Ski Austria

St Johann in Tirol Resort Reviews

  • Weather Forecast for St Johann in Tirol at  m altitude issued: 1 am25 Sep 2016 (local time)  
Ski Austria

St Johann in Tirol Resort Reviews

AuSt Johann in Tirol

Use the buttons below to tell us…

Visitor reviews for St Johann in Tirol Ski Resort

  • July 21, 2014
    from Ireland

    Spent a week in St Johann in early January 2014. Weather was unusually warm so the snow wasn't great with some runs closed. It's a nice friendly village which is great for families as it's not full of mad apres-ski. My kids were in the red ski school which they did not enjoy because their instructor, an Australian lady, was not up to the same standard as instructors they've had on previous visits to other resorts in Austria.

  • St Johann in Tirol Ratings

    Overall: 4.3. Based on 10 votes and 14 reviews. Vote

    Access: 4.1

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of St Johann in Tirol.

    Public Transport: 4.7

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to St Johann in Tirol, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.8

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.8

    (1) No places to stay in/near St Johann in Tirol, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 4.0

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 3.7

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in St Johann in Tirol.

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.7

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 4.0

    (1) There are no child care facilities at St Johann in Tirol, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 3.7

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) St Johann in Tirol is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 4.1

    (1) St Johann in Tirol relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.9

    (1) There are no snow groomers at St Johann in Tirol, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at St Johann in Tirol are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 4.5

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) St Johann in Tirol is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 4.6

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at St Johann in Tirol, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 3.8

    (1) St Johann in Tirol usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 4.3

    (1) The staff at St Johann in Tirol are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at St Johann in Tirol are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 4.2

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.9

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 5.0

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.1

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) St Johann in Tirol has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 4.3

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.5

    (1) No intermediate terrain at St Johann in Tirol, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 3.6

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 2.6

    (1) Not even a kicker at St Johann in Tirol, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 2.9

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 4.5

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around St Johann in Tirol, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 3.5

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) St Johann in Tirol has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 5.0

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.6

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 4.4

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 4.7

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 3.7

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 4.1

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 4.6

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 4.6

    (1) Overall, St Johann in Tirol is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.7

    (1) Overall, St Johann in Tirol is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Show all 35 ratings

  • January 27, 2014
    from Greece

    We have been near St Johann on the week beginning 20 January 2014. This was a snow-less week for the whole Tyrol area and resorts, having low altitude like this one, did not have the snow which would make skiers happy.
    We were skiing in Kitzbuhel-Kirchberg area for the first 3 days of the week, and on Thursday 24 January we decided to visit St Johann as we have heard too many positive comments for this resort. Before going there we saw on the internet that there were some slopes closed due to lack of snow. As we were staying in the nearby area we decided to drive 10 minutes and visit it, and ski on the higher slopes only.
    When we arrived at the main lift we saw that almost half of the slopes were closed on that day. Well, we said, we are not lucky enough, but never mind. We went at the cashier to buy our ski passes, expecting that as half of the resort is accessible, there should be an offer or a kind or price reduction for this specific day. However, the cashier and her manager were both very surprised when we asked something like that, stating that there is no price reduction at all and if we would like to ski we should pay the whole ski pass price even if half of the resort was not accessible! This meant that for half of St Johann’s slopes I should pay 39 euro, even if I was able to pay the same amount and have almost all Kitzbuhel-Kirchberg (3 times bigger on size) in 10 minutes’ drive away. We kindly told them once again that what they offer on that specific day was half of the resort, and some of the opened slopes were only used for training, but they insisted that we need to pay the daily amount as of.
    At the end of the day, we left the resort without skiing as we found this as a too mock approach. On the same time, few of other visitors were leaving the resort for the same reason. i.e like us, too many of them were parking their car next to the cashiers and when they found out that only half of the resort was working on that day but they were asked to pay the day in full, they returned to their car, they got rid of their ski boots and left.
    It’s a pity that they had this approach, as we have read too many positive comments for this specific resort but for this specific day the ski resort team decided this to be the worst deal on the Alps. For sure, I’ll try to visit it in the future, as it’s the resort that makes the senses and not the humans behind it. But, in any case, a more modern management would keep both us and the rest who left there on that day. And for sure, resorts having so low altitude like this one should have alternative deals available for snow less days like this

