Ski France

Chamonix Resort Reviews

Ski France

Chamonix Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Chamonix Ski Resort

Chamonix Ratings

Overall: 4.0. Based on 48 votes and 87 reviews. Vote

Access: 4.6

(1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Chamonix.

Public Transport: 4.1

(1) There are no buses or taxis to Chamonix, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

Scenery: 4.7

(1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

Accommodation: 4.6

(1) No places to stay in/near Chamonix, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

Cheap Rooms: 3.9

(1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

Luxury Hotels: 4.6

(1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Chamonix.

Ski in/Ski out: 3.1

(1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

Childcare: 3.9

(1) There are no child care facilities at Chamonix, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

Snowsure: 4.0

(1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Chamonix is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

Snowmaking: 3.3

(1) Chamonix relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

Snow Grooming: 3.7

(1) There are no snow groomers at Chamonix, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Chamonix are groomed daily.

Shelter: 3.3

(1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Chamonix is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

Nearby options: 3.9

(1) If snow conditions are poor at Chamonix, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

Regional rating: 4.0

(1) Chamonix usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

Lift Staff: 3.8

(1) The staff at Chamonix are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Chamonix are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

Crowds/Queues: 3.2

(1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

Ski Schools: 4.3

(1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

Hire and Repairs: 4.7

(1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

Variety of pistes: 4.5

(1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Chamonix has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

Beginners: 3.1

(1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

Intermediates: 4.0

(1) No intermediate terrain at Chamonix, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

Advanced: 4.7

(1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

Snow Park: 3.4

(1) Not even a kicker at Chamonix, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

Off-piste: 4.9

(1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

Cross-country: 3.8

(1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Chamonix, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

Luge/Toboggan: 3.0

(1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Chamonix has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

