Ski Switzerland

Verbier Resort Reviews

  • Weather Forecast for Verbier at  m altitude issued: 7 am22 May 2015 (local time)  
Ski Switzerland

Verbier Resort Reviews

SzVerbier

Use the buttons below to tell us…

Visitor reviews for Verbier Ski Resort

  • April 05, 2015
    Andre from Switzerland

    Snow forecast is great for exactly that. However, the visitor review section is, quite frankly, a complete joke. The 'reviews' are often neither accurate or useful. They simply provide an outlet for prejudice and intolerance. I assume the contributors are also hoping to alienate potential skiers from the resort so that they can have a little more space on the slopes to themselves. Whoever edits the content should be highly embarrassed that they are so out of touch with what is going on.
    PS I believe Verbier is a great resort, with the potential to be even better. It just needs Televerbier to stick to their core business rather than think they can also run mountain restaurants!

    [note from the editor: we need to rely on the honesty of reviewers as we are unable to stay abreast of all conditions/changes at all our listed resorts! Your review is one such critique which could help edit relevant reviews so only sincere words are displayed.]

  • Verbier Ratings

    Based on 59 votes. Vote

    Access: 4.0

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Verbier.

    Public Transport: 4.4

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Verbier, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.6

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 3.8

    (1) No places to stay in/near Verbier, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 2.1

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 4.6

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Verbier.

    Ski in/Ski out: 3.8

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 3.6

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Verbier, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.6

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Verbier is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 4.2

    (1) Verbier relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.6

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Verbier, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Verbier are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 3.8

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Verbier is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 3.7

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Verbier, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.6

    (1) Verbier usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 3.8

    (1) The staff at Verbier are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Verbier are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 3.2

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.6

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.7

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.7

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Verbier has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 3.2

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.4

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Verbier, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 4.9

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 3.5

    (1) Not even a kicker at Verbier, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 4.8

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 3.1

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Verbier, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 3.5

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Verbier has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 4.1

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.3

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 4.7

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 4.1

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 3.6

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 3.8

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 3.5

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 3.6

    (1) Overall, Verbier is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 3.3

    (1) Overall, Verbier is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

  • March 05, 2015
    j from United Kingdom

    We have skied Verbier for 7 plus years now and I have to say it used to be fantastic. However, it has been ruined by the W complex where once you used to be able to park for 2 Francs a day!! Still every time I walk past it is empty so that was money well spent and they clearly got their market research right. The self importance of everyone I had the pleasure of having to hand money to was probably the most shocking development since my last visit. If my company sold services like televerbier I'd be out business in a year. I love the fact the latest lift to be installed is designed for skiers only too; that is a very nice open minded touch. Still great mountains just ruined by greedy companies and the people who run them under the illusion of swiss efficiency.

  • January 08, 2015
    Miles from United Kingdom

    All 'round one of the world's very best. I have skied in the USA, Canada, France, Austria, Italy many times as I ski 3 to 4 weeks per year. Verbier is now one of the very best and I have now settled for this resort for most of my ski trips, both with friends and family, especially after the recent investment in the lift Infrastructure with many fast new lifts and the new high speed lift linking up with the Bruson ski area. Many new mountain restaurants have recently opened and also most of the self-service restaurants within the lift stations have, in the last 2 years, received tasteful upgrades and are competing on price; lots of lunch options for £15ish and great sunny terraces with stunning views. The new La Vache restaurant with pasta and pizzas for £15 and a hearty soup just for £8. Of course you can bust the wallet like anywhere if you fancy the long boozy lunch in somewhere like Le Cristal; maybe a last day treat?
    Just returned after New Year week and also 4 days before Christmas and Verbier pre-Christmas was one of the only resorts with snow due to a combination of recent investment in snow making equipment combined with plenty of high altitude runs. Skiers where being bussed in from Italy, France (Chamonix) etc as many of these resorts where closed; that would be a big disappointment. The village has also just had major investment. Pretty new block pedestrian pavements/lighting, lovely supermarkets new and upgraded shops, bars, restaurants and some super new hotels. The town is packed with features and compacted enough to easily walk around. The atmosphere is lovely as are the locals and the quality of food and service is always consistent. No issues with security, unlike Val d'Isere where, last year, I had my Soul 7 skis stolen from outside the Folie Douce. Apparently, many pairs are stolen each month and my ski pass was stolen from my ski jacket arm pocket in a bar. Big inconvenience when I arrived at the lift the next morning, not to mention the cost. (St Anton (ed: do you mean Verbier?) is always packed with loud groups of youths both on and off the piste, throwing beer all over you and cutting you up on crowded slopes.) Also Verbier caters well for non skiers and children, the ski schools have experienced and mature multilingual instructors and are consistently some of the best in Europe. My childrens learning curve was extremely fast and they really loved it, unlike Frances ESF (won’t comment on them?) Yes, some things can be a little more expensive, but that’s down to the individual and how you spend your money. The lift passes are around the same cost as other large resorts in Europe and the ski area is very large; some lovely runs both in the Verbier ski area and plenty more if you ski across into the other valleys of Nendaz, Veysonnaz, Thyon. Take in Bruson and the easier Savoleyres area with lovely sweeping easy blues and reds. I hardly ever encounter lift queues. Sometimes a little during New Year week (can be worse if some runs are not open due to conditions, but to be expected) and half-term but nothing like the Trois vallees. And, of course, Verbier's famous amazing itinerarie runs plus Mont Fort and endless off-piste. Sorry, this all can't be beaten!!

