Ski Canada - BC

Mount Seymour Resort Reviews

Ski Canada - BC

Mount Seymour Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Mount Seymour Ski Resort

Mount Seymour Ratings

Overall: 3.8. Based on 59 votes and 39 reviews. Vote

Access: 4.7

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Mount Seymour.

Public Transport: 3.9

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Mount Seymour, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Scenery: 4.4

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Accommodation: 2.9

(1) No places to stay in/near Mount Seymour, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 3.2

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 2.9

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Mount Seymour.

Ski in/Ski out: 2.9

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 3.3

(1) There are no child care facilities at Mount Seymour, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowsure: 4.0

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Mount Seymour is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Snowmaking: 1.8

(1) Mount Seymour relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 4.3

(1) There are no snow groomers at Mount Seymour, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Mount Seymour are groomed daily.

Shelter: 4.2

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Mount Seymour is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 3.2

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Mount Seymour, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 4.1

(1) Mount Seymour usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.5

(1) The staff at Mount Seymour are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Mount Seymour are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 3.6

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.4

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.3

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Variety of pistes: 3.9

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Mount Seymour has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Beginners: 4.4

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.3

(1) No intermediate terrain at Mount Seymour, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 4.0

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 4.6

(1) Not even a kicker at Mount Seymour, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Off-piste: 4.0

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Cross-country: 3.2

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Mount Seymour, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 4.1

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Mount Seymour has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 3.8

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 3.6

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 3.5

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 2.6

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 3.0

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 4.5

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 4.2

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 4.3

(1) Overall, Mount Seymour is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 4.2

(1) Overall, Mount Seymour is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

