Login / Sign Up


Snow-Forecast logoSnow mountain photo


Ski France

Val Thorens Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Val Thorens Ski Resort



  • January 04, 2014
    Visitor from Germany

    Val Thorens was a great holiday; we highly enjoyed it. However, we had one bad experience at the store "Top Photo". This place seems to be not so "Top". Worst photo shop ever! Sold me an overpriced, wrong memory card for a GoPro camera and on complaint just laughed and tried to ignore me. I highly recommend not to go there!

  • Val Thorens Ratings

    Based on 38 votes. Vote

    Access: 3.9

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Val Thorens.

    Public Transport: 4.3

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Val Thorens, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.0

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.8

    (1) No places to stay in/near Val Thorens, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 3.7

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 4.5

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Val Thorens.

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.9

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 4.4

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Val Thorens, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.7

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Val Thorens is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 4.5

    (1) Val Thorens relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.5

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Val Thorens, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Val Thorens are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 3.0

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Val Thorens is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 4.3

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Val Thorens, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.7

    (1) Val Thorens usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 4.2

    (1) The staff at Val Thorens are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Val Thorens are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 3.8

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.7

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.8

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.8

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Val Thorens has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 4.4

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.8

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Val Thorens, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 4.8

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 4.5

    (1) Not even a kicker at Val Thorens, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 4.6

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 3.1

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Val Thorens, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 4.5

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Val Thorens has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 4.4

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.6

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 4.7

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 4.4

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 3.6

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 3.8

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 4.3

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 4.3

    (1) Overall, Val Thorens is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.4

    (1) Overall, Val Thorens is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Based on 38 votes. Vote

  • February 10, 2013
    Jools from France

    Val Thorens: highest point in 3 valleys ski area with links to Orelle in the 4th valley. Great snow, fantastic skiing, fabulous restaurants, good bars, slightly high prices but quality costs. There is accommodation of all types for all budgets so costs can be kept fairly low. For real skiers/riders it can't be beaten.

  • January 14, 2011
    Kevin Jones from United Kingdom

    Stayed at St Jean de Maurienne in the Maurienne valley and used the access to Val Thorens from Orelle. Big advantage is that the telecabine from Orelle starts from about 900m so no having to struggle up and down the road to the 3-Valleys in a snowstorm and having to put on chains. The telecabine rises to 2400m over a run of 5km. The link to Val Thorens is at 3000m so one has to be aware of the developing weather. St. Jean is only 3 hours from Geneva or Lyon using RN and two hours or less on the autoroute. Plus it is very cheap, only 400 Euro for six nights half-board at the Hotel Nord. Of course, there is a lack of apres-ski but this was compensated by the Michelin guide food. If one needs a change from Val Thorens there are 18 other resorts in the environs of the Maurienne valley. La Norma and Val Frejus are the easiest to get to and provide enough skiing above 2000m for a very good days skiing. Expensive day pass at 39 Euros but as commented by others the lifts and perfect snow ensure value for money.

  • December 07, 2010
    Deyan from Bulgaria

    I am often amazed by comments putting a lot of importance on the looks of a resort. Granted, a little traditional village always looks better than a purpose-built monster but the latter has many advantages: less distractions, incomparable practicality, closeness to the pistes, price...

    If you are like me - crazy about skiing and not about the "accessories" around it, you will love Val Thorens. The pistes are open, wide, long, not too busy and incredibly well groomed - perfect for long carving turns that will put a smile on your face for a very long time. The views are amazing. The snow is reliable. The off-piste is everywhere. And this is pretty much all a skier needs.

    Bottom line is this - if you go there for the skiing itself Val Thorens/Orelle/Menuires is truly amazing. If you go skiing because you want to show off that nice brand new jacket or because you want to experience traditional French culture then go somewhere else.