  • January 04, 2015
    Joel Nick from South Africa

    Just in Verbier as I read this site. Verbier has super views and runs but restaurants are really poor in quality and value. Of course it's full; its high season and a high altitude resort with great skiing.

    I am afraid the tales on this site about drunk Brits is correct. Intimidation, bullying and binge drinking is what has been imported from the UK. The "lads" love intimidating other people especially when in a gang. Fortunately, my other favourite sport is kick boxing so I can sort out most rubbish if I have to, even in ski boots. However, seeing families being subjected to constant swearing and intimidation, by these yobs, gives the UK and this resort a bad name.

  • January 02, 2014
    Richard from United Kingdom

    Verbier is fantastic if the snow is good, with it's unpisted tough runs. It is very boring though if all there is available is blue and pretend red short pistes. It's a pretty place with a fun international atmosphere. The only problems I have had there have been the German/Swiss pushing people around in lift queues. I raised an objection a couple of times and 45 year old men, with their families, tried to fight me. Madness. That and the French/Swiss boring on about multi-linguality, being harangued in a bar by a (very attractive) girl for not speaking every European language..bore off. Everyone else in the Alps is lovely. It's the swiss that have the most 'attitude'.
    The lift queues, at the bottom of the mountain, are like something from the 1980's. I asked a Swiss guy, in a bar, about it once and he said :"we're full every year: why should we bother updating?" Standard Swiss arrogance.
    Personally, I now go to Chamonix, Val d'Isere and St Anton. Fantastic resorts, with unbelievable lift systems, snow and mountains.with no Swiss.

  • December 18, 2013
    Laurent from Switzerland

    Globalisation is the way of the world. Brits are welcome; it is normal for people from the same background to stay together. The Swiss do it too. There are bad tourists everywhere. I have been going to Verbier my whole life and while it it's true, there are more and more foreigners, it adds to the atmosphere and has made Verbier what it is today. Great slopes (well groomed), great chairlifts (fast), great atmosphere, great restaurants. Only negative is that it is expensive, but hey, welcome to Switzerland. If you know your way around Verbier there is great off-piste skiing too. Enjoy it, you will all love it.

  • September 30, 2013
    Martin from United Kingdom

    I feel that another review was very inappropriate and totally anti-British. I have been to Verbier twice in the past with male friends and whilst we like a drink, we go for the skiing and overall experience whilst remaining respectful and polite, even when there were 10-12 of us all between 40-44 years old. We had a laugh and got rowdy a couple of times, but nothing that would upset anyone, just good fun. I am returning this year with my wife and two young children because I remember how great the place was and wanted my family to experience it for themselves. The resort feels very big compared to others I have been to and there is skiing for all abilities, the place has a great vibe. So don't be put off by negative comments, not all Brits are bad!

  • July 10, 2013
    Kuldish Bassi from United Kingdom

    This is my first visit to Verbier and it has been lovely. Stayed in a beautiful 6 bedroom house right on the top of the mountains. The house was called Les Lutins. The views are breathtaking. It's a beautiful, peaceful place if you want to get away from it all.
    On reading one of the reviews, i have to agree that if we are moving here, then we need to respect peoples country and culture, and we should make an definite effort to learn their language out of respect for them also. We should not try to put our own British mark on everything whichever country we move to, we wouldn't like it if people did that in the UK.
    We should all love one another and live happily and peacefully in this world. Life is too short, be kind and respectful.

