Ski Switzerland

Verbier Resort Reviews

  • Weather Forecast for Verbier at  m altitude issued: 7 pm05 May 2016 (local time)  
Ski Switzerland

Verbier Resort Reviews

SzVerbier

Use the buttons below to tell us…

Visitor reviews for Verbier Ski Resort

  • January 07, 2016
    from United Kingdom

    Amazing ski domain and great for advanced skiers! A lot of off-piste skiing available. When crowded best hire a guide that takes you off the beaten path where you will have breathtaking views and fresh powder all to yourself.

    If you are an experienced skier, you will love Verbier!

  • Verbier Ratings

    Overall: 4.0. Based on 64 votes and 88 reviews. Vote

    Access: 4.0

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Verbier.

    Public Transport: 4.4

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Verbier, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.6

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 3.8

    (1) No places to stay in/near Verbier, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 2.2

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 4.6

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Verbier.

    Ski in/Ski out: 3.9

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 3.6

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Verbier, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.6

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Verbier is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 4.2

    (1) Verbier relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.6

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Verbier, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Verbier are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 3.8

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Verbier is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 3.7

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Verbier, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.6

    (1) Verbier usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 3.8

    (1) The staff at Verbier are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Verbier are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 3.3

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.6

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.7

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.7

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Verbier has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 3.2

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.4

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Verbier, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 4.9

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 3.5

    (1) Not even a kicker at Verbier, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 4.8

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 3.0

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Verbier, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 3.5

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Verbier has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 4.2

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.4

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 4.7

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 4.2

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 3.6

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 3.8

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 3.6

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 3.7

    (1) Overall, Verbier is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 3.3

    (1) Overall, Verbier is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Show all 35 ratings

  • December 29, 2015
    from United Kingdom

    A lot of reviews here are accurate. Slopes, variety, condition and views are nothing short of brilliant. Skiing is great for all here including beginners and the instructors are polite and really good. As for the scenery, it's truly brilliant and varied in each valley; cannot beat this! Location close to Geneva and transport times are also superb.

    Two negatives: restaurants are expensive (and the food cannot compare to Italy or Austria) and yes, bad mannered drunk Brits are a problem. For some reason they need to get dead drunk, intimidate people, swear and usually do this in a gang. My husband gave one such bully a very hard slap through his ugly mug after the thug swore at me. His mates looked as though they were going to attack us so we had to literally run for our lives!

  • December 22, 2015
    from United Kingdom

    We've just come back (19th Dec) after a terrific week on the slopes. The resort did a fantastic job maintaining the slopes. The snow beyond mid station was terrific with even some puffy off-piste snow. My family also had a great day ski touring. The resort gave a discount on the ski pass as not all the runs could open.
    We found everyone in the resort to be incredibly friendly; Swiss and everyone else. And to my amazement the restaurant prices on the slopes were the same as in Tignes and Chamonix. Still high but nothing unusual.
    The resort must be amazing when they get their full quota of snow. I will definitely be going back. Ignore the detractors!

  • December 21, 2015
    from Switzerland

    Hi! I'm English and live in Switzerland. Some people really hate the English on here hey? I find the vibe hostile as soon as you reach the pistes of Verbier; too many people worried about how they look and what brands are best. Seems to me most have forgotten what they are doing and where they are!? To many haters that can't remember the days when they started and the feelings that ensured them to continue. The scenery is epic, the pistes are well kept and fast. The restaurants over priced but hey you're in Switzerland c'est normale! It would be nicer if people focused on their own thing and stopped being so inconsiderate to one another. So easy to change. Just don't be a dick when you strap your boards to your feet! Problem solved.

  • April 05, 2015
    from Switzerland

    Snow forecast is great for exactly that. However, the visitor review section is, quite frankly, a complete joke. The 'reviews' are often neither accurate or useful. They simply provide an outlet for prejudice and intolerance. I assume the contributors are also hoping to alienate potential skiers from the resort so that they can have a little more space on the slopes to themselves. Whoever edits the content should be highly embarrassed that they are so out of touch with what is going on.
    PS I believe Verbier is a great resort, with the potential to be even better. It just needs Televerbier to stick to their core business rather than think they can also run mountain restaurants!

    [note from the editor: we need to rely on the honesty of reviewers as we are unable to stay abreast of all conditions/changes at all our listed resorts! Your review is one such critique which could help edit relevant reviews so only sincere words are displayed.]

  • March 05, 2015
    from United Kingdom

    We have skied Verbier for 7 plus years now and I have to say it used to be fantastic. However, it has been ruined by the W complex where once you used to be able to park for 2 Francs a day!! Still every time I walk past it is empty so that was money well spent and they clearly got their market research right. The self importance of everyone I had the pleasure of having to hand money to was probably the most shocking development since my last visit. If my company sold services like televerbier I'd be out business in a year. I love the fact the latest lift to be installed is designed for skiers only too; that is a very nice open minded touch. Still great mountains just ruined by greedy companies and the people who run them under the illusion of swiss efficiency.