  • March 20, 2010
    Geoff from United Kingdom

    March 6th to March 13th. Had a great week in VT (Val Thorens) with excellent piste conditions; well groomed and cared for. Excellent company in the chalet. Very little fresh snow but the cold conditions assisted in preservation of the piste. Prices are catching up with the rest of the Three Valleys but you can still get a beer for 5€ if you look around, cheaper if you can get deals through your travel co. The Scandanavians were noisy as reported in other reviews, but its all good humoured and they provide the best bar nightlife. A bit of shouting at 3am but never too bad. Our Chalet had door to door skiing and was only a 10 minute comfortable walk to the main shopping and bar areas. This is a great resort with vast amounts of skiing. The off-piste was just about ok but you can see it would be fantastic and easily reachable following a big dump of snow, especially in the Arolle area. If you ski far, try to avoid lunching in Courcheval - so expensive - it cost me 26€ for a cheeseburger and another 6.5€ for a diet coke. A rip off but that's where the idle rich like to play (or dare I say just pose). You will not be disappointed with VT, it's a great resort and surprisingly charming and cosy.

  • May 06, 2009
    Dani from United Kingdom

    Went to VT (Val Thorens) at Easter for 7 days and had an absolutely unbelievable time. Ok, the prices in the town are disgraceful, but isn't that always the case in these resorts? Tip: stop off at a hypermarket on the way there. We stocked up on loads of pasta, cheese, beer etc and saved loads of money. Some great slopes in VT (Val Thorens) for beginners, advanced or experts - caters for all abilities, Tonnes of snow cannons to just give that little bit extra in case it doesn't snow for a few days. In fact, when we went it hadn't snowed for 2 weeks but it was still good...then it dumped down 3 days in with about half a metre in one night - far too much. But it was still immense because it didn't snow thereafter. Unbelievable place, great holiday, will definitely go again.

  • May 06, 2009
    DUSKO KONCAR from Croatia

    Went to ski in Val Thorens on 25.04.2009. not expecting it to be in January skiing condition, but it absolutely was. Snow everywhere, and plenty of it. Snowed for two days, giving everybody a chance to ski off-piste - on piste and they loved it. It was covering tracks over and over again; people went ballistic. Then four days of skiing in short sleeves, using a kilo of sun protection a day. Best time ever.

  • April 13, 2009
    martin mandel from Switzerland

    I spent a super three days here at Val Thorens on the 5th, 6th and 7th of April 2009. The snow was excellent first thing but in some places was wet by lunchtime. Other areas were good all day despite the warm temps affecting all alpine regions. Still, it was probably better snow than most other French resorts as it is so much higher. Worst queue was at Orelle first thing in the morning. No other queuing problems at all. Usually had to wait 5 mins for the Caron cable car but that is not bad. Caught the last lift down to Orelle every day so conditions must have been ok. I will be at VT (Val Thorens) again for the next two weekends - and there is more cold weather and snow forecasted - yippee.

  • April 12, 2009
    RickParis from United Kingdom

    12th April 09,
    Just back from VT (Val Thorens). Had no choice of weeks because of the kids school holidays. There were very bad crowds on the pistes and lifts, poor snow at base (2300mtrs) and nearly everywhere higher too. Real spring snow conditions (15 degrees C at 2300mtrs). I would have expected that in lower resorts but not at this height; very suprised. Worst conditions I have seen in 5 years at Easter (been to Flaine in 08 & 07, Alpe D'Huez in 06 & 05). Maybe because of the crowds, poor snow and lift queues, I did not see the resort at its best. I could see the potential but was unable to exploit and enjoy the area to its fullest. Suprisingly, the best snow and lack of crowds was in the '4th' valley. It was very nice. Shame it was not a larger area or that the off-piste wasn't crusty/tracked out. Looked like the area had not had any significant snow in 3-4 weeks. All in all, I had a good time but it was not the great time I was expecting; shame. I will try to visit Val Thorens outside peak holiday time, if I visit again.
    Rick

  • February 01, 2009
    Gordon Bloch from Israel

    First time in Val Thorens, from 22-31 Jan. Thought it would be more pedestrian friendly with less traffic, but it's a delightful town. We stayed about 5 minutes walk from the "bar" area, which is the noisy area. But this was enjoyable at " Happy Hour" time; usually late afternoon after a days skiing.
    The slopes are mind boggling at Val Thorens. There are all types of runs. We chose the black and red, and there are plenty of them. There were hardly any queues at the lifts and all personnel were so friendly.
    There were plenty of restaurants and bars, if so inclined, and also fast food for a quick and reasonable lunch snack, as opposed to the higher priced mountain restaurants.
    Had a really good time; plenty of snow.
    Val Thorens is higher than the tree line with no natural barriers for sound, so some nights were noisy with returning revellers.
    All in all, a good time was had.