  • May 31, 2013
    Andrew from Switzerland

    I think a reviewer's comments are rather counter-productive. You just scared off the very people you would like to attract.

    If the Brits were that bad, no doubt the local police would send them packing fairly quickly. And don't think it's just the British - get any group together on holiday with drink and 2000 metres altitude and you have a recipe for trouble. Try visiting Austria to meet some rowdy Germans.

    Also one needs to understand that there are different norms in different countries. For instance, the things Swiss and Germans do in lift queues would get one kicked out of any supermarket or pub in Britain. My own experience is that Swiss of a certain age are sadly lacking in tolerance but are very quick to take your money. One special peculiarity is that the Swiss have the most sensitive ears in the world as any noise is like torture to them. Then once you understand the local dialect, you quickly find many have views which are nowadays almost unique on foreigners, women and gays.

    And sorry, but 99% of French hotel breakfasts really are crap - frankly, very few hotels make an effort. Often they have had it too easy for too long, so people without money to burn choose to go to places like Italy where nothing is too much trouble.

    Anyway, rant over. Personally, I find staying at home gets me a good breakfast, then driving 30 minutes to my local resort is pretty good compared with being fleeced by the Romands.

  • April 25, 2013
    Wilhelm from Switzerland

    I do know Verbier since over 25 years and I do miss the good old time we used to have in Verbier, with an international crowd, without the arrogant Brits who never integrate any country in world they still think that the Victorian empire rules the world. They do it their own way with no respect of anybody but themselves imposing their way of life and do not respect the local traditions, not talking about learning any French. For them it is double Chinese, they expect everybody should speak English. The low end British tour operators brings to Verbier, a bunch of unpolite people just getting drunk not respecting anything, which means a lot of people like Swiss and other nationalities do not come to Verbier anymore. The only important thing for Brits are: I have done Tortin, been to the Farm, got pissed, park anywhere and the local people do not speak English, the English breakfast is just crap etc. Well, Verbier does not need them. For luck, the pound dropped from CHF 2.30 to 1.50, so a lot of them cannot afford to spoil Verbier anymore. Just go somewhere else or try to integrate just a little and respect the other nationalities and local traditions.

  • March 30, 2013
    Kevin L from Switzerland

    Great site - accurate, informative, well-laid out.
    One correction: take into account the change to daylight savings time in providing this coming week's sunrise and sunset.

  • March 26, 2013
    Kara from Oz from Switzerland

    I love skiing in Verbier; have been coming for the last 12 years. Have been to other resorts as well but this is my favourite. Depending on when you come you can get great/poor snow, busy/quiet lifts, expensive/cheap accommodation. We are here for two weeks right now - have had extraordinary powder for a couple days and otherwise lovely snow, no queuing on any lift (at all), cheap (catered) accommodation. Plus now we have a baby and the nannies are brilliant. My view is that Verbier is for intermediate and advanced skiers with the itinery & off-piste being the most challenging and satisfying places to ski. Guides are essential to make the most of the place. Like everywhere - skiing is an expensive past time, I think I spent the same on a trip to NZ a few years back (and it was no where near as good).

  • March 16, 2013
    Martin Kahn from South Africa

    Super slopes, views, snow and the worst value food in the world.

    Not one decent restaurant on the entire circuit-try Zermatt, Courchevel, any tier 5 resort in Italy and you will eat better.

  • March 08, 2013
    Carall from Switzerland

    What a shame. I once owned a chalet here and I was looking forward to the return, disaster. The antiquated lift system is beyond a joke compared with other famous resorts. I have never taken so long before the first turn of the day. I had heard it was becoming a joke as a weekend resort for tax exiles, many I believe do not support the skiing but just own property. The old haunts still exist but are shabby and forlorn. A few new bars have emerged but were dismal. They appear just to be for the English seasonaires.
    The off-piste is still appealing but far too many are skiing without guides. One young man thought having a transponder would keep him alive.
    Alas I shall continue to ski elsewhere, higher, better value and a lot sexier.

  • January 02, 2013
    Paul M from United Kingdom

    Wow, can't believe I wrote the below 7 years ago now and it can still be found on the site reviews.

    Since my last post here in 2006, the lads and I have been back to Verbier almost every year and are visiting again on 23rd Feb 2013 for the yearly bash. Let me say I just cannot wait, Verbier with its superb slopes and equally superb apres/nightlife just hits the spot like nowhere else. What a place, what a buzz. Look out Verbier here we come (again)!!

