Ski France

Valfrejus Resort Reviews

  • Weather Forecast for Valfrejus at  m altitude issued: 7 pm28 Oct 2016 (local time)  
Ski France

Valfrejus Resort Reviews


Use the buttons below to tell us…

Visitor reviews for Valfrejus Ski Resort

  • March 31, 2016
    from United Kingdom

    My tenth year of multiple visits (new year, Feb half term and Easter) but will be my last. I know what to expect regarding state of pistes and lack of care for them but have got round that by visiting other resorts using Valfrejus as a base. This year I have to comment on the noise and rowdiness of locals in the bars below our apartment until 2am every day and it seems they all have dogs that they allow to roam and deficate all over the place; no exaggeration I viewed 7 dogs one evening whilst standing on my balcony all using the area by the gondola and adjacent to children's play park as a toilet. Their owners get drunk every night, shout and scream which then starts the dogs barking. Bar owners should put a lid on this but they don't care.

  • Valfrejus Ratings

    Overall: 3.5. Based on 45 votes and 48 reviews. Vote

    Access: 3.6

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Valfrejus.

    Public Transport: 3.8

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Valfrejus, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.0

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.1

    (1) No places to stay in/near Valfrejus, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 3.5

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 2.6

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Valfrejus.

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.4

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 3.2

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Valfrejus, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 3.8

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Valfrejus is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 3.5

    (1) Valfrejus relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 3.4

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Valfrejus, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Valfrejus are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 3.2

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Valfrejus is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 3.6

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Valfrejus, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 3.6

    (1) Valfrejus usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 3.4

    (1) The staff at Valfrejus are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Valfrejus are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 3.8

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.1

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.3

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 3.6

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Valfrejus has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 3.1

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 3.5

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Valfrejus, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 3.6

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 2.2

    (1) Not even a kicker at Valfrejus, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 4.1

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 1.7

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Valfrejus, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 3.6

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Valfrejus has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 3.6

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 3.7

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 3.4

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 2.5

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 2.8

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 3.5

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 3.6

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 3.6

    (1) Overall, Valfrejus is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 3.6

    (1) Overall, Valfrejus is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Show all 35 ratings

  • January 27, 2016
    from France

    This must be the most mismanaged resort in the whole of the French Alps. All the resorts nearby are making big efforts with their snow making and grooming of pistes to welcome their paying holiday makers but it seems that Valfrejus is blighted with a malady of incompetence and laziness. No snow making working, absolutely no sense whatsoever from the tourist office as they only employ kids to answer your questions and the lift office is only interested in taking your money for nothing. Get a grip Valfrejus or it will be rest in peace. We like the smaller and more familiar resorts but I and my family will not be back!!
    A very disappointed John from London.

  • December 30, 2015
    from Germany

    Very surprised to find out that Valfrejus has not managed to make some artificial snow this start to the season like the other surrounding resorts have done properly and it is relying only on real snow falling from the clouds.
    In this day and age it is commercial suicide not to make provision for machines and pipe water to them.
    We ended using 100% of the slopes in La Norma and Val Cenis and went to Orrele high up for a day and felt that we never, ever will go to a resort with such bad management. Whatever the excuses it is simply not acceptable for a resort, surrounded with very similar heights, to decide to save money by not using artificial snow making. All of us felt terrible; we could have stayed down in Modane and driven everyday to different resorts and paid a fraction of the cost without the promise of a ski resort.
    Valfrejus, take notice if you want to be alive another winter.
    Note to other tourist traveling to Valfrejus: beware of this situation or if you can change your destination!
    Very disappointed group, we are.
    PS: Just read some of the comments on here and it looks like the problem with the snow making is not a new one. My mistake, I did not read them before we travelled.

  • January 01, 2014
    from United Kingdom

    {I went} the same week as the above reviewer and it could not be more different. The snow was poor, the new lift from the other side got broken and without the Jeu this part of the resort was useless. Also, the Charmasson end of the resort was closed; they said because of lack of snow but the snow-making machines were out of action because there is no water supply or reservoir for them so the resort decided to rely on real snow and wait for nature to cover the slopes.
    So we decided to ski in other next door resorts where the snow-making was up to scratch and we enjoyed it better. Next time will go to Val Cenis or La Norma because of that.