Mountain Dining: 3.4

(1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

Eating: 4.5

(1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

Apres-Ski: 4.5

(1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

Other Sports: 4.6

(1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

Entertainment: 4.5

(1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

Winter Walks: 4.3

(1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

Ski Pass Value: 3.6

(1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

Value (National): 3.7

(1) Overall, Chamonix is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

Value (Global): 3.6

(1) Overall, Chamonix is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

Show all 35 ratings

April 08, 2019
Simon cook from Ski France France
Don't expect a ski resort; Chamonix is a spectacular mountain town. it would be wrong to try to compare Chamonix with a huge purpose built "ski drome" such as Les Trois Vallees. It does have some of the most challenging world class free-ride terrain and off-piste potential, enough to challenge most people for a lifetime; world class skiing and ski touring but you will have to make an effort and give of yourself to make the most of it.. Hire a guide or join a guided group.
February 05, 2007
Elle Flynn from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just got back from Chamonix. I was there from 27th Jan - 3rd Feb 2007. No new snow whilst we were there but just enough snow from the previous weeks fall. As a learner boarder I found the green runs sufficient to learn on before I hit the blue runs. I was concerned before I went after reading that Chamonix wasn't good for beginners, I don't understand why people say this?! Chamonix is a beautiful place with plenty of restaurants, bars and shops. Buses to the ski areas are very regular, although extremely busy! If you visit Brevent for the day, take plenty of money for food/drinks, or a packed lunch, the restaurant is very, very expensive! My favourite ski area was Flegere, as I enjoyed boarding all morning and having a late lunch with a few beers! I would definitely go back to Chamonix!
March 23, 2019
walter from Ski Switzerland Switzerland
Chamonix has excellent scenery, truly some of the best I have ever seen. The ski area makes the most of these views but the runs cannot compare to Zermatt, Verbier, Trois Valais, Arlberg or Dolomites. It's a busy town with antiquated lifts and unquestionably has the very worst restaurants I have ever been to on ski slopes in 35 years of skiing. Over priced, foul quality with the atmosphere of Soviet era railway stations. Indifferent service, lousy variety and very low quality. Tendance Foehn is the worst of the worst!
March 21, 2007
Paddy from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Went self catered to Chamonix through PrimaryRentals.com. Would recommend self catered to anyone for the freedom you have in your own place. Skiing is, in my opinion, the best in Europe and I have been to most of them! For really difficult skiing Argentiere is a must, whilst Les Houches is great for families and beginners. I guess the only downside of Chamonix town itself is that you end up getting a bus most days to one of the other resorts, but the nightlife is brilliant. Go there!
October 05, 2007
ella from Ski France France
I have been on many ski holidays around Europe and from my experience I find Chamonix the number one and most spectacular ski resort. It has every type of terrain with four mountains to choose from as well as the famous Augille du Midi for 26km of off-piste glacier skiing (best day skiing I have ever done). Generally, I travel on holiday on my own as my partner and friends aren’t keen on skiing and so, luckily, last year I found the perfect solution. After looking at various hotels, chalets, single holidays, etc I came across this website www.coldfusionchalets.co.uk it was just what I was looking for! The chalet was brand new, food fantastic, the cold fusion team went out of their way to make sure everyone has a good time and the other people in the chalet were great and I have made some great ski buddies for the future. Five of us plan to go back this year, all together, with the same company as it was so good! If you want to ski but have no one to go with make sure you have a look at what they offer……. www.coldfusionchalets.co.uk
December 26, 2016
Joost from Ski Belgium Belgium
Yes, indeed, Chamonix for skiing is a king without a crown. Year after year the quality and amount of snow on the ski slopes is dropping, the preparation is neglected and way under average if you see what Austrians and Italians do to keep their slopes in good condition. And yes, indeed, it is way overpriced: 50€ for a day. And no, the ski elevators are not connecting this ski area to one area. It is still a would be ski area that is just a collection of three separate very small ski regions. Again last week no snow on the Chamonix side of the Mt Blanc. The Italian side: Courmayeur, is better served by snow and especially they do a very good maintenance and piste preparation and the ski area is well connected. Yes, in Chamonix, you have the special views from the Aiguille du Midi but that highest European ski elevator is closed a lot. Chamonix is no king anymore; it is an expensive "name" ticket you buy so you can tell everyone you've been there. We know it's a no go for a ski holiday. The chance to have an acceptable descent of the Valle Blanche is limited, the glacier is melting, even the end elevator (a must take if you could ski the Vallee Blanche) is becoming each year a longer walk because the lack of snow and melting glacier. Courmayeur is a fair alternative if you would like to set foot on the Mt Blanc area. If you want off-piste just go to La Grave or Tignes or Gressoney. Chamonix is no king, just an expensively dressed old queen....
April 04, 2015
Athan from Ski Belgium Belgium
The 'king is naked', and the management has to realize it.... Maybe 100 years ago, when alpinism was an unknown word, the area gathered thrilled pioneers of the mountains and the winter sports. But in the era of snow resorts like Tignes, Trois Vallees or Sankt Anton am Arlberg (AT) this resort seems like an old aristocrat in decadence. The extremely variable weather and the almost always poor snow quality are obvious reasons for not opting for this "famous" resort. Besides, the 50Euros day pass gives access to only one ski resort (of the size of Bansko in Bulgaria) and not to three as the management claims: it requires at least one hour from base-station to base-station to change a station; if you decide so in the middle of the day. All in all, the day pass is overpriced, unless you include in the evaluation the breathtaking scenery; if the weather allows it. The unusual "offer" to cross the tunnel and to ski in Italy requires not only a respectful amount of money and but usually some time spent on the long waiting queues of the tunnel. Local transportation is very poor and a personal car is more than essential. However, the use of public transportation is strongly recommended but never actualized by the local authorities. Above all, in sustainable developed ski resorts of Austria (and elsewhere) the reimbursement of the ski card is self evident. The obligatory possession of the ski card does not influence the will to return back to a ski resort with so many disadvantages.
March 09, 2008
Mike from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Just returned from Chamonix after my first visit to this resort. I have skied many resorts over the last 25 years of skiing, in most Alps countries and North America so can hopefully offer a balanced view. As a ski resort, Chamonix is not beginner friendly as the ski areas for beginners are very small in comparison to the main slopes. There is a big transition between the beginner slopes and the easiest of the main mountain slopes. The cable car lifts are fantastic - but not for the faint hearted!!. The positives - for decent intermediates and above the skiing is excellent. Varied terrains of pisted runs and an abundance of off-piste. Steeps, moguls, powder, it can all be found easily as it is easy to pick your chosen areas as you ride the lifts up!! There is a variety of ranges, offering a good scope of gradings. The negatives - organisation and customer service is not good. Be prepared to queue - seemingly all the time!! for cable cars, lifts, buses. If you have skied North America this will be a real shock to you and if you are polite and let people through (as we British tend to do) you will never get on. Also that very European thing of queue jumping is all too common. It would be a very simple thing to sort out but would take some investment - something which is sadly lacking. Be prepared to pay over the odds for pretty much everything. Chamonix is an expensive resort to stay in. On the mountain a coffee can be £3 in a paper cup and a beer at the end of the day? The most expensive we found was £10.00 for a pint!! In the town, generally it is about £5.00 a pint. Health & Safety is a very secondary consideration. The ski buses with 30 seats can have up to 80 people on them - most of whom stand up as the driver hurtles along. Valle Blanche is an excellent run, again not for the faint hearted and is a real endurance test. All-in-all, Chamonix is not a place I will be rushing back to.
March 17, 2008
Wendy Doyle from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
Visited Chamonix March 2008, and I really don't know what all the fuss is about. Horrible, dull looking town, have to drive to all the lift stations, queues everywhere, no fun apres-ski, no chocolate box atmosphere or lovely looking hotels like in Austria, and hardly any mountain restaurants, but a good view of Mont Blanc, naturally. Weather was crap, no snow to ski back to the town, let alone have the luxury of skiing back to your hotel. Lift system: diabolical, 2 hour queues just to get back DOWN the mountain at the end of the day at Brevent/Flegere and at £195 for a weeks lift pass that is disgusting value. Only saving grace was my fabulous luxury hotel, the Hameau Albert 1er - wonderful and would go back just to spend a weekend there. Have to say.... did the Valle Blanche - a wonderful experience, but the skiing, ambiance, service, facilities and level of friendliness is not a patch on the many many years I have skied in Austria and loved it. Sorry Chamonix lovers - but this place is HUGELY over-rated and run down me thinks.... and I certainly wouldn't take my children.
August 13, 2003
Nick Russill from Ski United Kingdom United Kingdom
With the Mont Blanc massif on it's front door, Chamonix has so much terrain to explore. It is a Mecca for high altitude touring, off-piste skiing and a real 'mountain' experience. The six main ski areas are stretched out along the valley and getting to them can be a chore - the buses are good, but it's the kind of resort where having a car to get around really helps. In other ski resorts where you can ski from your door, you might get more ski miles in per day, but Chamonix has it's own appeal: quality, not quantity.