    February 15, 2006
    Paul M (Romford, UK) from United Kingdom

    I've read all these reviews and believe me the people who slate the resort obviously are too stuck up and don't know how to have a good time on ski/board holiday. Me and my mates are going back (for the 9th time on Feb 25 '06) and we cannot wait. It is without doubt the best resort for everything....skiing & boarding, off-piste, apres, nightlife etc etc that we've ever been too. Skied for 22 years and for the past 6 years, boarding, and I can honestly say I've been most places, Zermatt, Whistler, Saas Fee, Chamonix, Meribel, Mayrhoffen etc etc and no where even comes close to Verbier. I cannot rate it highly enough and is the only place I've been back to more than once. DO NOT hesitate in taking your hols there if you're young (I'm 35 now though and still love it) and are looking for a great time both on the slopes and into the early hours!!

  • December 06, 2012
    Jason Lajoie from Switzerland

    Verbier is an excellent choice for those who like more challenging terrain to ski and snowboard. It offers some of the best lift accessible off-piste riding in the world. There are plenty of easier pistes and gentle off-piste areas as well. Verbier should not be confused with The 4 Valleys. Verbier is maintaining itself as a world class resort with top quality accommodations and amenities as well as state-of-the-art lift technologies. The other, smaller resorts connected by The 4 Valleys lift network are using antiquated lifts and offer much less in terms of terrain. They are better suited for families on a budget as they can access Verbier by lift...in time...if their lifts are working. Currently Verbier is undergoing a transition in it's parking/vehicle access situation. Like all transitions Swiss, it's going to take a hell of a long time to sort itself out. Before one could drive up to Verbier and if lucky, or early enough, find a parking spot right near its main lift. Now there is a gigantic chalet/shopping area/plaza taking that parking's place. It's been under construction for a good two years now and still isn't finished. If you are staying in Verbier the buses can get you where you need to go. If you're staying down in the valley the lift up will get you there. Don't let any negative reviews of Verbier's current state of parking transition turn you away from this first rate, world class resort. These comments are from those who've been used to parking somewhere convenient and now they have to change their habits and are annoyed. Life is full of changes, some of us can deal with them better than others. It will all work itself out for the best in the end. It always does:)

  • November 28, 2012
    Dave adeane from Switzerland

    Probably the greatest ski resort in the world... Superb off-piste, some fabulous ski touring, not to mention the fact that some of the best and most experienced ski guides in the world are based here.

    Yes, of course it's expensive. In fact it's incredibly expensive. But so is buying a Ferrari or living in central London. It's bizarre to hear people complain about the cost of skiing here; if you can't afford it go ski in Romania and stop bellyaching about it.

    Finally, ski guides here are about chf 500 per day. This is one of the greatest bargains on earth. These guys will take you to some of the most extraordinary places on earth and put their lives at risk to keep you safe. Almost no clients know how to use avalanche transceivers properly, so if your guide gets caught in an avalanche he's toast. On the other hand if you get caught your guide will dig you out in minutes. I pay my lawyer chf 600 per hour and he doesn't risk his life for my benefit. And it only took him 5 years to qualify, rather than 10 years for a guide.

    So, in conclusion, give Verbier a try. It will be expensive, but you'll find some of the best skiing, heli-skiing and ski touring on earth. However, if you're on a budget and just want to cane red runs and get on and off super-fast ski lifts go to Meribel, Val etc, etc.

  • March 23, 2012
    nigel carson from United Kingdom

    I have to agree on earlier postings. Verbier is living on an outdated reputation. It is poorly connected, ridiculously expensive and frankly doesn't come into my top 5 resorts. The skiing might be very good but I would like to ski rather than spend my time on (the admittedly excellent) ski buses.

  • March 19, 2012
    Ray from United States

    Just to add to another reviewers comments. If I were restricted to one area the rest of my life, Verbier and the other connected stations, would be one of my top 5 places. The variety of terrain is second to none. With a little foresight it is very easy to move around the 4 Valleys; however, it is not a place to be if you want or need to have your hand held. As someone mentioned a few years ago, Verbier and environs has enough lines to keep one busy a lifetime.

    [note from the editor: names are not included in the reviews]

  • March 13, 2012
    JT from United Kingdom

    There has been a sudden flurry of very negative postings about Verbier. I would like to give some context.