  • January 23, 2009
    Richard Bicknell from France

    I can't count how many times I have been to Val Thorens over the past 25 years; 4 weeks in 2008. Simply the best in the Alps. I loved it so much I bought an appartment and moved from the UK to France. 3 Valleys is so big you will not get bored. Unlike many resorts VT (Val Thorens) actually invest in the lift system. A queueing black-spot one year is replaced over the summer with a new high tech lift. I have seen so many changes. Seldom do you have to queue for more than a few minutes. Snow and pistes are well covered in other reviews. Noise only really a problem in the centre around the clubs and 'The Frog'. Have a few good beers in Choucas (place de Caron) and sleep through.

  • December 13, 2008
    Simon Lovering from United Kingdom

    Just got back from a 4 day weekend in Val.
    Second time we have been there, the first time being 2 years ago when the start to the season was so bad, we had to change at the last minute to high altitude.
    We drove up to Val Thoren on Thursday night (4th), taking an hour longer than planned as the snow was dumping down.
    Snowed all Thursday night, Friday and through the night into Saturday.
    By Sunday we were off-piste, waist deep in fresh powder.
    When we left Val Thoren on Tuesday 9th, it was set to snow again that night, but I have to say all runs were open, loads of off-piste and the snow line was as low as 500m as we drove down the mountain.
    If you're going out, enjoy. A great start to the season, loads of snow.
    By the way, Val Thoren town is not bad, and not too expensive even with the current euro/pound situation, but we were there for the free white stuff.

  • December 10, 2008
    The Tank from United Kingdom

    Next week, the weekend of the 13th Dec 08 will be my 3rd visit to Val Thorens. As some other people have pointed out, you don't go to Val Thorens to admire the place. It serves a purpose and that is to hit the slopes hard. Some areas are quite picturesque within the town, but the real views come into their element when you are standing at the top of '3 vallees 2', 'Col' or 'Cime Caron'. If it dumps snow which it has done both times I have been there, then there is no end to the possibilities. When all the lifts are running you can steam across to Meribel and take advantage of its beauty and tree lined runs. So if you are there next week keep an eye out for me on the slopes you won't see me because I am too fast. But at night you will find me in the bars and Val Thorens' famous 'Malaysia Club'. Regards.

  • November 10, 2008
    Les from United Kingdom

    VT is the highest winter resort in Europe. Stelvio Pass has much higher hotels both on and above the pass but is mainly a summer skiing area (lessons were fantastic when I stayed there many years ago).
    VT has a great lift system, many interesting ski runs and some good restaurants. Hotel 3V is friendly, with good service. Never had a problem with drunks but have mainly skied in VT at Easter.
    The old itinerary route into Meribel, though now mostly pisted, can still be quite an adventure for someone new to the area.

  • July 20, 2008
    Graeme Dunbar from United Kingdom

    Visited Val Thorens in mid April 2008 and was very impressed. It was a great season and (as I understand it) the snow was exceptional for the time of year. The skiing is extensive even on the local pass, and there is something to suit all levels. If the weather draws in it is a bit wild (we had 30cm of snow in as many hours) and lifts do close, but it is the price of being so high and well worth it. The black runs from the top of the Cime de Caron lift are spectacular to ski when freshly pisted and are highly recommended.

    It is an expensive resort and unless you are loaded you perhaps have to eat in more than you would usually, but you can cut your drinks bill by using 'happy hour' at the end of the afternoon. We stayed in the Village Montana apartments and thought they were better than comfortable and extremely handy for slopes and ski-school. Whole family used Prosneige ski school and would recommend them. All in all a great place for a late season ski and we will be back in 2009.

  • January 04, 2008
    John Crawford from United Kingdom

    Just back from a trip to Val T during the busiest week of the ski season (New Year)- we had a fantastic time!
    Fantastic snow, no problem with lift queues and no problem with crowded pistes. After a couple of recent New Year trips to the Espace Killy (Tignes/Val D'Isere) we were pleasantly surprised by the quieter 3 Valleys.
    The mountain scenery is breathtaking and the town is certainly not an eyesore. And for doorstep skiing convenience it can't be beaten.

