Ski Austria

St Anton Resort Reviews

  • Weather Forecast for St Anton at  m altitude issued: 1 am30 Sep 2016 (local time)  
Ski Austria

St Anton Resort Reviews

AuSt Anton

Use the buttons below to tell us…

Visitor reviews for St Anton Ski Resort

  • April 07, 2016
    from United Kingdom

    Went 2nd wk Mar. Fantastic ski conditions. Covered pretty much the entire area. Some excellent runs; Zurs10 is a fine memory. However, bus connections are awful within the ski area; more challenging than
    the skiing!

  • St Anton Ratings

    Overall: 4.0. Based on 42 votes and 76 reviews. Vote

    Access: 4.0

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of St Anton.

    Public Transport: 4.5

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to St Anton, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.2

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.4

    (1) No places to stay in/near St Anton, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 3.1

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 4.6

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in St Anton.

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.0

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 3.7

    (1) There are no child care facilities at St Anton, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.3

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) St Anton is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 4.3

    (1) St Anton relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.2

    (1) There are no snow groomers at St Anton, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at St Anton are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 3.5

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) St Anton is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 3.4

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at St Anton, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.5

    (1) St Anton usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 3.9

    (1) The staff at St Anton are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at St Anton are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 3.2

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.5

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.7

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.6

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) St Anton has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 3.1

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.2

    (1) No intermediate terrain at St Anton, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 4.6

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 3.3

    (1) Not even a kicker at St Anton, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 4.4

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 3.6

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around St Anton, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 3.3

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) St Anton has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 4.3

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.4

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 4.8

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 4.0

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 3.5

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 3.5

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 3.9

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 3.7

    (1) Overall, St Anton is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 3.9

    (1) Overall, St Anton is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Show all 35 ratings

  • February 24, 2016
    from Australia

    I spent 2 weeks in St Anton from early Feb 2016 and found things not greatly changed from my previous visit 7 years earlier. Plenty of good restaurant, bar and apres options, an exceptional lift system, some great skiing on and off-piste, and unlike the Dolomites at the time, plenty of snow. Yes, it's relatively expensive but it is a true international resort.

    I skied most of the main pistes and routes (when open) and some off piste, particularly traversing high off the Valluga routes and over the back of the Kapall Tbar. Also managed to spend an excellent day up at Zurs getting over to Lech via the Weiss Ring route.

    Although there was plenty of cover the skiing on Valluga was often restricted due to snow conditions & avalanche risk. In these instances the main Steissbachtal (no4-easy) run, which is piste in the valley between Valluga and Galzig, was often also closed. When Steissbachtal is closed the only option to ski out from the main Galzig slopes to St Anton is via the bottom of Kandahar (No2-difficult). Funneling large volumes of skiers of varying skill levels down a black cut-out bumps run has predictable results. An alternate pisted run from Galzig to St Anton would be a huge improvement in these situations.

  • September 27, 2015
    from United Kingdom

    I have been to St Anton three times before and two of those are in April and even then the pistes are white. I went in February 2015 and I was lucky enough to experience the 4.3km sled run; it was great fun. The off-piste skiing was good too; great expanses of powder. On-piste was excellent with a wide variety of slopes. The new heated chairlift: Tanzböden and the fun slope at Galzig are great. We had a small dump when we were there and it made great skiing. The Rendl is great for photos and when the other mountains are limited with snow there is always snow over there. The lift staff are friendly and the village is beautiful with lots of places to get equipment and you can ski to the nearby villages on the same ski pass. St Anton is a great place to ski.

  • March 24, 2015
    from Lebanon

    Wanted to change from French resorts so went to St Anton first week of March 2015. But disappointment! Large queues in the morning to access any of the two main ski areas; very crowded pistes, poor grooming even after moderate snowfall, inconvenient connections between the pistes and often confusing signalisation. I still prefer Les 3 Vallees; much better.

  • December 22, 2014
    from United Kingdom

    St Anton is a beautiful resort with very modern gondolas and perfect snow conditions. I have been twice in Easter and even then the pistes are still white. The off-piste skiing is very good off the back of Vullaga (2811m) as is the new fun slope on Galzig and the heated Tanzböden chair lift is great too. You can ski to all the near by villages and the lift staff are friendly.