    4 Valleys - someone has commented on how badly linked the 4 Valleys are, including the quality of the lifts. I think this is fair - but NOT in a posting on Verbier. To be clear, Verbier is resort with a modern lift system and access to some of the most challenging skiing in the world. It has exceptional lift-accessible off-piste possibilities. It is PART OF the 4 Valleys pass system including a number of other villages, the biggest being Nendaz. The quality of lifts and skiing in those resorts does not match Verbier standards, but they are generally much cheaper for accommodation. Unfortunately, there has been some very dubious marketing. Because of the attractions and reputation of Verbier, "Nendaz (4 Vallee)" has become "Nendaz (Verbier)" has become "Verbier (Nendaz)". This is nonsense, and very unfair on people who book one thinking they are getting the other. This is especially true because when the snow is very heavy, and Verbier has an amazing powder day, the connections to Nendaz, Siviez etc might well be closed. However, it has nothing to do with Verbier's attractions and Verbier gains little from it. Very few skiers come to Verbier with the plan to roam over the 4 Valleys - if they do, they are missing the point.

    There are also some very negative postings about the parking situation. Verbier has been growing and developing and has now reached the point where it is not realistic to drive to the lifts. The car parks have been closed for redevelopment, but also to stop people making the lift area congested. There have been discussions in the Commune about becoming pedestrianised etc - everything has been democratically debated and decided (by those who have a vote in the Commune). Unfortunately, there are some people who don't like it and consider it their human right to drive up to the lifts. Unfortunately, that's life. For me, the Commune is being too restrained in enforcing the new rules - but for sure they are tightening. For those who find the buses "unpleasant", they will need to find a solution in the future that works for them. But expecting to drive up to the lift like in 1971, in a village which is now many times bigger, was never an option. None of this has anything to do with alleged arrogance, greed or nastiness of Verbier people - I think those comments are very unkind. There's always room for improvement - but my experience (as a chalet owner) is that Verbier has wonderful people who are managing to deal with the popularity of their village rather well.

    If you are an expert (or at least ambitious) skier, and can cope with the strong Swiss franc, come and enjoy an amazing resort. You won't be disappointed.

  • March 07, 2012
    john godley from United Kingdom

    Overrated, over priced, tired! 4 valleys it is not. 3 valleys at a push, with poor inadequate links between ski areas. Lift systems are 20 years out of date, breaking down regularly. Lots of waiting in queues. Apres is a rip off and we will certainly never go back.

  • March 05, 2012
    Edward Courage from United Kingdom

    We've had a chalet in Verbs since 1971, and agree with M.Grahams comments about the farcical situation since the Mederan lift car park was sold, and before proper drop off and other parking was provided. I understand the Savoleyres buildings and car park has also been sold after the 40year old lift was declared unsafe, this will leave Verbier skiers only street parking, or shanks' pony. Televiebier (being stupid) suggest Verbier skiers with cars who are staying in the village, a 30km round trip to Le Chable. Well, that's a good wheeze. Hey. Well done again Televiebier...

  • February 07, 2012
    M Graham from Switzerland

    The greed and arrogance of Televerbier and the powers that be in Verbier has now produced the farcical situation where having built a hotel on the car park of the main lift station (Medran) and banned parking they are now preventing any vehicles other than buses dropping skiers off there. The buses are very overcrowded and unpleasant.
    I strongly urge people to stay away from Verbier until they build the new lift at Les Esserts (promised 5 years ago - still no sign of it at all) and start treating people who use the resort (and pay for it) with just a little bit of respect. The tourist office can only shrug their shoulders and say they are powerless. They have been swamped by complaints.
    We are strongly considering selling up and moving to a place run by a nicer bunch of people.

  • January 19, 2012
    Jonas Sundstedt from Sweden

    Tjena! My name is Jonas and I first came to Verbier 9 years ago and have remained there since. The place is beautiful with good pistes and challenging off-piste runs (a little too challenging for me!). There are great itinerary runs like Tortin and Gentianes but now I am a little older and heavier, I tend to stick to more comfortable runs like Lac de Vaux.

    The social and night life is great too and trust me, I know a little about that, having worked as a bar-man in a few bars. My recommendation would be to have plenty of Branca Mentha shots, a true test of your drinking skills. You will bump into many nationalities like Finns (they are crazy!), Scots (they are crazy too) and even Koreans!