  • December 18, 2007
    Carolyn from United Kingdom

    Remember why you go skiing.........not to look at buildings!
    If you want brilliant terrain, guaranteed snow from November 'till May and a good, reliable lift network with well maintained pistes without having to fly halfway round the world, then VT is the place. We have been twice per year since 2000. Good, English speaking ski schools. Good range of accommodation at all budgets. Several supermarkets for those (like us) who prefer to eat out during the day and relax at home in the evening.
    Our family has ranged from an 11 month old to 40+ and the place suits us all - even the fussy teenage types - there are even loads of fashionable ski places with designer clothing. I mean what more can you ask for in one place!
    Don't take my word for it - just go there and see for yourself!

  • December 02, 2007
    Mark from United Kingdom

    I have been to Val Thorens at least twice a year for the last 6 years and also to many other of the "big" French resorts, including Tignes/Val D'Isere. In my opinion, the three valleys is probably the best overall skiing in Europe. I always stay in VT as the snow is the best quality, especially on the Col. Drunken Germans and Dutch can be annoying at 2am, but I ski hard all day and sleep through the noise. Best value for money is the Cheval Blanc appartments, great location and good prices with friendly service (makes a change for France). Restaurants and bars are ok, but beer is a bit more than some other resorts, but that only costs a few Euros more in a week, and the skiing makes up for that.
    Get the first Caron cable car up at 9:30am (no queues) and ski the black run back down to the Moutiers lift, it will be deserted, you will be cutting virgin tracks. Flat out all the way, no stopping or resting, go as fast as you dare, perfect grippy squeaky courduroy snow if it's been bashed, legs are like jelly at the bottom.
    I'll be back in December 07, then again in February and April 08. I've skied there in the last week of April with deep soft fluffy powder snow, whilst in Meribel it is slush and ice.....no comparison.
    P.S The architecture is not that bad. Les Menuires is grim, Tignes is awful, but remember, you come to ski not look at buildings, and the mountain scenery is fantastic.

  • March 21, 2007
    Russell Farmer from United Kingdom

    Stayed in Val Thorens back end of February. Skiing and weather were great with plenty of runs even if you just op for the VT lift pass and not three valleys. Yes it's not the most picturesque resort and doubt you'll send a postcard home boasting but we pay our money to ski and not to sightsee as I'm sure you'll agree. Couldn't fault the skiing. Stayed in the Chalet Balcons 1 which is situated in the very top of the resort at 2400M. This is a bit of a walk from the main meeting area. Otherwise rely on a free resort bus. The chalet itself wasn't great and I certainly wouldn't go back. However, myself and the other guests couldn't fault the our chalet host Douglas who did himself proud serving up culinary delights every night. The price of beer and food from the restaurants out there was dear with a pint costing you eight Euro!!. Overall, the resort wasn't great but the skiing terrain was fantastic.

  • March 07, 2007
    Paul Maclugash from United Kingdom

    Passo Stelvio in Italy is higher at base and a top place for all those who know best (2761 to 3451.) It's just the way people speak with such great wisdom.
    Have not stayed in VT but boarded there. It was pretty good and as it is high it keeps well. I am one of those people who thinks it is ugly. I am sure there are worse places but that doesn't change the fact that VT is a ugly place. My personal opinion is; go to Meribel, then you are in the middle and it's 30min to an hour to most areas and if it's poor go to VT where it's not far.
    Now, on the subject of drunks; well, it's just the way it is. You don't want the French police out unless it's murder. They are a bit no nonsence, if you know what I mean.
    My best advice is; go to La Plagne. There is a shortage of pubs so it's wise to check out a resort before you go (got bored in La plagne but there was good snow.)

  • February 20, 2007
    Ian Lancey from United Kingdom

    Spent the week of 3rd to 10th February in a chalet in the Balcons area of Val Thorens with 10 mates. Chalet was OK, food was OK, company was excellent as was the skiing. Same as last year, first couple of days the snow was OK with the best skiing in the 3 valleys to be had in VT. Started to snow on day 3 and resulted in great skiing across the whole of the 3 valleys. Just goes to show that you can't beat the 3 valleys for great skiing when elsewhere in Europe is struggling, Another excellent ski holiday with fantastic snow and endless terrain. Just watch out for skiing Gorillas!!!!!