March 03, 2012
El Cheapo Ryder from Ski Canada Canada
Yo, best thing about Seymour is you don't have to buy a lift ticket unless you are a lazy mofo. Just strap your board on your back and use snowshoes (or get some skins for your touring skis) and hike up twenty minutes and then drop down into the resort and take all the runs you want. The hike up on the side is BC parks so it's free and no one can stop you from skiing/riding out through the resort if you wish.
March 01, 2012
Mike from Ski Canada Canada
I loved this little hill. Had reasonably priced intro lessons that included rentals and lift tickets for my girlfriend, while I got to ski some decent terrain. I've spent ample time at large resorts and I have to say, I prefer the slow double chairs to high speed quads! The slower lifts help the snow stick around for the day. You might even get a few freshies past 9:30AM which is more than I can say for Whistler. There are a ton of short, steep terrain features everywhere that are worth a few turns - maybe 5 -10 and can be challenging. Ski touring that looks decent is easy to access nearby. The beginner lifts are great. My girlfriend loved the magic carpet thing and had a great first experience skiing. However, the instructors were not overly helpful and I ended up teaching her more than they did. Overall, I love this place. I would ski here more than a few days a year, but still a great place to come from time to time. I hear ladies ski free on Thursdays too!
February 24, 2012
Vince Fairleigh from Ski Canada Canada
I haven't skied Seymour in 20ish years, it is a beginners MTN, I go to Seymour to alpine tour ski, frequently, It is a short hike with maximum scenery. I love the first, second and third peaks in the winter and summer. The first peak is a double black diamond when skied, this is my favourite, but be aware of the avalanche warnings and be prepared, I always carry a satellite beacon, water.... probes and transceivers/beacons are also a good idea. Many people snow shoeing hike this too.
February 16, 2012
SeymourSwag from Ski Canada Canada
If you don't want to read the wall of bias text below this is a pretty good summary of Seymour The lifts suck! but it's good, it keeps everybody away and the runs wide open and the lift tickets are dirt cheap. The parks rock! even if you ride Grouse or Cypress you can't argue with that. They have 100% natural snow that doesn't get tracked out because most of the people know how to at least get down the mountain. Don't blame Seymour when your gear gets stolen, it's not like a local who rides there all the time is going to steal your things. Yeah, they could use some more racks. When it's busy there's nowhere to lean your stuff. But you got up the mountain some how, just throw it in your car, and bam no theft either! 2 birds 1 stone! Seymour is probably the best family oriented mountain, it's old timey and nostalgic and all the staff are in a good mood. Great mountain to learn on and it also manages to be the best mountain for a young get rowdy crowd too. Because everybody respects each other we're all there to ride and have a good time so peep the technique and go ride Seymour. [note from the editor: slight editing done for the sake of relevance]
January 29, 2012
Adam from Ski Canada Canada
Rode Seymour for the first time yesterday. In a way it's a slightly strange mountain; as many others have noticed the biggest drawback is the lift setup. Aside from magic carpets, it has three actual lifts, all two-person non-express. Broadly, they kind of cover the entire vertical of the mountain in sections, but they're not set up to be ridden sequentially. The top lift is Brockton, the middle is Mystery, and the bottom is Lodge. But to get from the top of Lodge to the bottom of Mystery is an extremely annoying (for a boarder) five-minute hike. Getting from the top of Mystery to the bottom of Brockton is just a short shuttle run which isn't so bad, but there's really only one run *out* from the Brockton area back to the Mystery area, and it can involve a hike on a board. The way the lifts are set up makes it feel like a bonsai version of a much bigger resort, where each chair is a separate area, rather than say Grouse, where you can lap the peak to the lowest available elevation on a single chair (Olympic). Brockton in particular feels like a miniaturized version of an alpine bowl, which is kind of cool, but frustrating when each run lasts about 30 seconds and then you're back on a slow two-person chair. One of the best runs on the mountain is Unicorn, except it goes from the top of Mystery to the bottom of Lodge, so you're then stuck with that damn hike from Lodge to Mystery to get back on any decent runs. And, as everyone else pointed out, the chairs are very slow, even by non-express chair standards; even the Lodge lift, which only covers about 60m of vertical (if that), seems to take just forever. Another reviewer has a point when he says they can't increase overall lift capacity too much without overwhelming the available space on the runs; but as well as increasing capacity and speed somewhat, it certainly feels like there could be substantial improvements made to the overall layout of the chairs and the runs such that the whole mountain would flow together, not feel like three separate, tiny areas. The other problem with the two-person chairs is it's extremely annoying to be a single, as they don't run singles lines, so you just have to wade into the giant lift line zoo and try and find another single to partner up with. On the plus side, it definitely has that friendly, small-town feel many other reviews described; despite the rather chaotic lift lines, everyone in them seems to be cheerful and infallibly polite. All the staff I talked to were very friendly, too. Although all the runs feel too short, the variety of styles and difficulties available is nice. It's odd the double black designation isn't used anywhere, though - there's a substantial gap in difficulty between, say, Unicorn and Cliff House, but they're both denoted single blacks. The terrain features available are impressive and well-maintained, they're available all over the mountain and there's a good variety of difficulties available. The facilities available seemed mostly fine, and apparently have been upgraded somewhat lately. The only complaint I had in this area is that there's a small number of locking racks, and on half of them, the locking bar is rusted over or misaligned with the hole, so you can't actually use it. The rest of the few locking board slots are, as usual, full of (unlocked) skis left by idiots who don't understand what the hell a locking rack is for, or that some of the spots are not longer than others just to make it easier to stuff your skis into them any old way...so in the end I couldn't actually find anywhere to lock up my board, and bearing in mind another reviewer's note about theft, had to drag it inside to lunch with me. It would be nice if the staff could keep an eye on the racks, shift stuff about when necessary, and fix the broken ones. Cypress and Grouse both have substantially more locking racks, in better condition. Overall, it was an interesting mountain with some good plus points. The drawbacks are probably less of an issue if you're on skis, and the parks probably are the best out of the three lower mainland mountains. But as an all-mountain boarder I'd probably rather be at either of the other two mountains, until the lift situation is sorted out.
January 27, 2012
Albert White from Ski Canada Canada
Children's ski lessons very dissappointing. Didn't teach them much. Too many kids per teacher. Not worth the money.
January 19, 2012
Danny Stone from Ski Canada Canada
Needs a gondola, Mystery chair is brutal!!
January 19, 2012
Oliver from Ski Canada Canada
I am writing this as an avid Seymour enthusiast. I get a pass for Mount Seymour every year because, when compared to the other two local mountains, Seymour has the the friendliest local vibe, great terrain/ parks, back country, and hosts a number of top shelf events. Only 2 things concern me. 1) I understand Environment Canada slashed their funding for their weather reports above tree line including freezing levels and such...but seriously Snow-forcast.com licks....its always innacurate...always, always, always....and I'm not talking by just a little bit. Snow-forcast.com has been displaying incorrect reports since Seymour decided to start using them. I really hope you are not paying these guys a cent. 2) With the amount of people that travel into the back country, I am surprised that you're park does not have an emergency 2 way radio frequency...Whistler has one, and is posted all throughout the area. All your lifties, and patrol use radio's why not have an emergency radio frequency for back country users? Just a suggestion. O. [note from the editor: we aim to improve the forecasts for the area]
January 19, 2012
Steve from North Vancouver from Ski Canada Canada
This season Mount Seymour has done some wonderful up - dates. As a family mountain it is both cost effective and a great all around winter playground. They have improved ticket checking at the lifts, new parking regulations among other improvements. As a Family Seasons pass holder I congratulate the Seymour team on some wonderful improvements this season. Keep-up the great work :-)
January 17, 2012
Kat from Ski Canada Canada
Mount Seymour is a great resort. I learned to board there when I was young and it is still my mountain of choice in Vancouver over 12 years later. The instructors are awesome and there is a laid back atmosphere. Unfortunately, people took advantage of the mountain and got away with riding for free for way too long. They are working at upgrading the mountain, but first they need to crackdown on the free riders. I think the magic carpet (replacing the rope tow) is a great start to making some upgrades. Please pay for your passes and tickets, it's on the cheaper side of the resorts, and I would love to see some more upgrades. The tree runs are awesome and the back country is the best in the lower mainland. Plus, they are the highest of the 3 local mountains so they get the most snow. They don't use snow machines like the others and have just as much, if not more real snow. Lastly, I do agree there is a lot of theft there, but you are responsible for your own equipment. If you buy an expensive board and can't spend a little extra on a lock to ensure it isn't stolen that is your fault, not theirs. Take responsibility for yourself, don't expect others to be responsible for your neglect.