    Hej då

  • April 18, 2010
    Bernardo from Portugal

    I went to Verbier in the Easter break and just loved it. I don't know why people say slope skiing in Verbier is difficult and badly planned. Actually, I found it extremely easy: a lot of red runs should be considered blue and there are black runs which are almost flat.
    I think the skiing is great, the Savoleyres area has some fantastic slopes down to La Tzoumaz and if you want a little more adventure you can always try the slopes in Thyon, where you will find Piste de L'Ours: a huge olympic run.
    The scenery in Verbier is probably the most beautiful I have already seen. It's much wider and stunning than Val D'Isere and the tree runs that stretch from Les Ruinnetes to Verbier are great when the visibility is bad.
    As far as the village itself, it has a lot of bars and restaurants, but it is not a traditional and charming village like Val D'Isere or Zermatt.
    The only thing I dislike about Verbier is the access to the slopes: with such a huge village, you've only got the Medran and de Savoleyres lifts, which, in the high season, can be absolutely crowded. You can stay for like an hour in the queue before taking the lift, it's just awful.
    Overall, if you are an intermediate ou advanced skier, Verbier is a fantastic place for you. Although expensive, the endless slopes and the fantastic aprés-ski will make your trip just worth it.

  • April 06, 2010
    Andrew from United Kingdom

    If you can ski well, Verbier is a fantastic resort. It has more options of off-piste than any other major European resort, and the off-piste is amazing. The pistes are good. Yes, the connections are sometimes hard to get to but really not very problematic if you can read a map. The snow is generally good, there are plenty of modern lifts especially in the main Verbier region.

    Mont Fort Pub and Farinet have both been voted the best apres-ski in Europe in the past, Farinet most recently. The night life is very, very good, even though the clubs themselves don't really start going until 1 or 2. There are plenty of good bars and pubs to visit beforehand.

    For eating out there are a lot of very good restaurants, offering cheaper and more expensive options, local specialties and more modern European cuisine.

    Overall, Verbier is expensive, but roughly in line with most European resorts. The weak pound makes everything very expensive at the moment. A 6 day pass in Verbier, Morzine, the three valleys, the Arlberg, will all cost more or less 200 pounds if you include insurance. It is up to you where you think you get the best skiing for your money - Verbier is well worth it in my opinion.

  • February 28, 2010
    broke skier from United Kingdom

    Went on Feb 20th to Nandez. Great snow, plenty of on-piste and off-pieste, too many drag lifts, night life doesn't start till after 11pm, virtually no apres-ski, £10 for a bowl of soup on the slopes in Verbier!! 2 euros per night tourism tax, whats that all about? Austria for me every time.

  • December 21, 2009
    Wes from Canada

    Some British people can't ski and that is why they don't like Verbier. It is one of the best all around resorts in the World and the nightlife is unparalleled. If you don't like Verbier you should probably still be in Britain.

  • December 01, 2009
    Eva from United Kingdom

    There's just a wonderful buzz about Verbier that makes it an absolutely fantastic place to visit. I was shocked at all the negative feedback and can't understand how people dislike the place! Understandably, every resort has its faults - who can say that Chamonix, Val D'isere and Val Thorens are perfect? Verbier offers so much- it accommodates perfectly for a range of skiers and there's always the chance to explore further than just Verbier itself which can be recommended in peak season. However the queues are no more than other resorts in the three valley's for example. The main piste has been mentioned in some negative reviews: the 'motorway' and admittedly some years ago this was very busy, nevertheless in 2008 a new bypass has been created, taking a lot of people off this main slope and now the crowds have died down considerably. I have skied in a range of places but i now can't stop going back to Verbier after 8 years and counting! It's a fantastic resort-gorgeous scenery, fantastic pistes and so much to offer. Surely you'd much rather be in Verbier, a resort always catching the sun than Chamonix in a deep valley which often gets very cold and dark. Of course, as with all other top resorts you'll have some snobs, but all I can say is live and let live. Verbier's an absolutely amazing resort. Ignore any negative comments- it's the best resort I've ever been to, 100% go for it, you wouldn't want to be anywhere else!

  • December 01, 2009
    Michael L from United Kingdom

    I skied in Verbier last December and found no queues so not sure that they can be classified as "big all the time". I found Verbier to be an excellent skiers resort - varied terrain, fantastic off piste, great scenery. Didn't get lost once; I think people may have forgotten how to use their sense of direction and adventure and too often opt for a vanilla serving of skiing. I didn't find anything pretentious about the resort either- the skiers are there because they love their skiing, shop staff are friendly and know their stuff. I'm going to be back their in ten days time and I can't wait!