  • December 12, 2013
    from United Kingdom

    Stayed here for the last week of the 2012/13 season with my 2 boys (13 & 9) all boarding. Nice, quiet, compact resort with much accommodation on-piste. We stayed in the Chalets du Thabor, straight out of the locker room onto the piste, nice apartments, 100m from centre. A reasonable selection of bars, restaurants and shops. Prices are lower than in the big, Brit-frequented resorts (a little conversational French will be useful). The new(ish) gondola from resort to 2200 is very fast, as is the new 6-seater from 2200 to 2700. The piste-map on this site is out of date and the Pas du Roc and Ramoure lifts are no longer there. The Col 1 & 2 lifts are, in fact, one old, continuous "up and over" lift where you get off at the top as the lift carries on. Due to the lateness, some of the runs were closed, including Jeu (about half the total length) but what was open was perfectly groomed and bare patches lower down were well covered (we were still able to board back to the resort all week). We would probably have exhausted the open runs if not for a couple of overnight dumps during the latter half of the week, giving us 3 days of decent off-piste. There is much safe, easy access off-piste, ideal for beginners to get to grips. Going back for a week in January this winter.

  • April 08, 2012
    from Belgium

    Visited Valfrejus in April (pre-Easter week)
    Reasonable snow conditions>Initially the weather was sunny then it turned into rain and cloudy all the way.
    One of the days snowed in the upper part and first thing in the morning the powder was brilliant.

    3 complains our group has had during that April's week:

    1.For ski area of listed 60-70 km when the 60 percent of the ski runs were shut, the lift pass was still full price.
    Some of our group went to the next resort in the Valley and they found that the preparations were much better.

    2.On the morning of the snow day the lift attendants were lazy and not bothered to clean the chairs from the wet snow.
    We saw some of them were reading a book inside the cabin completely busy with it and careless about the paying tourists (very bad impression and criminal).
    Almost end of season we know but that does not excuse the staff for not doing the job properly.
    Management take note!!!

    3.Also the return back to base was poor. We heard that this season snow making machines were not working properly there and that's why now in April the cover was thin and not enough to stay until end of season open (and still full price for the lift passes).
    Not a good choice of ski shops (cheap and expensive ones). There seems to be only the expensive ones present with top brands more suited to a posh resorts that this one which is below average in the league.

    Otherwise, reasonable resort close to motorway but not for going again we all thought.

  • February 23, 2012
    from Poland

    4-11 Feb 2012
    We went with my wife and my brother-in-law for a week. We are intermediate skiers, 35 years old.
    The resort is lovely with a traditional architecture. The departure of the gondola is close to shops and apartments.
    The whole ski area was open and was very well groomed. Lifts are modern, fast and comfortable, with a fun quiz on each chair to learn more about the station. There are off-piste opportunities, the track of "Le Jeu" from the top of the resort is wonderful: long (staff member told me it was doing 18km) but not difficult, beautiful landscapes.
    In the evening we made sledge on the slope of Bob P

  • February 20, 2012
    from United Kingdom

    11-18 Feb 2012
    Having read some of the reviews, I must admit I was a little apprehensive about this resort, especially regarding some of the safety issues with the lack of preparation of the pistes. I visited with my family. I'd describe myself as a middling-intermediate, my wife as a good blue run skiier and my 2 children as beginners having only skied for a week last year.
    We stayed in the Chalets Thabor self catering apartments.
    Staff- friendly, efficient and helpful. 8/10
    Location- ski-in, ski-out at the top end of the village but still very convenient for the 'heart' of Valfrejus. 9/10
    Apartments- basic but clean, warm and fully equipped. A little on the small side but perfectly adequate if you're tidy and put things away. 8/10 good value for what we paid.

    Valfrejus itself is picturesque enough as far as a modern purpose built resort can be. Again- we found it adequate with a small but well stocked supermarket if you self cater. There is no pharmacy though- so take plenty of whatever pills and potions you might need.
    We found the resort pleasantly quiet and quite laid back, everyone seemed quite friendly and helpful- even the lift operatives. We mainly self-catered and didn't really venture out at night but I'm sure there's fun to be had if you look for it- at least it's not full of noisy disco bars and drunks.
    To our relief, all of the pistes we skied were very well prepared overnight. It was rare that we had to wait for more than 2-3 chairs full on any of the lifts- despite this being half term- including at the weekends.
    What I will say however is that the pistes are no push-over for their grades- even the blues have some very daunting steep sections on them and are quite narrow in parts- the closest to a 'traditional' blue being the 'Charmasson'. 'Crete' and 'Col' are seriously steep and I would have said would be red runs in any other resort. The long 'Boveniers' also has a couple of quite steep but short sections too- the resort map even recommends that beginners might want to take the gondola down at one particularly steep part of this piste!!.
    'Jeu' was open and beautifully presented and is an absolute delight to ski. I'd go back just to ski this route all week- being varied in scenery and character- combining remote high mountain scenery, a couple of wide fast sections and tree-lined gliding by the side of a small stream- absolutely beautiful. For the history buffs, the 'Jeu' passes a couple of WW1 and WW2 bunkers protecting the pass between France and Italy which is literally about a half mile away!
    Would I go again?- No. (except Jeu!) A week and you've skied it out easily.

