Visitor reviews for Levi Ski Resort

Levi Ratings

Overall: 4.3. Based on 13 votes and 24 reviews. Vote

Snowsure: 4.7

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Levi is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Variety of pistes: 4.2

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Levi has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Off-piste: 3.8

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Scenery: 4.2

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Access: 4.6

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Levi.

Public Transport: 4.2

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Levi, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Accommodation: 4.5

(1) No places to stay in/near Levi, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 3.8

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 4.2

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Levi.

Ski in/Ski out: 4.1

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 4.1

(1) There are no child care facilities at Levi, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowmaking: 4.2

(1) Levi relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 4.5

(1) There are no snow groomers at Levi, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Levi are groomed daily.

Shelter: 3.9

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Levi is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 3.7

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Levi, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 4.5

(1) Levi usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 4.5

(1) The staff at Levi are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Levi are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 4.5

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.4

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.6

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Beginners: 4.6

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.5

(1) No intermediate terrain at Levi, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 3.7

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 4.4

(1) Not even a kicker at Levi, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Cross-country: 4.5

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Levi, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 3.0

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Levi has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 3.9

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 4.2

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 4.1

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 4.4

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 4.6

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 4.5

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 4.4

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 4.4

(1) Overall, Levi is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 4.4

(1) Overall, Levi is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

December 29, 2003
Philip D Broom from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
seven others and myself spent a a week in Levi, living in a log cabin during January of this year (2003). Alpine skiing in Levi is limited for advanced skiers, mainly catering for beginners and intermediates. The temperature hovered around minus 35 degrees celsius for much of our stay, requiring the purchase of new gloves. Our old gloves which had served us well in other resorts, were just not up to keeping our hands warm here. There are many excursions and activities organised by travel companies, we limited ourselves to just one, visiting a reindeer farm and ice fishing.After a short ride in a reindeer sled we tried our hands at ice fishing. Having bored our hole through three feet of ice we dangled our little rods in the hole for about tem minutes, this was as long as we could manage with the extreme cold and not helped by being told no one had caught a fish for about two months. Although we were of the opinion that, this excursion was not really good value for money,we would not of missed it for the world. Our log cabin was excellent with a sauna, full kitchen and as much wood as we could burn on our open fire. Set in the woods on the outskirts of the village it was! a 'Winter Wonderland'. We are returning in January 2004 and intend to visit the husky farm this time.
January 24, 2006
paul miller from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Hi there. Myself and family spent a weak in Levi in Jan 2006. We all love skiing but the temp -32 put a spanner in the works and could just not handle no more than 1 hour at a time b 4 going inside 2 thaw the blood..... just returned on the 22.1.06 2 log on and see that the temp the following wk will b no lower than -10 wot a b.....d .
February 02, 2006
Owens Family from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Visited Levi between 22nd and 29th January 2006. Upon arrival, blown away by the wind and the minus 20 temps. The rest of the week was spent basking in temps no lower than minus 7. Skiing was very good and the snowmobiling excursion a must for everybody. A special mention to the childrens' ski school. Our 2 children aged 8 and 11 had never put on a pair of ski's before, by the end of the week they were waving to us as they sped passed! Do not go to Levi if you want loads of nightlife but its ideal for families with children learning to ski. Brilliant time in the Artic Cirle, a dream come true for the whole family!!!!!
April 02, 2006
Mick And party of four others from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Spent a week snowboarding in Levi, returning back to the UK fully exhausted on February 5th 2006. What can I say - this was the first time any of us had experienced snowboarding on snow other than at the indoor snowdomeeal and we absolutely enjoyed ourselves. We checked out the temperature we could expect ( minus lots !!) and took appropriate thermal clothing with us. Gloves were the most important as the physical exertion heated the rest of your body. The females went on the Husky ride and thought it was great. We all went on the snowmobiles and again this was a very enjoyable excursion. We stayed in one of the chalets and this was spot on - all the mod cons ( underfloor heating as well) own private sauna - what else do you need ! Levi suited us perfectly as the night life was not what we went for - just loads of snowboarding during the day (and into the evening under floodlights) and back for a sauna and out for a quiet drink to chat with likeminded people on the days events. The slopes were ideal for families - intermediate and advanced with off-piste terrain varied enough for all. The only niggle we had was that apart from the one gondola - the rest were drag lifts (aptly named) which tend to tire your legs out. But apart from that very very small negative we rate Levi excellent, and would go again and recommend to others.
