Login / Sign Up


Snow-Forecast logoSnow mountain photo


Ski Rep. of Macedonia

Zare Lazarevski Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Zare Lazarevski Ski Resort



  • January 24, 2011
    Darko from Macedonia

    All tracks at Zare Lazarevski are open, new 35 cm. of snow at the bottom, night skiing from 19:00 till 22:00, Mavrovo is the great :) again!

  • Zare Lazarevski Ratings

    Based on 23 votes. Vote

    Access: 4.4

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Zare Lazarevski.

    Public Transport: 3.4

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Zare Lazarevski, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.1

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.2

    (1) No places to stay in/near Zare Lazarevski, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 4.0

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 3.7

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Zare Lazarevski.

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.2

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 2.5

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Zare Lazarevski, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 3.8

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Zare Lazarevski is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 2.5

    (1) Zare Lazarevski relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.3

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Zare Lazarevski, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Zare Lazarevski are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 3.8

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Zare Lazarevski is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 3.1

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Zare Lazarevski, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 3.6

    (1) Zare Lazarevski usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 3.9

    (1) The staff at Zare Lazarevski are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Zare Lazarevski are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 3.7

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 3.9

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 3.8

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 3.8

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Zare Lazarevski has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 4.5

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.0

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Zare Lazarevski, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 3.6

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 2.9

    (1) Not even a kicker at Zare Lazarevski, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 3.4

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 3.5

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Zare Lazarevski, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 2.2

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Zare Lazarevski has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 3.9

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 3.9

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 3.6

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 3.2

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 3.3

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 3.4

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 3.0

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 3.2

    (1) Overall, Zare Lazarevski is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 3.4

    (1) Overall, Zare Lazarevski is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Based on 23 votes. Vote

  • January 05, 2011
    Ollie from Macedonia

    WHY IS THERE NO DATA ON THE CURRENT SNOW COVER THICKNESS IN MAVROVO?

    [Editor's reply. We have obtained regular snow reports for approximately 1500 out of 2500 ski resorts. Mavrovo (Zare Lazarevski) is currently not one of these. Sorry about that. We provide various ways for resort managers and local skiers to submit snow reports online. The simplest it to use twitter. See http://www.snow-forecast.com/pages/eyeball_report. With twitter you can simply send a text message and it will appear on our site right away. We hope that this new feature will allow us to increase the proportion of resorts with regular snow reports]

  • December 01, 2010
    Darko from Macedonia

    Godishen ski pass do 15.12.2010. za samo 10.000,oo denari. Super!

  • January 03, 2010
    Visitor from Macedonia

    There is snow today but not enough for skiing. At the bottom almost 30cm snow, but higher at the slopes due to the strong wind there is almost none. It's freezing!

    For further information regarding the skiing conditions in the next days call the Ski Center: 00389 42 489 065. I haven't tried yet calling this number but I hope it will work!

  • February 12, 2009
    kirko from Macedonia

    Sakate sneg !!! dojdete vo Mavrovo . Ima mnogu sneg i toa NOV . Stazata e celosno pokriena i odlicna. Bravo za momcite koi celo leto ja cistea od kamenja, pa i so malku sneg se vozi bez da se ostetat skiite.
    I pokraj slabiot sneg godinava vo dolniot del, sneg gore na terenite ima stalno i do sega site ski liftovi rabotea.
    Cenite na smestuvanje se namalija i vo hotel alpina 4* se od 39 eura za polupansion - super

  • January 30, 2009
    Someone from Macedonia

    Nikakva usluznost!
    Terenite ne se stampani redovno.
    Oprema za snow park imaat ama ne ja koristat.
    Skok ne pravat deka luge sto ne razbiraat se uletuvaat ko seljaci.
    Mozat da napravat Half Pipe ama od cista mrza i glupost nekat da napravat!
    Sramota!
    Kozuf e daleku podobar i ke bide uste podobar.

    Treba Ognen i Ivan da razmsilat malku podobro ako sakaat da si go zadrzat standardot i posetenosta!

  • January 27, 2009
    BLA BLA from Macedonia

    The prices are expensive at Zare Lazarevski, but Mavrovo (Zare Lazarevski) is the only place in Macedonia that can be called a ski center. Sapka is amazing but the ski lifts are too old and the gondola from Tetovo is destroyed. But think of this, Mavrovo is amazing. The mountain is incredibly beautiful; the whole area is just stunning. Still until Kozuf is built and Krusevo expands and Sapka undergoes repairs, Mavrovo has the monopoly of skiing in Macedonia.