    Would I recommend it?- Definitely. But beware- the pistes are harder than you might expect, my wife and daughter really only felt comfortable on 'Charmasson'. You need to be a steady intermediate or at least a brave beginner to get full value from the blues.

  • December 25, 2011
    from Germany

    Visited this place the first week of the season and although there was a lot of snow on all levels probably because of the small number of tourists the runs were very limited indeed. The resort decided to open only the bottom part of the runs and the boredom became very quickly the main topic of my company.
    The excuse was - the runs are with security problems - few controlled explosions within 30 seconds have done the job and it looked like there is no apparent danger around the top part of the ski area.
    Honestly, I think the total upper runs ban was done for financial reasons rather than security. It is easy to find excuses and keep the tourists with limited skiing.
    To be fair the snow kept on falling for the first half of the week.
    The piste workers though did not keep on working hard enough and because of that runs were limited.
    On the Friday we saw 3 machines started grooming the slopes but only managed to open a bit more on the Saturday when most of the tourists have decided to leave. We had to go to other neighbouring resorts which were much more ready and have opened much more of their pistes.
    Spoke with some of the regulars in this otherwise very nice place and all have said that this is the "illness'' and that it is typical of the resort management.
    I will list some of the lines they have mentioned because I feel that something was wrong and did not satisfy my group:
    The long runs like Jeu were kept most of last season closed.
    It was normal ski machines not to do the ski pistes so skiers felt not important.
    Politics in this place makes it difficult to continue attracting skiers and snowboarders, mainly only new tourists.
    The views from the Plato were superb and we all missed the chance to go all the way to the top.
    We won't return to Valfrejus because the very limited skiing and the better standards in the resorts around this valley . Shame because otherwise and from the beginning we all liked the resort which is very convenient and compact.

  • February 22, 2011
    from Netherlands

    In Valfrejus right now and decided to write this review :

    The situation in this resort, in which we have spent last winter holidays, is deteriorating fast.
    It looks like this is a trend judging by the previous posts.
    We can confirm that there is very limited ski piste grooming because there is, at the moment, only one Piste Billy machine. The second one we saw was being brought onto a platform for repair. There is a 3rd machine but this is never used.
    On that basis, one machine can do only that much (cover the bumps quickly and not do them every night).
    Very sad to see a lot of broken bones and people taken on stretchers because the runs are not up to scratch.
    Vavfrejus: "wake up and sort your budget quick and before the season ends".
    This is the busiest week of the season and it is not on to hear excuses like (avalanche danger or not enough snow)
    C'mon it has snowed 3 days ago and the snow is perfect.
    Why is one of the highlights every year for my family: Le Jeu closed?
    The answer is one: money saving operation from which every skier which has paid for lift pass feels ripped off because the runs are not done properly. Today I ski Le Jeu and it is perfect untracked, unguarded and ok for intermediate skiers and above because of the huge off-piste skiing in there, but for beginners and just intermediates it is carnage.
    Excuses are numerous but the main point I want to make is me and my family, as long standing visitors to Valfrejus, may have to move on to better pastures where the management of the resort is thinking about the future and making sure runs are in top condition.
    One other thing is that yesterday, because the resort runs on half of the runs for no reason, my family were witnesses to a major accident of at least 10 people. It was like a chain reaction and all because the resort management could not be bothered to prepare the runs and in the morning close the top section all together.
    I am already thinking seriously of booking next year in other resort in Maurienne Valley. We tried a few and always there are no complains from the condition of the runs etc.
    This is not a silly complaint from a moaner. These are facts, pure and simple.
    Let's hope my wife, who is low intermediate skier, will ski at least once on Le Jeu ski piste road and avoid the escargot and Boveniere masacre on the way back to the resort. If I was a manager of this small and well positioned resort, I would sack all the management on the tourist side and most importantly, on the ski preparation and replace them with eager people who want to make this place a good ski resort.