  • February 19, 2007
    Carlos Palminha from Portugal

    Have been in Val Thorens (3 to 10 of February) and was one of the best snow weeks I have had in 6 years of snowboarding. The resort itself is not one of the prettiest but due to the high altitude the snow quality is guaranteed. The 3 valleys are just amazing and breathtaking with good pistes for all skiers levels. Great off-piste opportunities. The Snow Park in ValThorens is not one of the best but you can have some nice time in the kickers, step-ups, boxes and half-pipe!
    Nightlife is simply the best I havevhad in a French snow resort... If you are in the snow and in the mood for fun this is the place to be!

  • January 29, 2007
    Peter from United Kingdom

    We spent the Christmas week at Val Thorens and although the skiing is excellent (plenty of snow, good lifts, no queuing), I will not be back. We stayed at the Les Olympiades appartments and did not get a single good night's sleep because of the drunks (from all nations) shouting and fighting in the street below until three or four in the morning.

  • January 23, 2007
    Tony Wade from France

    It's a good early and late season destination because of it's altitude, but the village should be razed to the ground so they could start again with something a little less UGLY. I don't go skiing to judge the architecture of the place, but -CHRIST- in a purpose built place why do they have to make it look like a slum. Same goes for Les Menuires.

    As far as the drunks go, well I'm usually one of them so I've got nothing to say.

  • April 15, 2006
    Farbod from Germany

    I was at the place last week. I have to say it was great(also the night life). The only problem the resort has is that you could get lost pretty fast. Once I got lost and landed in Le Meniure. Then I had to pay 6 € to get back to Val Thorens. Since it was already 5 o'clock I couldn't get back to Orelle. So I had to spend a night in Val Thorens with ski clothes :(

  • March 27, 2006
    Jon Jones from United Kingdom

    Just got back from a week in Val Thorens (18th - 25th March). The resort is very good for skiing but night life is poor! Too many drunken Dutch guys so men out number women 10 - 1. If you want a more rounded resort, go for Austria, try Sol or Mayrhofen , the skiing is almost on a par and the night life is far better.

  • March 25, 2006
    Roger from United Kingdom

    This last week was fantastic.

    Great off-piste.

  • March 21, 2006
    laurence neumann from Israel

    The good: fantastic skiing/boarding - got lucky with perfect snow and weather 2nd week March. Nice hassle free town - who cares about architecture etc.
    The bad: hotel/apartments that don't clearly state on website what is included and what is free. I stayed at Le Portillo which was fine as far as rooms etc go - but staff refused to call police to deal with noise - and be careful of rooms facing street and nearby pubs/discos.
    The ugly: drunk, noisy, selfish dorks from selected European countries that made a racket at midnite to 4am and disturbed the sleep and peace of people that simply want to ski the next morning. The town should not allow this!

  • March 05, 2006
    Ron from Netherlands

    I don't go skiing for nice authentic villages etc. Just loads of fresh snow, big pistes & good lift network and some good restaurants and bars is what's needed.
    Val Thorens (together with Tignes & Les Arcs) is one of the best to stay. Great skiing on & off-piste. Though it may be pretty cold in January & February. Also the French holidays are usually in last three weeks of February which means lot of queuing for the Cime de Caron which brings you to some exciting pistes.
    So best time to go to Val Thorens is March & April.

  • January 22, 2006
    Ian Lancey from United Kingdom

    Just returned from Val Thorens yesterday after what can only be described as one of the best weeks of skiing i have ever had.
    Val Thorens offers a great mix of intermediate and advanced skking, with some challenging and exciting runs. Beginners fair less well with limited greens and easy blues, however, if you are willing to venture over to Meribel or Courcheval there are much better beginners opportunities.
    A good dump of snow helped conditions throughout the 3 valleys area but even before this fall, VT's snow was still pretty good, showing year on year VT to be one of the most snow sure resorts in Europe.
    Go for great skiing and boarding but not for a picturesque village that is quiet, the mix of English, Dutch and Scandinavian skiers and boarders results in a pretty good party town.