January 04, 2007
Falconer Family from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
We had a great time in Levi from the 22nd to the 29th Jan 2006. 8 of us spent the week staying in one of the log cabins. We highly recommend them. They have a real open fire with an endless supply of logs, a sauna, underfloor heating wonderful views, what more could you want. Only down side was all drag lifts apart from 1 gondala. We are going to Ruka in 2007 another resort in Finland, can't wait.
January 02, 2008
Dennis Hursthouse from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
December 2nd 2007, Visited Levi via First Choice 4 day stay, the grandchildren, mum `n` dad and my wife and myself had a thoroughly wonderful time. The temperature was minus 15 degrees below zero! when we got there and was 9 degrees below when we returned home, First Choice kitted us out with outer garments, had taster rides on husky sledge, reindeer sleighs, snow mobiles, our elf looked after our grand children whilst we went on a snow mobile safari in the middle of a forest where we roasted sausages on an open fire in a wooden wigwam shaped building. We went to an activity area with the children and visited Santa`s post office. Levi is a quaint small town/village with plenty of skiing pistes, and a children's sledging area, I would imagine it's also very beautiful in spring, summer and autumn time. The hotel we stayed at was the White Reindeer; breakfast, lunch and evening meals were very good with a variety of international dishes. I would certainly recommend anyone who wants to take the grandchildren to Lapland to go to Levi!. Regards Dennis Mansfield, Notts, England
January 03, 2008
Vicki from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Me and my family have just arrived back from a fantastic 2007 Christmas in Levi, Lapland. What a wonderful experience for my 3 year old daughter (and the grown ups!) - we went husky sledding, on a reindeer safari, snowmobiling, skiing, sledging and obviously visited Santa in his secret village! Levi is brilliant for families and ski buses run regularly. We had lots of snow which we loved as we had numerous snowball fights. Temperature was a pleasant -1 to -9 so with the right clothing we managed to stay out all day and evenings too after our meal.It was meant to be a once in a lifetime holiday but we loved it so much we are booking again for Xmas 2008! I have been converted from my hot beach holidays to action packed chilly snow holidays!! Only minor point was that we stayed in Sirkantahti hotel which was very basic and was not too clean and facilities for children were not evident. However, there is plenty of accommodation to choose from so go visit Levi for yourself for a true winter wonderland!!
January 15, 2008
Donna from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
I have just returned from 7 days in the Levilehto Chalets in Levi. There were 5 of us, 4 adults and an 8 year old - with a mix of skiing abilities. It was fantastic for us all. The Chalets were clean and well kitted out with sauna and good drying facilities. Although the 2nd bedroom had a pull out bed, it was clean and comfortable. There was a bit of a trek with all the ski gear to the main slope but the quick purchase of a cheap sledge to carry the ski gear took care of that. (take a marker pen to identify your sledge at the end of the day and to stop it going walk abouts). The ski school was great for complete beginners, and there was a lot of options for more experienced skiers, including the black runs. The weather was between -15 and 0 degrees and there was normally a fresh sprinkle of snow every night. There was a choice of places to eat - but very little for vegetarians. We also did a snowmobile trip which was just fantastic. I would return in a heart beat.
January 19, 2008
J and C from Scotland from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
We have just booked a skiing holiday in Levi for March - exactly same place, same hotel as last year (March 2007). Normally we do not repeat holidays so why this one? Well, because we had such a wonderful holiday in 2007: perfect snow, good skiing and a well organised system of runs and lifts and floodlit skiing in the evening, relaxed and comfortable accommodation (we stayed at the Hotel Sirkantahti) with our own private sauna, excellent and varied food, friendly and charming people, interesting excursions and superb weather (temp about 0 to -2), with sunshine and blue skies. Last year snow in the Alps was poor which drew us to Finland. This year the Alps have been dumped with snow (and we have just returned from an excellent week in Austria) yet Finland drew us again. It is also excellent value for money, from accommodation to lift passes. The only thing we missed last time was the sighting of the Northern Lights: so let's hope we see them this time.
February 08, 2008
Donna from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Me, my husband, a 17 year old and 2 younger children traveled with first choice in Dec 07 and stayed in the Levi Cabins. They are just like you imagine, perfect picture postcard and plenty of beautiful snow. We were provided with the snow suits and boots which you collect on the way to the resort. We had a 20 mins walk from the cabin to Levi village and on the days of included activities we were picked up from the roadside at the end of the lane. The elves were fab and really made it for the kids including my husband and 17 year old. We stayed out and ate out every day and evening as we felt that if we walked back to the cabin we would get too cosy and settled and would not want to venture back out. The food was lovely and plentyful. We ate at the steakhouse one evening which was nice but you do have to book and we thought it was a tad expensive at 165Euros for 3 adults and 2 children. The taster trip was just that (a taster) so felt that it could have been a bit longer but we booked to go to the reindeer farm which cost us 385Euros for a two hour trip but we thoroughly enjoyed it. We don't ski but for skiers its perfect and the slopes look fab but for non skiers there is still so much to do and just to see the snow and enjoy seeing your kids and adults too getting pleasure from simply playing in it makes it worth every penny. We are going back in 2008 but might try a hotel this time and might even learn to ski!