I think Panorama is great and Intrawest have done wonders with what they have to work with on the hill. The Saskatchewan farmers who spend their winters driving the snow groomers do a superior job. Fritz's run on the early morning corduroy is just fine for me and it can be for you. P.S. I understand the road in from Invermere to the resort has been re-paved this summer. You will still have to watch out for fallen rock though.
January 15, 2008
Phil Kerley from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Visited Panorama for new year 2007/2008. If you have children, you are not allowed in pubs that don't sell food, if they do you will have to leave by 8.00pm at night. If you are staying in the god forsaken Pine Inn, you will have to be confined to a room and watch TV. We stayed in the Pine Inn. This is not recommended for families as we found out. The Hill Wreckers managed to descend on Panorama for New Year (college week) and caused chaos from all night parties to setting off the fire alarms at all hours. There is no reception in the accommodation and no security. Reception is at the base of the village. Panorama Springs is lovely though and we managed to be moved half way through the holiday. Food in the resort is ok if you like burgers and chicken wings. Compared to Banff it's rubbish. Good points; very good skiing for all abilities and Heli-Skiing on your doorstep. Beer is reasonably priced. When will Canada learn that it is ok to take kids into a pub. In Austria, when the kids fall asleep, they pull up a couple of chairs and make a bed...no big deal. If you are going to make stupid laws, think of the parents of the families first, who are stuck in a resort with nothing to do and can't even have a pint after 8.00pm
February 12, 2008
Sarah from Ski Canada Canada
Hi everybody, I thought I would mention that Fritz's run is named after my grandpa 'cause he built it.
August 07, 2008
Graham Ross from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
YIPPEE !!!.. We’ve just booked our return holiday to Panorama for 2 weeks in January 2009. My wife & I first stumbled across this wee gem while searching for snow in Jan 2007, while Europe struggled for cover we couldn’t believe how much you had hidden over there! Although the first few days were quite cool (-28C ) you could not fault the maintenance and management of the pistes and, wrapped up warm, we couldn’t wait to find out what was round the next corner, up the next chair, over the next dip and.....what views! We live with the spectacle of the Scottish Highlands on our back door and have toured Europe & the Alps extensively, but what you’ve got at the top of 1000 Peaks ...Amazing... But it’s not ALL about the snow (incredible but true!) hospitality, service and a can do attitude made our stay at the Panorama Springs relaxing, comfortable and a home from home. Eating out, the range and selection of food could not be better, from the mouth watering steaks in the Wildfire to the tasty takeaway Mile High pizzas, and not forgetting those fantastic nachos in the Kicking Horse, which will be our first stop after check in next January! {oh, I’ve been told we have to unpack first..Damn!} Unfortunately we didn’t get round to The Earl Grey, Jackpine or Choppers Landing last time but that will be put right this time round. Counting down the days until we leave (167), can’t wait to get back. Graham Ross, Glasgow, Scotland
January 04, 2009
John from Ski Canada Canada
Panorama Mountain Village has an incredible amount of vertical, virtually no lift lines and an immense amount of skiable terrain. Compared to the circus of Louise or Sunshine this is the best kept secret within 3 1/2 hrs of Calgary.