  • January 16, 2009
    Edo Gashi from Albania

    I just got back from Mavrovo (Zare Lazarevski) 5 days ago. The weather was great. People operating the ski lifts are not that friendly, they think they have the most important job in the world. I don't want to offend any one but they are just assistants to the ski lift. The snow was fine. Check the wind before going up the hill because the one reported by the ticket office is way much lower than the actual wind on the mountain. They report around 15 km/h (less than 10kts) but up there it is more than 30 and they don't give you money back. Overall, the piste for beginners is great. Waiting time around 10 mins at the T-bars (ski lifts) on Sunday. Prices are expensive comparing that you are going to Macedonia. Hotels very expensive 30 eur per person per night in a less than 2 star hotel. Food is expensive as well.

  • December 31, 2008
    BLA BLA from Macedonia

    Mavrovo bi bilo top koga bi se prosiril centarot na okolnite delovi na planinata. da se napravat novi zicari...bilo sto ama da e novo... e koga mavrovo sekoja godina bi se pravelo e togas so golemo zadovolstvo bi dail i 2000 denari za karta. Na primer vo Soll, Avstrija dneven bilet e 37,5 evra a vo Mavrovo 20 evra. Razlikata e vo toa sto Soll ima 270 kilometri za skijanje a vo mavrovo... Sepak vo mavrovo odam od 9 godini i smetam deka mestoto e fantasticno i ovaa godina ke odam pak. Pozz

  • December 30, 2008
    katerina from Macedonia

    ajde kaze te ni ima li sneg na mavrovo sakam da odam
    a neznam mislam deka ovaa godina ke bide najubavo
    najmnogu sneg samo da ne se stopi.

  • December 28, 2008
    dimovski jovan from Macedonia

    ja ne znam so da kazam za planinata za mesto polozbata nesto preubavo nevideno malku se zborovi koj mozat da kazat nesto za mavrovo,a za samiot ski centar ZARE LAZAREVSKI ke pocnnam so slaba reklama ,slaba organizacija, losi uslovi za skijane(se edno isto 200god )a ceni so da vi kazam kako vo evropa da sme a ni trebaat uste neznam kolku god da gi ispolnime tiestandardi za eden ski centar od evropski ramki.

  • December 27, 2008
    Gac from Macedonia

    Da, Mavrovo e TOP,ama za do 500 denari.Tocno deka vo Austria e 40Eur,ama toa skijanje so ova tuka nema dopirna tocka.

  • December 18, 2008
    Dime from Macedonia

    ej kako e na mavrovo ima li sneg ? aj koj znae neka izvestuva za da znaeme koga do ideme da skijame :-) .Mavrovo e najubavo mesto za skijanje vo Makedonija , a i pomilo mi e da skijam u Makedonija otkolku bilo deka . pozz

  • December 11, 2008
    katerina from Macedonia

    go sakm mnogu mavrovo ovie denovi od dekemvri bavno pominuvaat a jas odvaj cekam da dojt januari pocetokot i da vrnit sneg se razbirat za da mozam da stazana i na galicnik super e mavrovo najuvajot ski centar vo makedonija
    ohrid ohrid

  • December 10, 2008
    katerina from Macedonia

    go sakam mavrovo sakam sneg sakm da SKIJAM na stazana a i da dojt zimski raspust 9 godini skijam (13 godini)
    OHRID OHRID

  • November 18, 2008
    dejan from Macedonia

    odam vo mavrovo otkako sum roden , skijam vo mavrovo od moi 4 godinki sea sum odlicen skijac i mavrovo go poznavam sto se vika i mizeecki ke go setam , plus i sekoe leto sum tamu i za mene nema poubavo mesto od mavrovo . MAVROVO TE SAKAM !!!!

  • November 18, 2008
    dejan from Macedonia

    vo mavrovo od otkako sum roden , skijam vo mavrovo od moi 4 godinki i za mene nema poubavo mesto za zimuvanje od mavrovo plus sekoe leto odam da gi izbegnam gorestinite vo skopje i stvarno e kul .

  • August 14, 2008
    Slavko from United Kingdom

    Begajte od skopskite gorestini, ovde barem se spie! Preku den mrzelivo pod senka, popladne sport i rekreacija, a navecer kafence, internet sema vo barot na Bistra i sekako zagarantirano top spienje navecer. Gospod da Te vidi!