  • January 23, 2012
    from Ireland

    We have skied St Johann for the last 5 years doing, where possible, multiple annual trips after the first year. It has become, for us, our home away from home and the purpose for our hard work all year long. The resort is super friendly, and the slopes of St Johann are well tended, have a snow guarantee and offer plenty of fun for intermediate skiers. We also love the T-bar run and skiing over to Oberndorf enhances the St Johann playground of slopes. Once the St Johann slopes have been exhausted anyone fit enough for more can head to Kitzbuhel 10 mins away by train where uber black slope thrill seekers and off-piste enthusiasts can have their fill of powder too! Our single complaint is not being able to spend more time in this lovely Tirolean town. We always stay at Hotel Fischer and can hand on heart recommend it for comfy clean rooms all refurbished in 2010/11, sensational catering in the dining rooms, Michi's bar is the best bar in town with fantastic bar staff, the excellent guest focused service from all the friendly staff and the warm welcome of Michael and Monica Grander keeps us hungrily coming back for more! It would be wrong not to enjoy a day of fun on the slopes under the super tuition of the instructors, a frosty beer at the Hochfeldstadl with Werner before the final run down, apres-ski delight at Max's pub, warming up and refreshing in toasty cool Rogi's stadl before heading back to the Hotel Fischer for dinner and super craic in Michi's Bar! You couldn't ask for more from a holiday. Thumbs up!!!

  • January 04, 2011
    from Ireland

    Went skiing for the first time in February last year in St Johann and loved every minute of it. I'm no expert on conditions and things like that, but we were able to ski on fantastic snow all week. Jan/Feb time seems to be the best time to go as the weather is best. When we went last year we got loads of snow, then consistently below -8 degrees and sunny, so it was a really enjoyable experience. The instructors are brilliant, they had me skiing on the black slope by the end of the week. However, they are not only good at teaching, they are great fun and are always having a laugh, which is what I love about the nature of the Austrians, and made the trip that extra bit special. Apres-ski in Maxpub tops of a brilliant, everyday until you are ready to go home. We stayed in Hotel Austria which was really good. Very good rooms, games room and an under-ground storage area for your ski equipment. And the hotel is a 2minute walk from max pub and on of the gondola stations. Brilliant ski holiday and we will be going again this February. I would thoroughly recommend this resort to anyone starting out skiing or for families. You will go home pleased you picked the right place.

  • January 03, 2011
    from United Kingdom

    St. Johann has some of the best intermediate terrain around.
    What I really like is that there is an area to the east side of the mountain (Eichenhof) which has no snowmaking so the snow quality is excellent whilst temperatures are low. And as the lifts on that side are mostly T-bars it is much quieter.
    There is a variety of terrain that allows skiers to improve at a natural pace without having to tackle anything too difficult too soon. Because of this the skiers I have observed who learn here are usually skiing better by the end of the week than those at most other areas which lack the gentle progression of slopes.
    The only negatives are that the beginners areas are all on the edge of the village and require a bit of a walk, a bus or a taxi to get to.
    The village has a good variety of shops and the town goes to a lot of trouble to stage some excellent events such as the new Years Eve fireworks display and freestyle demo.
    Kitzbuhel is only 10 minutes away by train.
    The ski schools put on a very entertaining ski show every Sunday in front of Max's Pub which is the scene of some often riotous apres-ski.

  • December 28, 2010
    from United Kingdom

    Having had such a fantastic ski holiday in Jan 2010 in St Johann (St Johann in Tirol) myself and a couple of mates have rebooked for Jan 2011 at the Fischer hotel which was so welcoming and the food/service was great. We enjoyed the skiing in St Johann which has a good selection of runs for the beginner and intermediate skier, we were also impressed with the free ski bus that takes you to other resorts which were also great, would recommend hotel/resort.

  • February 15, 2010
    from Denmark

    Just returned from another great vacation in St Johann in Tirol. Snow and weather was perfect, a little cold, but sun in 5 out of 7 days.

    We lived at Hotel Crystal 150 meters from the mail lift. They served the best food, if we compare the 3 hotels we have visited in the city.

  • January 02, 2010
    from Denmark

    We have been in St Johann in Tirol 4 times and we will return again in February 2010. For our family with 2 adults and 3 kids it is perfect. There are slopes for everybody and due to the snowmachines we have been able to ski every year from top to bottom.

    We have lived at different appartments and 3 different hotels, all typical Austrian places with OK food and nice cosy rooms.

    Favorite place is after-ski at MaxPub all though it is not named after me...

  • August 16, 2009
    from United Kingdom

    My wife and I visit St Johann (St Johann in Tirol) every summer for our break and would not visit anywhere else. We are not 'beachy' people so this resort is ideal for us. We have stayed at Gasthof Mauth and although our room is basic a great time is always had. Roll on our next visit to St Johann in Tirol.

  • December 12, 2006
    from United Kingdom

    I have been going to Austria for about 14 years now and have been to most of the resorts. St Johann is a very family friendly resort and my 9 year old daughter enjoyed it so much that she has insisted that we return this year. The ski school staff are excellent and the pistes are very well prepared. A highlight of the week for us was the demonstration of skiing by the ski instructors half way through the week, it helps of course that it all happens outside of a very good apri ski bar! The resort is easy to navigate around and the skiing is more enjoyable than challenging, while the night life is varied and good value. The snow conditions last year were some of the best that I have ever skied on, including Canada and the States, so fingers crossed for more this year, cant wait.