  • October 31, 2014
    from Ireland

    As an intermediate boarder I had a great time in St Anton and the linked areas Zurs and Lech. I have never gone to the same resort 2 years in a row but after having probably the best week on the snow I ever had, in Feb 2012 in St Anton, we went back in 2013 and then stayed in Zurs and Lech in Feb this yr and spent a semi whiteout brilliant fun day in St Anton. The Mooserwirt is the best apres-ski I've been to anywhere. Make sure to explore Zurs area on the Arlberg lift pass. The pistes were quieter and there's more dramatic scenery, Madloch and Muggengrat areas especially. Lech ski area is more relaxed and has a prettier village.

  • February 28, 2014
    from Sweden

    Visited in January 2014. The snow conditions were the poorest in many years but we were happily surprised at how good the slopes were despite this. We stayed for two weeks and managed to catch a few dumps, after which we headed out with a mountain guide in the off-piste. Again, this was surprisingly good considering the poor snow conditions in general. All in all, this resort provides great skiing even in poor conditions and I will definitely come back another year when there is more snow as I am sure it will offer great off-piste and ski touring possibilities. If you are a beginner or a not so strong intermediate skier, you may do better in another resort, or go to Lech, where there are more blue runs, but overall I think you can find something for everyone in this large area.

    As for the village itself, it is a nice town, with friendly Austrian and international staff. There are good restaurants and after-ski places and most of them are reasonably priced, if compared to other resorts in the Alpes. We are quite serious skiers who like to get up early and catch the first lift so we did not try the night life to any extent, but from what we understood it is good.

  • February 03, 2014
    from New Zealand

    Don't mind all these negative reviews. St Anton is one of the best resorts in the world if you want to really ski/snowboard. The pistes are maintained at a more that exceptable level, but lets be honest, nobody is going here to stick to the piste. The mountains offer some of the best easily accessible off-piste in the world, with unlimited opportunity for touring to find more. Great public transport and a super fun and loose nightlife (if you know where to go). Sure there's the drunk German and British contingent but who doesn't like skulling a few too many and dancing on the table like an idiot.
    The park is quite mediocre, but that's not a stab at the park staff. They do a great job with what they've got. The Anton board has said no to both Volcom and Burton, for a park sponsorship, which, as anyone can tell, was a stupid idea. Still provides a few rails, boxes, double medium kicker line and 'big mumma' (pro booter).
    All in all, Anton is a great place to visit if you ride off-piste and wanna get smashed up at apre in the evening. Do yourself a favour and check it out!

  • December 17, 2013
    from United Kingdom

    2nd visit in March 2013; had a car so we visited nearby Ischgl and less well known Fiss as well as all linked St Anton resorts. If you are mainly a piste skier who likes groomed runs, I think there are better resorts to burn up some km of pistes. Both Ischgl and Fiss were better for this and both had better snow than St Anton when we visited. Ischgl I particularly liked, with plenty of runs over 2000m, so better snow. Timid skiers, early intermediates and beginners can get more for their money if they go elsewhere, where they can get around easily on piste, looking and feeling good. Linked resorts to St Anton do provide easier piste skiing, they are just a bit of a pain to get to sometimes and there can be time pressure to get back unless you have a car. For those who like a challenge and terrain to push your limits, St Anton has as much available as you want, and more. I doubt many leave the area thinking the skiing is too easy! I like a bit of off-piste followed by some easy speedy piste cruising to recover! Off-piste a plenty, but less well maintained pistes for some easy carving. Smaller linked resorts should not be ignored, they provide some good variety.

  • March 07, 2013
    from Australia

    4th visit to St Anton. We like St Anton because they have the balance right, après-ski starts at 3 or 4 pm above the resort, at a number of excellent bars, Krazy Kanguruh, Mooserwit, plus a few new ones which are also great fun. This finishes by 8.30, time for food and a relatively early night. Ready for a long day on the slopes again the next day. This is far better than waiting until 10 pm for the French resorts to get going.
    There is night life in to the small hours here but it is relatively limited due to the excellent and extensive après-ski.
    I am an intermediate snowboarder and there is plenty here to keep me busy, great snowpark, diverse runs, steeps, long blues, moguls, powder, plenty for everyone. Lift queues can be bad first thing in the morning, but not too much to worry about, once you are up the mountain. The pistes might not be kept to the very high standards of some of the French mega resorts but this is not a bad thing if you like varied conditions. I must admit to not being a great fan of Austrian food, I like gulaschen soup and Wiener schnitzel, but it gets a bit repetitive.
    There is plenty to do off the slopes as well, the wellness centre is excellent, the town also has direct train access, which is only an hour and a bit from Innsbruck. Accommodation is plentiful and public transport is good from all the surrounding villages, such as Schnann. All in all, it is definitely worth coming to find out for yourself.