  • March 21, 2008
    medo from Macedonia

    Znaci vrska nemaat od odrzuvanje na ski centarot. Nov sneg padna vo mart a oni go zatvorile na 15ti. Neka se ugledaat malce na hrvatite. Sljeme go otvaraat i za najmaliot sneg sto ke padne a ima samo 1000 m nadmorska visina.
    Sram da Vi e.

  • February 15, 2008
    Jovce from Venezuela

    Denes odam na Mavrovo, imalo dovolno sneg za prekrasno skijanje, samo uste vremeto da se pogodi, da ne vrne.

  • February 14, 2008
    afgan wings from Afghanistan

    Mavrovo ima prekrasna proroda, preubavo ezero, nasiot nacionalen park, ubava, pitoma planina...Megjutoa koga stanuva zbor za samiot ski centar Zare Lazarevski moram da zabelezham deka svetlosni godini se premalku da se dostignat sosedite vo kavalitet na ski stazi i priprema na istite, nedajboze da ja spomenuvame evropa i nejzinite ski centri...Nedovolna iskoristenost, neljubezni domakini, guzvi i butkanici...heh. Kartata bi ja iskomentiral samo NEGATIVNO zatoa sto na nisto ne se dolzi takva cena na ski bilet za taa 20 godini stara ponuda...inache ubavo e, da.

  • January 20, 2008
    Gerd from United States

    Nice place, ruined by overpriced hotel with appallingly bad service and even worse food. Hotel Lodge & Bistra, take a deep bow. If you are happy with medium rate skiing in a badly appointed resort which is difficult to reach then head to Mavrovo. Do any Macedonian tourist reps visit their own resorts because if they do, then they might like to care to compare them with those in Bulgaria.

  • January 17, 2008
    Informacija za "PAMETNITE" from Germany

    Mene stvarno ne mi e jasno, ako ne vi se svigja na Mavrovo i ako vi e skapo, pa togas zosto odite tamo. Svoite pari imate pravo da gi trosite kade sto sakate. Za poeftino mozete da skijate na Sapka ili na PS2:) Samo napred. Kolku za informacija cenite na ski kartite vo ski centrite vo Evropa se dvizat od 25 Evra do 45 Evra/den. Uste edno napred od mene, slobodno odete. Mavrovo e TOP i sekoja godina e se podobro, samo uste da se iscisti od idiotite sto komentiraat gluposti.Pozdrav

  • January 09, 2008
    Darko from Macedonia

    Lugje ako ja nakacat kartata na 1500 mozda i ke zavrne sneg.Abe za tolku pari ke idam u shamoni u Francee

  • January 08, 2008
    Dimitar from Macedonia

    Vcera bev i NEMA sneg na stazite, pogotovo na ednosedot(posledniot del e zemja). U nedelata dozd vrnelo i napraeno e popara(reki tecat)Inace za parite so gi plakame stvarno e SRAMOTA toa so go dobivame, toa topot so e na staza "za da popunue dupki" neznam koga posleden put rabotel i dali uopste rabotel nekad. Ali suma sumarum nema veze... toa ni e... Mavrovo nase si e i kakvo takvo ke go sakam i ke si idam. A deka nisto ne se pravi za da bide bojlje odnosno da zalici na evropski centar, osven so cenata na kartata, nisto ne se pravi...

  • January 05, 2008
    zoran from Macedonia

    A shto mu fali bre na Mavrovo shto mrchite site.... koa ima sneg e super. Stazata si e ok, ski liftovi ima kolku sakash kakvi sakash.... mozhe ne e isto so Avstrija, ama pa ako mozhete da idete u Avtsrija, slobodno! :) Ajde, pochna sezonava.... idam ja :)

  • December 30, 2007
    Navigator from Macedonia

    Abe niso ne razbirate a toa deka nema vestacki sneg tolku si videl idniot pat koa ke skijas na staza (ako skijas) pogledni desno e topot. jezda e 1 ali vrsi rabota za dupki
    a inace denovive site stazi se tepih preeska zborev so drugarce top e snegot ima epten odlicno skijanje

  • December 27, 2007
    Dejan from Macedonia

    More trapaci Mavrovo vi e najdobroto mesto za zimski sportovi imate se ako ne ste znaele i disko i nokno skijanje.Se gleame tamu

  • December 27, 2007
    Branko from Burundi

    TRAGEDIJA. ZA TIE PARI VO SOSEDNITE DRZAVI DOBIVAS EXTREMNO POVEKE.

  • December 16, 2007
    Darko from United Kingdom

    The opening of the ski season, this winter, will be on Friday 21st of December 2007. There's around 70 cms of snow on the ski slopes. All the ski lifts and terrains will be open.