  • January 08, 2015
    from United Kingdom

    All 'round one of the world's very best. I have skied in the USA, Canada, France, Austria, Italy many times as I ski 3 to 4 weeks per year. Verbier is now one of the very best and I have now settled for this resort for most of my ski trips, both with friends and family, especially after the recent investment in the lift Infrastructure with many fast new lifts and the new high speed lift linking up with the Bruson ski area. Many new mountain restaurants have recently opened and also most of the self-service restaurants within the lift stations have, in the last 2 years, received tasteful upgrades and are competing on price; lots of lunch options for £15ish and great sunny terraces with stunning views. The new La Vache restaurant with pasta and pizzas for £15 and a hearty soup just for £8. Of course you can bust the wallet like anywhere if you fancy the long boozy lunch in somewhere like Le Cristal; maybe a last day treat?
    Just returned after New Year week and also 4 days before Christmas and Verbier pre-Christmas was one of the only resorts with snow due to a combination of recent investment in snow making equipment combined with plenty of high altitude runs. Skiers where being bussed in from Italy, France (Chamonix) etc as many of these resorts where closed; that would be a big disappointment. The village has also just had major investment. Pretty new block pedestrian pavements/lighting, lovely supermarkets new and upgraded shops, bars, restaurants and some super new hotels. The town is packed with features and compacted enough to easily walk around. The atmosphere is lovely as are the locals and the quality of food and service is always consistent. No issues with security, unlike Val d'Isere where, last year, I had my Soul 7 skis stolen from outside the Folie Douce. Apparently, many pairs are stolen each month and my ski pass was stolen from my ski jacket arm pocket in a bar. Big inconvenience when I arrived at the lift the next morning, not to mention the cost. (St Anton (ed: do you mean Verbier?) is always packed with loud groups of youths both on and off the piste, throwing beer all over you and cutting you up on crowded slopes.) Also Verbier caters well for non skiers and children, the ski schools have experienced and mature multilingual instructors and are consistently some of the best in Europe. My childrens learning curve was extremely fast and they really loved it, unlike Frances ESF (won’t comment on them?) Yes, some things can be a little more expensive, but that’s down to the individual and how you spend your money. The lift passes are around the same cost as other large resorts in Europe and the ski area is very large; some lovely runs both in the Verbier ski area and plenty more if you ski across into the other valleys of Nendaz, Veysonnaz, Thyon. Take in Bruson and the easier Savoleyres area with lovely sweeping easy blues and reds. I hardly ever encounter lift queues. Sometimes a little during New Year week (can be worse if some runs are not open due to conditions, but to be expected) and half-term but nothing like the Trois vallees. And, of course, Verbier's famous amazing itinerarie runs plus Mont Fort and endless off-piste. Sorry, this all can't be beaten!!

  • January 04, 2015
    from South Africa

    Just in Verbier as I read this site. Verbier has super views and runs but restaurants are really poor in quality and value. Of course it's full; its high season and a high altitude resort with great skiing.

    I am afraid the tales on this site about drunk Brits is correct. Intimidation, bullying and binge drinking is what has been imported from the UK. The "lads" love intimidating other people especially when in a gang. Fortunately, my other favourite sport is kick boxing so I can sort out most rubbish if I have to, even in ski boots. However, seeing families being subjected to constant swearing and intimidation, by these yobs, gives the UK and this resort a bad name.

  • January 02, 2014
    from United Kingdom

    Verbier is fantastic if the snow is good, with it's unpisted tough runs. It is very boring though if all there is available is blue and pretend red short pistes. It's a pretty place with a fun international atmosphere. The only problems I have had there have been the German/Swiss pushing people around in lift queues. I raised an objection a couple of times and 45 year old men, with their families, tried to fight me. Madness. That and the French/Swiss boring on about multi-linguality, being harangued in a bar by a (very attractive) girl for not speaking every European language..bore off. Everyone else in the Alps is lovely. It's the swiss that have the most 'attitude'.
    The lift queues, at the bottom of the mountain, are like something from the 1980's. I asked a Swiss guy, in a bar, about it once and he said :"we're full every year: why should we bother updating?" Standard Swiss arrogance.
    Personally, I now go to Chamonix, Val d'Isere and St Anton. Fantastic resorts, with unbelievable lift systems, snow and mountains.with no Swiss.

  • December 18, 2013
    from Switzerland

    Globalisation is the way of the world. Brits are welcome; it is normal for people from the same background to stay together. The Swiss do it too. There are bad tourists everywhere. I have been going to Verbier my whole life and while it it's true, there are more and more foreigners, it adds to the atmosphere and has made Verbier what it is today. Great slopes (well groomed), great chairlifts (fast), great atmosphere, great restaurants. Only negative is that it is expensive, but hey, welcome to Switzerland. If you know your way around Verbier there is great off-piste skiing too. Enjoy it, you will all love it.